728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gutters & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)

Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)

The Rain Filter lets rain pass through its special foam filter but helps keep leaves and debris out of your gutters. This handy filter helps improve storm water management, helps prevent mold and helps keep mosquitoes from breeding in the gutters.
Overall rating:
4.42 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product73 of 78reviews
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(21)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product73 of 78reviews
Customer reviews for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Review 1 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Mrwesty
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Did not work

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have several maple trees on my property and they dump tons of helicopter seeds which plug my gutters. I installed these foam strips last fall. This spring the maple trees dropped their helicopters and the rain washed them off the roof onto the foam guards where they stuck on the foam and plugged up. The seeds are sprouting little maple trees on the foam and now I have to go up the ladder and clean the gutters just like I did before I installed them.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Maintenance, did not stop debris from collecting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Cantuseshortnicknames
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not perfect but does the job.

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Gutters and trees don’t go together. I have trees, lots of trees including Crape Myrtle Oak, Red Bud, Gum, Pine and more (General types, I don’t know the specific breeds and no Maple “Helicopters” ). I have to clean the gutters at least 4 times a year. I have looked at many of the gutter guards out there. They all claim wonderful things but I can’t recall ever seeing any of them mention how wonderful a job they can do concerning pine needles. Anyone with Pine trees will know that a pine needle can get in places that you can’t put it in if you tried. So I gave this product a try. Reasonably priced and if it didn’t work I wouldn’t be out a lot of time and money. Well to the short of it, the stuff works, somewhat. Not perfect, but I don’t have to spend several hours cleaning the gutters. I’m not a professional photographer, but I have uploaded some pictures so you can get the idea of how this stuff works. The before and after are about 8 months apart. You can see there is debris on top of the guard. I took a blower and walked along the edge and blew it off. (it was dry) Water flows fairly well down the downspouts, and durring a heavy rain I did see some drips coming from the outside edge of the gutter. Can’t say how long this stuff will last but so far I’m happy with it. It does keep the tree droppings out of the gutters. No more soggy, water logged, mosquito breeding, turning to mulch, filled gutters :)
Pros: Economical, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
BigDan
from Chicago, IL 60643, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product was easy to install, it looks great and adds value to my home.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our house is located in a wooded area necessitating cleaning of the gutters at least 4 times per year. My son and I installed 230 feet of the Home Depot's gutter filtration system in about 2 1/2 hours. The product is light weight and cuts easily. We mitered the corners using a miter box for a professional look. From a safety standpoint the gutter filtration system is going to keep me off the roof. The Home Depot's gutter filtration system also reduced the mosquito population around our house and is anti-microbial preventing mold as well. I enjoyed working on this project with my son and look forward to the next. Thank you Home Depot. I love your store, and the on-line service is an added bonus.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Summit

Received 8 x 3ft for a total of 24 linear ft.

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I reviewed this below and still like the product. However, when I ordered another box, I received 8 3ft. sections instead of 8 4ft. sections. This may have been a temporary supplier problem, but consider checking it out so you get what you need.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Oldtimer
from Tualatin, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very good product which is easy to install from a ladder.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Keeps leaves and maple propellers from plugging gutters and down spouts. Needs to just be blown of once a year or so. At the time I purchased it was the best price I could find.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
fredhead166
from Canada
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Epic Fail. Clogs. No company response. Epic. Fail.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Rainfilter clogged after 12 months of operation even though I mechanically cleaned the top portion several times. Rain then ran over the gutters into my basement. FXI was unresponsive to my inquiries. The 25 year no-clog warranty is only valid if you know to register your purchase on-line.
Cons: does not function as advertised., company unresponsive to inquiries., misleading warranty.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Pete
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Installation Warning

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just purchased the rain filter gutter guards based on recommendations. The instructions on the box and inside the box specify that you must keep the "top coated surface facing upwards". Well, which is the "top coated surface"? I assumed (incorrectly) that it was the shiny surface that had some special coating. When you go on the company website, under Installation Facts, they added in bold print that it is the "dull" side that has the special coating and should be kept facing up - a critical piece of information not provided with the box. I have a call and email in to the rain guard company to review the importance of this since I installed the first box the wrong way. I have not received any response in several days and I am disappointed in the poor customer service. It is too soon to tell if the rain guards work well, but hopefully they will based on the many other reviews.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Phil

Effective, but overkill

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This product works well as described - it will definitely keep debris from entering downspouts and clogging underground downspouts, which is why I originally purchased. However, debris will still collect on the top of the filters thus requiring you to continue blowing/removing leaves from the top of the filters. Wind will blow some off, but you'll definitely still need to do some work yourself. I found a more effective and cheaper use for these. Instead of buying enough filters to fill all gutter space, buy one box and cut the filters so that they sit in the gutter hole that connects horizontal gutters to the vertical downspouts. You will still have to clean your gutters, but this ensures nothing enters the downspout. This essentially is the same as filling all gutter length with the filters, but much much cheaper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Reliable
Cons: Maintenance
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
GG1K4
from South Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far this gutter system is working as i had hoped. the rain is flowing thru and the leaves are blowing off just like they do from the roof. I installed them slightly differently from the instructions though, I made cuts from the bottom up to nearly the top at every gutter nail this way the product forms an unbroken piece and leaves are not able to accumulate at the nails. If you sniff around online you will see what i mean. So far we have had some rains and everything is working as described. we are supposed to be getting heavy rains next week, coupled with the leaves falling off a big tree next to my house this will be the real test. this is my first review here so i don't know if I can update it later. if i can i will after the rains.
Pros: Easy to Install, Economical, invisable from ground level
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Jeff
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Awesome product

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I installed these as a test on my garden/potting building on the back of my property, completely covered by trees, 3 years ago. These guards are still working great! The leaves dry and blow clear of the gutters after the rain, but the small seeds seam to get stuck. I find you should cleaned out every other year. All I do is brush the top off and call it a day. High cost but worth it!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, High Quality
Cons: cost
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Wobbles
from Oregon
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchase one box two years ago to see how it works. It has held up to Oregon rain, snow, ice, and heat, so i have order more to fill in the rest of my rain gutters.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
JackR
from Bloomfield Township, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works great even with pine needles and maple seeds

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have large maples trees and about 15 pine trees, which load up my roof. The needles and seeds make their way to the filters, sit on top and dry out blow away. I sometimes need to help, but at least the gutters never clog up. Rain water filters through seed and needles, even when resting on top. The gutters never ice up and no more ice cicles due to plugged gutters. I've had these for three years, replacing the micr mesh screens, which animals would pull off to get to the seeds. I highly recommend these, and you can't beat the cost per foot. Very easy to install too!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
PatC
from Edgewater, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Finally, an answer to clogged gutter problems?

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am in northeast Florida and the Live Oak leaves clog gutters and downspouts year round. This product was easy to install and the leaves sit on top of the foam filter as the rain filters through. A heavy rain seems to wash the leaves off the top. The literature promises mold and UV resistance so I'm hopeful they will stand up to the dampness and FL sunshine over time.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Vince

Went in like a breeze

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It fit easily into my gutters, cuts with scissors. Works well.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
csteges

GutterClear 365 100% Fail rate

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product keeps out everything as described - including water! 100% failure and overflow in anything but the lightest rain conditions. Installed more than 200 ft. of the product less than 6 mos. ago. Now forced to uninstall due to overflow and risk of water damage.
Cons: Leaks, product failure
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Ericlav27
from Sturbridge, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Works better than most gutter guard

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation is easy and design works better than the majority of gutter guards. Installing on another customers house this week.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Miiller

Excellent product

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Dont even think about getting anything else, these simply work, and work well. I have had them on my house for over a year and as others have said small debris will collect on the top over time, but I can't see having an issue for at least 5 years, then just wash them off.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
camper
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Performs well.

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed these on one section of my gutter system to see how they worked - I like them so much I'll be purchasing more to do the rest of the gutters. These are definitely the easiest gutter guards I have ever had to install.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Twinkle
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

excelllent product

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought some last year to test and loved them. So I bought enough to do around the entire house and garage.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Dave
from Berlin
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Looks nice but doesnt work at all.

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did one side of house with this product, it cloggs up with small debris. Even mild rain will flow right over it and off the gutter causing a waterfall effect on the entire side of the house. Now i have to replace it with something else after 4 months. Not recommended.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>