728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation-DISCONTINUED

Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation-DISCONTINUED

The Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation has a specially designed handle and sharp blade to ensure accurate cuts with reduced risk of hand injury. It's great for cutting panels to fit around obstacles.
Overall rating:
3.546 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product6 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product6 of 10reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation-DISCONTINUED
from St. Louis, MO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

No Instructions, not a great blade, and one came without a blade

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought two of these based on the reviews. Three major problems:
1. There are absolutely no instructions on the package or online. It's something that should be pretty obvious but it just wasn't.
2. The blade didn't cut very well and easily gummed up the tile when trying to cut.
3. As I said, I bought two. The second one was visibly re-sealed but looked fine....until I opened it up and saw that there was no blade or blade holder included. So this second cutter is now utterly useless. Only saving grace was that it was extremely cheap.
I would not recommend. You're better off just using a nice sharp utility blade.
Pros: Economical
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation-DISCONTINUED
from Troy, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

excellent product

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The store cant keep these on their shelves, had to order online- showed up in 3 days and am very happy with it. You need a number one (small) phillips to put together- well worth the effort. I purchased two just in case but didnt need to. I used only one half of the razor blade to cut two foot tiles, about 75 of them before the blade dulled. The cutter itself remained in like new condition after 75 tiles- enjoy.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation-DISCONTINUED

Poorly made, poorly packaged

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product arrived in an envelope with no accompanying documentation. Assembly is rather obvious, however, there are 2 mounting screws with the blade but only one screw mount, no matter how you try to assemble. What to do with the other screw?
It's a 75 cent piece of plastic with 2 blades. And it costs about 8 bucks. Not very impressive.
If you're looking for a ceiling tile reveal cutter, keep shopping. To make nice, clean, professional cuts, you're going to need something a little better than this.
Pros: Economical
Cons: Inconsistent, No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation-DISCONTINUED

Not what I expected

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Initially, I thought this item was a great idea and couldn't figure out why it was only sold online. Now I know, it's not worth the money to buy this product. You are better off using a straight edge and a utility knife. I use it on one tile and found it be very cumbersome and seems like the blade gummed up too easy.
Pros: Economical
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation-DISCONTINUED
from Seaford, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Worth it's weight in gold!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Amazing how something so simple can save so much time. And for under $2! If you need to trim a reveal on acoustical tile...it's a must
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Straight, Great Value, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation-DISCONTINUED

The blades did not fit the cutter. Total waste of money.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The blades did not fit the cutter. Total waste of money.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation-DISCONTINUED
from Lancaster, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

time saving, easy to use, but not built well

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not a bad tool. saves a lot of time if you buy two and set face depth on one and side cut on another. well worth the money it saves on labor. not a really strong built tool and would pay more for one built better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Shape, Great Value, Economical
Cons: No Instructions, not built well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation-DISCONTINUED
from ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

GREAT, Cheap, and it works

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I first bought the reveal metal "shadow line" ceiling cutter. It was ok for a straight cut (right through the tile,) but NOT for edges. I eventually went back to the normal utility blade. This tool does the edge that you need and depth. Buy two one for a side cut one for top cut. Label them and you are good to go. Well worth the shipping cost and it takes normal blades. They do last a while.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation-DISCONTINUED
from Lititz
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ceiling tile reveal cutter

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After drilling another screw hole to get better clamping on the blade, the tool was able to be adjusted to the correct depth of cut and the tool worked well. I can say for the price the tool is a great help.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation-DISCONTINUED
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used another so called "ceiling tile cutters” it was steel and looked good on paper until you realize it is nothing more than a box cutter. This one works, and cheap!!! Get two one for a top cut, second for side cut. Otherwise you need to adjust it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Reveal Edge Cutter for Ceiling Tile Installation-DISCONTINUED

Very pleased

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the perfect tool for the job. It made a diffucult operation easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.