728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

The Strong Box 108 qt Plastic Black and Yellow Storage Tote provides you with a durable storage solution. This box features extra-heavy-duty construction with a black base made from recycled resin and a yellow cover. The 108-Quart capacity can hold up to 400 lb.
Overall rating:
3.539 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
66%of customersrecommend this product25 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
3.5 out of 5
5
(19)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(6)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
66%of customersrecommend this product25 of 38reviews
Customer reviews for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
Review 1 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from San Ramon, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes

An excellent, sturdy container

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have many different containers and this one seems to be made out of sturdy plastic. Some containers are easy to bend or crush but this one seems much stronger. The top of the container is strong and secure and it is indented to allow you to stack other containers on top of it easier. Because of the indentation, if you stack other containers on top, they won't slide off. The container and lid also have holes in them on each corner that would allow you to put a lock or zip tie on them so it is more secure. My wife says she would like to replace all of our existing containers with these.
Pros: Durable, Excellent Quality, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Were very good, now they are the worst tote and have a higher price.

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
About 2.5 years ago, I bought 14 of these totes at Home Depot and they lasted this entire time from daily use. A few months ago I needed more. I bought 12 new ones and they burst and cracked after just two months. I returned 5 and bought five more (the price increase in just two months, so I had to pay the difference). Now just two months later I have 3 or more of the new ones that have burst. The original 14 are still in good shape and working fine. They must have changed suppliers or the maker decided to intentionally make them cheap in order to make more money, or they simply screwed-up the formulation of the plastic by accident. For whatever reason, these new totes are now worthless and cause a waste of time trying to exchange them, just to get more BAD ones. The original ones were $9.99 now they have increased the price twice and they are just terrible (they used to say they would hold 750 lbs, now they don’t, otherwise they LOOK exactly the same). These maybe ok for storing pillows and such, but nothing with any weight to it.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Sargent, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes

Very sturdy storage box with lots of room!

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Heavy duty storage box. 27 gallon so have a lot of storage capacity. I really like the way the lid is designed for stacking. The top box locks into the lid below so the boxes will not slide off of each other while moving. The lid also easily snaps on and off.
Pros: Durable, Well Made, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Los Angeles

The Original Storage Bin Builder...

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The company that made the original storage bin (Yellow diamond shape top) was Best Plastics LLC based out of New Jersey. After doing some digging, the company went out of business.... I am mad because it was the best storage bin ever... Now I have to look for some other ones like it... Any suggestions???
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Sterling, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes

Okay for the price but don't expect too much from it

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our box was delivered already damaged, the corner of the container was broken out and cracked despite the many layers of bubble wrap used. This is not a heavy duty storage container, and gets very brittle in cold temperatures. I gave it three stars only because the price is so low so it can be used for storage and thrown out if damaged, but defeats the purpose of having a durable container.
Cons: brittle in cold
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from BROOKLYN, NEW YORK

SHOPPERS BEWARE!!!: INFERIOR-INFERIOR TO OLDER VERSION; WHICH HAD THE DIAMONDS, NOT SQUARES IN THE YELLOW TOP!!!

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT, DO NOT BUY!!!! - THIS IS A CHEAZZZY VERSION OF THE OLDER SUPERIOR STORAGE BIN; WHICH HAS THE SAME SKU #.
THIS ISN'T WORTH $3.00, MORE LESS $11.00!!!
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Des Moines, IA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Lids don't fit

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The lids on this "Strong Box" do not fit properly. Ten were purchased. About three actually latched. When we rocked the dolly back, the lids just flopped off the top one. They're not worth the price paid. Unfortunately, we were on a serious time crunch with no opportunity to replace them. We're VERY disappointed in this product.
Pros: size
Cons: does not latch
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Please Bring back the old style

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The old style are the best storage totes ever made. Don't be fooled by the new style as it may look the same but it is not even close to the old style. The only similarities are the colors.
Cons: durability
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Brevard County, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54

Never again

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
At first, I thought it was a bargain- great price for the size. I purchased one at my local store, but while loading it into my vehicle (the tub had about 15 lbs of other merchandise inside and the top was not in place) the tub split from the lip, and ran halfway down the tub. Apparently the tub requires the lid securely in place for structural integrity. Needless to day, returned and will not purchase again.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Worst storage bin ever made

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This bin is just pure trash..... cracks, lid does not fit well, cheap plastic, can not hold even 50 lbs.
Have had almost identical bins bought from HD 4-5 yrs ago and are excellent. These new ones (look identical to my old ones) are just worst quality one can imagine. Too many failing products HD are carrying and I have reached a point of not wanting to buy from them any more. It is upsetting to pay almost top dollar for a Harbor Freight Tools type of quality product.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: not durable at all, bad quality product, worst ever!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

Smells Terrible Weeks Later

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 4 of these totes and I didn't think of anything at the time but the Isle where all the totes were smelled horrible. I put them in my car and then I realized it was these black totes that was stinking up the isle. I had to roll the windows down while I drove 10 minutes home as they made me nauseous.I washed them with soap and water thinking it was the release agent from the mold. I left them outside in the rain and sun for a couple days. Still smell terrible. I even sprayed them with odoban (which is great) and that did nothing to help. Weeks later they still stink. NO WAY would I put any clothing or bedding in these. Decent Design, although the lids will pool water if left outside and because they have holes punched for locks I can see how water would get in.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Good Size & Weight
Cons: terrible smell, low quality plastic
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

Product has Changed

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
The product featured in the image no longer exists, unfortunately, as I own one (and I am an employee of HD) and it is BANGIN. As other reviewers have commented, this is not the same tote. Its distinctly cheesier and even looks a bit different. The plastic is not as thick as it used to be and the lid is no longer a golden orange colour but a creepy yellow one. Its a shame, this was literally the best tote in the world. I mean literally, the best tote in the world.
As an FYI, the former manufacturer of the good tote went out of business.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
Cons: chinsy, thin, shadow of self
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow

Manufacturer Change - Watch Out!

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a bunch of these, made by Best Plastics, at HD awhile back. Strong, good closure, good seal, stackable... I loved them so much, I filled them up and went back for more. HD now sells a seemingly identical product made by GSG. BUT, this product is not the same dimensions, so the lids are not compatible with the Best ones, they won't even stack. Plus, the lids on these don't snap tight, they just lay on top. Home Depot Buyers, bring back Best Plastics!!!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from TAMPA,FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes

More than a tote

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So what is a 27 gal tote. I measured the interior: the bottom is approx. 23 1/2 inches wide by 14 1/2 inches deep 25 1/2 inches wide and 16 1/2 inches deep at the top. It is approx. 15 inches high/tall.
This is approx. 3 cubic feet using the bottom measurements , it's probably a little more do the fact it is
larger at the top. The lid sits on a lip that goes completely around the tote with 6 slots which gives you many options to secure the lid. If you are going to put a lot of weight in this even if you don't use all of the interior space you could cut and fit a piece of 1/2 in. plywood for the bottom. Use your imagination for the circumstance in which you will use this for, be long or short term. How about casters to make it a rolling tote. Or a garden box. The uses are endless .
Pros: Durable, Functional, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Silver Spring
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes

This is truly a strong box -heavy

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a strong box all around. You can stack very heavy stuff on top. Of course to be so strong, it is fairly heavy.
Pros: Durable, Excellent Quality, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from north florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

not for outdoor use

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plastic is very heavy duty, but if you use it outside not only does water pool on top but leaks inside.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Spitting Mad - Design Change

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have to say that Home Depots purchasing department messed up probably one of the best storage bins of all time! Having worked in manufacturing, I know how large corporate clients can grind on suppliers to lower cost. In essence they have redesigned the product with less plastic which sacrifices the rigidity and strength of the product. They have ruined what was once a great purchase. The width is now smaller and the height higher so they don't even fit/nest with the previous version. In my (honest) opinion these bins are no better than their rubbermaid counterpart that sells for $4. If cost was a concern, I would have happily paid more for the original version! Version 2 was tolerable, but still not as good as Version 1. Version 3 is just plain awful! What's worse, is that HD is advertising Version 2 in the picture on their website, but be careful, the dimensions advertised are that of the new version (Ver 3). I am VERY disappointed and wish that HD would do some market research prior to making/accepting design changes on what their customers actually want! PLEASE consider carrying the old product!
Cons: flimsy and poor quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Asheville, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes

Perfect for Storage & Organization

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love keeping items in our home and garage in storage containers and organized. These tubs are perfect for keeping industrial items and household goods free of dust ,dirt, and water. High-impact polypropylene resists cracking, grip lock lid, stackable, durable, easy grip handles are built in. The lid closes tightly and has slots to tie shut for security. This container is air-tight. Highly Recommend.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Vibrant Color, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Palm Springs, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes

Excellent storage option

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These were so cheap that I went to get two more for all of my Christmas decorations. These containers make for excellent storage options, and they stack very easily. I was in need of a solid and sturdy storage option for all of my Christmas lights, and decorations and these did the trick!
I may have to get more now because the last I checked they were on special in the HD store near me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 27 gal. Strong Box Plastic Storage Tote in Black and Yellow
from Morgan County, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes

pest proof storage

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got one of these to store my Xmas stuff in the shed, but most bins have lids that bugs and critters can squeeze under. The lid design on this bin pretty much eliminates most bugs, maybe all, I won't know until next year. But I should be able to store my stuff in the shed without worry.
Pros: Durable, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>