728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Storage Bins, Cubes & Totes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

The Strong Box 108 qt Plastic Black and Yellow Storage Tote provides you with a durable storage solution. This box features extra-heavy-duty construction with a black base made from recycled resin and a yellow cover. The 108-Quart capacity can hold up to 400 lb.
Overall rating:
3.368 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product13 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product13 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
Review 1 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Des Moines, IA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Lids don't fit

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The lids on this "Strong Box" do not fit properly. Ten were purchased. About three actually latched. When we rocked the dolly back, the lids just flopped off the top one. They're not worth the price paid. Unfortunately, we were on a serious time crunch with no opportunity to replace them. We're VERY disappointed in this product.
Pros: size
Cons: does not latch
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from BROOKLYN, NEW YORK

SHOPPERS BEWARE!!!: INFERIOR-INFERIOR TO OLDER VERSION; WHICH HAD THE DIAMONDS, NOT SQUARES IN THE YELLOW TOP!!!

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT, DO NOT BUY!!!! - THIS IS A CHEAZZZY VERSION OF THE OLDER SUPERIOR STORAGE BIN; WHICH HAS THE SAME SKU #.
THIS ISN'T WORTH $3.00, MORE LESS $11.00!!!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Please Bring back the old style

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The old style are the best storage totes ever made. Don't be fooled by the new style as it may look the same but it is not even close to the old style. The only similarities are the colors.
Cons: durability
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Great Purchase

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great storage tote. I should have purchased a couple more of them. The lid fits quite well and it holds all my painting equipment. .I am painting some rooms in my house and just needed something that would hold all the tarps, brushes, rollers, etc. you need to do a complete job. Now I can put things away at the end of the day and if I don't get back to it for a day or so, I know where everything is and it's all neat and tidy.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

Same great quality

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently bought another set of these storage bins for the clutter starting to build up around the garage. compared both new and the same ones I have bought over a year ago and I didn't see any difference in structural integrity. yes a little difference in design but still tough and great for stacking without worrying of the lids collapsing in on themselves from the weight above. BUT I can agree to lowering the price. I bought thenm last time for $10.97 not $12.97. still worth it though.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Aromas, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Better than Expected

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use these to load up various goodies for doing trade shows. Rather than have all the items loose in small boxes, bags, etc; I opted for a larger box with a snap-lock lid. These are sturdy enough for my use and the lids fit nicely. I did take a few minutes, while in the store, to test fit each lid to the 3 boxes I purchased. Some of the lids appeared to be stressed or damaged since they had noticeable "white" areas where the plastic had been bent or stretched/stressed. These cases are usually loaded in the back of a pickup and the lids held tightly with no extra straps or securing method (lid to box). Mine stacked well and nest together when not being used taking up far less storage space. I like that the lids also have holes around the perimeter allowing a rope or cable to be passed thru to secure cases together for safety or maneuvering. Box material was thick enough that I didn't feel like it was going to give-way under moderate loads.
Lots of uses from gardening, garage storage, kids toy boxes or even trade show materials!
Pros: Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Spitting Mad - Design Change

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have to say that Home Depots purchasing department messed up probably one of the best storage bins of all time! Having worked in manufacturing, I know how large corporate clients can grind on suppliers to lower cost. In essence they have redesigned the product with less plastic which sacrifices the rigidity and strength of the product. They have ruined what was once a great purchase. The width is now smaller and the height higher so they don't even fit/nest with the previous version. In my (honest) opinion these bins are no better than their rubbermaid counterpart that sells for $4. If cost was a concern, I would have happily paid more for the original version! Version 2 was tolerable, but still not as good as Version 1. Version 3 is just plain awful! What's worse, is that HD is advertising Version 2 in the picture on their website, but be careful, the dimensions advertised are that of the new version (Ver 3). I am VERY disappointed and wish that HD would do some market research prior to making/accepting design changes on what their customers actually want! PLEASE consider carrying the old product!
Cons: flimsy and poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

I bought in store

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a couple of these in the store. They are built well and the lids fit well. I was thinking about buying a few more while they are on sale, but I'm now concerned based on the other reviews that I might get a mismatch of bins. Either way, I'm extremely happy with the ones I have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Brevard County, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54

Never again

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
At first, I thought it was a bargain- great price for the size. I purchased one at my local store, but while loading it into my vehicle (the tub had about 15 lbs of other merchandise inside and the top was not in place) the tub split from the lip, and ran halfway down the tub. Apparently the tub requires the lid securely in place for structural integrity. Needless to day, returned and will not purchase again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

Great for International Travel -AIRLINE APPROVED

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use these totes for packing misc supplies and clothing for international travel. I have never had one break or crack, even after multiple flights around the world. THEY ARE VERY TOUGH. I have both the old ones and the new ones and am very happy with both. I do not see a lot of difference in quality from the old to the new.
LOVE THESE TOTES!!!
Pros: Durable, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great travel storage

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used in my trunk to move and to travel on the road. A good product at a great price - hard to beat.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very durable and easy to stack, light wait, easy to carry.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great totes

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've bought several of these totes and I love them. They're big, sturdy and cheaper than most others.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from west chester pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

better than most, inside remains dry

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are excellent temporary storage containers to use outside.
I hope they will hold up as I plan to purchase more!
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, stays dry inside
Cons: top collects water
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

Manufacturer Change - Watch Out!

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of setup 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a bunch of these, made by Best Plastics, at HD awhile back. Strong, good closure, good seal, stackable... I loved them so much, I filled them up and went back for more. HD now sells a seemingly identical product made by GSG. BUT, this product is not the same dimensions, so the lids are not compatible with the Best ones, they won't even stack. Plus, the lids on these don't snap tight, they just lay on top. Home Depot Buyers, bring back Best Plastics!!!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

Best tote for Aeroponics

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best tote if you plan to modify it for use in aeroponics. The lid almost seems like it was designed for the typical cloner layout. BEST TOTE MADE!!! Even if it was twice as expensive.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

SUper strong & stackable

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome storage bins. Easily stackable. Light weight. Holds lots. Strong & sturdy. Sides will hold their shape, NOT buckle on you. Strong handles are easy to grasp and can withstand weight. Lids snap on/off and can be removed easily, but won't pop off accidently. Mouse-proof for long term storage. Worth every penny.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Moreno Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Seals Great, Perfect for Stacking

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Price is GREAT, This is a GREAT Storage Container as well !
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product