728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Power Multi Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit

Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit

Designed to help you complete both professional jobs and DIY projects, the Fein MultiMaster Start Q is a universal system for interior work and renovation. This high quality, German made all-round package gives you the professional tools and accessories that you need to take on a wide range of interior work and renovation projects - from floor and tile work to renovating windows and cabinetry. It includes the MultiMaster FMM 250Q, featuring the patented tool-free QuickIN rapid clamping system that lets you change out accessories in seconds while you are on the job. The high quality and easy-to-use FMM 250Q tool comes complete with a wide range of accessories, including 1 universal E-cut blade, 1 rigid scraper blade, 1 triangular sanding pad, and 20 sanding sheets in a durable nylon tool bag.
Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product28 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(27)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product28 of 28reviews
Customer reviews for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Review 1 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit

Great product for hardwood floor install

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Really like this tool. I spent more than normal but you can't beat the quality of this tool. I originally bought it for installing hardwood floor. The cutting blade has made several cuts into oak without dulling. I installed flush mount hardwood vents and you need to create a fine straight lines when matching circular saw cuts. This tool helped create a tight fit. The sanding discs works equally as well. So far this tool gets a thumbs up.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from Reno
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Specialized tool for special jobs

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This oscillating tool cuts hard materials with extreme precision. There are many different blades available for differing materials. The best thing about this tool is how little clearance it requires to do the job. Priceless for things like door jams when laying new flooring, or removing old grout.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from Wareham, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is much better than all the copies.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always wanted to buy one ,but with the $300.00 - $400.00 price tag it was out of my reach. When I saw it for $199.00 I could not pass it up. This tool lives up to all the hype . It performs as claimed . I've owned both the Bocsh and the Dremel and neither measure up to the Fien tool.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best oscillating tool available.

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased the Fein FMM250Q the other day, and I'm sorry I didn't buy one years ago. Very powerful, cuts fast, and has never been this affordable. Have used two different oscillating tools before the Fein and there is no comparison. Great for the pro or do it yourselfer alike.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from Canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Multi-Functional Tool

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am using this amazing tool for over 7 years in my hardwood floor installation carrier. I use it everywhere: for undercutting door frames, for removing old glue. This tool is powerful in hardwood floor repairs and for much, much more projects. I highly recommend this tool to everybody who works with wood.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from Georgetown, DE 19947, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Fein Makes the Best Oscillating Tools....Period.

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have owned 3 different types of oscillating tools, mainly due to them being on sale. I have had two Dremels and a Bosch.
Both Dremel multimaxs were low quality garbage. Unfortunately, you don't find this out until after you use them. They may be alright for a homeowner that uses them every year or so, but not everyday contractor use.
The Bosch lasted longer, but I am having issues with that now also. The motor seems to bog down and the blade slows.
Several of my subs use Fein and told me it's the only oscillating tool they have ever owned. These guys have used it most every day for at least the 3 years that I have known them and said they worked flawlessly. I decided to purchase Fein on their recommendations.
The tool is well built, not light and not too heavy. It has a good feeling in your hand and is super easy to change blades with the lever lock function. I also appreciate the long cord. I think it's about 12 feet long.
The only thing I didn't like was the soft case, so I ended up buying the Fein factory plastic case. It is well built and should really be included with the purchase. Also, Home Depot does not stock Fein blades which I thought was kind of strange, seeing that they sell the tool. So I bought my blades at CPO tools which had the best price for them.
I think you will appreciate this tool if you are a quality minded craftsman.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, high quality construction
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit

Great machine

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great great machine. I like how it rolls on instead of instant on. The power cord is extra long and allows me to move around more easily. The slim (comparing) motor has impressive power. This thing is awesome. My best buy in a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

None other compares

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used the Bosch, Craftsman, and Rockwell in the past and the Fein elevates the category. A higher price is worth paying for the quality of this tool! Although accessories are also high, universal ones can be found online for 1/5 of the price. Just remember, one gets what one pays for!!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exceptionally well made German tool.

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After seeing other trades use this type of tool for a few years now, I finally purchased one. After using a couple of different ones on job sites, I then got serious about it and checked out several brands and settled on the Fein Multimaster and as well bought an extra set of blades. I have used it a number of times in the past couple of weeks since I bought it and keep having the same thought: why the heck did I wait so long to get one! Also, I am so glad that I bought the Fein. It feels like a well built tool in your hand and I'm sure that I'm going to get years of use out of it. If you are considering getting one of these tools, I highly recommend the Fein. One of the cool features is that it has an extra long cord and plug. A couple of times I didn't have to get out an extension cord.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Well Made
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from Disneyland, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like everything but the phony propaganda

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found this to be the most durable and practical tool of its type which is actually produced for the construction industry. I like the tool itself.
What I do not like is this misleading statement: "....from the inventor of oscillating tools". I think this phrase should be removed from your website. Stryker established itself as the world standard decades before Wein jumped in. I own, and use, both tools. The oscillating saws invented in 1943 by Homer Stryker, were, and are, far superior to the Wein. They've been adapted to construction and repair use by ordinary working people like me for almost 75 years. I'm not saying they're cheap; in fact, they are WAY expensive. But I believe they appeared in the workplace about thirty years before Wein, making the above quoted statement a violation of your own terms and conditions.
Pros: Easy to Use
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from Sandusky, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is a great product. I researched it before I made the purchase and I am glad I did.

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The tool-free clamping feature is fast and reliable and very strong. It has lots of power and the speed adjustment is a must have for longer accessory life as well as easy to use. The 16' cord is a great feature(I wish all construction tools had one)! I take it to the job-site everyday and am surprised by how often I find a use for it. Accessories have to be purchased on line though,or you can purchase the basic line at sears. (crafstman has some accessories that are compatible with the multi-master). If you are serious about your tools,then this is the oscillating tool to own! I have 2 other contractor friends that have already wanted to borrow this tool,and I've only owned it a month! Nice heavy duty quality that you can feel from the moment you pick it up. I don't think I can say enough good things about this tool!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit

excellant tool promptly shipped a delivered

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fein multi-tool has been primarily used to sand into corners and difficult to reach areas missed by orbital and hand block sanding. The tool has proved very effective and efficient.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from Bastrop, TX 78602, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

QUALITY PRODUCT

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything I expected. Extra parts are a little pricey though. The job gets done quickly.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An outstanding tool for any serious woodworker

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The best thing about this tool is the quick change system. The other ones with allen wrenches are a real pain. The unit comes in this special promotional package with few blades. But they are available at several outlets and on line. The soft case is better than the hardshell case as it holds everything you need to carry to the job site. Fein gave me an additional warranty after I registered with them on line. I do not think the new battery system will work as well as the corded version. This has some real power.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easier to use than I thought.

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had never used an oscillating saw before and wondered if it would be easier said than done. It was easy and the finished product looks good no wavy lines as I had feared. I bought a fein because of magazine ratings and like it. I had never used or heard of Fein before. Very well made.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from Northbrook, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for the best price

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked online for this tool, as it received great reviews from other customers. Surprisingly, Home Depot had the best price online and this included eBay. Being wired versus wireless, I believe makes this a "stronger" tool for most jobs. I would recommend this brand to anyone looking for an oscillating multi-tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from Bay Area, CA

Great tool great price

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great price for a tool that gets you out of a lot of tight jams. Used it first week to save me from an unexpected problem and take it with me on every project. My father bought one of these when they first came out at $600 dollars!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit

You get what you pay for

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit is a slightly higher price than the Bosch one I was considering, but the quick change feature makes a world of difference for everyday use. Just wish they sold some Fein OEM attachments in store -- have to order them from HD online.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit

What's with the soft case?

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm extremely happy with the tool and have several of them at my company, all of which have a hard case. When one of the guys brought it back to the shop in the soft case we immediately sent him back to return it and to keep looking for the tool sold with a hard case. I was surprised to see this step down in quality from Fein who is respected as the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
from Anchorage, AK
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just get it.

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When it comes to tool purchases (and any purchases, really), my favorite saying is: "Only the rich can afford to buy cheap."
In other words, buy a $99 tool today (Dremel, Bosch, Makita, etc.) and be back in a year or two to buy another one. That's more than the cost of your Fein tool already. =)
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>