728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Propane Tank Gauge

Propane Tank Gauge

This Brinkmann Propane Tank Gauge features a multi-color dial to clearly indicate remaining propane fuel levels. The gauge is constructed of solid brass for durability. Installation is easy and requires no tools. The convenient gauge will allow for fuel checks without removing the tank.
Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product67 of 80reviews
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(47)
4
(16)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product67 of 80reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer reviews for Propane Tank Gauge
Review 1 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Sterling, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very simple to install, accurate

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put this gauge on so we didn't run out of propane in the middle of grilling anymore. It is very easy to install, takes under five minutes (more like 60 seconds) and you install it with only your hands, no tools needed. I tried it on our empty tank first and it didn't read any propane left at all. Then I put it on our new tank and it read almost full. Only problem we had was that it extended the hose part coming out of the tank in such a way that it either hits the inside wall of our grill, or the front door won't close all the way. We are going to try to get a more flexible regulator and see if that will help. But overall such a simple piece to install and worth the ease of knowing how much of your tank you have left.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Propane Tank Gauge

Flow Problems

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing worked great at first then gas stopped flowing through it so I exchanged it. Same problem with the second one. I was able to figure out that the line to the BBQ needs to be primed with propane before you install this, if the line is empty something goes wrong and gas is cut off. So if you buy this and the gas isn't flowing, remove it and hook up to the tank directly and prime the line and put the gauge back in.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Propane Tank Gauge

All grills should come with this

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nifty product. Before, the only way I could tell that my propane tank was getting low was by feeling how heavy it was. This thing connects in a snap and as soon as you open the tank valve, the gauge gives you a reading. Now I can be better prepared for when I want to plan barbeques.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, easy to read
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Lebanon, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got Gas?

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have always wondered if I had gas or not, now I can tell by looking at the handy gauge on the propane tank. The gauge is made out of brass and is quite simple to install. Just screw it to the propane tank outlet and then hook your grill hose to the gauge. I have only grilled out once so far so It is hard to determine how accurate it is. As long as its close it will be good enough for me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Propane Tank Gauge

1st time buying gauge

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1st time to buy a gauge not impressed. It seems to be good looking gauge and sturdy. But doesn't let enough gas threw valve in fitting might be defective like I said 1st one I've ever bought. Used on heater, grill, and weed burner. Worked good for heater and not so good for grill and weed burner. Would only let very small amount of gas threw gauge and was fine without gauge. Nice looking gauge tho.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Propane Tank Gauge

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is a good indicator of gas availability but not the exact quantity. However, it serves the purpose and gives a little peace of mind.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Propane Tank Guage

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No assembly required. Easily attaches to tank and gas line.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Propane Tank Gauge

1st time buying

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After my review Brinkman is sending me a new gauge. They definitely have great customer service and care about their products. I have 4 of there various types of grills and smokers and love them cook on them almost every day literally. Brinkman is a great product. A+++
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Roseville, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't grill without it

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Never be left with a half cooked grill, this propane tank gauge is perfect for letting you know when to top up the tank
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Detroit Metro
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everyone needs one of these

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased one of these for my father when I was @ my local Home Depot. I purchased it because I was grilling toward the end of summer last year. I had a whole grill full of food and then the grill went cold on me (out of propane) I don't know about any of you but I cant lift the tank and tell if I can cook one more meal or 10 so I ended up with 1/2 cooked hamburgers and steaks ( the hot dogs cooked quick enough). So after you find out your out of propane you have 2 choices (well at least I did) go get more propane or finish it on the stove I chose the latter. Either way I would much rather pay the $15.00 - $20.00 dollars to see at a glance how much propane I have left so I don't run out of propane again
Pros: easy to install just screw it on the tank
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Tuscola, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Install

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband easily installed this for his new grill. Works well!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shows how much propane remains, but tight fit

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Because we sometimes rent our vacation home, we don't know how much the grill is used. Lifting the tank to get a feel for how much is left really hasn't worked for us and running out of propane before dinner is cooked has happened too many times! This gauge will definitely help so that we know before we start cooking if there's going to be an issue!
It would be nice if this gauge was flexible or maybe bent. It goes in line with the tank valve and the hose from the grill really has no slack. The result was a very tight fit and we were lucky that the door where the tank sits would still close.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Los Angeles Ca.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everyone should have one of these

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you have ever run out of gas mid-meal, this device speaks for it's self. Everyone should own one.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Riverview, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is just what I needed. Last one got damaged when my grill blew over in a storm and I hate running out of propane. I know exactly how much fuel I have.
Thanks
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Concord CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good solid guage

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good gauge, no more guessing when I will run out of gas
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Propane Tank Gauge
from mesa az
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

piece of junk!

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this thing will not only lie to you in cold weather, it will restrict flow! several times i thought the tank was empty, took this little thing out and i was able to use my smoker for several hours.
Pros: none
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very simple to install and easy to read.

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I got this product and installed it, I was immediately (and ironically) alerted to the fact that my tank was nearing empty, which allowed me to have a spare tank ready when it ran out.
Installation was a snap, as it screwed in-line with the existing fitting on the tank. Some users might have issues if a tank enclosure or other obstruction limits the space for the added length of the gauge. It extends the length of the fitting by a couple of inches, but shouldn't be a problem for most installations. Rotating the tank slightly allowed it to fit my enclosure while leaving the gauge easily visible.
As my tank is seated inside the cabinet, it can be difficult to lift the tank to guess how much LP is still available, so this is a real improvement.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Superior Craftsmanship
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Crescent City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Waste of money

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hooked it up to a full tank it read near empty. A month later it said half full. It went from indicating half full to near empty overnight. I weighed my tank - it's still 27 lbs, which means almost half full. Can't find my receipt.
Pros: none
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Propane Tank Gauge

Great product. Works perfectly

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Works perfectly. It definitely helps determining how much propane is left in the tank.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Ruidoso, NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Propane Tank Gauge

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install and works great. No leaks and no problems
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>