728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

Round plastic nursery pots are inexpensive and durable perfect for many types of soil or hydroponic growing media. The raised rim design allows easy handling and easy stack ability when not in use. Can be reused indefinitely. Please note that our pots are measured in trade gallons. A Trade gallon is a term used to denote the sizes of standard plant containers in horticultural industries. A trade gallon is equal to approximately 0.71 U.S. liquid gallons.
Overall rating:
3.983 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product50 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(26)
4
(20)
3
(3)
2
(9)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product50 of 58reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
Review 1 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality Control

PostedAugust 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is my second purchase of this item. The quality of my first purchase was OK. Even all of the openings in all 10 pots were not fully open and still had lot of plastic residuals, but they were usable. My recently received second purchased pack was terrible. 6 out of 10 were either damaged or broken. (See picture) And you cannot return only the bad ones and keep the good ones. You have to return all 10 and could not keep any good ones. All your 10 days waiting time for the shipment after ordering was waste. Since they are made in USA at Ohio, I will order one more time and give them one more chance to support USA manufacturing. Please do not disappoint me.
Pros: price is reasonable
Cons: Not Durable, quality varies on batch.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5 gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pots are a bit flimsy,but I love them just the perfect size. You get what you pay for and I will buy again, anywhere else they would be higher in price. Hey if you are worried about the color just paint them with plastic paint. The size is about 3 inch shorter than a real 5 gallon bucket because these are in (trade gallons) looks to be 4.01 gallons
Pros: Multi Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

Greatprice, acceptable Quality

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm using them for potting peppers and strawberries. The pots are thin and seem flimsy, but I expect that they will last several seasons. They were basically what I expected and the price was better than anything else I found. The plants seem happy, so what else could I ask for?
Pros: Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

5 (metric) Gallon Nursery Pots

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Using these nursery pots to over-winter pepper plants in a greenhouse and in the corner of the kitchen. The pots, while being thin in thickness are built to be strong. They are drilled for drainage at the sides toward the bottom so one would want to use a drip pan for indoor use.
At qty 10 for $18 these are a bargain. I had initially spent $150 for a similar but thicker product. These meet the basic needs and the pepper plants are thriving!
The pots will crush from compression force, but will hold sturdy to the outward forces exerted from garden soil that is contained within.
I will buy more as needed.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, over wintering, $ value
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the trick...

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is the first year that I have used these pots, but so far they are fine. I don't see any wear or tear yet. I have potted some tomato plants and pepper plants and they seem to be growing just fine. I don't know how many years they will last, but I do expect to use them next year. I probably would have given the pots 5 stars, but they haven't withstood the test of time yet--but so far so good.
Pros: Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Troy, Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for my garden!

PostedJune 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My sister recommended these pots to me and I am glad I took her advice. I've been using these to pot my veggies and flower this year and I am very pleased with the condition and the price of these pots. I know I will be using these for years to come!
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from SF Bay Area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5 Gal nursery pots (10 pack)

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Containers a little smaller than anticipated but good value for price.
Pros: acceptable durability for price
Cons: lower vol than expected specs would have helped
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Fallston, Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as advertised

PostedAugust 13, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These pots were listed on line a 5 gallon hydroponic pots.
Hydroponics Organic
Model # VHPP500-10
Internet # 202985184
5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
In fact they are plain #5 pots and their size is 4.1 gallons. This is clearly marked on the rim of each pot.
Further they are not hydroponic type pots. They are merely 4.1 gallon pots made of flimsily, about 1/16" or less, plastic. Hydrophobic pots usually have a container in the bottom which holds a reserve of liquid to nourish the plant. These are only just pots.
Home Depot has hydroponic pots in the store for about $14 - $15 for a single pot. They are stronger and each has a container in the bottom for holding water or liquid fertilizer. The pots in my order were a far cry from these.
As some others have written they are serviceable and will do the job for which I intended, growing single hot pepper plants. With some attention to handling them they might last two or more seasons. But being made of very thin about 1/16" thick they could be easily ripped if one is careless in handling them.
So my 2 stars is because they were not advertised accurately but they will perform to meet my intended needs. The quality is OK for my needs but these pots will not take any rough handling. The price matched what I got.
I would not recommend these pots if you expect to receive pots as advertised, I.E. 5 gallon hydroponic pots.
If you are in need to 10 pots to grow one plant per pot as I intend to do, then these are OK. But beyond that you won't want them.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable, flimsily, not as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth for the price

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading reviews re the size I was a little concerned but I decided to order anyway. I am glad I did. For the price I paid I couldn't have expected more than what I got. Drainage is good and strong enough to hold the soil weight. This is the best price I could find after spending many hours on the net.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Granite Hills
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deal

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are great pots, not as thick or heavy as some varieties, but they are sturdy and serve the purpose well. The ground where I live is granite, and I am not able to grow anything in it. With these pots I have been able to grow some amazing huge and healthy vegetables and flowering plants. I plan to purchase more of them and would definitely recommend them to anyone. They are a really good value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

Ok for price..

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not good for tomatoes, way too shallow. I hope the tomatoes i planted in these containers make it. NOW, that being said, think would be good for peppers, kale, strawberries, bush beans and many kinds of herbs. I am going to plant non-vining sugar snap peas, carrots and beets in my remaining planters for a fall harvest. Containers are thin but seem like they will last a few seasons.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good pots for the price. Ya' can't find these at this price. As you know, they are not truly quite 5 gallons, but they certainly do the job!

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I will be using most of these containers in the coming Spring.I have been using my 3 gallon containers but alas, they have grown larger and need to be placed in these larger containers. I have searched the web, including local box stores and nurseries and have not been able to obtain these sizes at a reasonable price. I certainly would recommend these containers for anyone shopping for a bargain!
Aloha, Keoni
Pros: Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from jasper, al
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for the money

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
pots are thinner than expected, but work very well....more like 4 gal than 5, but an ok purchase for the money....about $2 each....well worth it....if you need perfect pots, do not order.....came sort of distorted due to the fact they are thin.....still worth $2
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Cheyenne, WY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good but only received 9, should have been 10

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Does the job, but only received 9, not worth arguing over the one missing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

great buy

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
as expected, great buy and will buy again! Hold all my plants.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)

Hi There...

PostedJune 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would recommend at least the 5 gallon pots. You should use a pot 2-times larger than the root ball. Good luck !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Grand Rapids, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for planting

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These 5 gallon nursery pots are great for an amateur or professional gardener. Perfect size for the type of planting I am doing and the 10 pack is the just right quantity, not too many, not too few. The plastic is not so rigid that transplanting is made a pain but durable enough to last me through several transplant.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Prunedale, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Deal on These Pots Anywhere

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have shopped large nursery pots all over the web and these are absolutely the best deal I have found. And the quality is as good if not better than other more expensive pots I've purchased, Some may say they are "flimsy" or not high quality but I think these are people who have not purchased nursery pots before and are expecting the heavier plastic (and much heavier priced) decorative planters. That's not what these are and they don't claim to be! These are good quality 'nursery' pots. The best I've found for this price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Saginaw, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great product

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The grow store wants way more than I paid for these pots
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 Gal. Nursery Pots (10-Pack)
from Clinton, Wa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT 5 GALLONS

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These nursery pots are NOT as advertised. They are #5 pots, and are clearly stamped on the pots as 4.2 gallons! On the other hand, if you need a pot this size that is used for light duty, and don't want to spend a lot, then these will fill the bill. They are fairly flimsy, so handle with care. We used them to create a container garden on our deck for miniature raspberries, and used plastic oil pans underneath the pots, creating sort of an economical self watering type system for under 6 bucks each....
Pros: Economical
Cons: not 5 gallons, flimsy
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSJune 18, 2015
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, “Please note that our pots are measured in trade gallons. A Trade gallon is a term used to denote the sizes of standard plant containers in horticultural industries. A trade gallon is equal to approximately 0.71 U.S. liquid gallons, any further questions please contact us at 1.888.305.4450
1 2 3 >>