728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Quick Ship & Assembled Cabinets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 36x12x12 in. Wall Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

36x12x12 in. Wall Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

"The 36 in. Hampton Bay Unfinished Oak Kitchen Wall Cabinet offers sturdy oak doors and composite box construction for long-lasting use. This wall-mount cabinet is designed to fit above most refrigerators, and with a 3/4 in. fixed shelf, helps provide extra space to store and organize for your convenience. Raised-panel doors and attractive unfinished oak can help add a professional, completed look to your kitchen decor. "
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 36x12x12 in. Wall Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
Review 1 for 36x12x12 in. Wall Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Aromas, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So-So Quality (Average) "Value Priced"

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed a total of 8 various unfinished oak cabinets in my home office space. The main structure is wood-chip board; finished inside with a contact paper type of finish. Only the face frame & doors are oak. The joinery of the cabinets is ok. Good for a rental house but maybe not the "best" choice for a high-end kitchen. I finished mine in a Deft Semi-Gloss Lacquer.
A few things I found to be common with almost all 8 of the various cabinets I bought. Excess glue on the inside - There were drips and runs inside all 8 of my cabinets. Not a big deal since it peels away with a little work. Rough sanding marks - 5 of the 8 I bought had deep, rough sanding marks in the face frame that took considerable time to sand out smooth enough to finish with a Lacquer. (See Picture). Doors also had about a 1/4"-3/8" gap between them.
Finishing the cabinets takes a little time if you plan to have a natural wood look. I started with a 220 grit sanding & finished with a 320 grit prior to application of deft Semi-Gloss Lacquer. I hand sanded between coats at 800 grit. Three coats on the frames & 4-5 on the door makes them look pretty good for a "value priced" cabinet.
Cabinet features 1 adjustable shelf. Subtract 3" from width & height for clearance on the inside of the cabinet. This was critical to me for my intended use.
Overall, these are a good value but expect to put some time & effort in the finishing process to achieve a good look. If the sides will be visible, you will need to purchase trim kits or it will look like wood-chip board.
Pros: Functional, Nice Design
Cons: rough sanding marks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36x12x12 in. Wall Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Parma ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
They are very nice and we bought them on sale for kitchen remodel and they worked out very nice..
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36x12x12 in. Wall Cabinet in Unfinished Oak

New kitchen

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought all my cabinets for my kitchen and they are all beautiful. Pretty sturdy and mostly, all real wood. I'm excited about them because, I'm redoing my whole kitchen. I bought new applicences as well. I'm very satisfied. I hope my kitchen turns out as good as my purchases.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36x12x12 in. Wall Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from La Vernia Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High quality cabinets

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The cabinets are well constructed with oak fronts and doors. The cabinets are ready for finishing with minimal preparation, no sanding required just a good wipe down. Once installed the cabinets give the appearance of custom built cabinets.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36x12x12 in. Wall Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Weirton, WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Unfinished oak cabinets

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put the unfinished oak cabinets and they came out very nice. Little extra work but the value versus new cabinets cost was well worth it.
Pros: Functional, High Quality of Material, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: lots of staining
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36x12x12 in. Wall Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Santa Cruz, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kitchen Cabinet.....

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well made, looks good, good value. Nice selection.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36x12x12 in. Wall Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Jasper, AL
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great!

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was a wonderful experience to just order and pick up right at the door. It was so helpful and saved a lot of time. I will for sure do it again.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36x12x12 in. Wall Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Stamford, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not as shown

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The cabinet currently sold does not match the picture. There is no stile between the doors as shown. None of the cabinets match the pictures any more so buyer beware. The new cabinets are much less attractive than the previous ones.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36x12x12 in. Wall Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Nevis, MN 56467, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Cabinet for the money

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This cabinet does come with the center post and was exactly as it showed and stated in the picture, and information. I love the fact that they are unfinished so you can finish them to match your decor.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36x12x12 in. Wall Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Elko, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good for the price

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are doing a budget remodel of our kitchen and these cabinets are certainly better than what we had already. They quality isn't the best, we have already had the doors come off of one of them, but they look great for the price and could certainly be upgraded with a little extra trim and hardware.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Like Wood, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36x12x12 in. Wall Cabinet in Unfinished Oak
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Missing Center Post

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered the 30 inch model to sit above my stove to hold the microwave. The unit came in and but after getting it home and staining to match the other cabinets I reassembled and found they had built without the center post between cabinet doors as in the picture. Very disappointed.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.