728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gas Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill

Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill

Grill for the whole family with this Brinkmann Stainless Steel 6-Burner Gas Grill that offers an expansive 809 sq. in. cooking space for preparing large meals. The integrated rotisserie system and sear burner let you utilize multiple cooking methods at once, while the lighted cooking area lets you keep grilling your favorite foods well after dark.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product33 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(6)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product33 of 44reviews
Customer questions and answers:
43 Questions | 75 Answers
Customer reviews for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
Review 1 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from Amherst, NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow-up 1 year post

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
cooked on it all winter and still think it cooks well and is easy to use and clean the grill grates. The lid does blue a bit with use but cleans easily with stainless steel cleaner. The slide for the pullout trash binds up and keeps it from pulling out smoothly. The left side trash glide has alot of pressure on it due to the angle in which it pushes from. Had to disconnect it. The rotisserie stopped working and had to get a new kit, motor failure after 2 uses...and it wasnt the batteries. (just under warranty expiration) Many signs of rust on bolt heads in handles and on thermometers. Still enjoying it though, has many good qualities. Just wish they had a fix for the rain the gets into the drip trays in the back when its left uncovered.
Pros: Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, attractive, easy to change tank
Cons: rain gets into drip trays, some rust/inferior stainless
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from Maple Grove, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Grill at a Better Price

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife and I purchased this grill at the beginning of the summer when it was $600, not $500. We read a number of reviews online, and were comparison shopping between this, a Char Broil and a Genesis.
Our experience overall with this grill has been fantastic. We've used the rotiserrie multiple times, as well as the Sear. (It does NOT come with sear instructions, but the principle is simple enough that you can figure it out by reading about it.) The Sear works well to do exactly what it says it will - sear the surface of the meat without flareups.
The best part of this grill is it's ability to hold a temperature. One of the problems we've always had withour old Weber and Charbroils was that you would line it up to a temp, come back and it would be 50 degrees warmer. With this one, you set the burners, get it to a temp, and walk away. It holds right there. Doesn't chill, doesn't burn up. That's extremely important if you want to do ribs or rotisserie, or something else that cooks over a long period.
Overall, we love the grill. Going to miss it when it goes into storage this winter, but looking forward to converting it to Natural Gas next year.
The only ding I have is against HD's build process - they bent one of the cotter pin keys on the lid, so the sear lid no longer pivots on a pin. I don't blame Brinkmann for that, it's a Home Depot build problem. And not a huge one, just frustrating until I get back there and find a replacement cotter pin.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from Owasso, OK, USA

Love this grill!

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We fell in love with this grill when we saw it at our local Home Depot store. It had everything we were looking for in a grill: built in lights, a "searing" feature, large cooking space, side burner, the built-in rotisserie, and storage. Extra bonus features for us were the trash can and the side table that can be extended.
Our grill came fully assembled by our local Home Depot. After using it nearly daily for a month (yes, we cook out that much!) here are our observations:
CONS: the wheels are tiny, and almost worthless. We would like to have seen large, locking casters so that we can move the grill around when it is not in use, or if we need to re-arrange the patio. Another issue is the propane "gauge" that really just weighs the propane cylinder. While it should be accurate in theory, in practice it is more or less a joke. We would have liked to see Brinkman put an actual gauge on the front panel, next to the control knobs, to show how much fuel is remaining. Our final issue is that the tank sits in the middle of the bottom of the unit. If Brinkman had put it on a slide-out, and set it on one side, then there would be ample room to store a spare cylinder underneath.
Now to the PROS: The lights work pretty well for us, although our patio is already well-lit, so YMMV. The side burner is excellent, but it should be shielded if you are in a windy location. We found that simply turning the unit so that the burner is opposite the direction of the wind usually works to keep it lit. The flip-out side table adds nice extra work space, and the slide-out trash can is a nice touch. We found two baskets that fit in the shelves, and use those to hold accessories. The amount of cooking space is amazing - and even more so if the rotisserie is not in use. BUT the rotisserie is amazing as well - one of our favorite features, and we use it almost daily! The Verti-Sear is interesting; we are still experimenting with it, and learning how to effectively use it. I agree with others here who have commented that Brinkman should offer more explicit instructions on how to fully utilize this great feature.
Clean up for this grill is pretty straightforward: Keeping the cooking grill clean consists of running the grill for 15 minutes AFTER you finish cooking, and then running it (empty, with no food) for 15 minutes BEFORE you start cooking, followed by brushing with a stainless steel bristle brush. Nearly daily use, and our cooking grills still look like new!
Keeping the stainless on the exterior looking good is simple as well: Use a microfiber cloth and a good quality stainless cleaner (we like Simple Green's stainless cleaner that we found at Home Depot) and wipe in the direction of the "grain" of the stainless. When you wash your microfiber cloths, remember to not use fabric softener! We wipe down the unit after every use, and it is still looking great!
We also purchased the 70" Brinkman cover for this unit. As noted elsewhere, it is a snug fit, but it works, and looks nice.
Overall, we LOVE this grill, and would highly recommend it.
+55points
59out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from Augusta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Grill and wonderful buy

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
More features than any other grill for the cost. Excellent features and benefits for the price range. Cooks at 450 at low temp setting like a grill should with all 4 main burners on low. Lost of shelf space and the easy to use trash can is a winner and surprise benefit! I was surprised at other reviews but decided to buy it as I fell in love with it compared to all the other grills. It has been a wonderful addition to our home. We got an oversized 80" cover to protect it as well. I would recommend that to anyone who wanted to protect their investment. We love it and would recommend it to our friends.
Pros: Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, Lots of Features
+19points
24out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Grill

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent grill, especially when you consider the cost of the grill compared to others that don't even have the amount of grilling space or amenities. The conversion to natural gas was quick and the grill is fantastic and very durable. I hate to say but one of the bungee cords I used to tie down the grill to take it home busted and the grill fell in the truck at 40mph and only had a few small dents/scratches. Everything worked fine and a little dent removal made it look like nothing ever happened.
I would highly recommend this grill to anyone searching for a great grill regardless of their price range.
Pros: Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from Orange, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love, love, love this grill!

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It does everything you would expect a grill to do, and then more. The smaller grill is perfect for two people. The larger grill is perfect for indirect grilling and smoking. The built in rotisserie is positioned perfectly! I love the ability to use the other sections of the grill while the rotisserie is going. The sear function is very useful, too. I thought the pull out wastebasket was dumb until I started using it for storage of my wood chips and other equipment. Now it's a boon! I just pull out the wastebasket and select what I want to use without having to rummage around in the bbq cart. After grilling, I just give everything a quick once over to get off the debris and pop them in the dishwasher. Then I reseason the grills and store them away. I haven't had an occasion to use the side burner yet, and I really don't see it being used much, but what the heck. It's only April!
Pros: Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill

Great features for a good price

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got this grill a couple of weeks ago and love it so far. Grilled some steak, burgers and hot dogs and all have come out perfect. Looking forward to using the vertex searer and the rotisserie. The side burner doesn't work for me, but I think I didn't do something right when I was putting it together. That's what you get for assembling it at 9:30 at night. Overall, it's good so far and I'm getting a ton of compliments.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from Arnold, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

I Love the versatility of this grill!

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just bought this grill today and I love it. For years I have been looking for the perfect grill for everything and I truley believe this is it. My only disappointment however is the lack of detailed instruction on how to use the new top sear as far as the proper pre-heat time, and proper lenth of time recommended to sear your food. Can anyone help me with these questions? If not i will learn through trial and error on my awesome new grill!
+35points
59out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from Mill Creek, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This grill made my buddies jealous

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best gas grill I have ever owned and a tremendous value. It has many of the features of a higher end outdoor kitchen type grill without the 4-digit price tag. With proper maintenance, this may be the last gas grill I have to buy. All my friends were jealous and were soon begging their wives to let them get one themselves!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, excellent features
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from Iowa

Great Grill

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grill is wonderful. Love the temperature gauges, lights, rotisserie, and separate searing/cooking stations. It is BIG so measure your space to make sure you have room for it and are able to haul it home!!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from Brunswick, GA, USA
Gender:Male

don't waste your money on this grill

PostedMay 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The grill was easy to assemble and it was a good price but it's not worth the money. My wife bought me this model for my birthday and we didn't have the grill for 1 month and it was rusting around both of the thermometers. Also, the stainless steel on top of the grill turned after the very first use. The best thing that I can say is that Home Depot made it very easy to return the grill. She bought me the Weber after we returned this one, much better grill.
+11points
20out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this Grill

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great sturdy grill. This grill far exceeds the expectation for the money.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill

Not sure if this is going to be worth the money

PostedMay 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not smooth so far, so I am not in love and may have to return it. Have had it about a month, one of the lights has gone out already and it seems to be a very high flame when it does work. Food cooks very quickly or barely at all. Two times now, we have had trouble keeping a steady supply of propane the flame doesn't go up enough to get heat. It could be the line from the propane to the grill, but why the extreme flame with fast cook? I had better luck with my cheaper grill I could cook longer at a lower temp and not burn up my food.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This grill has a lot of features, however...

PostedJune 21, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited about purchasing this grill. It has alot of features that could be handy. It has a large grilling surface on the left 4 burners. It produced even heat across the surface. The first time I attempted to use the Vertex Searing station it wouldn't even brown the meat. I removed it and grilled it. I thought maybe I wasn't doing something right. I looked in the manual for some type of operating instructions. It only tells you how to light it. The second time I used the Vertex Sear station with the same results. The next day it went back to Home Depot and I bought a different brand. Home Depot was very good about the return. If you intend to sear your meat, don't buy this grill.
+3points
10out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised, I like the two cooking zones and multiple burn controls

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First off have to say I was very disappointed that this ws removed from the home delivery. I almost did not buy this unit because I had to arrange for pickup and delivery from the story.
Assembly was easy and straight forward. Documentation was a bit vague for some steps and reaching some of the screws was a bit difficult. If doing it again I would have had the store assemble it given no home delivery option.
Having two cook areas is a very nice feature. Have three burns controls on the large grill and two on the smallgrill is great.
Not sure the searing feature is going to get as much use as I originally thought. Used it with some porck chops the other day and was not really happy with the finish.
Grill has lots of heat for chicken and Steaks and being able to move the meats from a high to low zone makes cooking a pleasure.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Cons: store only delivery, some of the screws for assembles are hard to reach
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great grilling machine

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used my grill over 3 dozen times and have prepared food for 24 people more than 6 times and this grills heat dispersion is very good. The rotisserie works perfectly. Rear positioned meat and vegetables cook well as the front food does. Recommend this grill highly..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great Grill

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 2 family members who have Weber grills and have cooked on them and this grill is far better. Holds the heat better and able to actually grill. With the weber I always felt more like I was slow cooking instead of grilling.
Have had the grill for a month now and have not tried everything yet, but so far this is as rated, a superior grill for sure so far.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from Strawberry Plains, TN 37871, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Return me I don't sear I broil

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This grill has a broiler not a searer, used it one time it makes a horrible noise and have had it a week covered starting to show rust going back today it's not worth taking home grill shopping again so sad we were really excited about this grill.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good looks might not last long

PostedJune 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product does look good, although after a month, rust appears on the hinges. It does not heat throughout and I have no idea how the sear station works! I put my steak under the fire of the station, and it simply did not sear! We are not pros of BBQ anyway, so we might not do the right things. Also, the rotisserie part is not working at all and the system seems pretty cheap. But overall, it is a beauty and it serves most of its purpose.
+4points
11out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vertex Sear 6-Burner Dual Fuel Gas Grill
from New Holland, PA 17557, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Brinkmann wasn't kidding about the cooking space!

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just be ready when you buy this Brinkmann Grill. This Brinkmann Stainless-Steel 6-Burner Gas Grill offers an expansive 809 sq. in. cooking space has all of its grandeur of benefits. I can very much do all kind of cooking and Grilling right here day and night. It's the Ultimate Grill for the Great price on four wheels! Even comes w/ a trash canister!
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>