728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Propane Tank Gauge

Propane Tank Gauge

This Brinkmann Propane Tank Gauge features a multi-color dial to clearly indicate remaining propane fuel levels. The gauge is constructed of solid brass for durability. Installation is easy and requires no tools. The convenient gauge will allow for fuel checks without removing the tank.
Overall rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product73 of 89reviews
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(53)
4
(16)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product73 of 89reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 66 Answers
Customer reviews for Propane Tank Gauge
Review 1 for Propane Tank Gauge

All grills should come with this

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a nifty product. Before, the only way I could tell that my propane tank was getting low was by feeling how heavy it was. This thing connects in a snap and as soon as you open the tank valve, the gauge gives you a reading. Now I can be better prepared for when I want to plan barbeques.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, easy to read
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Sterling, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very simple to install, accurate

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We put this gauge on so we didn't run out of propane in the middle of grilling anymore. It is very easy to install, takes under five minutes (more like 60 seconds) and you install it with only your hands, no tools needed. I tried it on our empty tank first and it didn't read any propane left at all. Then I put it on our new tank and it read almost full. Only problem we had was that it extended the hose part coming out of the tank in such a way that it either hits the inside wall of our grill, or the front door won't close all the way. We are going to try to get a more flexible regulator and see if that will help. But overall such a simple piece to install and worth the ease of knowing how much of your tank you have left.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Lebanon, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got Gas?

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have always wondered if I had gas or not, now I can tell by looking at the handy gauge on the propane tank. The gauge is made out of brass and is quite simple to install. Just screw it to the propane tank outlet and then hook your grill hose to the gauge. I have only grilled out once so far so It is hard to determine how accurate it is. As long as its close it will be good enough for me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Propane Tank Gauge

1st time buying gauge

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1st time to buy a gauge not impressed. It seems to be good looking gauge and sturdy. But doesn't let enough gas threw valve in fitting might be defective like I said 1st one I've ever bought. Used on heater, grill, and weed burner. Worked good for heater and not so good for grill and weed burner. Would only let very small amount of gas threw gauge and was fine without gauge. Nice looking gauge tho.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Propane Tank Gauge

Flow Problems

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing worked great at first then gas stopped flowing through it so I exchanged it. Same problem with the second one. I was able to figure out that the line to the BBQ needs to be primed with propane before you install this, if the line is empty something goes wrong and gas is cut off. So if you buy this and the gas isn't flowing, remove it and hook up to the tank directly and prime the line and put the gauge back in.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Propane Tank Gauge

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is a good indicator of gas availability but not the exact quantity. However, it serves the purpose and gives a little peace of mind.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Mesa, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of junk

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this Brinkman gauge despite the high number of poor reviews, mainly because I needed one the next day (Christmas) and it was the only one Home Depot carried. I installed it, checked for the pressure of my tank (it said about 50% full, which was plenty for using my smoker the next day). I went out Christmas morning to pre-heat the smoker and there was a very strong propane smell in my back yard. The tank was empty. The valve on the tank was closed, so it had to be this piece of junk gauge. My advice is to look for the highest rated gauge you can find and buy it. This $13 "deal" cost me about $20 in propane.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Parker, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like it should.

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple to install and just plane works. Shows the level of propane pressure in my tank. Worked first time I installed it without issue.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Use, Accurate
Cons: only shows level while tank is open
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Roseville, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't grill without it

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Never be left with a half cooked grill, this propane tank gauge is perfect for letting you know when to top up the tank
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Norton Shores, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The gauge is just what my husband wanted. I looked a lot of places and at Home Depot it was the lowest price for the same thing. Great Buy!!!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Texas

PROPANE TANK GAUGE

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Excellent product. Now I can see how many gas is in the tank. It is very helpfull.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Portland, OR

Misleading packaging

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
These gauges are designed for 40lbs tanks. When used on the common 5lbs tank, a full tank barely moves the needle in the green area. The packaging should clearly state on the front that this is for 40lbs tanks, and HD should offer gauges designed for 5lbs tanks, i.e. that correctly register full for a full 5lbs tank.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Atlanta GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LP Tank Guage

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The guage went on easily and has worked perfectly for over 5 months saving me from running out of lp gas as was the usual problem.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Durable, Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Propane Tank Gauge

Very good gauge

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wasn't sure if my tanks were completely empty so I bought this gauge and works great. I would not advise leaving this outside as it may be affected by the elements. Recommend disconnect and store it after use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Propane Tank Gauge

Propane gauge converter

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this gauge as a converter for an older type fitting on a cooker I use to deep fry turkeys. It fit perfect and works well!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Las Cruces, NM
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not accurate

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The gauge showed tank almost empty. When I had it filled it only took 1.2 gallons of propane.
There was still 3 gallons left in the 20 lb tank
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: not reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shows how much propane remains, but tight fit

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Because we sometimes rent our vacation home, we don't know how much the grill is used. Lifting the tank to get a feel for how much is left really hasn't worked for us and running out of propane before dinner is cooked has happened too many times! This gauge will definitely help so that we know before we start cooking if there's going to be an issue!
It would be nice if this gauge was flexible or maybe bent. It goes in line with the tank valve and the hose from the grill really has no slack. The result was a very tight fit and we were lucky that the door where the tank sits would still close.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Propane Tank Gauge

1st time buying

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After my review Brinkman is sending me a new gauge. They definitely have great customer service and care about their products. I have 4 of there various types of grills and smokers and love them cook on them almost every day literally. Brinkman is a great product. A+++
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Propane Tank Gauge
from mesa az
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

piece of junk!

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this thing will not only lie to you in cold weather, it will restrict flow! several times i thought the tank was empty, took this little thing out and i was able to use my smoker for several hours.
Pros: none
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Propane Tank Guage

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No assembly required. Easily attaches to tank and gas line.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>