728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 Gal. Concrete Grey Tuff II Foundation Coating

5 Gal. Concrete Grey Tuff II Foundation Coating

Protect and beautify your foundation insulation or ICF, (Insulated Concrete Forms), by applying Tuff II 80 SF 5 Gal. Foundation Coating. The coating protects the rigid foam insulation board or ICF from U.V. exposure and physical damage. The coating can also be used to create attractive stucco like finishes on concrete, brick or masonry walls or to finish drywall without the hassle of mudding. The coating also helps control moisture.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 5 Gal. Concrete Grey Tuff II Foundation Coating
Review 1 for 5 Gal. Concrete Grey Tuff II Foundation Coating
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Amazing Stuff

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just keep saying to myself, 'Man, this stuff is tuff.' And then I laugh because that is its name. When you first apply this, you think it won't set up as strong as it does. The warnings about not applying in direct sunlight are no doubt because it begins to set up quickly and then you end up messing up the partially set up area. You'll see...it isn't all that big a deal, but hot sun doesn't give you much time to work. Unless you are going to apply it at night, you will end up experiencing this.
The product is fantastic. It becomes almost flexible concrete. It is difficult to get it off your tools, but who cares.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 Gal. Concrete Grey Tuff II Foundation Coating
from Hartwell,GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Making a bad foundation look good

PostedAugust 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When covering block that has been tooled between the blocks, you will need to trowel it on twice to make the joints disappear. I recommend going over it once troweling the Tuff II in only the joints with the first coat because it does shrink when it cures. The next day, do the entire wall surface and most joints will have disappeared. We sprayed on a final coat, diluted as recommended with water so it would come out of the texture hopper nicely. It looks great!! And, the finished look made the house worth far more than the cost of the material.
If you're applying it in warm weather, and want to get a smooth look, you will need to work relatively fast. You can't rub a damp sponge in circles like you can with a mortar stucco; you have to pat it gently with the damp sponge and sometimes dab a little fresh Tuff II on stubborn areas..
Make sure the walls have been acid and pressure washed well and dry before applying.
Pros: Performs Well, Stylish, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 Gal. Concrete Grey Tuff II Foundation Coating

Coating

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to apply , easy to work with. Cleaned up easy with water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 Gal. Concrete Grey Tuff II Foundation Coating
from North Dakota

Expensive, But Effective

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The product went on well, hardened quickly and resulted in a very hard and durable coating. It took some experimenting and practice to achieve an acceptable finished however. We used the STYRO Heavy Duty Sticky Mesh over 2 inches of the Owens Corning 250 pink foam and applied two coats of this TUFF II over the Sticky Mesh. Although the application was a struggle a first, I was impressed at the extreme hardness of the finished coating.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: difficult to apply around the window wells smooth
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 Gal. Concrete Grey Tuff II Foundation Coating
from Pocatello, ID, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

WORKS GREAT!

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this this product to re-due a concrete foundation that had stucco flaking off. I first scraped all the loose old stucco off and then simply applied the tuff II using a sheet rock mud taping knife, doing about 3 feet at a time and then using a 6" mason brush dipped in water I put a swirl finish in it.. it looks great and went on easy. It only took one coat to cover nicely. Note: do not apply in direct sunlight. Great product
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 Gal. Concrete Grey Tuff II Foundation Coating
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used it on my exterior wood basement foam board insulation, great product for skim coating the foam board also used the recommend tape for covering the seams.
Very hard durable finish looks great!! Would recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 Gal. Concrete Grey Tuff II Foundation Coating
from doswell,va.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

difficult product

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
very runny, even when well stirred, and hard to use. extremely fast drying,and adhesive its' property makes for hard clean up of tools, drips, and spills. would recommend with provisos.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 Gal. Concrete Grey Tuff II Foundation Coating

Works and looks great

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Has the consistency of mortar but is more flexible. Application was straight forward. Some of the joints of the foam board showed through so I had to do a thin third coat. I think this was due to expansion/contraction of the foam boards while the product was still drying.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 Gal. Concrete Grey Tuff II Foundation Coating
from new lenox
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Simple to use, just what I was looking for.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product was delivered on time to my doorstep.All I had to do was stir and apply it's that simple. PERFECT.
Pros: Easy to Install
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.