728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Additives or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.2 oz. Clear Grip - Anti-Skid Additive

3.2 oz. Clear Grip - Anti-Skid Additive

SEAL-KRETE Clear Grip is a durable, micronized polymeric aggregate developed for use as an anti-skid additive to floor paint or sealers. Because it's a lightweight plastic grit, Clear Grip remains suspended longer. It adds a slight texture to the finish without changing colors. It has excellent resistance to chemicals and detergents and helps extend paint life. Clear Grip can be used in water-based, solvent-based alkyd, urethane or epoxy coatings.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for 3.2 oz. Clear Grip - Anti-Skid Additive
Review 1 for 3.2 oz. Clear Grip - Anti-Skid Additive
from Strongsville, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent additive for Clear Seal

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Home Depot retail refused to mix this additive (with a paint shaker) with Clear Seal which they sold me, forcing me to stir it in manually. Took about 5 minutes to gradually add powder to Clear Seal..
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.2 oz. Clear Grip - Anti-Skid Additive
from Fred. Co., Md.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product Works as Advertised

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I didn't put the entire packet into the 5 gallon pail because I only wanted certain areas to be non-slip. I mixed about a quart with 3/4 of a packet to do the areas I wanted done. It works as advertised and I can feel the difference between the treated and untreated areas. it is not an aggressive anti slip, but makes a difference between the untreated areas. First coat dries in about 2 hours and you're ready for second coat.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.2 oz. Clear Grip - Anti-Skid Additive
from Chestnut Ridge, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product - did not change color of paint

PostedApril 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I added 3/4 of a bag of this to a gallon of Rustoleum 1 part epoxy concrete floor paint to prevent the painted floor from being slippery. The product was a fine powder that mixed easily into the paint without changing the color. It was so fine that I wondered if it really would provide an anti-skid surface but it did so without making the painted surface extremely bumpy. I would use this product again when painting any concrete floor to add an anti-skid surface for safety.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.2 oz. Clear Grip - Anti-Skid Additive
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use and very effective

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have hardwood stairs in our house and we've had a few close calls when walking on them wearing socks. I lightly sanded the stairs, mixed some Clear Grip into a quart of urathane clear coat and painted it on. The stairs are much safer now and they look the same as they did before.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.2 oz. Clear Grip - Anti-Skid Additive
from Monterey, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use non-skid additive

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product in a smooth deck paint for the floor of an outrigger canoe. I didn't want to use sand or pumice that other brands use. It mixed easily and I applied it with a 6" roller. It is a very fine powder and created just enough of a rough surface to keep it from being slippery. It will not feel rough but there is some texture to it. I don't know how it will hold up with usage yet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Even Application, Easy to Apply
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.2 oz. Clear Grip - Anti-Skid Additive
from Seattle
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is necessary to create the non- slip finish. Turns out to be nearly invisible once applied. Mixes in easily
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.2 oz. Clear Grip - Anti-Skid Additive
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clear Grip

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an amazing product. Our driveway had been sealed and was extremely slippery when it rained. The Seal Crete rep was very patient with me as well as very informative as to steps I should take to alleviate the problem. The Clear Grip additive did just what the Rep said it would, as well as just the results that I wanted. We are so VERY pleased with the results!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.2 oz. Clear Grip - Anti-Skid Additive
from Golden, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No More Slippery Stairs

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We needed to refinish our wooden stairs in our home. I had seen this product used on one of those many re-do your house shows, so we thought we would give it a try. We added the recommended amount to the clear polyurethane we used for the top of the steps. It mixed in very easily - and after it was good and dry, YEAH, NO LONGER SLIPPERY!! You cannot tell it is there unless you look closely. We HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone that worries about sliping on the stairs.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: no cons whatsoever
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.2 oz. Clear Grip - Anti-Skid Additive
from FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Protects people on your boat.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Adding this to your final coat of marine paint will keep people from slipping and falling on your boat. Most people do not have proper foot wear for boating and will slip and fall on wet surfaces. This product does a good job of reducing the risk. Used 20 more than recommended and it turned out well.
Pros: Good Protection, Easy to Apply
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.2 oz. Clear Grip - Anti-Skid Additive
from Portland. Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clear Grip

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I added this to clear-seal. It definitely added grit and texture to the sealant. It went in well. It seemed to stay dispersed throughout the application. When I had to leave it and return to the project later, I did have to stir for a while as it settled into a thick mass overnight. Second application (in a different area) went on as well as the first.
We have not had it on the floor long so I can not tell you about durability.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.