728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cabinet & Countertop Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System

Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System

Rust-Oleum Cabinet Transformations Do-It Yourself Cabinet Refinishing System. Easily renew worn, faded color and protect with a tough, durable finish. Transform your cabintes to beautifully restored cabinetry that you'll be proud of for years to come.
Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System
Review 1 for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System
from Flower Mound, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Project and saved me tons!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this product shortly before my child was born trying to finish up my kitchen before he arrived. We only used one kit and it only took one weekend, and a half day on monday. The time was mostly waiting for the paint to dry as it was a little humid when I did it. My cabinets were in great shape but they just looked out dated, we put this on and now we have a much better looking kitchen. Only down side would be, I would like the ability to buy a little more of each of the steps. I would have liked to put another coat of the 3rd step on but I did not have anymore left and didn't want to buy a whole other kit for just a little extra.
Also make sure that you keep your door flat while drying as mine got just a little warped, but have since straightened out but I was a little concerned.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System
from North Hutchinson Island, Florida 34949, US
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First time, female, fifty and FANTASTIC! Don't Hesitate.

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought my condo in Florida with the old original oak kitchen in good shape the look was dated. Transformations was the answer. Our maintenance man could not believe the end result and now tells everyone about it.
It is not what I would call a weekend project unless you have a very small kitchen. Prepartion is the key to a great result, follow the directions exactly (you will get what you put into it) be ready to show off your new cabinets in no time. I even did my batroom vanities again with excellent results.
Don't hesitate start your project today you will love the new kitchen when complete.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, three years still looks like new
Cons: takes more than a weekend, your result is only as good as the effort put in, no short cuts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+48points
50out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System

Affordable Cabinet Refinishing!

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This easy to follow 3 step refinishing kit does exactly what it says it does. The cabinets in the kitchen we redid were from 1984 and had worn varnish from wet hands. The color was a typical 1980s oak and we went with 'Gunstock' which is a darker more modern color. The only problem encountered was a shortage of 'step 3' finishing solution but the paint department recommended another Rustoleum product for us so we didn't have to purchase an additional kit to complete the project.
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System
from Richland, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Two Products-One Review

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Coverage 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Rustoleum has two products for redoing cabinets. One is the Wood Refinishing System and the other is the original Cabinet Transformations System. I have used both so I can give an honest review. The Cabinet Transformations original product with the light colors box and the dark colors box is the best to use for cabinets that are very worn or for cabinets for which you want to completely change the look. It is a paint and will completely cover the cabinets and any stains. The deglazing process is hard work, but does a good job of prepping the surface. The glazing step is the one that allows the "wood grain" look. No wood grain actually shows through as it is covered with the paint. I changed cabinets from an oak color to an espresso brown and I love the look and the finish and it has held up well.
I tried the Cabinet Transformations Wood Refinishing System on my Kitchen cabinets and ended up not using it. The cleaning step did not seem to do much. It did not clean off sticky tape residue or built up grease, but it did not hurt the original surface. In fact, the instructions say to clean the cabinets before using the cleaner! When I put the "Color Enhancer" on the cabinets, it did not soak in or "enhance the color" on areas that the original varnish was still on the cabinets. I ended up with most of the color on the wipe off rags. If your cabinets are slightly off color, this product might work but it did not work on my oak cabinets. It did not cover worn areas and it did not even out the color as stated in the video.. At least the top coat would have protected the cabinets from further damage but I never got past the first step. We decided that for the same amount of work, the other product would give better results. Of course, once you tint the package it can not be returned to the store for a refund. I ended up going back to the store and purchasing another package of the original Cabinet Transformations in Biscotti to refinish my kitchen oak cabinets. They will be painted over in a color similar to the original oak color and I will use the glaze to give it a rich look. And I know I will be please with the results.
Pros: Easy Instructions
Cons: does not perform as promised
+28points
31out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System
from Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

First time user

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works great. Very easy, great instructions. My cabinets look brand new!
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System
from Scottsdale
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rustoleum Dark finish

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product for both my baths. I did not like the stain that came with the potter color (too much gold for my tastes) so instead I used a silver metalic and rubbed it on the painted surface, rubbed off and it looks absolutely gorgeous.
I am going to do by kitchen cabinets next in a lighter color, really looking forward to a new look.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly, even a girl can do it!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System
from Bothell, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great DIY Product

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this to bring back the oak kitchen cabinets from a 1987 home that had lost some of their finish. It took awhile to work through all the cabinets, but the look can't be beat for the price! I loved not having to sand and deal with stain and finish, etc. And everything comes in one box! Just read the instructions and take your time. I highly recommend getting two paint brushes to make it easier to keep working.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Bathroom cabinet turned out great. It was easy to order and picked up in the store. It was waiting at the service desk when I arrived.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System
from Pennsauken, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent solution to buying new cabinets

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just used cabinet transformation to transform my cabinets. I attempted to re-do my cabinets a couple of years ago and did a horrible job. Rust-Oleum must have had me in mind when they decided to put this kit together. They provide a DVD and step-by-step instructions to transforming your cabinets. Keep in mind this project will take at least 48 to 72 hours and you will need space for your cabinet doors to dry. There were a lot of colors to choose from. This was a great idea and I'm glad I bumped into the kit at Home Depot.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly, easy to fix your screw-up
Cons: if stain is not dry may mess up color of cabinets
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System

Beware - This is NOT a stain!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bought this product as it claims to be a "wood refinishing system". It is nothing more than paint for your cabinets! It is not a stain and does not allow the wood look of your cabinets to show though. Advertisements misleading that this is a wood refinisher. Very disappointed!
-18points
17out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System

Be Careful when reading these reviews

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
One reviewer mentioned "gunstock" as a color choice. That color choice is available in the cabinet recoating NOT the cabinet refinisher. he reviewed the wrong product.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System
from Henderson, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OMG I am sooo happy a sales associate showed me this product!

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My kitchen is straight out of 1985. My oak cabinets worn, my formica peeling, the fluorescent lights blinding. I came to home depot looking for countertop and cabinet bids... and decided to move forward on countertops... but not willing to spend 15000 on new cabinets, especially since I want to list my home this spring... but the kitchen REALLY needed updating before I listed it. As we were leaving, the associate said "Let me show you something." And she took me to the paint aisle and showed me Cabinet Transformations. She suggested I do some research on it and read reviews before I purchased it. So I did just that. After spending a few days looking at before and after pictures, after reading reviews on a variety of sites, I took the plunge. I decided to go with the DARK product. I read too many negative things about the LIGHT product. And all the model homes I have been looking at recently all have dark cabinets that are an upgrade... so dark it was.
I AM SOOOOO HAPPY! We went with the color espresso... and we did not put the decorative glaze on the cabinets (I WOULD DEFINITELY use the decorative glaze if I went with the light color transformations.) and they are gorgeous! It is a little labor intensive. Took us one day to prep doors and frames and get kitchen taped and such. The next day we spent painting two coats on all doors and drawers. The next day we applied the top coat. The only problem we had was the top coat bubbles if you do not brush it on with long, smooth strokes. So we had to resand a few doors with very fine sandpaper and reapply, more carefully, the top coat. My kitchen looks like I spent 10000+ on new cabinets. I swear it is unbelievable. I love it so much I started re-doing all my bathrooms... and the house is looking awesome. My new countertops are coming next week and I will post pictures to the Rustoleum website. The whole process took us about five days. We started on Sunday and then worked on it in the evenings after work.
This is a great value. A true transformation. I would recommend this product to anyone... I've even thought that if purchase a new home instead of upgrading my cabinet color for thousands of dollars, I will use Cabinet Transformations instead.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+39points
41out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXTREMELY EASY AND DURABLE!!!!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was super easy and the best part is how durable it is, especially having 3 young children. Its been 3 years since I did mine and they still look brand new!!! It only cost me $150 (including wall paint) to "remodel" my kitchen!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Transformations Kit Cabinet Wood Refinishing System
from Northern Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Revived my dated cabinets

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Step 1. Followed degloss instructions and seemed to work well. However, strictly out of habit and paranoia, I did lightly scuff afterwards with 180 grit sandpaper to achieve a rough dull surface.
Step 2. Color was tinted to Linen White and painted via 2 inch purdy synthetic brush. The paint in this kit is impressive. Wall paints go on way too thick and if you thin it, just doesn’t yield the result you want. Yes, prior to this kit, I experimented with a Behr product which stated it’s meant for cabinets too. However, I realized that the paint in the Rustoleum kit is obviously formulated for cabinets vs. others which are more designed for walls. Cabinet doors were 3 light coats and Cabinet frames were 4 light coats. A QUICK TRICK. If you’re going to do a few coats in a given day, put the brush in Ziploc bag and seal without air. This way you only have to wash it once at the end of the day. And you want to do light coats for better short term drying and long term curing. Resist the temptation to put on thick coats just to get the project over with.
Step 3. Skipped glaze.
Step 4. Protective coat via General Finishes Polyacrylic and Preval sprayer. I didn’t use the polyacrylic from kit due to bad reviews and complaints of yellow splotches when drying. I tried Minwax Polyacrylic clear satin, not the best result. Even with very quick light brush strokes, the end result ruined the look of my base coat. I also noticed the satin gave my cabinet doors a very cheap 80's plastic look because the Rustoleum paint is satin too. Then I perused for a flat polyacrylic as that’s the result I desired. I saw great reviews for this product via a handful of DIY’ers and woodworking professionals (this review won’t let me post the link, please google). I would assume the lack of reviews due to cost but hands down, it’s fantastic. Ample dry time so you don’t have to work in a dizzy flurry to finish and it’s very, very forgiving with brush marks. Cabinet frames, 2 light coats applied with 2 inch foam brush and Cabinet doors, 3 thinned coats applied with Preval sprayers (this review won’t let me post the link, please google). You can buy just the sprayer refills for less than $5 each. Bottle has marks on side. A great thing as you’ll need to thin the GP polyacrylic with water to achieve a fine mist. NOTE, if sprayer sputters or spray is inconsistent initially; add a few drops of water till you achieve a super fine constant mist. The following ratio of 4 to 5 GF polyacrylic and 1.5 water gave me the fine mist I desired. Practice, practice, practice. Find some cardboard or scrap wood and get comfortable with blending ratios and spraying technique. Even if you go thru an entire sprayer to get comfy, it’s $5 well spent. OK, HERE WE GO. I placed 4 lamps (without lampshades) around the work area and laid doors flat 1 at a time with nothing near it within a 3 foot radius. FYI, the overspray is very minimal. As I got ready to spray, I angled myself to see the sheen reflecting off the door(s) from the surrounding lights. Hand at 45 degree angle about 8 to 10 inches away from board, I sprayed horizontally left to right along with the grain. Walked around board, resprayed horizontally left to right along with the grain. This got all the nooks and the lighting confirmed that I covered the board evenly with a superfine mist. NOTE, Within 2 min you’ll see the mist blend together on the board giving you a glass like coating. 3 to 5 min after that, you should see areas start to dry. If 10min after spraying most of the board looks very wet, you put too much, and the puddling WILL result in a yellow stain (as I learned from my practicing). I gave it about 6hrs of dry time in between coats, slightly longer due to thinning. ANOTHER TRICK. Run a dehumidifier (if possible) wherever you’re tackling this project. I had an unfinished room in basement and in a given day, the dehumidifier collected about 3 inches of water and made room feel like a dry oven; perfect! MOMENT OF TRUTH, was all this experimenting and prep work worth it? Absolutely! 1st coat was beyond impressive. NOTE, if you get some dust, an eyelash, or whatever, land on your coat as it dries; use tweezers if you can, but if not, resist the temptation to grab it. Walk away – don’t look back, let it dry, then go at it carefully with a razor or lightly sand with 400 grit sandpaper. Again, emphasis on carefully and lightly. 2nd coat was MAGNIFICENT! The doors exhumed a warm glow and the flat/matte finish combined with the grain gave such a classy/rich feel. I’m sure a 3rd coat would have given more depth and warmth, but I was very happy with 2 coats.
FINAL STEP. I hung everything back after about 3 days of dry time, left doors open for another week and was very careful for first month of use. Now going into month 2 to 3, there have been a few water splashes and some accidental bumps, but the paint has held strong. NOTE, use foam bumpers to minimize doors slamming, these don’t stick to the paint as it cures over time and are quieter than the clear hard rubber ones. Also, my project was 3 bathroom cabinets. I ran out of paint, called Rustoleum, and another can was sent for free and had HD tint.
All in all, this project took me a couple of weeks as I was learning along the way to help achieve as professional of a result as I could, which I did. Thanks for reading and I hope my detailed experience above helps someone achieve a flawless future cabinet facelift, good luck.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: need more paint, should sell with preval sprayer kit
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.