728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Propane Tank Gauge

Propane Tank Gauge

This Brinkmann Propane Tank Gauge features a multi-color dial to clearly indicate remaining propane fuel levels. The gauge is constructed of solid brass for durability. Installation is easy and requires no tools. The convenient gauge will allow for fuel checks without removing the tank.
Overall rating:
3.71 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product24 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product24 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for Propane Tank Gauge
Review 1 for Propane Tank Gauge
aroyals
from Sterling, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very simple to install, accurate

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put this gauge on so we didn't run out of propane in the middle of grilling anymore. It is very easy to install, takes under five minutes (more like 60 seconds) and you install it with only your hands, no tools needed. I tried it on our empty tank first and it didn't read any propane left at all. Then I put it on our new tank and it read almost full. Only problem we had was that it extended the hose part coming out of the tank in such a way that it either hits the inside wall of our grill, or the front door won't close all the way. We are going to try to get a more flexible regulator and see if that will help. But overall such a simple piece to install and worth the ease of knowing how much of your tank you have left.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Propane Tank Gauge

All grills should come with this

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nifty product. Before, the only way I could tell that my propane tank was getting low was by feeling how heavy it was. This thing connects in a snap and as soon as you open the tank valve, the gauge gives you a reading. Now I can be better prepared for when I want to plan barbeques.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, easy to read
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Propane Tank Gauge
Panaman
from Lebanon, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got Gas?

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have always wondered if I had gas or not, now I can tell by looking at the handy gauge on the propane tank. The gauge is made out of brass and is quite simple to install. Just screw it to the propane tank outlet and then hook your grill hose to the gauge. I have only grilled out once so far so It is hard to determine how accurate it is. As long as its close it will be good enough for me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Propane Tank Gauge
John
from Roseville, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't grill without it

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Never be left with a half cooked grill, this propane tank gauge is perfect for letting you know when to top up the tank
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Propane Tank Gauge
Cappy
from Woodbridge, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This gauge is a BIG help

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had this product before on another grill. Problem is when I sold the other grill I forgot to take the other gauge off and put it on another new grill. It help and let's you know how much propane you have left. Not that you run out when you're halfway grilling your food.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, easy to read gauge
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Propane Tank Gauge
Susan
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shows how much propane remains, but tight fit

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Because we sometimes rent our vacation home, we don't know how much the grill is used. Lifting the tank to get a feel for how much is left really hasn't worked for us and running out of propane before dinner is cooked has happened too many times! This gauge will definitely help so that we know before we start cooking if there's going to be an issue!
It would be nice if this gauge was flexible or maybe bent. It goes in line with the tank valve and the hose from the grill really has no slack. The result was a very tight fit and we were lucky that the door where the tank sits would still close.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Propane Tank Gauge
BSMOBuyer

Does not work!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The guage never moves out of the red-zone. I am taking it back. I doubt it is defective - just not a good product overall.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Propane Tank Gauge
pyyu
from CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

everyone who have a propane tank should get one!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been looking for exactly a gauge like this one for years. Now it takes the guess work out of estimating how much gas I have left in the tank. I will not be replacing the tank when it is not reatly close to empty. I don't have to worry that I will run out of gas in the middle of a barbecue.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Propane Tank Gauge
manny
from Boerne, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great item

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You never have to cook half way again. I have two propane tanks as back up but I like to know what amount of gas I have left in the tank before I start. This widget is perfect, lets me know if I should change it or leave it before starting. Before, I used to start cooking and leave for a bit and come back to a non cooking grill and a cold steak. This just helps me keep an eye on it since I know thae amount of gas left.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Propane Tank Gauge
DWolf
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very simple to install and easy to read.

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I got this product and installed it, I was immediately (and ironically) alerted to the fact that my tank was nearing empty, which allowed me to have a spare tank ready when it ran out.
Installation was a snap, as it screwed in-line with the existing fitting on the tank. Some users might have issues if a tank enclosure or other obstruction limits the space for the added length of the gauge. It extends the length of the fitting by a couple of inches, but shouldn't be a problem for most installations. Rotating the tank slightly allowed it to fit my enclosure while leaving the gauge easily visible.
As my tank is seated inside the cabinet, it can be difficult to lift the tank to guess how much LP is still available, so this is a real improvement.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Superior Craftsmanship
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Propane Tank Gauge
salfi
from Honolulu, HI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does What It's Supposed To

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Tank gauge works like a charm and does what it was meant to.
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Propane Tank Gauge
kmaysob
from mesa az
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

piece of junk!

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this thing will not only lie to you in cold weather, it will restrict flow! several times i thought the tank was empty, took this little thing out and i was able to use my smoker for several hours.
Pros: none
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Propane Tank Gauge
BobC

Better than nothing

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm not too confident in the accuracy. The gauge tends to fluctuate up and down, sometimes registering higher than it did on the previous use. I'm hopeful it will let me know when I'm about to run out of propane so I can replace the tank in advance. That's really all I want from it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Propane Tank Gauge
Diannajh
from Valley Park, Mo
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

never again!!

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last family get together we were using my grill outside, when I heard we were out of gas, how embarrassing, never
again! I saw this and when it came I immediately put it on my new propane tank. So far I haven't used it much, but it has shown me how much is left, no more dinner delays for me, thank goodness!!
Easy to use, no hassles.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Propane Tank Gauge
pete
from Sun Lakes, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't buy

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This gauge--this type of gauge--doesn't do you any good. The pressure in the propane tank is almost constant, at a level determined by temperature. Only at the very end of the tank capacity, with a few minutes of gas left, will the gauge drop. Invariably, "the last grilling" will start in the middle of the green, and then run out after 20--30 minutes.
Twice in a row, two separate Brinkman gauges, the gauge plugged (gas didn't pass through) when I changed tanks. Removing the gauge solved the problem. I'm going to speculate that a bit of debris entered the gauge during tank change, and plugged a port. Nevertheless, since I'm in the middle of a cook, I don't have time to clean it. So, on the junk pile this thing goes (well, actually, into Recycle).
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: no value added
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Propane Tank Gauge
Rockybull
from Columbus, MS, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works like it is supposed to.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It measures the pressure in the tank. Won't tell you how much is left in tank. Not as useful as I hoped.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Propane Tank Gauge
eddie
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lifesaver!

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When i initially hooked this up i thought the gauge wasn't working because it didn't even register. Turns out my propane tank was almost completely empty and ran out within the next five minutes! This gauge installs in about a minute and so far has read perfectly for me
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Propane Tank Gauge
gheadsr
from Brookfield, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get one and be glad!

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have put off getting a gauge for my propane for years! I guess I was to cheap, but at 73 I figured I needed one after running out of propane in the middle (or start) of doing grilling or even canning with our high pressure cooker for the last 50 years. I am so glad to finally get one and know what my tank reserve is. No more uncooked/half-cooked "stuff"...no more canning done half-way through. You will save yourself a lot of misery if you do a lot of grilling...I grill year round. Don't wait!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, no more worries about lack of propane
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Propane Tank Gauge
Anonymous

Great product. Works perfectly

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Works perfectly. It definitely helps determining how much propane is left in the tank.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Propane Tank Gauge
SSharp737

Dont Buy

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Seems like a quality built item... I purchased installed and it worked fine for the first month or two then I thought I was out of propane because the gauge was reading empty and the grill would not start... I went and purchased a new tank and put it in but still no fire... I removed the gauge and the grill fired up... So the gauge clogged or malfunctioned... I returned to the home depot..
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Cons: not reliable
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 >>