728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam

16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam

The Spectracide 16 oz. Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foaming Aerosol features an expanding foam spray to provide coverage in hard-to-reach areas. This spray is designed to kill yellow jackets and carpenter bees on contact. This product comes with a spray tube to help get into those hard-to-reach places.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product20 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product20 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
Review 1 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam

Killed the bees in the holes in my deck quickly.

PostedMay 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I sprayed this in all the holes in my deck and noticed bees dropping out of the holes shortly afterwards. I would highly recommend this to kill the carpenter bees as I just bought it today and noticed immediate results.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from West Mifflin, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Definitely works

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Carpenter bees are very destructive. I was on patrol with my can, to insure they they did not destroy my new porch. The spray shoots very far, just have to have good aim. I found them with their bodies half way bored in, one spray and they would drop dead. Took care of my problem with ease. Highly recommend this to any one with carpenter bee issues.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam

Awesome product for Carpenter Bee control!

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading the previous comments, I had to add my two cents. I had carpenter bees above my garage door (very hard to reach place, have to be up close), and they had at least 5 different entry points dug out. I sprayed the product in all holes, and watched the bees drop out dead! I counted at least 15 bees, and all within the first 15 minutes.
To the above comment that this spray doesn't kill on contact, are you sure those were carpenter bees? It worked really well for me, and I do recommend this product highly. I did use up the whole can, and my next step will be to cover the holes and paint the wood.
Pros: Great Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Frankfort,Il
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the Job done

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Saw the carpenter bees starting to dig holes into my pergola of my patio. Did some research and found this product. Located as many holes as i could and sprayed into them. I hit each hole at least twice just make sure i got a good saturation. I didnt plug the holes as i had read not to in case there were more inside further from the holes. This would allow anything that tracks through the spray to bring it further into the nest and kill there also.
The one issue i did have with this product is spraying into the holes, you get alot of kickback of the fluid due to the pressure of the spray. Though i would rather have to much pressure then not enough.
I checked shortly after spraying and found a bunch of bees on the patio dying or already dead--so in my book that is a win even if i have to do another application.
Pros: Strong
Cons: spray kickback
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Newark, DE
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJune 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the only thing that works on the carpenter bees around my house. They love to bore holes in my fence. Once I identify the hole, I tuck the spray tube in and give it a good blast. Wipes them right out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Muskegon, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best $4 spent, and only needed one bottle!

PostedMay 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We just bought our first home in December.. the house was vacant for 9 months last year through the bulk of the spring and summer. We saw bees around the house and after some googling found (8) 1/2 inch holes on one corner of hour house. We followed the directions, read some rules... (do it best at night or when it's cold or raining and they won't even come out..) After one treatment do it again in 48 hours. We had eight holes and literally used 1/2 of one bottle (we are taking the other bottle back!)
The first time around my husband put peices of tape on the holes to see which holes they were using.... then for round two he also shoved cotton in the holes and sprayed the foam into it - so they have to chew their way through the poison to get out... no sounds and no bees for a week... Impressed and pleased. Cheap remedy. Chalking up the holes this weekend!
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from San Jose, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product Use

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
OK. You need to saturate the hole(s) keeping the hole sealed with a rag so the fluid doesn't just drip out while you are spraying. Really flood the hole(s) with this product. Check a little later and you will see bees struggling for life on the ground --perhaps only 2 or 3 at a time since they tried to get out of the hole nest. Just step on them. More will show up later on the ground like in the morning if you spray in the evening. Likely you could have a dozen in there which hatched over time. Spray again 48 hours later and see if more are on the ground. Sawdust will probably still be evident on the ground. After spraying again then fill the hole(s) with most any caulk. It's still possible some will remain in the wood, but likely they will be dead since you have sealed the easy escape hole(s) and flooded their home. Note that Carpenter Bees tend to show up and return to the same place annually so the review saying they returned is not because the product didn't work but that these bees were not there when you first applied the fluid. Keep checking and spray if you see any new holes to prevent a female from laying eggs. It's only the male which hovers around the wood. They like bare untreated wood. The male looks scary but cannot sting you. Only the female can sting and she is inside the nest. I hope this helps you.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Brick, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Deadly

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As directed I sprayed in the holes made by the bees. Within minutes, as many as 3 bees crawled out of each hole and fell dead. Does not work so well on the drones hovering around the holes. A badminton racquet solved that problem. Plan to dust the nests in the fall.
Pros: Great Quality, very effective
Cons: hard to apply on inside of facia board
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Schenectady NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this because i have carpenter bees all nesting threw my deck. i waiting till night and stated filling their holes/nests with this... in the matter of 10 mins after filling holes the stupid bees were dropping out dead. Price is a little high but worth it...
Pros: Great Quality, did the job
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam

Carpenter Bees

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I called my local Home Depot to make sure this was in stock as last year they were always sold out. Im so glad I got it this year! Sprayed right after sundown and by the next morning there were at least 3 dead at the bottom of the hole we sprayed. Spotted another carpenter bee trying to start a hole in another area that we plan to spray tonight also. So thankful for this product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Carollton, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works GREAT on ground nesting Yellow Jackets (AKA: black/yellow wasps).

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Firstly, THIS PRODUCT WORKS FANTASTICALLY (when used on Yellow Jackets nesting in the ground).
As of this writing (July 31, 2012), only one other review of this product exists. It's a 1 star review, which I find perplexing. Evidently, this guy had no luck w/this on Carpenter Bees (which I highly doubt his story - read on and I'll explain).
I've had problems with Yellow Jackets (which are technically wasps) in my 1 acre yard here in metro Atlanta every summer for the past 3 years. After, the first two summers that I stumbled (literally) across some nasty Yellow Jacket nests in my yard, I was determined to find something more effective and environmentally friendly than the old, but effective, gasoline trick.
Like I said, pouring gasoline into the nest is effective but the gas contaminates the ground and the surrounding foliage/flowers, etc. Tired of abusing my yard w/the gas solution, imagine my pleasant surprise when I found this Spectracide spray can sitting on the shelf of my local Home Depot. I asked the lawn/garden guy if he'd heard anything good about it and he said only a couple of folks had tried it and they said ti worked fine... but I was a bit skeptical (I still remember that first spring day a couple of years ago when I first encountered the nest of Jackets as they swarmed over/around me as I unsuspectingly pushed my lawnmower directly over their huge nest. The can just looked so 'small'.
Well, I bought the can and a few nights later, under cover of darkness, I decided to 'ambush' the nest as quickly as possible. I decided on this method after much thought and of course, internet searching. So, w/out further banter, the following method is the best way to attack the nest using this Spectracide spray:
Stand back from the nest about 10-15 feet (far enough to no disturb the 'gatekeeper' wasps that are located just inside the nest opening - trust me, they are there). You may even want to size up the situation even further away with the flashlight and some binoculars. Anyway, with a flashlight in one hand (or even better, you might want to use a focusing headlamp to free up both hands) and the spray in the other, shine the light beam directly on the opening of the nest
Here's where the adrenaline starts pumping because (at least this happened w/my nest) when the light beam pierces the darkness of the nest, the Yellow Jackets seem to stir and begin to group quickly to 'engage the enemy'. So... when the light is focused directly on the opening, don't waste any time in unleashing the fury of the long reaching spray of the Spectracide. This stuff sprays at least 15 feet, possibly 20 feet (like most wasp sprays being sold today).
And really, HERE'S THE KEY TO KILLING THE ENTIRE NEST - all while avoiding getting stung, not even once: Once you've begun spraying the nest's opening, DO NOT STOP! It's almost like the spray stream becomes a magnet to the opening of the nest. Walk steady but briskly right up to the hole, all the while spraying - making sure to spray any brave yellow jackets trying to fly away. If this stuff hits them, even barely, they pretty much being dying immediately (they are definitely 'down for the count' and will soon die if they aren't dead from the initial spray).
So... make sure, when walking/spraying towards the nest's hole, that you go right up to the nest's hole and insert the red straw (similar to the straw found on a WD-40 can, but a little longer) directly into the hole and KEEP SPRAYING until the can is depleted.
If all goes well, you'll notice the spray is expanding into foam that supposedly expands into every part of the nest, which effectively kills the entire colony, including the queen. I'm not sure it killed the entire nest upon initial contact but I do know that I sprayed so much of it down into the 'top of the nest' that I'm sure it soaked into the upper portion of the nest, which effectively killed any wasp that tried to escape at a later time.
So, that's it. The whole process kind of reminds me of when a high school/college football team runs through that big paper 'pep rally sign' right before a football game. Again, the key is this: once you've started spraying, ABSOLUTELY DO NOT STOP until you've emptied the entire can into the nest.
It worked for me - I hope it works for you! Thanks for taking the time to read my overly long review!
PS - I bought this at my local Home Depot (not online, fyi). As a bonus, from my research, it seems that Home Depot is pricing this the lowest (even compared to those online-only sellers) at this time. Great price and it works - beautiful!
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality, Effective, kills yellow jackets and their nests
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam

Read the instructions!

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I saw the bad reviews here and thought let me give it a shot. Since this was the only thing that I found for carpenter Bees. The spray is not used to spray directly on the bees.The spray is used to spray inside the hive and then you wait 48 hours. I had a lot of bees that made a holes in my shed and I sprayed it in the hole and waited 48 hours I went back and removed the piece of wood that was already rotted. All of the bees came out dead. So I think it did its job as directed. This is not used to go out spraying bees. They Have other products to do that.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam

not impressed

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read all the reviews and thought this stuff would be great. I shook it well like it said but it doesn't foam up well. Also, the foam doesn't last long. I thought I read 10 minutes, but it lasted about 10 seconds. What a waste of $4.
Cons: foam doesn't last more than 10 seconds
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Raleigh NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Remember when bugs actually died with a quick spray? This WORKS perfectly!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is the real thing (like it used to be years ago) - and works perfectly; just follow the directions.
I rose an hour before sunrise, so I could get them all at once, before yellow jackets become active.
Use the supplied nozzle extension, and give a quick spray to the underground entrance, then shove that straw down the hole, spraying and poking around, feeling for secondary passages. The stuff foams up, and clings to nest walls and passages. (Empty the entire can.)
Not a single hornet escaped! 24 hours later, bury the opening with a shovelfull of dirt. Your done!
The $4 price is high - but well worth it for something that actually works . . .
Pros: Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Northeast Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedApril 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hit a carpenter bee directly with the fluid that comes out the can, and the bed kept just flying. This bee literally hovered around with bee spray dripping off him, and nothing happened. I thought it might take a couple minutes, but nothing. I also sprayed a couple bee holes, and still nothing. Terrible product, and would not recommend it.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Mount Ayr, IA 50854, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We used this to get rid of carpenter bees that had made their homes in the rafters of the carport. I sprayed some up into the holes made by the bees, and within minutes the bees were coming out of the holes in a stupor. A little more foam sprayed onto the bees once they were on the ground finished them off. This product works well, and I would buy it again if I needed it.
Pros: Functionality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from knoxville, tn
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets rid of carpenter bees quick!

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have tons of carpenter bees invading our wood deck/porch every summer. Spectracide pro is a great general wasp killer, but we couldn't keep the carpenter bees away before this product. I have sprayed it into the holes in the evening to get rid of the bees and sprayed the bees directly when flying around my deck (I am terrified of them) and it seems to knock them dead immediately. We have had only a few bees this year so far and normally we would have tons already, but this year we pretreated the deck with this stuff and it is working great!
Pros: Strong, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Salem, Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally something that works!

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fighting wasp all summer with no luck. Same routine as I used on all the other sprays, got up before the sun and used one can of this spray on five nest, three nest needed the little straw to get to them. Worked on all five, I counted over 20 wasp on the ground by one of the exposed nest and watched during the day as wasp crawled out of the other openings to get covered in the foam and also die. It has been two weeks and all nest are inactive with no wasp activity.
Tried many other products and this finally worked, going to buy a couple more cans to have around. Just make sure you spray before the sun rises or after it sets to get the most wasps. Don't rinse the area immediately so it can continue to work, I waited two days and saw wasp die for a good 24 hours.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Great Neck, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff really works.

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I tried spraying multiple cans of wasp spray over and over using different brands, but the yellowjackets kept coming back. One can of this foam sprayed into the nest opening worked. No more yellowjackets.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Midwest USA

Check Spray Distance/Characteristics Before You "Go Live"

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Having discovered a yellow jacket infestation the difficult way in my front yard, I decided to try this product.
Fortunately, I tested its spray distance before I actually used it. It barely reached 10 feet, and came out as an erratic foam, with no concentration whatsoever. Perhaps this was an isolated incident, but I don't want to risk it, even if it is night-time when I spray it.
For safety I will not use this product, and instead will go buy a non-foaming brand, such as PRO 18 oz. Wasp and Hornet Killer Aerosol, which I have had much better luck with as far as predictability.
Cons: not predictable, does not spray reliably
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 >>