728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Propane Tank Gauge

Propane Tank Gauge

This Brinkmann Propane Tank Gauge features a multi-color dial to clearly indicate remaining propane fuel levels. The gauge is constructed of solid brass for durability. Installation is easy and requires no tools. The convenient gauge will allow for fuel checks without removing the tank.
Overall rating:
4.093 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product63 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(44)
4
(15)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product63 of 75reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer reviews for Propane Tank Gauge
Review 1 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Sterling, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very simple to install, accurate

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put this gauge on so we didn't run out of propane in the middle of grilling anymore. It is very easy to install, takes under five minutes (more like 60 seconds) and you install it with only your hands, no tools needed. I tried it on our empty tank first and it didn't read any propane left at all. Then I put it on our new tank and it read almost full. Only problem we had was that it extended the hose part coming out of the tank in such a way that it either hits the inside wall of our grill, or the front door won't close all the way. We are going to try to get a more flexible regulator and see if that will help. But overall such a simple piece to install and worth the ease of knowing how much of your tank you have left.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Propane Tank Gauge

Flow Problems

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing worked great at first then gas stopped flowing through it so I exchanged it. Same problem with the second one. I was able to figure out that the line to the BBQ needs to be primed with propane before you install this, if the line is empty something goes wrong and gas is cut off. So if you buy this and the gas isn't flowing, remove it and hook up to the tank directly and prime the line and put the gauge back in.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Propane Tank Gauge

All grills should come with this

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nifty product. Before, the only way I could tell that my propane tank was getting low was by feeling how heavy it was. This thing connects in a snap and as soon as you open the tank valve, the gauge gives you a reading. Now I can be better prepared for when I want to plan barbeques.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, easy to read
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Lebanon, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got Gas?

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have always wondered if I had gas or not, now I can tell by looking at the handy gauge on the propane tank. The gauge is made out of brass and is quite simple to install. Just screw it to the propane tank outlet and then hook your grill hose to the gauge. I have only grilled out once so far so It is hard to determine how accurate it is. As long as its close it will be good enough for me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Detroit Metro
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everyone needs one of these

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased one of these for my father when I was @ my local Home Depot. I purchased it because I was grilling toward the end of summer last year. I had a whole grill full of food and then the grill went cold on me (out of propane) I don't know about any of you but I cant lift the tank and tell if I can cook one more meal or 10 so I ended up with 1/2 cooked hamburgers and steaks ( the hot dogs cooked quick enough). So after you find out your out of propane you have 2 choices (well at least I did) go get more propane or finish it on the stove I chose the latter. Either way I would much rather pay the $15.00 - $20.00 dollars to see at a glance how much propane I have left so I don't run out of propane again
Pros: easy to install just screw it on the tank
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Roseville, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't grill without it

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Never be left with a half cooked grill, this propane tank gauge is perfect for letting you know when to top up the tank
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Los Angeles Ca.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everyone should have one of these

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you have ever run out of gas mid-meal, this device speaks for it's self. Everyone should own one.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Riverview, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is just what I needed. Last one got damaged when my grill blew over in a storm and I hate running out of propane. I know exactly how much fuel I have.
Thanks
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Concord CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good solid guage

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good gauge, no more guessing when I will run out of gas
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shows how much propane remains, but tight fit

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Because we sometimes rent our vacation home, we don't know how much the grill is used. Lifting the tank to get a feel for how much is left really hasn't worked for us and running out of propane before dinner is cooked has happened too many times! This gauge will definitely help so that we know before we start cooking if there's going to be an issue!
It would be nice if this gauge was flexible or maybe bent. It goes in line with the tank valve and the hose from the grill really has no slack. The result was a very tight fit and we were lucky that the door where the tank sits would still close.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Crescent City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Waste of money

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hooked it up to a full tank it read near empty. A month later it said half full. It went from indicating half full to near empty overnight. I weighed my tank - it's still 27 lbs, which means almost half full. Can't find my receipt.
Pros: none
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Ruidoso, NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Propane Tank Gauge

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install and works great. No leaks and no problems
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Arkansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

REALLY HELPS ME KNOW CURRENT LEVEL OFPROPANE FUEL, PREVENTING A HALF COOKED DUE TO EMPTY TANKMEAL

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
REALLY HELPS ME KNOW CURRENT LEVEL OF PROPANE FUEL, PREVENTING A HALF COOKED MEAL DUE TO EMPTY TANK.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Propane Tank Gauge

best price on the internet

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and home depot had the best price on the internet for this item even beating out amazon and eBay....Go HOME Depot you rock ..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Lakewood, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Propane Tank Gauge by Brinkmann

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just used this product when we sent to Sequoia National Forest. Kept us from purchasing another propane tank prematurely since we had an accurate measurement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Reno,NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a very useful attachment for the LP gas tank. Know when to buy a new tank.

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to install ad durable. Well worth the price
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Propane Tank Gauge
from mesa az
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

piece of junk!

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this thing will not only lie to you in cold weather, it will restrict flow! several times i thought the tank was empty, took this little thing out and i was able to use my smoker for several hours.
Pros: none
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Alpena, MI store
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Item to have

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this item to install on RV LP tank as there are two 40 lb. tanks in a spot that is hard to reach and these heavy tanks make it difficult to remove and reinstall unless absolutely required. Although this gauge is probably generally used on grills and such, it works well in my situation.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Propane Tank Gauge
from Buffalo, New York
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

propane tank guage

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The propane tank guage is very usefu. It takes the guesswork out of using my gas grill
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Propane Tank Gauge
from GREAT NORTHWEST IDAHO
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PROPANE TANK GUAGE

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
FINALLY, A TEN DOLLAR ITEM THAT LETS MY NINE HUNDRED DOLLAR BBQ KNOW WHEN WE WILL RUN OUT OF GAS. THANKS HOME DEPOT, YOU CAME THROUGH AGAIN WITH FLYING COLORS
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: absolutly nothing!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>