728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gutters & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)

Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)

The Rain Filter lets rain pass through its special foam filter but helps keep leaves and debris out of your gutters. This handy filter helps improve storm water management, helps prevent mold and helps keep mosquitoes from breeding in the gutters.
Overall rating:
4.279 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(111 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product95 of 108reviews
Rating Breakdown 111 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(68)
4
(27)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product95 of 108reviews
Customer reviews for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Review 1 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Did not work

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have several maple trees on my property and they dump tons of helicopter seeds which plug my gutters. I installed these foam strips last fall. This spring the maple trees dropped their helicopters and the rain washed them off the roof onto the foam guards where they stuck on the foam and plugged up. The seeds are sprouting little maple trees on the foam and now I have to go up the ladder and clean the gutters just like I did before I installed them.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Maintenance, did not stop debris from collecting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+63points
65out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not perfect but does the job.

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Gutters and trees don’t go together. I have trees, lots of trees including Crape Myrtle Oak, Red Bud, Gum, Pine and more (General types, I don’t know the specific breeds and no Maple “Helicopters” ). I have to clean the gutters at least 4 times a year. I have looked at many of the gutter guards out there. They all claim wonderful things but I can’t recall ever seeing any of them mention how wonderful a job they can do concerning pine needles. Anyone with Pine trees will know that a pine needle can get in places that you can’t put it in if you tried. So I gave this product a try. Reasonably priced and if it didn’t work I wouldn’t be out a lot of time and money. Well to the short of it, the stuff works, somewhat. Not perfect, but I don’t have to spend several hours cleaning the gutters. I’m not a professional photographer, but I have uploaded some pictures so you can get the idea of how this stuff works. The before and after are about 8 months apart. You can see there is debris on top of the guard. I took a blower and walked along the edge and blew it off. (it was dry) Water flows fairly well down the downspouts, and durring a heavy rain I did see some drips coming from the outside edge of the gutter. Can’t say how long this stuff will last but so far I’m happy with it. It does keep the tree droppings out of the gutters. No more soggy, water logged, mosquito breeding, turning to mulch, filled gutters :)
Pros: Economical, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+47points
49out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Jury still out

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
It's basically a filter and like any filter it will eventually get clogged up. I've had a four foot piece (the remaining ten feet of this gutter has another product) in a location on my house that is close to an oak tree for two years and is still working fine although it is beginning to clog up. I expect it will need to be cleaned in another year or two. I wouldn't put this product on a house surrounded by deciduous trees as I believe it would get clogged up after two seasons. If you live in the woods, test it on a short piece of gutter as it is on the expensive side compared to other DIY products. I would recommend this with the considerations mentioned above.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
from Chicago, IL 60643, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product was easy to install, it looks great and adds value to my home.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our house is located in a wooded area necessitating cleaning of the gutters at least 4 times per year. My son and I installed 230 feet of the Home Depot's gutter filtration system in about 2 1/2 hours. The product is light weight and cuts easily. We mitered the corners using a miter box for a professional look. From a safety standpoint the gutter filtration system is going to keep me off the roof. The Home Depot's gutter filtration system also reduced the mosquito population around our house and is anti-microbial preventing mold as well. I enjoyed working on this project with my son and look forward to the next. Thank you Home Depot. I love your store, and the on-line service is an added bonus.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)

Received 8 x 3ft for a total of 24 linear ft.

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I reviewed this below and still like the product. However, when I ordered another box, I received 8 3ft. sections instead of 8 4ft. sections. This may have been a temporary supplier problem, but consider checking it out so you get what you need.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
from Memphis, TN

Dont bother

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You would think this is a great idea. Filter out the leaves from the water and the water simply flows through to the downspout. Works great when new. But after the fall hits and all the leaves are sitting stuck in the spongy mesh, the filter systems stops work.
So naturally I had to climb up the later to clean it. Not so fast. These leaves and debri are caked on their especially all those tassels from the trees in the spring which was my main reason for getting them in the first place. Trying to pick those out is essentially useless. To pull them out you have to work around the gutter support to get them really clean. Too much effort. Much easier with the guard in the first place
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Difficult to Use, Maintenance
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)

what a hassle

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
All these foam things do is clog up your gutters. Now I have been up and down a ladder cleaning these things out, until I just decided to rip them all out. A waste of hundreds of dollars.
Cons: Maintenance, junk collectors
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)

Fantastic for my roof

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As I am writing this review I am ordering a box to replace a few pieces of an existing gutter filter installation. I have had this product in my gutters for around 10 years. Our house has over 200 ft of gutters and is surrounded by large oak and birch trees. After 10 years in place, 15 feet of gutter filter has became clogged and has started to sprout vegetation. The clogging occurred in a tree shaded area of the roof where both moss and tree droppings are a problem. Prior to installing the gutter filters, our gutters needed bi-annual cleaning, or they would quickly become clogged. When the gutters became clogged, the basement would take in water during heavy rainstorms. This has not occurred in the 10 years that the gutter filters have been in place.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
from Cleveland, Oh
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for now

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this product through Home Depot because i could not get it from COSTCO at the time. I needed another 10 ft or so to finish the installation. The product is the same as COSTCO's GutterGuard 365, but COSTCO negotiated a 5 yr guarantee and Home Depot did not. The product works fine right now and keeps leaves out of the gutter. It is easy to install, and a relatively inexpensive solution. After 1-3 years I forseee having to vacuum out the roof granules accumulating in the foam as well as other small leaf debris and tree seeds and pine needles. However right now the product is great. I hope the foam lasts the advertised 5 yrs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)

cheap quality

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
More money less quality then the one I bought at Costco good thing I only had 30 feet left to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Works Great!

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did a test section on the worst part of my home about 30 ft of gutter over the garage. I have lots of trees here in north Georgia, yellow pine, oak, poplar and maple. This stuff works great! I have a very steep roof and the gutters provide a perfect basket to catch the leaves. After installing over the garage even when the leaves pile up over the gutter with the gutter foam it still drains perfectly and when the leaves dry out the wind blows most of them off. I am going to install it on the rest of my home.
$4000 for gutter guard or $250 for gutter foam that I can install myself... Great product!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)

Good product

PostedApril 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Was looking for a less expensive alternate to the Gutter helmet I had installed on second floor.
I was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked. Leaves n some other debris would sit on top of the foam, but the water made its way through.
I'd recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
from Yardley, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These seemed like such a great idea, but I guess that is the whole idea behind marketting. After having owned this product for more than a year and a half, I can say it not only does not work, but actually results in much more work than just plane gutters. The top 3/4 of an inch gets clogged with small things like leaves from ash and pine trees, petals from crabapple and tulip poplars and the grit from an asphalt shingle roof. The whole "dried up leaves just blow off" thing is a neat idea, but it doesn't happen that way. Everything sticks to the top, rots and then sinks in sealing the gutter or the leaves/debris get packed up under the drip edge. I'm to the point where even the shop vac won't clear them - the water runs over the gutters. Now I have to pull them all out and throw them away and find something new. What is huge waste of money and time.
Pros: sorry no "pro"s product does not work.
Cons: clogs easily
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
from Tualatin, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very good product which is easy to install from a ladder.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Keeps leaves and maple propellers from plugging gutters and down spouts. Needs to just be blown of once a year or so. At the time I purchased it was the best price I could find.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
from South Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far this gutter system is working as i had hoped. the rain is flowing thru and the leaves are blowing off just like they do from the roof. I installed them slightly differently from the instructions though, I made cuts from the bottom up to nearly the top at every gutter nail this way the product forms an unbroken piece and leaves are not able to accumulate at the nails. If you sniff around online you will see what i mean. So far we have had some rains and everything is working as described. we are supposed to be getting heavy rains next week, coupled with the leaves falling off a big tree next to my house this will be the real test. this is my first review here so i don't know if I can update it later. if i can i will after the rains.
Pros: Easy to Install, Economical, invisable from ground level
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
from Beverly, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

After two months, so far so good

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I had new gutters professionally installed. This rigid foam gutter guard fits 4" gutters perfectly. If I had to do this again, I wold start by cutting all the 45's for the inside and outside corners on the ground, and install those first. Then work my way towards the middle. The gutter hangers hold the foam in place. My gutters are under a large tree, and the leaves seem to blow off on their own. It took me 2 1/2 hours to install 100 feet, due to mitering 3 corners (a hack saw will do), and repositioning the ladder every 4 feet.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With
Cons: pricey
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Awesome product

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I installed these as a test on my garden/potting building on the back of my property, completely covered by trees, 3 years ago. These guards are still working great! The leaves dry and blow clear of the gutters after the rain, but the small seeds seam to get stuck. I find you should cleaned out every other year. All I do is brush the top off and call it a day. High cost but worth it!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, High Quality
Cons: cost
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Great

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Was easy to install. Works a lot better than gutter gaurds, which got jammed up with oak seeds. Easy to remove and wash out too. Any leaves blow off or can be brommed off.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, Light Weight
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
from Poulsbo Washington
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It Worked Great for Me.

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's hard to explain, but I did not use this item for its exact intended purpose. It worked great and is currently holding up nicely.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gutter Filtration for 5 in. K-Style Gutters (8 4-foot Pieces)
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Installation Warning

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just purchased the rain filter gutter guards based on recommendations. The instructions on the box and inside the box specify that you must keep the "top coated surface facing upwards". Well, which is the "top coated surface"? I assumed (incorrectly) that it was the shiny surface that had some special coating. When you go on the company website, under Installation Facts, they added in bold print that it is the "dull" side that has the special coating and should be kept facing up - a critical piece of information not provided with the box. I have a call and email in to the rain guard company to review the importance of this since I installed the first box the wrong way. I have not received any response in several days and I am disappointed in the poor customer service. It is too soon to tell if the rain guards work well, but hopefully they will based on the many other reviews.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>