728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Thinner, Solvents & Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer

1 gal. Rust Converter Primer

Corroseal Rust Converter is an elite, industrial strength product for all marine, household, automotive, and industrial rust problems. Rust occurs naturally when the iron in steel oxidizes and returns to its original state, iron oxide. Through an innovative chemical conversion process, Corroseal Rust Converter converts rust (iron oxide) into a stable substance, magnetite. It also primes the surface with a high quality latex metal primer at the same time. Corroseal truly provides one step corrosion control. Corroseal features, water based rust converter with high quality latex metal primer, non-flammable, non-corrosive, easy to apply (brush, roll, or spray), easy to cleanup with soap and water. Eco-friendly alternative to sandblasting Corroseal is the best way to deal with rust because it is less expensive, less time consuming and is much more environmentally friendly than sandblasting. Corroseal eliminates the need to sandblast rust by chemically converting rust from iron oxide to magnetite, a black and inert substance. Don't remove rust, convert rust.
Overall rating:
4.671 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product73 of 77reviews
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(63)
4
(12)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product73 of 77reviews
Customer reviews for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
Review 1 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer

Excellent product and support

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this for the roof on my 15 year old van with a galvanized body (the roof rusted anyway in the Florida sun & humidity!). Unlike 'automotive' grade rust converters this was one step (one product).
First I pressured washed the roof real well (which seems to be preferred over sanding), used a mini-grinder with knotted wire wheel on the rusted-through spots, then sprayed this on the entire roof. I used an HVLP (turbine type) with a large tip, 2.0 or 2.5 sorry I can't remember. Directly to bare 'clean' galvanized metal that hadn't rusted, the old paint, and rust from light to rusted-through. The heavy rust turned black right away, but took overnight for the light rust to turn black but it did. Then I fiberglassed the holes and sprayed another coat. When that was dry I painted, no primer needed.
I then used a garden sprayer to spray on the inside near the rain gutters so I got both sides of the rusted areas coated. This stuff is water based and cleans up fairly easily, just make sure you get it ALL out of your equipment before it dries.
Tech support at Corroseal was great! I has some issues because of 100% humidity and dense fog warnings 'till 10 am the nights after I applied but letting it bake in the sun, as per support fixed it!
I decided on Corroseal because if I used an automotive grade I would have had to use two, maybe three different products: a primer for the bare metal, the converter, then a sealer on top of that. Corroseal worked on everything: bare metal, old paint, rust, AND fiberglass. On top or underneath!
And, according to Corroseal, the US Navy uses it so that's good enough for me!
NOTE - the original color of the van is dark blue, almost black. Keep that in mind when looking at the pictures.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Westerville, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Converts to hard-as-nail surface.

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Covered the entire frame of my flat bed trailer that is 25 years old. Scraped of flakey rust and brushed of surface rust with wire brush. Applied Corroseal and within minutes the rust started converting to black primed surface. After 24 hours I painted frame with Rustolium oil based black. This stuff is awesome. It does what it claims it can do.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, hard as nails surface
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Augusta, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with this product

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had read reviews before my purchase. I am glad I did. Using a chip brush to apply the rust converter onto the surfaces was a very good suggestion. I am redoing the interior and trunk on a 1958 Chevy. There were lots of surface rust. I was able to treat the entire floor pan (front/back), four doors, interior roof and trunk with less than 3/4 gallon. Brushing allowed me to make a good even coverage and get the most out of the amount used. This was easy to apply and worked as described. I am attaching photos showing the rust on the floor, Corroseal applied-dried and after spraying primer paint.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Manhattan Beach California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product does what it is supposed to do exactly!
This saved a roof that would have cost 10's of thousands to replace.
I highly recommend this product for rust repair. Love it!
We ended up using 15 gallons and covered that with 20 gallons of Diamond Brite Paint.
Looks great now!
Pros: Lots of Features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Little Falls, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handled the job very well!

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This rust converter primer works just as described, it went on with a sprayer very well and was easy to see what areas I had covered and what areas I missed as I looked back over the trailer I was painting. I used one gallon to spray the entire 15 ft long x 8 ft wide utility trailer, bottom to top, before applying a top coat. I would definitely use this product again.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from killen Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

better than One Step by far

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been driving around with a before and after demonstration on my rusty truck roof. Everyone who sees it says they have never seen anything like it. Including experienced paint retailors.
Just follow the simple instructions. The key is to get the second coat on while the first coat is still tacky. On a warm day or in the sun that might mean a rolling double coat allowing about a minute or two or three between layers. More than a single coat is really necessary for best results.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from new London, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent!

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this product on the frame under my horse trailer which was covered in surface rust. I crawled underneath the trailer and removed the loose rust with a wire brush. After that I shook the jug of primer and poured a small amount into a container which I used to paint it onto the trailer. The primer was thinner than I expected and it dripped on me some but sure enough, it turned black after about 10 minutes. It looks great and I feel confident it worked well since it changed color. I just wished it were a little thicker. Product went further than expected so definitely a good value
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent rust fighter

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It won't work miracles, but Corroseal certainly does an excellent job of combating surface rust by converting it to a protective layer of magnetite. I have used it to restore a wheelbarrow and several hand tools that I thought I would have to throw out because of rust, and am in the process of covering my vehicle's frame as well (the road salt from a dozen winters will do a number on any vehicle). When applied smoothly and consistently, it'll leave a clean-looking surface behind.
Once the metal is rusted through, there's really nothing you can do to bring it back, but if it's not quite at that point yet, Corroseal will convert the rust on contact, thus providing a protective barrier for the metal underneath. Sometimes rust is just plain avoidable, but Corroseal can do quite a bit to slow down and even reverse damage. A gallon is more than enough for most household uses.
All in all, I'm quite glad I discovered this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Ashburn va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Check the date code on product

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is probably an isolated incident but my $60 bottle of rust converter was defective. Instructions on bottle are poorly written and in tiny print. Half of contents was solidified and not mixable. Cut open bottle in an attempt to mix product but impossible to do so. Cant return a cut open bottle. I will not order this type of product online again.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from west virginia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Goes on fine and converts. time will tell if it lasts

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just finished painting rails and fenders of my antique car.
Scraped loose paint and crud and lightly wire-brushed rust.
It produced smooth, hard, black, surface.
Next step is to paint with spray can of best black automotive enamel (per directions on Corroseal jug)
I don't drive the car in the rain except on rare occasions and I am thinking the corrosealed areas will last way beyond my lifetime.
At $50 some dollars a gallon it is only a bit more expensive than good paint and certainly worth the difference when you figure you have to prep down the bare metal when using paint. The time and effort saved by using Corroseal is incredible.
Cons: Why doesn't Home Depot sell it in the store?
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: only available shipped.should be sold in store too
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from leominster mass
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not what i expected

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i followed all the directions.it did what it said on the label changed the right color to let you know you did it right.it dried for 2 days then it rained and it went white and sticky. do the product was good as long as it was dry. i hope it doesnt do this forever it will be really bad.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from New Hampshire
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Goes on easy! Works Great and sets up great! Use as directed.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Good Protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Parker, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as described!!

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am using this to restore a 50 year old Mustang and has performed perfect!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Stuart, florida

It does what it says it will do

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used it on a boat trailer by jus cleaning off any dirt, grease and loose rust then brushed it on. No more rust and it has a gloss black finish. I have bolts holding my dock together that had rusted ends and it worked great for them as well. If you catch it when it is still wet on the brush it cleans up with water otherwise it is like getting Pac glue on your hands to, you have to peel it off.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Warner robins ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works as advertised

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product was fresh , had not lost its shelf life , would like to see it in quart cans for smaller jobs
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: can be hard to clean up equipment if you let it se
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer

Excellent product! Worked even better than I expected.

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used corroseal to seal my car trailer. The trailer was rusted all over, and under. I didn't want to wire brush or sandblast the entire trailer, so I searched for a rust convertor. The Corroseal worked perfectly. I lightly brushed part of the trailer, but when I was done you couldn't tell any difference between the parts I brushed and the parts I simply covered with the product. I brushed it on and within hours, it was dry, smooth, and black like primer. I have since painted the exposed portions and the trailer looks brand new. I used about 1/2 gallon on a 16 foot flatbed wooden deck car hauler.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

expensive but worth it

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I started out applying with a brush then switched to spraying. I should have sprayed it all because I ran out before I was finished. Spraying makes it go much further. I only needed a small amounf additional and didnt want to wait another 10 days so I got Krud Kutter rust converter by the quart. It cost less but I had to prime it afterwards before painting which I didn't have to do with Correseal. I used this on a metal shed and am happy with the results. The only negative is the delivery time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: delivery time terrible
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Stuff Works Great

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used it on the inside of a gas tank that, beside all the rust, you wouldn't believe what was in there. After cleaning out all that gunk, down to the rust, I applied the product by pouring about a pint in the tank than rotated the tank to cover all effected areas. There were some rusted areas outside where I brushed it on. It was much easier to apply with a bursh but, either way, this stuff gets rid of rust better and faster than anything else I've used. You just need to apply it and wait. In thick rusted areas, you will need more than one coat but, the rust will eventually be gone.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Overland Park, KS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it claims

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Applied this to metal doors after doing some minor rust removal by hand-scraping and then washed off with apple cider vinegar and dried. Product goes on like paint and then turns blue to black when it has changed the rust to magnetite. Used roller and brush for the tighter places. Waiting for 30 days to pass and will apply Rustoleum oil based paint.
Doesn't smell, but will take some effort to wash off hands if allowed to dry. Turns the roller pan, rollers and brush kind of blue/black. It will clean up w/water though.
I would highly recommend at this time for the uses it claims to be good for. I gave a lower rating for value because it is, in my opinion a little expensive.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 gal. Rust Converter Primer

Great product for getting rid of rust

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It is a bit expensive but it is very easy to use and works quite well. Loose particles have to be removed and then the corroseal is applied. It turns the rust black and neutralizes it. Of course the surface must be painted after the cooroseal.
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>