728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Kleer Drain Opener

Kleer Drain Opener

Kleer Drain blasts air down to clogged drain areas safely moving the clogs through the pipe. The Kleer Drain technology has been used by professionals for years and quickest way to remove stubborn clogs with little effort.
Overall rating:
3.882 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product23 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(21)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(7)
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product23 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for Kleer Drain Opener
Review 1 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Madison, WI

Should be called the Binford 3000!

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got a call after work that our toilet was clogged. After 20 mins with standard plunger, and the water not draining at all, I went to HD to see if there was anything with power. I bought this. My first attempt I wasn't putting enough pressure on the toilet and when the burst of air came, it just bubbled. On my second attempt, I applied pressure, heard the air release, and still kept the pressure for 3-5 seconds. The drain cleared, I flushed a few more times to verify, and everything is great.
I did notice a small amount of water come from under the toilet. It must have been caused by the amount of pressure, but has since resealed and there is no more leakage.
Great product, and very Tim Taylor-like!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Gulfport, MS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FINALLY!! THE DRAIN IS CLEAR!

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After using drain cleaners, rodding that couldn't reach the problem (had elbows that the rod couldn't go around), even trying a wet/dry vacuum (hey, I was desperate), I tried this Kleer Drain Opener. Read the instructions, checked out the youtube video, filled the kitchen sink with hot water and set up the disk and cartridge in the Kleer Drain Opener and pushed down the handle... Thought I messed up not holding it in place for 5 seconds. Remove the Kleer Drain Opener and whoosh, the sink drained immediately. I highly recommend this when everything else fails. Better yet, use it first. The cost is well worth it. I would suggest following it up with a maintenance program of using a chemical drain cleaner to remove the grease buildup from the wall of the pipe. My drainpipe is over 50 years old.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, check the youtube video
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Medford, NJ
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This thing is AWESOME!!

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My mom has this weird 90 degree angle trap for her shower. It's always getting clogged. I bought this because she has septic and chemicals are not good to use (and, when I have used them, they didn't work as good as this did!). Kleer Drain blew the clog out superbly! One shot. It's easy to use and the only strength required is to "screw" on (because there's no threads) the reversible plunger fitting and to push it down to get a good seal (which wasn't that hard with a shower). It uses little compressed CO2 cartridges of super condensed air pressure (which are metal, so I'm assuming, (once used) they are recyclable) and little paper disks (I don't know why, but it says you have to use them), which are also recyclable. And, as long as you don't leave it laying around loaded, it's safe.
I would definitely recommend this product to everybody with plumbing! I am very satisfied with it. Also, as an FYI, the refill cartridges do come with the disks you have to use also.
Pros: Good Instructions, Easy to Use, safe for environment, doesn't require a lot of strength
Cons: no cons at this point but i've only used it once
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Southfield, Mi.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hmmmmpf

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good idea....poor design! Trying to use this thing on toilets is a joke. Unless the drain opening is a perfect match to the plunger portion of this oversized paintball gun...you will walk away embarrassed. Even if you tape the shield to the bowl...you will walk away with your soakin wet plastic and a clogged toilet! Very simple to put together. Quality seems sturdy. Fair price (you get what you pay for)
Calls for a bit of ingenuity. Would recommend this to anyone who could rig it to fit. Maybe retro-fit a drain bladder to it!
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kleer Drain Opener
from s'port,la
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worse purchace I ever made

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought kleer drain at homedepot after other attempts to clear kitchen drain. I was excited to try it. it did not work.All I managed to do was spew drain water all over counter ,my wife and myself..The drain still does not work .I followed the directions and had my wife plug other drain as suggested .If, it sounds to good to be true , it usual is. very disappointed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Menlo Park, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well on a clogged Sink Drain

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used it on a clogged bathroom sink that was resistant to plunging and snaking, given the two 90 degree elbows that the metal snake had to cross before getting to the stubborn clog. I read all the reviews in here and they were all informative. I blocked the sink vent with a piece of cork and duck tape on top, filled the drain with hot water up to the sink spout, wore goggles (especially after reading in the reviews about all the potential splashing) and gave it a try after loading the CO2 cartridge and a single disk. I had to repeat this process 4 times, until I saw the hot water swooshing down the drain. The key thing is to make sure all vents are plugged (in order to send the thrust of the compressed CO2 in the clog's direction) and the plunger head forms a tight seal over the drain. I had water backing out and splashing me in the face and on the nearby walls due to the recoil effect against an obstructive clog, but I didn't mind it, especially after the success I had. I can see though how it would be tough to use it to unclog a toilet drain due to the difficulty of forming a tight plunger seal there. Meanwhile, well-recommended for sink and bath drains!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Joplin, Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Different but not superb

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This would work fine on minor blockages, but frankly a good plunger would be nearly as effective. It is a bit of a struggle to insert the power discs and co2 cartridge with arthritic fingers.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Memphis TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Keep pressure on it!!!!!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy assembly and straight forward instructions. I was somewhat skeptical of this tool, but it worked for me. I let my wife be the first to use it to try to push a blockage somewhere in our tub drain line and she didn't have quite enough downward pressure when she forced the handle down to release the co2, she also wasn't expecting to have to put so much force on the handle, so when it recoiled a little, she lost suction on the drain and got a face full of water. I used it after that and it took two charges to dislodge whatever was stuck in there, but it did clear the drain and it drained fine since. I would highly recommend this tool. I'm sure I'll get to use it again the next time one of my kids decides to flush a random toy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Cypress, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved us a few hundred

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our kitchen sink has been plugged since Wednesday. And of course the plug was at least 15 feet in. Being Thanksgiving, we didn't want to pay holiday fees, so we tried many different options to clear it ourselves including baking soda and vinegar, lye, grease eating something, snaking, balloon thing, a surfactant cleaner, and plunging. Back to the store today. I found this handy dandy tool with 4 Co cartridges. 4 cartridges later and our drain does what it is supposed to do. Best $25 I've spent recently. Bet I couldn't have gotten a plumber for that.
Pros: Good Instructions, did what other products couldn't
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Pearland, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money!!

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst product that I've ever purchased for unclogging a drain! It really should be taken off of the market. My challenge was to unclog the kitchen sink with a configuration that included a garbage disposer and dishwasher. Instead of clearing the clog, I was received a face full of dirty sink water and a big mess to clean up. Fortunately, there wasn't any drain cleaner chemicals in the sink at the time. But can you imagine what a different story I'd be telling if there had been residual chemicals like Draino or Liquid Plumper in the sink? Additionally, one has to be about six feet tall in order to effectively use this "plunger" with the average kitchen sink. Otherwise you won't have enough leverage to push the handles down to activate it without standing directly over it -- in the line of fire and blow back from the water in the sink. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED! I ended up calling a professional plumper which only cost me $60. Oh, and by the way, the plumper gave me a 1year warranty. DO NOT BUY THIS!
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: simply does not work, waste of time, splashes water all over the place, makes a big mess
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kleer Drain Opener

wish I had bought this from the get go...

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had one of these at my job so I was familiar with it, but I never thought about getting one. My sinks were draining slow and I spent (wasted) money on drain and clog removers after plunging didn't work. I was getting frustrated and thought about getting one of those snake devices or just calling a plummer. I saw this in the store and decided to give it a try......BAM!!! Worked first time. My drains haven't ever drained any better. Get this. . . It works.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kleer Drain Opener
from MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works!!!!

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After treating a recurring bathroom sink clog with chemicals and a snake, I decided to try this compressed air gun. Fantastic! After one shot the drain flows as clearly as if it was just installed. I have some concerns about being able to find the compressed air canisters in the future, but until that day, this is now my first choice for treating clogged drains. Be sure there is water in the drain and that the air gun has made a tight seal as these are both critical to transmitting the force of the air discharge down to the clog.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, works!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

after all else failed, I should have used this first !

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Unreacheable total clog blasted out at first try. This tool amazed me, a twenty year Facility Manger. A must tool for your arsenal.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kleer Drain Opener
from matteson, Il.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Drain Opener

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
used this product to clear a slow running urinal and found it easy to use. Clear drain in seconds and urinal is draining like brand new.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: need a more durable model
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Absecon, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just purchased this because the drain in the toilet was very slow...takes three flushes to emply bowl. Bought this and one set of replacement cartridges. Used them all...and there is NO change in the toilet. Maybe could not get a tight enough seal...the instructions do not seem to be very clear on which way the cap is to go on for toilets, but I picked cone down firt 5 times...then the other way the last few...just did not work for me!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Amarillo, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not for tough clogs

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to use but probably better for simple clogs. I used every cartridge and it never unclogged my toilet. Too expensive for simple clog jobs. The drain attatchment doesn't fit well into an oval gap drain.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: not very powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Cheektowaga, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool to have handy.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
If you ever had to plunge a double sink or one in a tight spot, you will appreciate this opener. I used this to clear a stationary tub at a large building. It was clogged with lint, and some other thick slowing substance. I cleared everything I could and used the Kleer Drain. POP! The drain was open and flowing well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Grand Rapids Mi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Drain Opener

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was having drain issues in our basement. I tried liquid Plummer and snaking the drain in the shower. The commode was backing up into the shower. The drain opener worked fine on clearing the commode but the shower took a professional Plummer. The blockage was over 50 feet away from the house. I feel this product will clear simple clogs but nothing this involved,
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Edison, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the investment!

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm in a rental unit and did not want my Landlord to send a costly Plumber or use toxic liquids to unclog the toilet. It took 5 min to read instructions, 5 min to assemble the unit and seconds to CLEAR THE CLOG FROM THE TOILET! This product is awesome! Please use the duct tape to avoid the spillage.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kleer Drain Opener
from Houston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great investment

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used chemicals that was guaranteed to work and as I anticipated they didnt work...the Kleer Drain Opener was my last resort before calling $ 125.00 an hour plumber....followed instructions on the package and with one pump the drain was opened...some back splash but well woth the savings from plumbers fees...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>