728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Power Multi Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit

Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit

Designed to help you complete both professional jobs and DIY projects, the Fein MultiMaster Start Q is a universal system for interior work and renovation. This high quality, German made all-round package gives you the professional tools and accessories that you need to take on a wide range of interior work and renovation projects - from floor and tile work to renovating windows and cabinetry. It includes the MultiMaster FMM 250Q, featuring the patented tool-free QuickIN rapid clamping system that lets you change out accessories in seconds while you are on the job. The high quality and easy-to-use FMM 250Q tool comes complete with a wide range of accessories, including 1 universal E-cut blade, 1 rigid scraper blade, 1 triangular sanding pad, and 20 sanding sheets in a durable nylon tool bag.
Overall rating:
4.893 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product26 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product26 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Review 1 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Cville

Great product for hardwood floor install

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Really like this tool. I spent more than normal but you can't beat the quality of this tool. I originally bought it for installing hardwood floor. The cutting blade has made several cuts into oak without dulling. I installed flush mount hardwood vents and you need to create a fine straight lines when matching circular saw cuts. This tool helped create a tight fit. The sanding discs works equally as well. So far this tool gets a thumbs up.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Woodcraftsman
from Disneyland, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like everything but the phony propaganda

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found this to be the most durable and practical tool of its type which is actually produced for the construction industry. I like the tool itself.
What I do not like is this misleading statement: "....from the inventor of oscillating tools". I think this phrase should be removed from your website. Stryker established itself as the world standard decades before Wein jumped in. I own, and use, both tools. The oscillating saws invented in 1943 by Homer Stryker, were, and are, far superior to the Wein. They've been adapted to construction and repair use by ordinary working people like me for almost 75 years. I'm not saying they're cheap; in fact, they are WAY expensive. But I believe they appeared in the workplace about thirty years before Wein, making the above quoted statement a violation of your own terms and conditions.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Dave
from Wareham, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is much better than all the copies.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always wanted to buy one ,but with the $300.00 - $400.00 price tag it was out of my reach. When I saw it for $199.00 I could not pass it up. This tool lives up to all the hype . It performs as claimed . I've owned both the Bocsh and the Dremel and neither measure up to the Fien tool.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Gozer
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best oscillating tool available.

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased the Fein FMM250Q the other day, and I'm sorry I didn't buy one years ago. Very powerful, cuts fast, and has never been this affordable. Have used two different oscillating tools before the Fein and there is no comparison. Great for the pro or do it yourselfer alike.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Majestic

What's with the soft case?

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm extremely happy with the tool and have several of them at my company, all of which have a hard case. When one of the guys brought it back to the shop in the soft case we immediately sent him back to return it and to keep looking for the tool sold with a hard case. I was surprised to see this step down in quality from Fein who is respected as the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
MrYoucandoityourself
from Canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Multi-Functional Tool

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am using this amazing tool for over 7 years in my hardwood floor installation carrier. I use it everywhere: for undercutting door frames, for removing old glue. This tool is powerful in hardwood floor repairs and for much, much more projects. I highly recommend this tool to everybody who works with wood.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
DanFromAlaska
from Anchorage, AK
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just get it.

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When it comes to tool purchases (and any purchases, really), my favorite saying is: "Only the rich can afford to buy cheap."
In other words, buy a $99 tool today (Dremel, Bosch, Makita, etc.) and be back in a year or two to buy another one. That's more than the cost of your Fein tool already. =)
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
ShopMeister

Quality tool at a good price.

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this tool for my son to do some work at my house and it will also help him do his job at work. It is a little more expensive than similar brands but it is extremely high quality and should last for many years. He says it works great and enjoys working with it. It is definitely a tool that anyone in the trades would love to have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
BCLamb55
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exceptionally well made German tool.

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After seeing other trades use this type of tool for a few years now, I finally purchased one. After using a couple of different ones on job sites, I then got serious about it and checked out several brands and settled on the Fein Multimaster and as well bought an extra set of blades. I have used it a number of times in the past couple of weeks since I bought it and keep having the same thought: why the heck did I wait so long to get one! Also, I am so glad that I bought the Fein. It feels like a well built tool in your hand and I'm sure that I'm going to get years of use out of it. If you are considering getting one of these tools, I highly recommend the Fein. One of the cool features is that it has an extra long cord and plug. A couple of times I didn't have to get out an extension cord.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Well Made
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Patrick
from IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

None other compares

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used the Bosch, Craftsman, and Rockwell in the past and the Fein elevates the category. A higher price is worth paying for the quality of this tool! Although accessories are also high, universal ones can be found online for 1/5 of the price. Just remember, one gets what one pays for!!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Marcel
from Anaheim, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Had a Makita version that lasted 4 hours and was nowhere as strong as the Fien model. Night and day when I returned to the project with the new unit.

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Impressive and made in Germany.... The moment I started using the machine, I realized how much more powerful and smooth it was in comparison to the Makita I had returned.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Robert
from Georgetown, DE 19947, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Fein Makes the Best Oscillating Tools....Period.

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have owned 3 different types of oscillating tools, mainly due to them being on sale. I have had two Dremels and a Bosch.
Both Dremel multimaxs were low quality garbage. Unfortunately, you don't find this out until after you use them. They may be alright for a homeowner that uses them every year or so, but not everyday contractor use.
The Bosch lasted longer, but I am having issues with that now also. The motor seems to bog down and the blade slows.
Several of my subs use Fein and told me it's the only oscillating tool they have ever owned. These guys have used it most every day for at least the 3 years that I have known them and said they worked flawlessly. I decided to purchase Fein on their recommendations.
The tool is well built, not light and not too heavy. It has a good feeling in your hand and is super easy to change blades with the lever lock function. I also appreciate the long cord. I think it's about 12 feet long.
The only thing I didn't like was the soft case, so I ended up buying the Fein factory plastic case. It is well built and should really be included with the purchase. Also, Home Depot does not stock Fein blades which I thought was kind of strange, seeing that they sell the tool. So I bought my blades at CPO tools which had the best price for them.
I think you will appreciate this tool if you are a quality minded craftsman.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, high quality construction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
REDEYES00
from Northbrook, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for the best price

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked online for this tool, as it received great reviews from other customers. Surprisingly, Home Depot had the best price online and this included eBay. Being wired versus wireless, I believe makes this a "stronger" tool for most jobs. I would recommend this brand to anyone looking for an oscillating multi-tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Chaddaddy
from Sandusky, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is a great product. I researched it before I made the purchase and I am glad I did.

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The tool-free clamping feature is fast and reliable and very strong. It has lots of power and the speed adjustment is a must have for longer accessory life as well as easy to use. The 16' cord is a great feature(I wish all construction tools had one)! I take it to the job-site everyday and am surprised by how often I find a use for it. Accessories have to be purchased on line though,or you can purchase the basic line at sears. (crafstman has some accessories that are compatible with the multi-master). If you are serious about your tools,then this is the oscillating tool to own! I have 2 other contractor friends that have already wanted to borrow this tool,and I've only owned it a month! Nice heavy duty quality that you can feel from the moment you pick it up. I don't think I can say enough good things about this tool!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
gearhead2

excellant tool promptly shipped a delivered

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fein multi-tool has been primarily used to sand into corners and difficult to reach areas missed by orbital and hand block sanding. The tool has proved very effective and efficient.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Texan
from Bastrop, TX 78602, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

QUALITY PRODUCT

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything I expected. Extra parts are a little pricey though. The job gets done quickly.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Everett1448
from Dacula, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great tool to have on the job site.

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent tool for job site renovations! Had a cheaper version of this tool, but the versatility and quality of this tool far exceeds the cheaper version.
Pros: All In One
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Rescue08
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An outstanding tool for any serious woodworker

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The best thing about this tool is the quick change system. The other ones with allen wrenches are a real pain. The unit comes in this special promotional package with few blades. But they are available at several outlets and on line. The soft case is better than the hardshell case as it holds everything you need to carry to the job site. Fein gave me an additional warranty after I registered with them on line. I do not think the new battery system will work as well as the corded version. This has some real power.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
andy1324

what a difference

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a dremmel, didn't work. I thought the whole oscillating tool thing must me just a toy, because it sure couldn't do any cutting work. Read reviews on the Fein, decided to try again. All I can say is what a difference. Precise, powerful, basically amazing. Tremendous tool for the kind of work its designed to do. I would completely recommend it to anyone.
As a side note, when I was taking it from the shelf, a home associate came over to ask me if I needed help. I told him about my choice of the fein, and that I had a dremmel.
He was kind of surprised that I would choose the fein over the other manufactures there because he had never heard of or used the fein. He even said he's never seen anyone buy the fein. I said all the reviews of it were very good so I was going to take a chance.
I kind of understand where he was coming from because personally I had never heard of the fein either until I looked at other reviews.
All I can tell you now is, excellent choice, excellent tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Multimaster Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Toolman
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easier to use than I thought.

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had never used an oscillating saw before and wondered if it would be easier said than done. It was easy and the finished product looks good no wavy lines as I had feared. I bought a fein because of magazine ratings and like it. I had never used or heard of Fein before. Very well made.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>