728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Propane Tank Gauge

Propane Tank Gauge

This Brinkmann Propane Tank Gauge features a multi-color dial to clearly indicate remaining propane fuel levels. The gauge is constructed of solid brass for durability. Installation is easy and requires no tools. The convenient gauge will allow for fuel checks without removing the tank.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product45 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(10)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product45 of 55reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer reviews for Propane Tank Gauge
Review 1 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Sterling, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very simple to install, accurate

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put this gauge on so we didn't run out of propane in the middle of grilling anymore. It is very easy to install, takes under five minutes (more like 60 seconds) and you install it with only your hands, no tools needed. I tried it on our empty tank first and it didn't read any propane left at all. Then I put it on our new tank and it read almost full. Only problem we had was that it extended the hose part coming out of the tank in such a way that it either hits the inside wall of our grill, or the front door won't close all the way. We are going to try to get a more flexible regulator and see if that will help. But overall such a simple piece to install and worth the ease of knowing how much of your tank you have left.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Propane Tank Gauge

All grills should come with this

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nifty product. Before, the only way I could tell that my propane tank was getting low was by feeling how heavy it was. This thing connects in a snap and as soon as you open the tank valve, the gauge gives you a reading. Now I can be better prepared for when I want to plan barbeques.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, easy to read
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Lebanon, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got Gas?

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have always wondered if I had gas or not, now I can tell by looking at the handy gauge on the propane tank. The gauge is made out of brass and is quite simple to install. Just screw it to the propane tank outlet and then hook your grill hose to the gauge. I have only grilled out once so far so It is hard to determine how accurate it is. As long as its close it will be good enough for me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Propane Tank Gauge

Flow Problems

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing worked great at first then gas stopped flowing through it so I exchanged it. Same problem with the second one. I was able to figure out that the line to the BBQ needs to be primed with propane before you install this, if the line is empty something goes wrong and gas is cut off. So if you buy this and the gas isn't flowing, remove it and hook up to the tank directly and prime the line and put the gauge back in.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Roseville, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't grill without it

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Never be left with a half cooked grill, this propane tank gauge is perfect for letting you know when to top up the tank
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Palatine, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flow Problem - But Resolved

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Purchased this product for my Weber grill and at first use had similar gas flow problem as others have posted. The grill was difficult to light and the gas flow was so restricted the grill would barely get hot enough to cook. I removed the gauge and the grill worked fine. I was about to return gauge to store when I saw the review from DaveR posted on 6/30/14. I followed the steps DaveR suggested to prime the gas line and after reattaching the gauge the grill worked fine. Kudos to you DaveR for the info. The propane tank is pretty full and the gauge reads in the green so haven't experienced the accuracy when the tank gets near empty yet. So, I would recommend this product but would have been helpful if manufacture included some troubleshooting tips in the package.
Pros: easy to attach, appears to read accurately, seems well made
Cons: didn't work first time, manufacture needs to include troubleshooting tips.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Propane Tank Gauge
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Savior for patio parties

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No more running out of gas in the middle of grilling for an outdoor party. Easy to read without stooping over, and the simplest installation possible (my 8 year old grandson could do it).
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, easy to read
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Lorton, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more running out during cookout

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have seen this same item in most stores and online for $19.95 or more! Found this at HD for $9.95 grabbed it! It works great easy to read and easy to install! Recommend this to everyone!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Aurora, Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I have needed this for years!!!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had a gas grill for several years. I like the convenience of not needing to light and heat-up charcoal, but, more than once, I have been embarrassed when my tank ran dry. My solution was to buy a second propane tank, to have when the other tank went dry. This valve is MUCH less expensive than having a second tank. I recommend this valve to anyone who likes to use a gas frill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Bird road
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

guessing

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well this will keep me from guessing if i have enough gas left in my tank to cook with. i also like that it is color coded to know when you are running low.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Propane Tank Gauge

Propane tank gauge

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The propane tank gauge was very easy to install. It takes the guess work of the amount of propane in the tank. Also it will save you money by not wasting and gas and returning your tank with gas in it.
Pros: east to install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Propane Tank Gauge
from west palm florida

works great now I know how much gas is in the tank

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works great now I know how much gas is in the tank
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shows how much propane remains, but tight fit

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Because we sometimes rent our vacation home, we don't know how much the grill is used. Lifting the tank to get a feel for how much is left really hasn't worked for us and running out of propane before dinner is cooked has happened too many times! This gauge will definitely help so that we know before we start cooking if there's going to be an issue!
It would be nice if this gauge was flexible or maybe bent. It goes in line with the tank valve and the hose from the grill really has no slack. The result was a very tight fit and we were lucky that the door where the tank sits would still close.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Propane Tank Gauge
from MINNEAPOLIS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great installed in a minute

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
plug and play now do not worry about propane tank .
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Tucson, Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good value for the purchase price.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to connect to tank and grill. Takes the guess work out of trying to determine how much propane is left in the tank and the gauge is easy to read.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Clinton, IA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Convenient .

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good way to keep from wasting gas. Now I just check the gauge.
Pros: Durable
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Propane Tank Gauge

Great

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product for monitoring the level of gas. Very easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Mechanicsville, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tank Gauge

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced previous gauge. seems to work the way it is supposed to. Very pleased with quality.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Propane Tank Gauge
from NE Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got Gas ? 2.0

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After decades of charcoal I graduated to a gas grille. After purchasing the standard refillable tank the next mystery was "How much gas is left ?". This Brinkman gauge was the answer. As stated by other reviews it installs in-line without ant tools and gives you a reading on a mechanical round sweep gauge. Perfect ! That is until several uses later. Understand I leave my grill outdoors for the season but never the propane tank so I disconnect the line at the gauge with each use leaving the gauge on the tank. On one occasion the grill refused to light. Absolute frustration. I heeded the warning by the grill manufacturer to avoid opening the tank valve to quickly as a rapid gas flow may trigger a safety shutoff in the regulator. I redid all the connections and finally had flame at the burners. Reviewing what had transpired I concluded the connection at the gauge outlet wasn't tight enough to unseat the spring loaded safety valve within. This problem became increasingly frequent despite insuring all connections were tight. Father's Day was the last straw. The grill refused to light (gauge reading well into FULL) and in desperation I removed the gauge entirely and connected the grill directly to the tank. Instant light - no problems. The gauge now sits in the garage collecting dust proudly displaying its MADE IN CHINA embossing. Draw your own conclusion from my experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Ofallon, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good but its a sensitive connection

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was easy to attach @ both ends..but when then turning the gas on...too tight of a connection snd it won't read @all. Too loose and of course you smell gas. Have to be Goldie Locks and get it just right.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>