728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Storage Bins, Cubes & Totes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

The Strong Box 108 qt Plastic Black and Yellow Storage Tote provides you with a durable storage solution. This box features extra-heavy-duty construction with a black base made from recycled resin and a yellow cover. The 108-Quart capacity can hold up to 400 lb.
Overall rating:
3.138 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
59%of customersrecommend this product17 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(6)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
59%of customersrecommend this product17 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
Review 1 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Were very good, now they are the worst tote and have a higher price.

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
About 2.5 years ago, I bought 14 of these totes at Home Depot and they lasted this entire time from daily use. A few months ago I needed more. I bought 12 new ones and they burst and cracked after just two months. I returned 5 and bought five more (the price increase in just two months, so I had to pay the difference). Now just two months later I have 3 or more of the new ones that have burst. The original 14 are still in good shape and working fine. They must have changed suppliers or the maker decided to intentionally make them cheap in order to make more money, or they simply screwed-up the formulation of the plastic by accident. For whatever reason, these new totes are now worthless and cause a waste of time trying to exchange them, just to get more BAD ones. The original ones were $9.99 now they have increased the price twice and they are just terrible (they used to say they would hold 750 lbs, now they don’t, otherwise they LOOK exactly the same). These maybe ok for storing pillows and such, but nothing with any weight to it.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Los Angeles

The Original Storage Bin Builder...

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The company that made the original storage bin (Yellow diamond shape top) was Best Plastics LLC based out of New Jersey. After doing some digging, the company went out of business.... I am mad because it was the best storage bin ever... Now I have to look for some other ones like it... Any suggestions???
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from BROOKLYN, NEW YORK

SHOPPERS BEWARE!!!: INFERIOR-INFERIOR TO OLDER VERSION; WHICH HAD THE DIAMONDS, NOT SQUARES IN THE YELLOW TOP!!!

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT, DO NOT BUY!!!! - THIS IS A CHEAZZZY VERSION OF THE OLDER SUPERIOR STORAGE BIN; WHICH HAS THE SAME SKU #.
THIS ISN'T WORTH $3.00, MORE LESS $11.00!!!
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Des Moines, IA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Lids don't fit

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The lids on this "Strong Box" do not fit properly. Ten were purchased. About three actually latched. When we rocked the dolly back, the lids just flopped off the top one. They're not worth the price paid. Unfortunately, we were on a serious time crunch with no opportunity to replace them. We're VERY disappointed in this product.
Pros: size
Cons: does not latch
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Please Bring back the old style

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The old style are the best storage totes ever made. Don't be fooled by the new style as it may look the same but it is not even close to the old style. The only similarities are the colors.
Cons: durability
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Worst storage bin ever made

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This bin is just pure trash..... cracks, lid does not fit well, cheap plastic, can not hold even 50 lbs.
Have had almost identical bins bought from HD 4-5 yrs ago and are excellent. These new ones (look identical to my old ones) are just worst quality one can imagine. Too many failing products HD are carrying and I have reached a point of not wanting to buy from them any more. It is upsetting to pay almost top dollar for a Harbor Freight Tools type of quality product.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: not durable at all, bad quality product, worst ever!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Brevard County, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54

Never again

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
At first, I thought it was a bargain- great price for the size. I purchased one at my local store, but while loading it into my vehicle (the tub had about 15 lbs of other merchandise inside and the top was not in place) the tub split from the lip, and ran halfway down the tub. Apparently the tub requires the lid securely in place for structural integrity. Needless to day, returned and will not purchase again.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

Product has Changed

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The product featured in the image no longer exists, unfortunately, as I own one (and I am an employee of HD) and it is BANGIN. As other reviewers have commented, this is not the same tote. Its distinctly cheesier and even looks a bit different. The plastic is not as thick as it used to be and the lid is no longer a golden orange colour but a creepy yellow one. Its a shame, this was literally the best tote in the world. I mean literally, the best tote in the world.
As an FYI, the former manufacturer of the good tote went out of business.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
Cons: chinsy, thin, shadow of self
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

Smells Terrible Weeks Later

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 4 of these totes and I didn't think of anything at the time but the Isle where all the totes were smelled horrible. I put them in my car and then I realized it was these black totes that was stinking up the isle. I had to roll the windows down while I drove 10 minutes home as they made me nauseous.I washed them with soap and water thinking it was the release agent from the mold. I left them outside in the rain and sun for a couple days. Still smell terrible. I even sprayed them with odoban (which is great) and that did nothing to help. Weeks later they still stink. NO WAY would I put any clothing or bedding in these. Decent Design, although the lids will pool water if left outside and because they have holes punched for locks I can see how water would get in.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Good Size & Weight
Cons: terrible smell, low quality plastic
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from north florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

not for outdoor use

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plastic is very heavy duty, but if you use it outside not only does water pool on top but leaks inside.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Spitting Mad - Design Change

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have to say that Home Depots purchasing department messed up probably one of the best storage bins of all time! Having worked in manufacturing, I know how large corporate clients can grind on suppliers to lower cost. In essence they have redesigned the product with less plastic which sacrifices the rigidity and strength of the product. They have ruined what was once a great purchase. The width is now smaller and the height higher so they don't even fit/nest with the previous version. In my (honest) opinion these bins are no better than their rubbermaid counterpart that sells for $4. If cost was a concern, I would have happily paid more for the original version! Version 2 was tolerable, but still not as good as Version 1. Version 3 is just plain awful! What's worse, is that HD is advertising Version 2 in the picture on their website, but be careful, the dimensions advertised are that of the new version (Ver 3). I am VERY disappointed and wish that HD would do some market research prior to making/accepting design changes on what their customers actually want! PLEASE consider carrying the old product!
Cons: flimsy and poor quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Saint Petersburg, FL

Storage containers

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent for storage where you need to stack 4 or 5 high. We use in storage shed that is not temperature controlled and they hold up well when other thinner plastic brands collapsed with the heat.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

Same great quality

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently bought another set of these storage bins for the clutter starting to build up around the garage. compared both new and the same ones I have bought over a year ago and I didn't see any difference in structural integrity. yes a little difference in design but still tough and great for stacking without worrying of the lids collapsing in on themselves from the weight above. BUT I can agree to lowering the price. I bought thenm last time for $10.97 not $12.97. still worth it though.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

I bought in store

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a couple of these in the store. They are built well and the lids fit well. I was thinking about buying a few more while they are on sale, but I'm now concerned based on the other reviews that I might get a mismatch of bins. Either way, I'm extremely happy with the ones I have.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from pinellas park, fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

good value, sturdy

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice sturdy box at a good price. Bought 2- holds all my Christmas stuff!!
Pros: Durable, Functional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

Manufacturer Change - Watch Out!

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of setup 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a bunch of these, made by Best Plastics, at HD awhile back. Strong, good closure, good seal, stackable... I loved them so much, I filled them up and went back for more. HD now sells a seemingly identical product made by GSG. BUT, this product is not the same dimensions, so the lids are not compatible with the Best ones, they won't even stack. Plus, the lids on these don't snap tight, they just lay on top. Home Depot Buyers, bring back Best Plastics!!!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Great Purchase

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great storage tote. I should have purchased a couple more of them. The lid fits quite well and it holds all my painting equipment. .I am painting some rooms in my house and just needed something that would hold all the tarps, brushes, rollers, etc. you need to do a complete job. Now I can put things away at the end of the day and if I don't get back to it for a day or so, I know where everything is and it's all neat and tidy.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Sugar Land Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Buying another one today

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this several years ago. It rides around in the back of my F250 and is full of those things I think I might need someday while out and about. Very sturdy. In fact looks just like it did the day I brought it home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Louisville
Age Range:45 to 54

To Bad.. Buy what you need before they Change AGAIN

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not expect any consistency if you have to buy additional...
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Storage Solutions

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very good quality, good looking, and very functional storage solution. Needed to add extra storage to tiny apartment storage closet. I purchased acouple of these, labeled them, then stacked them ontop of each other now I have extra room again and the stacked crates look great and work great
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Vibrant Color, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>