728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Interior Stain or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss

Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss

The Minwax 1-Gallon Super Fast-Drying Polyurethane For Floors provides a durable, protective finish for hardwood floors. The professional, anti-settling formula levels to a smooth, even finish, and it does not require sanding between coats. It's ready for the second coat after 3 - 4 hours, so you can finish the job in just 1 day.
Overall rating:
3.789 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product14 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product14 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss
Review 1 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss

Worked perfect for this first-timer

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading all the negative reviews about this product I'm going to be honest- I didn't want to use it. We are restoring a home built in 1890 and these 125 year old floors were never finished. They had horrible, thick paint over them. After much research, I discovered that our options were limited as to what was available in our area and so we chose to go with this product. I was terrified of ruining this floor and after spending a few DAYS sanding I wanted to do it right. I followed advice from a pro, which was for a first timer who is unsure of what she is doing I should use a foam roller to apply the poly. I did that and I'm glad I did. It made it very easy to apply, and I didn't put on too thick of a coat. After my first coat I waited about 3 hours and was horrified to see millions of little bubbles. I went to bed hoping it would be better in the morning. After drying for 12 hours I was thrilled with the results. All the bubbles had disappeared. I am certain that if I had applied the second coat when there are bubbles then I would have had them forever. They are formed by air escaping. If you recoat with bubbles present you are going to trap them. I've seen reviews with people complaining that even five coats later they still have bubbles. Well, this product was not made for five coats, and secondly you HAVE to wait until it's fully dry before applying the second coat. If you have bubbles it's not dry. I also made sure to stir this for at least five minutes to really make sure all the ingredients were mixed together.
The important things to remember when doing this are:
Stir, stir, stir before you use the product
Apply thin coats (using a foam roller if necessary)
Allow plenty of drying time. (If you have bubbles let it dry longer)
I'm very happy with the results. Everyone that comes to see the floor can't believe how good it looks. Especially considering I had no idea what I was doing! ;)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss
from Montana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do it Right, and the results are EXCELLENT!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When trying to choose a polyurethane for my floor I carefully read all reviews (good and bad) to see if ,for the price, the product will do the job i'm looking for. I have used different polyurethane products before like on trim boards and to refinish a coffee table. The trim being hemlock took the poly great, but the coffee table did not. Not sure of what kind of wood it was, or if i hadn't gotten it sanded down enough, but it took forever to cure and developed (like some reviewers state) tiny air bubbles of which i had to sand down after 2 weeks of curing. I know now what I did wrong though. I had put a too thick of a coat on the coffee table increasing the cure time and why it created air bubbles. Knowing what i know now this is how i prepped my floor before applying the poly. My floor is a 5" tongue and groove pine. I carefully sanded it down evenly across the floor with a 220grit circular sander (enough to get any tracks from foot prints off). After sanding and a very careful cleaning of the floor I applied my stain which was the MinWax Provincial color. i made sure room temp was kept at 70 degrees the entire time. I allowed it to cure for 48 hours before applying the poly to make sure all moisture from stain had cured. I worked in my socks so i was careful not to leave prints anywhere. I applied the poly with just a cheap styrofoam stain hand brush. I worked carefully and wiped the poly evenly in thin coats across the floor. DO NOT POUR POLY DIRECTLY ON FLOOR AND WORK IT OUT! It will soak between the creaks and it will take forever to cure! Use something that your hand brush will fit easily into. Get just enough to soak the brushes and apply section by section. Careful that when you swipe the brush that you don't push globs when you're brushing. Keep a close eye on that. After I applied the poly I waited another 48 hours for the next coat. I know that others say you can do it in 24 hours but for me I found that the poly (on a test pine wood from my floor) still scratched easily. It may look like it's cured but the extra day is indeed worth waiting. For i know that others said that the 2nd coat left tiny bubbles and they had to sand it out. I NEVER had that! Its because the layer underneath hadn't completely cured is why they had the bubbles! Okay, I did the 2nd coat the same as the first, and the 3rd and final coat the same way as well. Every time waiting 48 hours in between coats. No sanding or anything. I posted pictures of the unfinished floor, stained floor, freshly coated poly, and the finished product. Hope this helps some people!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easier than I thought!

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had my carpet removed because I wanted to use the beauty of my 64-year old wood floors. My friend sanded the floors for me and I stained them using Minwax Red Mahogany Stain for its dark color. This was my first time ever doing anything like this and it was harder than I thought but it turned out very well. I followed the stain with the Miniwax Super Fast Drying Poly (Oil-based) for wood floors and the odor was very slight but I did have great ventilation as well. The poly went on easier than I thought it would and dried faster than anticipated. I am so excited about my "new" wood floors and I think the project turned out great. Love the Minwax products.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss
from Mifflintown, pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

8 years and doing well

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this for a "cottage" I built on the Georgian Bay of Lake Huron in 2005. I placed minwax stain directly on pine flooring as heavy as I could. I mixed walnut and mahogany 50/50 for a dark color with some redness to it, and let it soak in for well over an hour. Then came back and cleaned any excess up with a towell. This process took maybe 2 hours for a 1500 sq ft first floor. I let it dry over night, With no special effort other than a lambs wool pad on a pole, I placed the first coat of the rapid dry polyurethane over the entire cottage, including the unstained floors on the loft. Took about 3 hours. I waited the 6 hours and did the second coat.
That was eight years ago. I still get compliments on the floor, and several people have done the same as I did after seeing the results. This is just used seasonally, but there is sand around the cottage, and the floor looks just as good as the day I placed the materials. Few things in my life has workrd as well!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss

Floors are beautiful

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was refinishing a floor by myself for the first time, and I bought this because there wasn't much other choice. I was horrified when I later read many negative reviews online of Minwax's similar polyurethanes (fast-drying as opposed to super-fast drying, etc.) But again, I didn't have much choice, and I figured such a common brand couldn't be SO bad, right? So I went ahead.
We did one coat of Minwax stain and planned on two coats of poly according to the directions. One gallon should have been more than enough to coat the whole floor twice, according to the estimated coverage on the can. As it turned out, we did three coats, using almost two full cans. The first coat used almost a whole can by itself. I don't think I put it on too thick, because any less than that and you could see dry patches. We let it dry for a few hours and did a second coat, which only took half a can as would be expected. The second coat had a lot of bubbles in it, and I was very disappointed with how it looked. So we let it dry till the next day and then buffed it and applied a third coat. That worked like a charm. The floor is beautiful. It's too early to tell how durable it is in the long-term, but I'm very happy. Just be prepared with an extra can just in case, and be prepared to do a third coat.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: hard to apply evenly, doesn't work exactly like instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss
from Canada
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't listen to the bad reviews.

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you do the job correctly from start to finish, this poly works just fine. Be sure to stir it gently for, like, 5 full minutes. Don't put too thick of a coat. There's nothing wrong with this product. It's good :)
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss
from Adairsville GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OUTSTANDING PRODUCT

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I redid carpeted steps with the unfinished oak treads. I used Minwax oil stain to bring out the color of the wood and then applies 3 coats of polyurethane. I am surprised at the poor reviews by people who claim to be pro's and got poor results with lots of bubbles. I am by far a pro and have not used polyurethane before. I allowed the stain to dry for 24 hours and then used fine steel wool to get rid of dust on the steps. I applied the first coat lightly with a sponge brush. As stated in the instructions, I applies the second coat after 4 hours again using steel wool between the coats. I let the 2nd coat dry for 24 hours, then used the steel wool lightly and applied the 3rd coat. The finish is beautiful, NO BUBBLES at all. I am glad that I ignored the negative reviews. if you read the directions and follow them applying thin coats you will be happy with the results.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AVOID!

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have refinished several floors with great results until using this product. No matter how carefully applied: lambswool applicator, easy mixing, thinly spread in one direction, proper temperature, etc. It looks good right after being applied but then developps thousands of tiny air bubbles. We have sande out bubbles on 3 coats and tehy reappera after each new coat. I'm throwing this stuff away, light sanding what's left and applying a quality product from another manufacturer.
Cons: develops bubbles
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss

Fast Drying & Easy to Work With

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product works just as advertised. The smell is stronger than other polys I've used in the past. Whether you use a brush or a roller, you must go back over the wet finish with a dry sponge brush to remove bubbles. It dries very fast, and you must be able to work quickly. I used this product on a 12 x 12 room and was able to get 3 coats from one gallon.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: fumes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss

Great product

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, very low odor for oil based varnish (open your windows). Dries hard in 24 hours. Used it for our stair treads, love the smooth finish.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss
from Durango CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst Floor Poly DO NOT USE

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 5 gallons of this because I like the Minwax stains. This is nowhere near the quality of the Minwax stains. This product doesn't dry fast (mine took over 12 hours to dry at 70 degrees with fans on it), it doesn't go on easy, and it stays soft. I put this on 2 weeks ago and it is still soft. I dont think that it will ever dry. This product is horrible do not buy! I wish that I would have read reviews before I bought it. I used the Varathane floor poly and it saved my floors. It dried fast, hard, and looks great. I have Oak floors.
Pros: none
Cons: Scratches Easily, stays soft, dries uneven
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss
from Ansonia Ct.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well worth the money

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
using this product was mush easier then I thought it would be oce the floors were cleaned and wet mopped the rest was easy and fast I was able to put tow coats down a day ant the gallon I used allowed me to put down 5 coats and after each coat the floor looked better and better I am very happy with the way it came out .
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss
from Fort Gratiot Township, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Apply this to a prefinished flooring

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to apply to a prefinished floor to give additional protection between the rows and where the board butt to the ends, to give added protection for dirt, moisture and spills. I had reservations on using this for the fumes, but the smell was not an issue.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss
from MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Minwax has created another excellent product. Easy to use and extremely durable...finished a cherry table top and the end result was great.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss

Meh.

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just spent days sanding and staining the wood floors in my bedroom, only to apply this (two coats 12 hours apart) and get millions of little, tiny bubbles everywhere. Hopefully they will disperse as it dries overnight because I'm really not looking forward to buffing the entire surface and applying another coat. I applied with a brush using very slow and even strokes, didn't help at all.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Dries Quickly
Cons: buubles
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT USE!!!

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have refinished hardwood floors before and never had a problem. I bought this Minwax product before researching it. Big mistake. I am attempting to refinish 450 sq ft and I can't get this to not show brush marks. Have applied 5 coats to the floor trying lambs wool applicator then natural bristle brush. Didn't make any difference. Looks bad! Been remodeling houses for 35 years. Never had any type of product this bad. Their customer service is no help.
Cons: major brush mark problems
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss
from Smithville, mo
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use spreads evenly and dries quickly. The instructions were great just make sure that you wipe all surfaces clean before application
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage! Buy something else.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am stupefied to see positive reviews of this product. I am not a novice at finishing hardwood floors and I followed the instructions exactly. The finish turned out bumpy and bubbly. I am now going to be forced to sand this off and try again with a quality product. Please beware.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Super Fast-Drying 1-gal. Polyurethane For Floors Semi-Gloss

Works great

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I refinished my hardwood floors for the first time and it came out perfect. It took two coats. It did add a little color but I didn't mind it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.