728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

Round plastic nursery pots are inexpensive and durable perfect for many types of soil or hydroponic growing media. The raised rim design allows easy handling and easy stack ability when not in use. Can be reused indefinitely. Please note that our pots are measured in trade gallons. A Trade gallon is a term used to denote the sizes of standard plant containers in horticultural industries. A trade gallon is equal to approximately 0.71 U.S. liquid gallons.
Overall rating:
3.894 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product40 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(18)
4
(17)
3
(3)
2
(7)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product40 of 46reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
Review 1 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5 gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pots are a bit flimsy,but I love them just the perfect size. You get what you pay for and I will buy again, anywhere else they would be higher in price. Hey if you are worried about the color just paint them with plastic paint. The size is about 3 inch shorter than a real 5 gallon bucket because these are in (trade gallons) looks to be 4.01 gallons
Pros: Multi Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

Greatprice, acceptable Quality

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm using them for potting peppers and strawberries. The pots are thin and seem flimsy, but I expect that they will last several seasons. They were basically what I expected and the price was better than anything else I found. The plants seem happy, so what else could I ask for?
Pros: Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

5 (metric) Gallon Nursery Pots

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Using these nursery pots to over-winter pepper plants in a greenhouse and in the corner of the kitchen. The pots, while being thin in thickness are built to be strong. They are drilled for drainage at the sides toward the bottom so one would want to use a drip pan for indoor use.
At qty 10 for $18 these are a bargain. I had initially spent $150 for a similar but thicker product. These meet the basic needs and the pepper plants are thriving!
The pots will crush from compression force, but will hold sturdy to the outward forces exerted from garden soil that is contained within.
I will buy more as needed.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, over wintering, $ value
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good pots for the price. Ya' can't find these at this price. As you know, they are not truly quite 5 gallons, but they certainly do the job!

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I will be using most of these containers in the coming Spring.I have been using my 3 gallon containers but alas, they have grown larger and need to be placed in these larger containers. I have searched the web, including local box stores and nurseries and have not been able to obtain these sizes at a reasonable price. I certainly would recommend these containers for anyone shopping for a bargain!
Aloha, Keoni
Pros: Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Plato, Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just What The Garden Needed.....

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These pots are exactly what we needed to grow our plants to the size needed to transplant into our landscaping design. Absolutly perfect ..... ! ! !
The shipping was fast and accuate as always when shopping at Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from West Chester, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice pots

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pots are just what I expected and was looking for to plant my ghost pepper plants. I hope they are big enough. They actually are more sturdy than I expected, a pleasant surprise.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Clinton, Wa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT 5 GALLONS

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These nursery pots are NOT as advertised. They are #5 pots, and are clearly stamped on the pots as 4.2 gallons! On the other hand, if you need a pot this size that is used for light duty, and don't want to spend a lot, then these will fill the bill. They are fairly flimsy, so handle with care. We used them to create a container garden on our deck for miniature raspberries, and used plastic oil pans underneath the pots, creating sort of an economical self watering type system for under 6 bucks each....
Pros: Economical
Cons: not 5 gallons, flimsy
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

Serves it's purpose

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
If you're just looking for something simple this works.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Prunedale, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Deal on These Pots Anywhere

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have shopped large nursery pots all over the web and these are absolutely the best deal I have found. And the quality is as good if not better than other more expensive pots I've purchased, Some may say they are "flimsy" or not high quality but I think these are people who have not purchased nursery pots before and are expecting the heavier plastic (and much heavier priced) decorative planters. That's not what these are and they don't claim to be! These are good quality 'nursery' pots. The best I've found for this price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Thin and splits at some drain holes

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ordered two 10 packs. The pots are thin. Many pots had splits at the bottom drain holes. I had the use the second pack to get a full good 10 pack. I just transplanted some one gallon shrubs for a year. I'm thinking they will last that long. Check the bottom of all pots before you leave the store.
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: splits at some drain holes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Saginaw, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great product

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The grow store wants way more than I paid for these pots
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

Nursery Pots

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These nursery pots are a flexible, yet sturdy solution to planting vegetables above ground. This ia a much more economical solution than planting in pots. I am now lookinf forwrd to my harvest!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Waco, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pots

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Cheap pots. No quality but purchased to be disposable. Free shipping + inexpensive pots made this a good deal. Searched the Net for a better value and could not find any when you consider the cost of shipping.
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape, cheap
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

Good price, poor workmanship in drilling drain holes

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I was disappointed that some of the pot's drain holes weren't drilled properly, some holes weren't even round, more like a slash, very poor workmanship. But they shipped them anyway. I guess you get what you pay for! Other pot holes were drilled symmetric as designed. That's the disappointment, shipping the faulty pots with the good ones, and it's so obvious that the drain holes were grossly misaligned
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome product value for the price

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great number and good quality for the costs. Would have preferred a harder plastic, but these can used multiple times none the less.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product - best price if could find

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
For this size pot, this is the best price I could find. Thank you for carrying these in a 10 pack.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sensible gardener

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Right size, lightweight, no breakage problems, fits my budget.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: basic look
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from ocean shores, wa

Durable and good for the price

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
They are exactly what I wanted. I have several that I have had for years outside that have withstood the elements. My gardens are mostly container gardening so that I can rearrange plant groupings easily and also cut down on weeding. I paint these with Fusion plastic spray paint to add color in my yards. Such a good deal.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a good deal for the price

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the buckets are a little thin, can't do a lot of moving around, more of a temporary planter, they will last a season or two, a great deal for the price!
Pros: price
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

smaller than expected

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The quality is fine. Just beware that they are actually only 3.8gallons. NOT 5 gallons as advertised.
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>