728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Removers & Thinners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer

1-gal. Rust Converter Primer

Corroseal Rust Converter is an elite, industrial strength product for all marine, household, automotive, and industrial rust problems. Rust occurs naturally when the iron in steel oxidizes and returns to its original state, iron oxide. Through an innovative chemical conversion process, Corroseal Rust Converter converts rust (iron oxide) into a stable substance, magnetite. It also primes the surface with a high quality latex metal primer at the same time. Corroseal truly provides one step corrosion control. Corroseal features, water based rust converter with high quality latex metal primer, non-flammable, non-corrosive, easy to apply (brush, roll, or spray), easy to cleanup with soap and water. Eco-friendly alternative to sandblasting Corroseal is the best way to deal with rust because it is less expensive, less time consuming and is much more environmentally friendly than sandblasting. Corroseal eliminates the need to sandblast rust by chemically converting rust from iron oxide to magnetite, a black and inert substance. Don't remove rust, convert rust.
Overall rating:
4.784 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product48 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product48 of 49reviews
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
Review 1 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Little Falls, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handled the job very well!

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rust converter primer works just as described, it went on with a sprayer very well and was easy to see what areas I had covered and what areas I missed as I looked back over the trailer I was painting. I used one gallon to spray the entire 15 ft long x 8 ft wide utility trailer, bottom to top, before applying a top coat. I would definitely use this product again.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Manhattan Beach California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does what it is supposed to do exactly!
This saved a roof that would have cost 10's of thousands to replace.
I highly recommend this product for rust repair. Love it!
We ended up using 15 gallons and covered that with 20 gallons of Diamond Brite Paint.
Looks great now!
Pros: Lots of Features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Westerville, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Converts to hard-as-nail surface.

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Covered the entire frame of my flat bed trailer that is 25 years old. Scraped of flakey rust and brushed of surface rust with wire brush. Applied Corroseal and within minutes the rust started converting to black primed surface. After 24 hours I painted frame with Rustolium oil based black. This stuff is awesome. It does what it claims it can do.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, hard as nails surface
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

expensive but worth it

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started out applying with a brush then switched to spraying. I should have sprayed it all because I ran out before I was finished. Spraying makes it go much further. I only needed a small amounf additional and didnt want to wait another 10 days so I got Krud Kutter rust converter by the quart. It cost less but I had to prime it afterwards before painting which I didn't have to do with Correseal. I used this on a metal shed and am happy with the results. The only negative is the delivery time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: delivery time terrible
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent rust fighter

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It won't work miracles, but Corroseal certainly does an excellent job of combating surface rust by converting it to a protective layer of magnetite. I have used it to restore a wheelbarrow and several hand tools that I thought I would have to throw out because of rust, and am in the process of covering my vehicle's frame as well (the road salt from a dozen winters will do a number on any vehicle). When applied smoothly and consistently, it'll leave a clean-looking surface behind.
Once the metal is rusted through, there's really nothing you can do to bring it back, but if it's not quite at that point yet, Corroseal will convert the rust on contact, thus providing a protective barrier for the metal underneath. Sometimes rust is just plain avoidable, but Corroseal can do quite a bit to slow down and even reverse damage. A gallon is more than enough for most household uses.
All in all, I'm quite glad I discovered this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from west virginia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Goes on fine and converts. time will tell if it lasts

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just finished painting rails and fenders of my antique car.
Scraped loose paint and crud and lightly wire-brushed rust.
It produced smooth, hard, black, surface.
Next step is to paint with spray can of best black automotive enamel (per directions on Corroseal jug)
I don't drive the car in the rain except on rare occasions and I am thinking the corrosealed areas will last way beyond my lifetime.
At $50 some dollars a gallon it is only a bit more expensive than good paint and certainly worth the difference when you figure you have to prep down the bare metal when using paint. The time and effort saved by using Corroseal is incredible.
Cons: Why doesn't Home Depot sell it in the store?
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: only available shipped.should be sold in store too
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Product

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found this product to be very effective in converting rusty metal into a stable medium prior to painting. My project was an equipment trailer with extensive surface rust. I wire brushed loose paint and rust scale off first, then applied the rust converter and am very pleased with the result of a hard, black solid surface. I can now feel good about painting because of the lack of rust. One gallon was enough to treat my 18 foot equipment trailer.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Atlanta
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great.

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works as advertised. Used on smooth rusted surfaces and it went from white to black in an hour or so. Then ready to paint.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer

Great way to seal rusty steel

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A great way to get the rust neutralized and have a primed surface paint. It really cuts down on the time to prepare a surface.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is every thing it says it will do and more.I have used this product for many years on badly rusted metal.It never has disapointed .I would recommend this product to anyone,you don't have to be a pro to use it and you will get professional results.If you decide to paint over this product it looks realy great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
Cons: no cons
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from NE PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better then expected

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is thicker the the product in the pint or smaller bottles. It stays on vertical surfaces and encapsulates better.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Tampa Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Serious bleed-through

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product on a refrigerator on our lanai, which had surface rust from our hot and humid Florida weather. I painted over it with two coats of Rustoleum epoxy white appliance spray paint. It looked fine for about a week, but within two weeks the black rust converter primer was bleeding through. It ended up looking like a dapple-gray horse and was scrapped. I would not recommend this product to a typical homeowner/handyman.
Cons: serious bleed-through
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Linesville, PA 16424, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works very well.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used it to remove rust from my gas grill and rust from the frame of my truck.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1997 4Runner was rusted underneath pretty good. These trucks are know for that. It was so bad, I simply washed it to get the dirt off, but did not even bother sanding or wire wheeling the parts. Put it ina 2 dollar spray bottle and doused the entire underneath. And I doused to the point of some dripping. I suggest wearing gloves, this stuff gets on the skin..it stays for a few days. But the next morning I checked, it had cured to a black coating. I could easily see a few small spots where I missed and sprayed those areas. The frame, axles, gas tank, skid plates, running board rails, you name it. Sprayed. It converted ALL the rust very well and now has a nice protective coating. I will give it a month or two and right before winter I will spray with some Rustoleum to give it an edge.
But the underside and frame look so different and it feels like an excellent coating..
But so far, this stuff is amazing. I still have a little oevr half gallon left and plan to use it on my Rav4 soon. Amazing, well worth the cash, easy to use. The local Ziebart wanted 600 bucks to undercoat the truck! It would cost twice that to spray rubberized 3M. This stuff has sold me for good! 54 dollars shipped...best thing I could have done.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Madison, MS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works better than expected

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Followed direction and got excellent results. The product worked better than expected ,a little bit goes a long way.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer

Great product for getting rid of rust

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It is a bit expensive but it is very easy to use and works quite well. Loose particles have to be removed and then the corroseal is applied. It turns the rust black and neutralizes it. Of course the surface must be painted after the cooroseal.
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer

Excellent product! Worked even better than I expected.

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used corroseal to seal my car trailer. The trailer was rusted all over, and under. I didn't want to wire brush or sandblast the entire trailer, so I searched for a rust convertor. The Corroseal worked perfectly. I lightly brushed part of the trailer, but when I was done you couldn't tell any difference between the parts I brushed and the parts I simply covered with the product. I brushed it on and within hours, it was dry, smooth, and black like primer. I have since painted the exposed portions and the trailer looks brand new. I used about 1/2 gallon on a 16 foot flatbed wooden deck car hauler.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Utah, USA

Some good stuff and I'll be getting more!

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wow, this stuff works great! The instructions said not to thin the product, but who am I to follow directions?! I applied it with a garden sprayer and it was too thick to do the job, so I started to dilute it. After the few attempts, I finally ended up with a 1 to 1 ratio of product and water. I was a bit worried at first because I was applying it to a commercial vehicle and it went on milky and quickly turned purple!???? 3 or 4 hours it all went black and super hard....whew!!! Good stuff!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: a bit pricey
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product! Does exactly what I expected. Easy to use. The pic shows the transformation stage I experienced.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Rust Converter Primer
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Stuff Works Great

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used it on the inside of a gas tank that, beside all the rust, you wouldn't believe what was in there. After cleaning out all that gunk, down to the rust, I applied the product by pouring about a pint in the tank than rotated the tank to cover all effected areas. There were some rusted areas outside where I brushed it on. It was much easier to apply with a bursh but, either way, this stuff gets rid of rust better and faster than anything else I've used. You just need to apply it and wait. In thick rusted areas, you will need more than one coat but, the rust will eventually be gone.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>