728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Specialty Power Tool Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

The Ryobi 5-Piece Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set is the perfect solution for removing screws and bolts. This extractor set feature black-oxide threads for long-lasting performance.
Overall rating:
2.031 / 5
2
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
31%of customersrecommend this product9 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(21)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
31%of customersrecommend this product9 of 29reviews
Customer reviews for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Review 1 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Anonymous
from Canada
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality, Bad Design

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bought to remove a wheel stud. First, the recommended drill sizes on packaging are too small, there is no way that the #3 extractor will bite with recommended size unless you widened the hole. Second, the threads just sheer when hammered in. Third, the extractor is so long there is a good chance you will break them. Forth, they break easily and seem to be made of poor quality steel for the application. Finally, the heads are not standard sizes so are difficult to grab without rounding... especially annoying since the largest is cut down just shy of 3/8ths - cannot be used with square head sockets or vice grips only adjustable wrench. Waste of money will not recommend.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
harley
from Cleveland, Oh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Break very easily

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had a screw with a stripped star head, drilled it out with correct size and followed instruction on easy out and when it gripped and started to move I thought we were in business, that's when it snapped. Drilled that out and tried again, same thing the larger one cracked in half.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Alex
from Cincinnati
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Severely Disapointed

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked up this set, figuring it'd be good for general use, as well as an exhaust stud that a previous owner had broken off. These things aren't typically in all that tight even. Using one hand, and applying almost no force, the extractor just sheared off. I easily apply 10 times that force just breaking loose stuck bolts that aren't broken, an extractor is supposed to get screws and bolts that sheared off from the force to break them loose, they have to be able to handle more force than the original bolt. This wasn't even close. Felt like aluminum it broke so easy. Will be returning, will not be purchasing more ryobi products.
Cons: Not Durable
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Reviewer

Horrible product

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very poor quality and disappointing purchase. The threads of the extractor sheer off from just tapping it in the hole as directed.. The recommended drill sizes for the extractor don't match up well for the threads to grab. I've tried this set on 4 different broken bolts of various sizes at different times and its never worked once... my left handed drill bit does a better job getting the bolts out. Complete waste of money and time with this product
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
dodgerpk
from Vero Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

one time use

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
did not last long had 3 broke bolts it did 2 had to over size the last bolt
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Delboy

Garbage

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 30 minutes of drilling and hammering I finally got the #3 bit to grip. Then the bit sheared before removing the screw. Complete waste of time and money.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
phillyjeeper

Like everyone else has said, don't bother with these!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'll echo the other reviews here and say that these things are worse than useless. The metal is soft and weak, and will actually strip off the spiral threads rather than actually bite into the drilled hole. I've been ruining these one after the other thinking one of them might actually work, but they really are just incapable of doing the job they're supposedly designed to do.
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't work period.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
SJohnson
from Greensboro, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good addition to your tool box

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well with those small screws and bolts that inevitably get stripped when using power drivers. Comes in a nice box that may survive the rigors of my tool bag.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Jack
from Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this to extract 4 stainless steel screws that had been stripped. After drilling the pilot hole, the extractor was easy to tap in, seat and turn. Made the job easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
LadyDIYer
from Dover, DE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect solution for removing screws & bolts!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great set for the price. We used it to remove rusted screws in door frames as well as removing bolts from the boat trailer. The assortment of sizes helps when fishing out different screws and bolts. Love the case - as they don't have to be loose anymore and don't have to hunt them down !
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, self contained case
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Jason

Horrible

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These things break on first use. These are supposed to be harder than the steel screws, but that's not the case. Don't waste your money on this cheap set. Very disappointing!! Try your luck on something else.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
whatever55
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORTHLESS

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Broke off with a low amount of torque. Do not waste your money on this product
Cons: Not Durable, waste of money
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
ShelfBuilder
from Oregon
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

These are useless

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I'd read these reviews before I bought this set. I wanted to extract three flat head wood screws, and none of these worked. The one that seemed to fit/grip the screw best, black slivers started coming it and the screw didn't budge. I was afraid the thing would break so I gave up. I'm taking it back to Home Depot.
Cons: Not Durable, No Instructions
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Chris
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible Product

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Simply put, this is a horrible, cheap product. As an engineer, I can follow steps 1-3 on how to use a product. I followed them, and on the FIRST screw, the "bit" was completely stripped. I was removing a standard drywall screw. I purchased an extraction kit from Woodcraft, and while more expensive, has worked flawlessly over and over. You get what you pay for I guess!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Peter
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Useless

PostedMay 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The metal used in these 'bits' must be tin... I should have just drilled out the screw.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
deerhunter
from york, pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do Not Buy These are really bad!!1

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These got stripped by a stainless steel screw on the first try. Then we drilled to the next size and the same thing happened. Do not buy them if possible.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Sith
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality. Broke in half when tried to extract bolt.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had it tapped in about 3/4 of the thread length. I started to do a counter clockwise spin with my driver when the extractor snapped in half. On the inside, I noticed it was two toned color, indicating that only the outside was metal with the inside being some sort of cream colored material. Seems like it was very cheaply made. It should be one piece construction considering the job it is meant for. I will be returning it.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Aus10
from Flower Mound, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not at all useful

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the entire set because I thought that I would be able to uses these in the future as well a removing a stripped bolt, after about an hour of work, I had broken every single extractor in the set.. What a waste of money and time, very disapointed in Ryobi on this one, which was a supprise cause I usually have good luck with the Ryobi product line.
Just by the Dewalt brand and move on!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
legacyofbob
from Jackson, NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality and durability.

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Attempted to extract some screws and it worked for the first 3. On the fourth screw the head snapped off. I moved up to the next size bit and that also worked for 3 screws and then the threads were completely worn off and it would no longer bite. Only buy this if you want to remove 3 screws or less for $10.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
asdf

don't buy

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
i wish i read the reviews first - this set is useless after the first use.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>