728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Portable Dishwashers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black

Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black

GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product16 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(8)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product16 of 23reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black
Review 1 for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black
from Northern Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GE Portable Dishwasher

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The dishwasher does what it's supposed do...wash dishes. You do need to rinse out baked on food like lasagna pans but regular dishes with tomato sauce etc cleans just fine. Don't over crowd but that is the case with any dishwasher. I would have preferred the dishwasher to be black on all 4 sides instead of just the front but it is what it is. The buttons on the machine are intuitive which helps if you don't read the directions. If you can't do a built in dishwasher then this is the way to go. I had thought about the 18" wide machine but opted for the larger capacity in the 24"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black
from Jersey City, NJ, USA

I'm very happy with my dishwasher

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this dishwasher over a month ago, and I'm extremely happy with it. I use it every other day. We had to wait to use it because the adapter for the faucet which came with the dishwasher wasn't long enough. So, we had to buy an adapter at the hardware store. Considering how much I ultimately paid for the machine, it seemed to me that it should've come with an appropriate adapter. In any case, that was a small inconvenience. Once we had the right adapter, it was too easy to connect the dishwasher to the faucet. I only use the standard functions, i.e. normal wash. I don't use the heat dry. I open the door and then let is sit till the next morning when everything is dry. The machine is VERY quiet. It's much quieter than standard dishwashers I've had. I hardly notice it's on. The only complaint I have is that the sides of the dishwasher are white. But, all in all, I'd highly recommend this machine to others.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black
from Bradford, PA 16701, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice Dishwasher

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this dishwasher for 2 weeks. It's a nice dishwasher. In 1 other review they said the sides were white, nobody else commented on that and it is not in the discription anywhere, but yes the sides are white. Don't know why they would make it like that but that's the only thing i would change on it. Cleans the dishes well, it's quiet, easy to hook-up.
Also in the hook-up instuctions it says that you can not have a sprayer on your sink and use the portable dishwasher, I did not unhook my spayer and everything works well together, no problems.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black

never going to handwash again

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Portable Dishwasher in White with 16 Place Settings Capacity
I've had this unit for over 6 months now and it works great. It at times can be hard to move around when it's full of heavy dishes, but other then that it's an amazing unit!! The steam cycle works great on really dirty dishes or on glasses that spot really easy. I have found that using the Cascade ActionPacs with the Dawn works the best in the unit, others don't work as well.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Skeptical at first, enthused after 9 months!

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Portable Dishwasher in White with 16 Place Settings Capacity
Having moved around, I've used a lot of different dishwashers. We had one other portable that wasn't very good so I was skeptical of purchasing a portable again. After using it for 9 months I have to say this machine does an amazing job and is very water efficient. My ONLY advice is that using any detergent but Cascade (the green package) results in much less satisfactory cleaning. Stick with the Cascade and the dishes are sparkling, even with our rock-hard water. I don't own Cascade stock but have wasted money on other detergents only to find perfect results using the green version (liquid or powder). I thank my husband weekly for buying me this dishwasher!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, it works!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black
from San Francisco, CA, USA

Good washer, after 3 service visits

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Portable Dishwasher in White with 16 Place Settings Capacity
I'm pleased with the machine, and it seems to perform well, but I wasn't happy that the hose was stuck AND leaking when I got it. Three service visits and two weeks later, it now works. Good product, good customer service, horrible quality assurance testing.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black

Working very well so far

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Portable Dishwasher in White with 16 Place Settings Capacity
Clean dishes, not too loud, smooth-rolling wheels. No complaints.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If It's Your First (Dishwasher) It Will Change Your Life

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Portable Dishwasher in White with 16 Place Settings Capacity
Since this is my first dishwasher I don't have a lot to compare this to but I can say that having a machine like this will change your life. Instead of spending countless hours and gallons of water scrubbing dishes, my family of three puts dishes in the machine and runs it twice a week. So much less work! It's especially nice not to have to scrub fiddly items like water bottle caps.
As for this specific machine: it came with all of the parts needed to run it as a portable, including the faucet adapter. It is fairly quiet and the included features are enough that I would actually consider installing this in a counter if we move to an apartment/home that doesn't have a unit of equal or better quality already in it.
One note about the faucet adapter: it has a screen but it does not have a fine aerator so if you're used to a frothy stream of water you'll have to adjust to a more solid and heavy flow.
The machine does not always do a perfect job on the normal wash mode but if anything remains soiled I've found that "escalating" it to steam mode for the next batch takes care of it.
A slight motor noise can be heard when the pump is running and obviously it makes quite a bit of noise when it is ejecting water into the sink, but aside from that it is easily drowned out by the noise of the television or a fan/air conditioner. It would probably be more quiet built into a counter.
Overall I'm extremely happy with this machine and plan to bring it with me to my next home.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

.I am disappointed.

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Portable Dishwasher in White with 16 Place Settings Capacity
I thought there were more settings than there are, such as a pots & pan setting. It doesn't get my dishes as clean as I would like.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black

love it

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Portable Dishwasher in White with 16 Place Settings Capacity
an absolute lifesaver! and easy to use! great product!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

so far so good.

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Portable Dishwasher in White with 16 Place Settings Capacity
product has only been in service 2 weeks. Time will tell regarding durability.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black
from New Orleans, LA, USA

Motor went bad after 2 1/2 years - costs $400 to replace!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Portable Dishwasher in White with 16 Place Settings Capacity
I thought this was a good product - until today. The motor has gone bad after only 2 1/2 years. A new motor is $240 + labor & tax for a total of over $400.
Not worth the repair cost since I can get another new machine for less!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black

Still Washing Dishes!

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Portable Dishwasher in White with 16 Place Settings Capacity
It took me on average of an hour per day to wash my dishes. I decided to eliminate my dish problem and purchase this dishwasher. The washer did not solve my problem. It does not get my dishes 100% clean. I see tiny traces of food, sauce, etc. The bottom insides of my glasses are not always clean. Plastics remain lightly greasy. I did not expect these results especially when I don't put heavily soiled dishes in the washer. I wipe the dishes with a napkin or lightly rinse them at the sink before placing them in the washer. As I unload the washer, I inspect the dishes and have been placing several of them in my sink to wash by hand. Having the dishwasher has reduced the amount of dishes that I have to wash, but it did not solve my problem completely. I still have to wash some of my dishes.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: does not clean completely
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black
from Grand Chute, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

average dishwasher

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Portable Dishwasher in White with 16 Place Settings Capacity
This dishwasher works, but only if you prewash the heck out of your dishes first. Can't use the packets that came with it because they don't always dissolve. Once I figured out how to work the machine, it now works for me ok.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Convertible Portable Dishwasher in Black
Based on the average of (10) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
7 out of 10 recommend this product