728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Specialty Power Tool Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi 5-Piece Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set. This extractor set feature steel construction with black-oxide threads for long-lasting performance.
Overall rating:
2.196 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
31%of customersrecommend this product15 of 48reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(6)
1
(29)
Quality 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
31%of customersrecommend this product15 of 48reviews
Customer reviews for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Review 1 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Canada
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality, Bad Design

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bought to remove a wheel stud. First, the recommended drill sizes on packaging are too small, there is no way that the #3 extractor will bite with recommended size unless you widened the hole. Second, the threads just sheer when hammered in. Third, the extractor is so long there is a good chance you will break them. Forth, they break easily and seem to be made of poor quality steel for the application. Finally, the heads are not standard sizes so are difficult to grab without rounding... especially annoying since the largest is cut down just shy of 3/8ths - cannot be used with square head sockets or vice grips only adjustable wrench. Waste of money will not recommend.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Didn't Work

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried removing some deck screws. The first one I tried, I drilled into the head as instructed, But then the first removal bit broke, and the second one I tried just spun in the screw head. For the second screw, the screw head snapped off, and I could not get the threaded part of the screw out (the claim on the package says you can remove screws without heads). For the third screw, the drill bit broke and flew off somewhere in the grass. I could not find it. By far the worst tool I have purchased.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Grey Forest, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

surprisingly poor

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
as noted in the other reviews, the hardness of these tools is not adequate for this application -- the spiral flutes simply crush down in use, the square end readily rounds off when used in an adjustable wrench, and one of them broke off with fairly moderate torque. Good for me they're not actual tool steel, since now I'll have to drill out the broken screw extractor too.
$9 for a set of five seems like a bargain until they make the original problem worse, and you end up throwing out the others!
Pros: cheap
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Cincinnati
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Severely Disapointed

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked up this set, figuring it'd be good for general use, as well as an exhaust stud that a previous owner had broken off. These things aren't typically in all that tight even. Using one hand, and applying almost no force, the extractor just sheared off. I easily apply 10 times that force just breaking loose stuck bolts that aren't broken, an extractor is supposed to get screws and bolts that sheared off from the force to break them loose, they have to be able to handle more force than the original bolt. This wasn't even close. Felt like aluminum it broke so easy. Will be returning, will not be purchasing more ryobi products.
Cons: Not Durable
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Oswego, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use and did the job!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was very easy and simple to use. Was able to get the job done.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Connecticut
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy item for diy'er

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried to extract a #10 machine screw, but was not successful
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

To difficult to use and waste of money

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a stripped hex that I need to remove. After trying for over 30 mins I went and bought a grab-it and took it out on the first try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Cleveland, Oh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Break very easily

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had a screw with a stripped star head, drilled it out with correct size and followed instruction on easy out and when it gripped and started to move I thought we were in business, that's when it snapped. Drilled that out and tried again, same thing the larger one cracked in half.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from waco, tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price. Works just as good as brands that cost 5 times as much.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Broke on first use

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Will spend the extra 5 bucks to get craftsman. Basically a waste of money
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from kansas
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
one extractor stripped itself on first use. Another broke. I don't think these are made with tool steel. Completely useless
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Horrible product

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very poor quality and disappointing purchase. The threads of the extractor sheer off from just tapping it in the hole as directed.. The recommended drill sizes for the extractor don't match up well for the threads to grab. I've tried this set on 4 different broken bolts of various sizes at different times and its never worked once... my left handed drill bit does a better job getting the bolts out. Complete waste of money and time with this product
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Portland, Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for one time use

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used one size in the set to extract a screw. Got the screw out but the extractor was destroyed.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Broke on first use despite care!

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a waste of time and energy! Needed to extract a small screw and used the #1 extractor as described. Guess what? Now I have a broken screw AND a broken extractor bit in the same location :( ... to make matters worse, that broken extractor is made of hardened steel which is going to make IT'S extraction a lot harder. Waste of time. Don't buy even if it's free.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Garbage

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 30 minutes of drilling and hammering I finally got the #3 bit to grip. Then the bit sheared before removing the screw. Complete waste of time and money.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Like everyone else has said, don't bother with these!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'll echo the other reviews here and say that these things are worse than useless. The metal is soft and weak, and will actually strip off the spiral threads rather than actually bite into the drilled hole. I've been ruining these one after the other thinking one of them might actually work, but they really are just incapable of doing the job they're supposedly designed to do.
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't work period.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Glen Ellyn IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job, and was simple to use

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this set for removing several stripped out screws and bolts that were in hard to reach locations on my motorcycle. Once I had the initial holes pre-drillled, these extractors did sn excellent job of removing the troublesome bolts and screws. For the cost, I don't believe you can find a better product.
Pros: Durable, Accurate, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Shelby Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap and one broke on 2nd try

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The instructions tell me to drill out the screw and to use a vice grip to twist out the bolt. Second bolt broke the bit. Was not worth fooling with.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor strength, snapped inside the first screw

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your money. Snapped off inside the first screw. Does not last long.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Would be great if stronger

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product would be great if stronger do not get hot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>