728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi 5-Piece Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set. This extractor set feature steel construction with black-oxide threads for long-lasting performance.
Overall rating:
2.169 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
33%of customersrecommend this product20 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
2.2 out of 5
5
(11)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(6)
1
(39)
Quality 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
33%of customersrecommend this product20 of 61reviews
Customer reviews for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Review 1 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Canada
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality, Bad Design

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Bought to remove a wheel stud. First, the recommended drill sizes on packaging are too small, there is no way that the #3 extractor will bite with recommended size unless you widened the hole. Second, the threads just sheer when hammered in. Third, the extractor is so long there is a good chance you will break them. Forth, they break easily and seem to be made of poor quality steel for the application. Finally, the heads are not standard sizes so are difficult to grab without rounding... especially annoying since the largest is cut down just shy of 3/8ths - cannot be used with square head sockets or vice grips only adjustable wrench. Waste of money will not recommend.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

It Works!!!! :)

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
While tightening a screw on my exercise bench the head of the screw broke off. I followed the screw extractor directions and drilled a hole into the nut with a drill bit and than hammered in the screw extractor. You have to make sure you drill a deep enough whole for the screw extractor to fit. Than i used a wrench and started to screw off the broken screw bit. I had to hammer in the screw extractor several times when it got loose during the process. With a little patience and repetitive hammer and wrench turn I was able to remove the broken screw!! Saved me $200.00 avoiding buying another exercise bench! Great product!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Clermont, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked for me

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
NEVER USE A HAMMER!! It will damage the threads. Light-medium duty. Don't think because its a screw remover, it will remove rusted screws. Its for screws with stripped heads. Removing rusted screws require a different approach. Because of the design, it's a bit tricky to get it set on the screw. But if you TAKE your time, I think you'll get the results. I also think that instead of using a hammer to set the remover which will damage the threads eventually, I use a drill. You don't need to make a deep hole on the screw, just enough for the remover to bite. With the remover on the drill, set the drill on reverse mode, and on the lowest torque and work your way up if necessary. Place the tip of the remover on the screw with light pressure and squeeze the trigger just to get a bite. Once it bites into the screw, proceed to remove the screw gently with the drill.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Cincinnati
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Severely Disapointed

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked up this set, figuring it'd be good for general use, as well as an exhaust stud that a previous owner had broken off. These things aren't typically in all that tight even. Using one hand, and applying almost no force, the extractor just sheared off. I easily apply 10 times that force just breaking loose stuck bolts that aren't broken, an extractor is supposed to get screws and bolts that sheared off from the force to break them loose, they have to be able to handle more force than the original bolt. This wasn't even close. Felt like aluminum it broke so easy. Will be returning, will not be purchasing more ryobi products.
Cons: Not Durable
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Corona, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Failure

PostedAugust 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I attempted to remove a rusted screw holding the guide of sliding shower door to the tub. After an unsuccessful bite with a hand held screw driver, I used the screw extractor with my cordless drill. And the screw head stripped the screw extractor. I'm surprised to find the metal of the extractor is softer. Don;t buy this product.
Cons: Not Durable, No Instructions, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

What a joke!

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to remove a stripped bolt from my lawnmower blade, by time I tried tapping and drilling the hole.. Which was a guess at best since there are NO clear instructions..
deep enough for any grip, I may as well just have drilled out the whole bolt and re-tapped
the hole.
Spent over an hour drilling and trying different removers.. All threads stripped and no joy on removal of bolt..
Lawnmower 1, Ryobi 0
One of the worst and wasted time products I've ever used.. Returns dept here I come
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Garbage

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No clear instructions for use, never worked even after looking up some customer recommendations, wasted my time but. Got my money back for this piece of junk. Better off going with the urrea one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Didn't Work

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried removing some deck screws. The first one I tried, I drilled into the head as instructed, But then the first removal bit broke, and the second one I tried just spun in the screw head. For the second screw, the screw head snapped off, and I could not get the threaded part of the screw out (the claim on the package says you can remove screws without heads). For the third screw, the drill bit broke and flew off somewhere in the grass. I could not find it. By far the worst tool I have purchased.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORTHLESS

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Broke off with a low amount of torque. Do not waste your money on this product
Cons: Not Durable, waste of money
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Grey Forest, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

surprisingly poor

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
as noted in the other reviews, the hardness of these tools is not adequate for this application -- the spiral flutes simply crush down in use, the square end readily rounds off when used in an adjustable wrench, and one of them broke off with fairly moderate torque. Good for me they're not actual tool steel, since now I'll have to drill out the broken screw extractor too.
$9 for a set of five seems like a bargain until they make the original problem worse, and you end up throwing out the others!
Pros: cheap
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Like everyone else has said, don't bother with these!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'll echo the other reviews here and say that these things are worse than useless. The metal is soft and weak, and will actually strip off the spiral threads rather than actually bite into the drilled hole. I've been ruining these one after the other thinking one of them might actually work, but they really are just incapable of doing the job they're supposedly designed to do.
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't work period.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Horrible

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These things break on first use. These are supposed to be harder than the steel screws, but that's not the case. Don't waste your money on this cheap set. Very disappointing!! Try your luck on something else.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did not work

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used all 5 bits, all 5 broke on the first try, like immediately, without any kind of extreme force. Very poor quality metal. They might work for very light removal, but I was trying to remove bolts that were only torqued to about 25fl/lbs
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

weak

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy, it is low quality steel. Stripped threads immediately. At least it was only a waste of 9 dollars and not more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Useless

PostedMay 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The metal used in these 'bits' must be tin... I should have just drilled out the screw.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Terrible quality

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Awful quality. The one size that I needed snapped off inside the bolt with the first turn with very minimal force. I also question as to weather the suggested drill sizes are actually accurate. Wish I spent my money elsewhere.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Flower Mound, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not at all useful

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the entire set because I thought that I would be able to uses these in the future as well a removing a stripped bolt, after about an hour of work, I had broken every single extractor in the set.. What a waste of money and time, very disapointed in Ryobi on this one, which was a supprise cause I usually have good luck with the Ryobi product line.
Just by the Dewalt brand and move on!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from League City, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Softer than the bolts

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 'threads' rounded off in the first bolt that it was driven into. Utterly useless.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Cleveland, Oh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Break very easily

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had a screw with a stripped star head, drilled it out with correct size and followed instruction on easy out and when it gripped and started to move I thought we were in business, that's when it snapped. Drilled that out and tried again, same thing the larger one cracked in half.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Garbage

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 30 minutes of drilling and hammering I finally got the #3 bit to grip. Then the bit sheared before removing the screw. Complete waste of time and money.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>