728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam

16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam

The Spectracide 16 oz. Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foaming Aerosol features an expanding foam spray to provide coverage in hard-to-reach areas. This spray is designed to kill yellow jackets and carpenter bees on contact. This product comes with a spray tube to help get into those hard-to-reach places.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product9 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product9 of 10reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
Review 1 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Raleigh NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Remember when bugs actually died with a quick spray? This WORKS perfectly!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is the real thing (like it used to be years ago) - and works perfectly; just follow the directions.
I rose an hour before sunrise, so I could get them all at once, before yellow jackets become active.
Use the supplied nozzle extension, and give a quick spray to the underground entrance, then shove that straw down the hole, spraying and poking around, feeling for secondary passages. The stuff foams up, and clings to nest walls and passages. (Empty the entire can.)
Not a single hornet escaped! 24 hours later, bury the opening with a shovelfull of dirt. Your done!
The $4 price is high - but well worth it for something that actually works . . .
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from knoxville, tn
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets rid of carpenter bees quick!

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have tons of carpenter bees invading our wood deck/porch every summer. Spectracide pro is a great general wasp killer, but we couldn't keep the carpenter bees away before this product. I have sprayed it into the holes in the evening to get rid of the bees and sprayed the bees directly when flying around my deck (I am terrified of them) and it seems to knock them dead immediately. We have had only a few bees this year so far and normally we would have tons already, but this year we pretreated the deck with this stuff and it is working great!
Pros: Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Durham, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked quickly and as indicated on can

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Directions easy to follow. I sprayed the carpenter bees and insects perished almost immediately. I could hear the buzzing in the wall, so I used the red stem to squirt product up the hole those destructive bees ate through on the inside of the house and outside. In about 30 minutes, no more bee buzzing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam

Awesome product for Carpenter Bee control!

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading the previous comments, I had to add my two cents. I had carpenter bees above my garage door (very hard to reach place, have to be up close), and they had at least 5 different entry points dug out. I sprayed the product in all holes, and watched the bees drop out dead! I counted at least 15 bees, and all within the first 15 minutes.
To the above comment that this spray doesn't kill on contact, are you sure those were carpenter bees? It worked really well for me, and I do recommend this product highly. I did use up the whole can, and my next step will be to cover the holes and paint the wood.
Pros: Great Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from San Jose, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product Use

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
OK. You need to saturate the hole(s) keeping the hole sealed with a rag so the fluid doesn't just drip out while you are spraying. Really flood the hole(s) with this product. Check a little later and you will see bees struggling for life on the ground --perhaps only 2 or 3 at a time since they tried to get out of the hole nest. Just step on them. More will show up later on the ground like in the morning if you spray in the evening. Likely you could have a dozen in there which hatched over time. Spray again 48 hours later and see if more are on the ground. Sawdust will probably still be evident on the ground. After spraying again then fill the hole(s) with most any caulk. It's still possible some will remain in the wood, but likely they will be dead since you have sealed the easy escape hole(s) and flooded their home. Note that Carpenter Bees tend to show up and return to the same place annually so the review saying they returned is not because the product didn't work but that these bees were not there when you first applied the fluid. Keep checking and spray if you see any new holes to prevent a female from laying eggs. It's only the male which hovers around the wood. They like bare untreated wood. The male looks scary but cannot sting you. Only the female can sting and she is inside the nest. I hope this helps you.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam

Read the instructions!

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I saw the bad reviews here and thought let me give it a shot. Since this was the only thing that I found for carpenter Bees. The spray is not used to spray directly on the bees.The spray is used to spray inside the hive and then you wait 48 hours. I had a lot of bees that made a holes in my shed and I sprayed it in the hole and waited 48 hours I went back and removed the piece of wood that was already rotted. All of the bees came out dead. So I think it did its job as directed. This is not used to go out spraying bees. They Have other products to do that.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Mount Ayr, IA 50854, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We used this to get rid of carpenter bees that had made their homes in the rafters of the carport. I sprayed some up into the holes made by the bees, and within minutes the bees were coming out of the holes in a stupor. A little more foam sprayed onto the bees once they were on the ground finished them off. This product works well, and I would buy it again if I needed it.
Pros: Functionality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Carollton, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works GREAT on ground nesting Yellow Jackets (AKA: black/yellow wasps).

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Firstly, THIS PRODUCT WORKS FANTASTICALLY (when used on Yellow Jackets nesting in the ground).
As of this writing (July 31, 2012), only one other review of this product exists. It's a 1 star review, which I find perplexing. Evidently, this guy had no luck w/this on Carpenter Bees (which I highly doubt his story - read on and I'll explain).
I've had problems with Yellow Jackets (which are technically wasps) in my 1 acre yard here in metro Atlanta every summer for the past 3 years. After, the first two summers that I stumbled (literally) across some nasty Yellow Jacket nests in my yard, I was determined to find something more effective and environmentally friendly than the old, but effective, gasoline trick.
Like I said, pouring gasoline into the nest is effective but the gas contaminates the ground and the surrounding foliage/flowers, etc. Tired of abusing my yard w/the gas solution, imagine my pleasant surprise when I found this Spectracide spray can sitting on the shelf of my local Home Depot. I asked the lawn/garden guy if he'd heard anything good about it and he said only a couple of folks had tried it and they said ti worked fine... but I was a bit skeptical (I still remember that first spring day a couple of years ago when I first encountered the nest of Jackets as they swarmed over/around me as I unsuspectingly pushed my lawnmower directly over their huge nest. The can just looked so 'small'.
Well, I bought the can and a few nights later, under cover of darkness, I decided to 'ambush' the nest as quickly as possible. I decided on this method after much thought and of course, internet searching. So, w/out further banter, the following method is the best way to attack the nest using this Spectracide spray:
Stand back from the nest about 10-15 feet (far enough to no disturb the 'gatekeeper' wasps that are located just inside the nest opening - trust me, they are there). You may even want to size up the situation even further away with the flashlight and some binoculars. Anyway, with a flashlight in one hand (or even better, you might want to use a focusing headlamp to free up both hands) and the spray in the other, shine the light beam directly on the opening of the nest
Here's where the adrenaline starts pumping because (at least this happened w/my nest) when the light beam pierces the darkness of the nest, the Yellow Jackets seem to stir and begin to group quickly to 'engage the enemy'. So... when the light is focused directly on the opening, don't waste any time in unleashing the fury of the long reaching spray of the Spectracide. This stuff sprays at least 15 feet, possibly 20 feet (like most wasp sprays being sold today).
And really, HERE'S THE KEY TO KILLING THE ENTIRE NEST - all while avoiding getting stung, not even once: Once you've begun spraying the nest's opening, DO NOT STOP! It's almost like the spray stream becomes a magnet to the opening of the nest. Walk steady but briskly right up to the hole, all the while spraying - making sure to spray any brave yellow jackets trying to fly away. If this stuff hits them, even barely, they pretty much being dying immediately (they are definitely 'down for the count' and will soon die if they aren't dead from the initial spray).
So... make sure, when walking/spraying towards the nest's hole, that you go right up to the nest's hole and insert the red straw (similar to the straw found on a WD-40 can, but a little longer) directly into the hole and KEEP SPRAYING until the can is depleted.
If all goes well, you'll notice the spray is expanding into foam that supposedly expands into every part of the nest, which effectively kills the entire colony, including the queen. I'm not sure it killed the entire nest upon initial contact but I do know that I sprayed so much of it down into the 'top of the nest' that I'm sure it soaked into the upper portion of the nest, which effectively killed any wasp that tried to escape at a later time.
So, that's it. The whole process kind of reminds me of when a high school/college football team runs through that big paper 'pep rally sign' right before a football game. Again, the key is this: once you've started spraying, ABSOLUTELY DO NOT STOP until you've emptied the entire can into the nest.
It worked for me - I hope it works for you! Thanks for taking the time to read my overly long review!
PS - I bought this at my local Home Depot (not online, fyi). As a bonus, from my research, it seems that Home Depot is pricing this the lowest (even compared to those online-only sellers) at this time. Great price and it works - beautiful!
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality, Effective, kills yellow jackets and their nests
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam

doesn't work on carpenter bees

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
yesterday, i saw a carpenter bee entering a crack on the side of my house. I grabbed the can and sprayed the bee when it came out. i saw some whites spots on the body of the bee which indicated a direct hit. And the bee just kept flying. and it came back several minutes later not sure if it is the same bee. Unless the product has a delay on killing the carpenter bees, i don't think it works.
-9points
2out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't know if it works yet

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The foam spray does foam up as you spray it in the carpenter bee holes, as it claims to do. Several days later, however, I saw a carpenter bee fly back into the area where the holes are, so I don't know if I missed a hole, if multiple sprayings are required, or if it just doesn't kill the bees.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Kill Those Bad Bees

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The stuff worked... but getting it into the bees' "houses" even with the extension was difficult. Even so, a week later, the bees were back about a foot from where I sprayed.
Cons: expensive oh my!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 oz. Aerosol Carpenter Bee and Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foam
from Griffin, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ain't worth the money

PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We sprayed on the carpenter bees directly and they just kept on flying. This product is junk
-10points
3out of 16found this review helpful.