728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit

135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit

The Smarter Tools MIG-135 Welding Kit is the perfect choice to do projects and repairs around the home, farm and auto body shop. This MIG welder will produce a cleaner bead with less splatter than a regular flux core wire welder. The welder runs off of a standard 120 volt household outlet and produces an output range of 20-135 amps. It uses standard flux-core wire (E71-GS) or steel wire 0.6mm, 0.8mm in diameter and has 4 heat settings to easily adjust the output according to the thickness of metal you are welding. The welder can easily switch between gas-less flux-cored welding for deep penetration on thick steel or gas-shielded MIG welding on thin-gauge steel, stainless steel or aluminum. Package includes: MIG 135 welding power source, MIG torch with 7ft. (2.1m) lead, ground clamp with10ft. (3m) lead, 2 extra contact tips, a 1lb spool of flux wire, a 2lb spool of MIG wire, 0.6mm and 0.8mm (0.025 in. and 0.031 in.) drive roll, 0.9mm and 1.0mm (0.035 - 0.040 in.) drive roll, an adjustable gas regulator with a hose, ST-1S Auto-darkening welding helmet, gloves, users manual, and welding cart.
Overall rating:
3.533 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit
Review 1 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit
from Ypsilanti, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lot of welder and accessories for the money..Great starter kit

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall a nice package. Out of the box it didn't feed wire, had to take the panels off and finally figured out that the fuse holder wasn't properly holding one end of the fuse. Once cinched up it works great. Super auto-darkening helmut provided. Side door to wire feed area doesn't close well and could be better designed. I bought a CO2/Argon tank and all is working well. I had to put in a 30 amp circuit into the garage for the welder but allowed me to add some other outlets as well. Satisfied with this purchase
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The135ASolid wire is a good welder for around the farm

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i've had mine for just about a year, and it's a little hard getting use to the setting, ( I was using a 3200 gas welder before were the setting were different, eaiser to use) but this welder, welds everything that I need it too, the weld's don't look like they did with the other welder, but I guess that will just take some more time. I'm happy I got this product, just don't give up I haven't.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit

Takes time to calibrate to make the weld need.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have to adjust wire feed to much to calibrate weld start
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had no problems with the welder. It worked out of the box perfectly. I changed the standard 120 v, 3 prong plug to a heavy duty 30 amp rated twist lock. Other than that, it welds sheet metal and body panels fantastically using the MIG welder. To weld thick metal using the MIG, pushes the 120v capabilities, but it still welds solid. Flux core weld thicker pieces. Overall, great value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: cheap plug
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit
from Crandon, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great value, easy to use

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked at many wire feed welders before purchasing one.
seen this one on line at home depot site. was a little worried because of the brand name. The value was there because you got every thing you needed to start welding.
have used it several times, realy like it a lot, easy to use.
makes good welds with very little practice.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Save your money and by a Lincoln

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The quality of the product is poor. I have had to buy a better ground clamp and the gauge and hose leak (yes i used Teflon tape). It will take two weeks for the parts come in. The only piece I can say anything good about is the cart. Unfortunately I am still unable to test the welder but it looks like I will be dumping more money into it. The parts are very cheaply made and I could have done better going to Harbor Freight. It does not say much for Home Depot to sell products of this poor quality.
Cons: Not Durable, poor construction
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit

You get what you pay for

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
At first, I thought this combo welder was a great deal...but I realized there was a reason it was so cheap; Because It is Cheap. It has worked, but not effortlessly. Conditions have to be ideal with the thing to arc. I have to use needle nose pliers to change the contact tip. The Flux core wire that comes with it is only suitable for sheet metal (I guess, since it didn't work on steel plate). The gloves are super thin and don't provide much insulation from hot objects. The cart barely goes together because the assembly screws are so short. The only benefit, other than the cost, is that you can integrate gas into the process...but I haven't tried that yet so who knows?
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, feels cheap
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit
from NOR*CAL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

missing parts

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
all in all the welder works like a charm However the kart that came with the kit was missing 6 bolts so i had to rob 4 from the casters to hold it together, and it was missing the Extra tips,,, the Flux cord that came with the welder was 0.23 but the tip on the gun is 0.30 no biggie
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit
from Colquitt ga
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

My smart tools mig 135a welder

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before I purchased my machine, I had never really welded anything. I have a seen it done many times but at that point I was rather clueless. Within a few minutes I had my welder out of the box and ready for use. I really like the convenience of having everything mounted on the included cart. And with the flux core wire included I was able to use my machine day one. I put on the included self tinting visor and once I had rounded up some metal I started welding. The simplistic design made my job easy. Just set your power level and wire speed and start welding. It was that easy. I haven't had a chance to test the solid core welding yet but I look forward to mounting an argon bottle and getting started. The only item that was included and replaced was the chipping hammer/ wire brush due to poor quality but it was an inexpensive endeavor. Outside of that I have been pleased with everything included in my kit and would recommend it for anyone of any experience level.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, everything is included
Cons: chipping hammer/ wire brush is of poor quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit
from Houston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was a good value

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this welder two time and it works as it should.
I was impressed with the quality compared to some name branch welder.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great online price

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Seems to be a good product so far. I am a brand new welder so I have a lot to learn. I was impressed by the starter tools that came with the welder as they were the deciding factor in the purchase of this machine.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

broken

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the item was broken when i took it out of the box to use it and it wasn't the shipping because it had to do with the wire feeder it didn't spin had to drive 1 hour and a half to the closest home depot to return it.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit
from Puyallup, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Do not use the welding wire that comes with the welder. Get good quality wire and the machine works great. Had a question for customer service, left two messages, never got a call back
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
Cons: No Instructions, no customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit
from Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product! Easy to use.

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is great easy to use. Take a little time to get use to the settings and you should be very happy! Love the duty cycle worning and shut off in case you loss track of time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 135A Solid Wire and Flux Cored Welding Kit
from Topanga Canyon, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First timers deal

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great value for an entry level welding kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.