728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Specialty Power Tool Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi 5-Piece Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set. This extractor set feature steel construction with black-oxide threads for long-lasting performance.
Overall rating:
2.214 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
33%of customersrecommend this product17 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(6)
1
(32)
Quality 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
33%of customersrecommend this product17 of 52reviews
Customer reviews for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
Review 1 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Canada
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality, Bad Design

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bought to remove a wheel stud. First, the recommended drill sizes on packaging are too small, there is no way that the #3 extractor will bite with recommended size unless you widened the hole. Second, the threads just sheer when hammered in. Third, the extractor is so long there is a good chance you will break them. Forth, they break easily and seem to be made of poor quality steel for the application. Finally, the heads are not standard sizes so are difficult to grab without rounding... especially annoying since the largest is cut down just shy of 3/8ths - cannot be used with square head sockets or vice grips only adjustable wrench. Waste of money will not recommend.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Cincinnati
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Severely Disapointed

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked up this set, figuring it'd be good for general use, as well as an exhaust stud that a previous owner had broken off. These things aren't typically in all that tight even. Using one hand, and applying almost no force, the extractor just sheared off. I easily apply 10 times that force just breaking loose stuck bolts that aren't broken, an extractor is supposed to get screws and bolts that sheared off from the force to break them loose, they have to be able to handle more force than the original bolt. This wasn't even close. Felt like aluminum it broke so easy. Will be returning, will not be purchasing more ryobi products.
Cons: Not Durable
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from NY,NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Broke on a Nylon screw!

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Broke trying to remove a nylon license plate screw!!!!
Cons: junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Didn't Work

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried removing some deck screws. The first one I tried, I drilled into the head as instructed, But then the first removal bit broke, and the second one I tried just spun in the screw head. For the second screw, the screw head snapped off, and I could not get the threaded part of the screw out (the claim on the package says you can remove screws without heads). For the third screw, the drill bit broke and flew off somewhere in the grass. I could not find it. By far the worst tool I have purchased.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Grey Forest, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

surprisingly poor

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
as noted in the other reviews, the hardness of these tools is not adequate for this application -- the spiral flutes simply crush down in use, the square end readily rounds off when used in an adjustable wrench, and one of them broke off with fairly moderate torque. Good for me they're not actual tool steel, since now I'll have to drill out the broken screw extractor too.
$9 for a set of five seems like a bargain until they make the original problem worse, and you end up throwing out the others!
Pros: cheap
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Don't buy, the screw extractor broken

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Then you are really stuck. How are you going to remove that from your broken bolt?
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from La Mirada, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked for me

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a bit concerned about buying this after reading some other reviews, but I am glad I did because it helped me salvage a $750 elliptical for $10. The hardness of the screw extractor is probably not the best, since the one I used did strip slightly and I didn't use that much force to extract the broken bolt. The broken bolt did have some loctite on the threads, but other than that, there were no signs of corrosion, so it could be that my situation was relatively easy.
The instructions are not very clear, and I wonder if some people just don't do it right, so I will explain what I did. I used a good quality drill bit for metal, and followed the recommended drill bit size shown on the product packaging. However, I was afraid of damaging the threads so I went one size smaller.
I drilled a hole into the bolt that was at least 1/4" deep - I think this is the minimum one should drill for this product to work. It wasn't easy. I used some oil to avoid overheating the metal, and I wobbled the drill slowly in a circle to help the drill bit cut into the bolt more easily. Make sure to clear out the metal filings once in a while so you can see how deep you cut and to ensure you aren't getting too close to the threads. BTW, the best type of drill bit to use is one that works in a counter clockwise direction, but I am not sure where to get one of those.
Once you got a decent sized hole, spray some liquid wrench onto the bolt threads, insert the correct sized screw extractor, and tap it firmly a few times while slowly rotating counter clockwise. Don't hit it too hard, or else you might strip your extractor. What you are trying to do is to get the threads of the extractor to bite into the hole you drilled out.
Next, I used a T-handle from a tap and die kit I bought a few years ago. It worked perfectly, but you could just use a crescent wrench or vise grip pliers. Turn the extractor slowly in a counter clockwise direction. In my case, it worked right away. If the bolt/screw isn't coming lose, you might try tapping it with a hammer again. Another option is to try heating it up with a torch. I know this causes metal to expand, but it might help loosen it after it cools. If repeated hammering, liquid wrench, and heat/cool doesn't work, you probably should try drilling a slightly bigger and/or deeper hole, and trying again.
Worst case scenario for a bolt that just won't come out, you have to drill the whole thing through, and use a tap to re-thread the bolt hole.
Pros: Easy to Use, price
Cons: Not Durable, No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Cleveland, Oh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Break very easily

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had a screw with a stripped star head, drilled it out with correct size and followed instruction on easy out and when it gripped and started to move I thought we were in business, that's when it snapped. Drilled that out and tried again, same thing the larger one cracked in half.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Like everyone else has said, don't bother with these!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'll echo the other reviews here and say that these things are worse than useless. The metal is soft and weak, and will actually strip off the spiral threads rather than actually bite into the drilled hole. I've been ruining these one after the other thinking one of them might actually work, but they really are just incapable of doing the job they're supposedly designed to do.
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't work period.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from irving tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 bits broke in very short time

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cheap junk will never buy that brand again. very disappointed
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORTHLESS

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Broke off with a low amount of torque. Do not waste your money on this product
Cons: Not Durable, waste of money
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Farmington, mn
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

screw extractor

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect fit the money spent. Don't expect anything less from Ryobi.
Pros: Durable, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Oswego, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use and did the job!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was very easy and simple to use. Was able to get the job done.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Horrible product

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very poor quality and disappointing purchase. The threads of the extractor sheer off from just tapping it in the hole as directed.. The recommended drill sizes for the extractor don't match up well for the threads to grab. I've tried this set on 4 different broken bolts of various sizes at different times and its never worked once... my left handed drill bit does a better job getting the bolts out. Complete waste of money and time with this product
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Horrible

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These things break on first use. These are supposed to be harder than the steel screws, but that's not the case. Don't waste your money on this cheap set. Very disappointing!! Try your luck on something else.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

Garbage

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 30 minutes of drilling and hammering I finally got the #3 bit to grip. Then the bit sheared before removing the screw. Complete waste of time and money.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)

To difficult to use and waste of money

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a stripped hex that I need to remove. After trying for over 30 mins I went and bought a grab-it and took it out on the first try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from Connecticut
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy item for diy'er

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried to extract a #10 machine screw, but was not successful
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from waco, tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price. Works just as good as brands that cost 5 times as much.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Steel Spiral Screw Extractor Set (5-Piece)
from kansas
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
one extractor stripped itself on first use. Another broke. I don't think these are made with tool steel. Completely useless
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>