728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Propane Tank Gauge

Propane Tank Gauge

This Brinkmann Propane Tank Gauge features a multi-color dial to clearly indicate remaining propane fuel levels. The gauge is constructed of solid brass for durability. Installation is easy and requires no tools. The convenient gauge will allow for fuel checks without removing the tank.
Overall rating:
4.076 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product55 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(39)
4
(12)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product55 of 66reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer reviews for Propane Tank Gauge
Review 1 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Sterling, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very simple to install, accurate

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put this gauge on so we didn't run out of propane in the middle of grilling anymore. It is very easy to install, takes under five minutes (more like 60 seconds) and you install it with only your hands, no tools needed. I tried it on our empty tank first and it didn't read any propane left at all. Then I put it on our new tank and it read almost full. Only problem we had was that it extended the hose part coming out of the tank in such a way that it either hits the inside wall of our grill, or the front door won't close all the way. We are going to try to get a more flexible regulator and see if that will help. But overall such a simple piece to install and worth the ease of knowing how much of your tank you have left.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Propane Tank Gauge

All grills should come with this

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nifty product. Before, the only way I could tell that my propane tank was getting low was by feeling how heavy it was. This thing connects in a snap and as soon as you open the tank valve, the gauge gives you a reading. Now I can be better prepared for when I want to plan barbeques.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, easy to read
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Propane Tank Gauge

Flow Problems

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing worked great at first then gas stopped flowing through it so I exchanged it. Same problem with the second one. I was able to figure out that the line to the BBQ needs to be primed with propane before you install this, if the line is empty something goes wrong and gas is cut off. So if you buy this and the gas isn't flowing, remove it and hook up to the tank directly and prime the line and put the gauge back in.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Lebanon, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got Gas?

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have always wondered if I had gas or not, now I can tell by looking at the handy gauge on the propane tank. The gauge is made out of brass and is quite simple to install. Just screw it to the propane tank outlet and then hook your grill hose to the gauge. I have only grilled out once so far so It is hard to determine how accurate it is. As long as its close it will be good enough for me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Roseville, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't grill without it

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Never be left with a half cooked grill, this propane tank gauge is perfect for letting you know when to top up the tank
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Reno,NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a very useful attachment for the LP gas tank. Know when to buy a new tank.

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to install ad durable. Well worth the price
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Alpena, MI store
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Item to have

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this item to install on RV LP tank as there are two 40 lb. tanks in a spot that is hard to reach and these heavy tanks make it difficult to remove and reinstall unless absolutely required. Although this gauge is probably generally used on grills and such, it works well in my situation.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Buffalo, New York
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

propane tank guage

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The propane tank guage is very usefu. It takes the guesswork out of using my gas grill
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Propane Tank Gauge
from GREAT NORTHWEST IDAHO
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PROPANE TANK GUAGE

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
FINALLY, A TEN DOLLAR ITEM THAT LETS MY NINE HUNDRED DOLLAR BBQ KNOW WHEN WE WILL RUN OUT OF GAS. THANKS HOME DEPOT, YOU CAME THROUGH AGAIN WITH FLYING COLORS
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: absolutly nothing!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Propane Tank Gauge
Age Range:45 to 54

Helpful tool

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this gauge to help determine the amount of propane left in tank. It works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Propane Tank Gauge
from ruidoso, NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Propane Tank Gauge ok

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought this at Home Depot because of thr price. It works very well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Saginaw, Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent Product

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased one of these valves for my propane tanks attached to my camper. The gage is not 100% accurate, but does give you a pretty good idea when your tank is low. Time from a low reading to a completely empty reading is nil.
Super easy to install; simply screws on tank and into existing gas line. Would be great for gas grills.
Price is great. I paid almost double for the same item at another store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Palatine, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flow Problem - But Resolved

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Purchased this product for my Weber grill and at first use had similar gas flow problem as others have posted. The grill was difficult to light and the gas flow was so restricted the grill would barely get hot enough to cook. I removed the gauge and the grill worked fine. I was about to return gauge to store when I saw the review from DaveR posted on 6/30/14. I followed the steps DaveR suggested to prime the gas line and after reattaching the gauge the grill worked fine. Kudos to you DaveR for the info. The propane tank is pretty full and the gauge reads in the green so haven't experienced the accuracy when the tank gets near empty yet. So, I would recommend this product but would have been helpful if manufacture included some troubleshooting tips in the package.
Pros: easy to attach, appears to read accurately, seems well made
Cons: didn't work first time, manufacture needs to include troubleshooting tips.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shows how much propane remains, but tight fit

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Because we sometimes rent our vacation home, we don't know how much the grill is used. Lifting the tank to get a feel for how much is left really hasn't worked for us and running out of propane before dinner is cooked has happened too many times! This gauge will definitely help so that we know before we start cooking if there's going to be an issue!
It would be nice if this gauge was flexible or maybe bent. It goes in line with the tank valve and the hose from the grill really has no slack. The result was a very tight fit and we were lucky that the door where the tank sits would still close.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work as intended,,,

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I purchased this product and immediately used it, the gauge informed me that the tank was full when it was not. Then the second time using it, there was a leak where I had to disconnect and reattach. This product did not work well for me. I returned it to the store for a refund.
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Elk Grove
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what we needed

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was a gift for Son's wedding. He also got a smoker and other items with this. I have one and its been fantastic knowing how much gas is left in my tank and when I could expect to have to replace it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Propane Tank Gauge
from miami
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good purchase

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is a good sample to check gas in a babecue every time safe and easy
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Pa.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good investment

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for my deep frier and works great now I know when I will run out of gas
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Aurora, Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I have needed this for years!!!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had a gas grill for several years. I like the convenience of not needing to light and heat-up charcoal, but, more than once, I have been embarrassed when my tank ran dry. My solution was to buy a second propane tank, to have when the other tank went dry. This valve is MUCH less expensive than having a second tank. I recommend this valve to anyone who likes to use a gas frill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Propane Tank Gauge
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Savior for patio parties

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No more running out of gas in the middle of grilling for an outdoor party. Easy to read without stooping over, and the simplest installation possible (my 8 year old grandson could do it).
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, easy to read
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>