728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Removers & Thinners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer

1-gal. Rust Converter Primer

Corroseal Rust Converter is an elite, industrial strength product for all marine, household, automotive, and industrial rust problems. Rust occurs naturally when the iron in steel oxidizes and returns to its original state, iron oxide. Through an innovative chemical conversion process, Corroseal Rust Converter converts rust (iron oxide) into a stable substance, magnetite. It also primes the surface with a high quality latex metal primer at the same time. Corroseal truly provides one step corrosion control. Corroseal features, water based rust converter with high quality latex metal primer, non-flammable, non-corrosive, easy to apply (brush, roll, or spray), easy to cleanup with soap and water. Eco-friendly alternative to sandblasting Corroseal is the best way to deal with rust because it is less expensive, less time consuming and is much more environmentally friendly than sandblasting. Corroseal eliminates the need to sandblast rust by chemically converting rust from iron oxide to magnetite, a black and inert substance. Don't remove rust, convert rust.
Overall rating:
4.788 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product63 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(55)
4
(10)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product63 of 64reviews
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
Review 1 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Manhattan Beach California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does what it is supposed to do exactly!
This saved a roof that would have cost 10's of thousands to replace.
I highly recommend this product for rust repair. Love it!
We ended up using 15 gallons and covered that with 20 gallons of Diamond Brite Paint.
Looks great now!
Pros: Lots of Features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Little Falls, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handled the job very well!

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rust converter primer works just as described, it went on with a sprayer very well and was easy to see what areas I had covered and what areas I missed as I looked back over the trailer I was painting. I used one gallon to spray the entire 15 ft long x 8 ft wide utility trailer, bottom to top, before applying a top coat. I would definitely use this product again.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Westerville, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Converts to hard-as-nail surface.

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Covered the entire frame of my flat bed trailer that is 25 years old. Scraped of flakey rust and brushed of surface rust with wire brush. Applied Corroseal and within minutes the rust started converting to black primed surface. After 24 hours I painted frame with Rustolium oil based black. This stuff is awesome. It does what it claims it can do.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, hard as nails surface
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent rust fighter

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It won't work miracles, but Corroseal certainly does an excellent job of combating surface rust by converting it to a protective layer of magnetite. I have used it to restore a wheelbarrow and several hand tools that I thought I would have to throw out because of rust, and am in the process of covering my vehicle's frame as well (the road salt from a dozen winters will do a number on any vehicle). When applied smoothly and consistently, it'll leave a clean-looking surface behind.
Once the metal is rusted through, there's really nothing you can do to bring it back, but if it's not quite at that point yet, Corroseal will convert the rust on contact, thus providing a protective barrier for the metal underneath. Sometimes rust is just plain avoidable, but Corroseal can do quite a bit to slow down and even reverse damage. A gallon is more than enough for most household uses.
All in all, I'm quite glad I discovered this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from west virginia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Goes on fine and converts. time will tell if it lasts

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just finished painting rails and fenders of my antique car.
Scraped loose paint and crud and lightly wire-brushed rust.
It produced smooth, hard, black, surface.
Next step is to paint with spray can of best black automotive enamel (per directions on Corroseal jug)
I don't drive the car in the rain except on rare occasions and I am thinking the corrosealed areas will last way beyond my lifetime.
At $50 some dollars a gallon it is only a bit more expensive than good paint and certainly worth the difference when you figure you have to prep down the bare metal when using paint. The time and effort saved by using Corroseal is incredible.
Cons: Why doesn't Home Depot sell it in the store?
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: only available shipped.should be sold in store too
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

expensive but worth it

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started out applying with a brush then switched to spraying. I should have sprayed it all because I ran out before I was finished. Spraying makes it go much further. I only needed a small amounf additional and didnt want to wait another 10 days so I got Krud Kutter rust converter by the quart. It cost less but I had to prime it afterwards before painting which I didn't have to do with Correseal. I used this on a metal shed and am happy with the results. The only negative is the delivery time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: delivery time terrible
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Augusta, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works good

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did exactly as described. I am happy with the results. I'd read other reviews prior to purchase. Others recommended brushing it on rather than spraying. I totally agree that brushing it on is the best way. I used cheap chip brushes. They worked good, just pay attention for any bristles that may come off the brush.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer

Seems to work!

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used two gallons of this to prime a shed roof (actually, the product comes in bottles that are slightly less than a gallon). It took several hours for some of the rust to turn black but it eventually did. We've put one coat of elastomeric paint over it (another coat to follow if it ever warms up again!) and no rust is bleeding through yet. Of course, time will tell.
Home Depot gladly refunded our money on the unused third gallon ordered. The shed is 20 x 24 and has a fairly steep roof. We thought it would take three gallons. Only took two. We found that a big paintbrush was the best way to apply. The roller didn't get down into the grooves of the metal roof. A paint sprayer would have been the ideal!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works good,wish they would stock it in stores

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This should be available in stores, I dont know why its online only. It took a week for me to get it to my door step.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Overland Park, KS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it claims

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Applied this to metal doors after doing some minor rust removal by hand-scraping and then washed off with apple cider vinegar and dried. Product goes on like paint and then turns blue to black when it has changed the rust to magnetite. Used roller and brush for the tighter places. Waiting for 30 days to pass and will apply Rustoleum oil based paint.
Doesn't smell, but will take some effort to wash off hands if allowed to dry. Turns the roller pan, rollers and brush kind of blue/black. It will clean up w/water though.
I would highly recommend at this time for the uses it claims to be good for. I gave a lower rating for value because it is, in my opinion a little expensive.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from East Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to be adding a little life to the rusty old lease Jeep!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this on a rusty old jeep that sits out in the elements, trying to keep it usable on our lease for a few more years. The product was sprayed on using an electric house paint sprayer and it covered well. The process seemed to work as advertised as it changed colors while drying. 24hrs later I painted over all the treated areas using the same paint sprayer, and the paint went on evenly and bonded very well. It has only been a couple of weeks, but seems to be holding on, so far so good, I would recommend it for similar applications.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer

Does what it says it will do

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Of course, time will tell how well this rust neutralizer works. I can say that Coroseal appears to have neutralized all the rust on my steel bulkhead doors. The product did lay down an excellent primer coat that provided a solid undercoat for my spray can finish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Rhode Island
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice product

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
product worked as described. used it to prime the frame of an old dodge. results were great.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, so good...

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the 1 gallon amount to apply to the light rust on the frame of my pick-up. The item arrived 7 days after the online purchase. After experimenting with different ways to use the product on the underside of my vehicle, I have some suggestions that may be helpful.
Since it may not be practical to remove all your loose rust by hand, as this could take a lot of time and effort, I would suggest a good power wash from a high pressure nozzle to the underside, and especially focus on those areas with the most crusty build-up. Allow a couple of days for the frame to dry out completely before application. Make sure there is no rain in the forecast for a couple of days AFTER you apply the product, too. Any water on the Corroseal finished areas will stain if it has not cured for at least 24 hours. I prefer the spray bottle and paint brush application method to prevent waste and to also keep staining of other areas to a minimum. Although the directions say NOT to dilute the product, I chose to mix in 1 part water to 9 parts Corroseal, to very slightly thin the product and to try and prevent any clogging of the spray bottle nozzle. This worked well for me.Shake the product well before mixing.
Make sure you clean off and rinse the Corroseal bottle cap and cap opening as well as your spray bottle and brushes with water after each use, as the product has a tendency to harden like glue. I had a hard time getting the cap off after it had dried and hardened. Also, remember to use good quality medical latex gloves. I didn't use gloves the 1st time, and my finger tips turned black. VERY HARD to remove from the skin. Trust me on that! I had to use a kitchen scouring pad and lots of mechanics hand cleaner (from Pep Boys). Lesson learned. Needless to say, I used gloves after the 1st experience. Oh, and wear some old cloths you won't mind messing up too, as the black stains won't come out in the wash either.
The application process itself is fairly straight forward and fast, spray the product on the frame or rusted metal areas and then use your paint brush to evenly spread the product around to all areas. Apply as heavy a coat as you can without allowing it to run or drip off the frame. Work from top to bottom and from one side of the vehicle to the other. The product will run, but it doesn't run very quickly, so you will have enough time to spray and then use your brush to spread it out evenly. Don't worry about perfect brush strokes or overlapping, since the product will dry to a smooth even finish regardless of how many brush strokes or coats you apply. I would suggest buying 2 or 3 different sized cheap disposable paint brushes at the dollar store. Use a larger brush for fast coverage on open spaces and a smaller/longer brush for getting to those hard-to-reach and confined spaces. Some of the product may still drip off the frame, so use some newspaper or a disposable plastic drop cloth to protect whatever surface your vehicle is parked on if that is a concern. It dripped on my black asphalt in several places and it was pretty sticky and left some stains, and is still visible even after several weeks and a couple of good rain showers. I'm sure it will eventually get washed off the surface, but as Ben Franklin advised: "An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure". So use latex gloves and a drop cloth.
This is my 1st time using Corroseal, so I'm not sure how it will hold up over time, but I will check the truck frame again this coming Spring, and apply another coat as needed when the weather warms up. Using Corroseal is much easier than sanding, priming, and painting, and cheaper than sandblasting and having a pro undercoat the frame. Not sure if it's a "better" approach yet, but I like the results. So far, so good. I would recommend this product as a cheaper, and faster alternative to address vehicle frame rust.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, fast
Cons: price, skin clean up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer

Excellent product! Worked even better than I expected.

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used corroseal to seal my car trailer. The trailer was rusted all over, and under. I didn't want to wire brush or sandblast the entire trailer, so I searched for a rust convertor. The Corroseal worked perfectly. I lightly brushed part of the trailer, but when I was done you couldn't tell any difference between the parts I brushed and the parts I simply covered with the product. I brushed it on and within hours, it was dry, smooth, and black like primer. I have since painted the exposed portions and the trailer looks brand new. I used about 1/2 gallon on a 16 foot flatbed wooden deck car hauler.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Sugar Land, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great rust converter

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was easy to apply and topcoat afterwards. It was not used on anything aesthetically critical however. Much more attention to detail would need to be paid if I wanted it to be really pretty. It did turn the rust black and stop the oxidation process. However, it does require a darker topcoat to eliminate the bleed through effect.
Pros: Easy to Use, a little goes a long way
Cons: potential bleedthrough
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer

Great product for getting rid of rust

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It is a bit expensive but it is very easy to use and works quite well. Loose particles have to be removed and then the corroseal is applied. It turns the rust black and neutralizes it. Of course the surface must be painted after the cooroseal.
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Stuff Works Great

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used it on the inside of a gas tank that, beside all the rust, you wouldn't believe what was in there. After cleaning out all that gunk, down to the rust, I applied the product by pouring about a pint in the tank than rotated the tank to cover all effected areas. There were some rusted areas outside where I brushed it on. It was much easier to apply with a bursh but, either way, this stuff gets rid of rust better and faster than anything else I've used. You just need to apply it and wait. In thick rusted areas, you will need more than one coat but, the rust will eventually be gone.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Linesville, PA 16424, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works very well.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used it to remove rust from my gas grill and rust from the frame of my truck.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product! Does exactly what I expected. Easy to use. The pic shows the transformation stage I experienced.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>