728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 13 in. Portable Helical Cutterhead Bench Top Planer

13 in. Portable Helical Cutterhead Bench Top Planer

The Steel City 40300H 13-Inch Portable Planer features a powerful 15 Amp Motor, which drives the patented Helical cutterhead to provide plenty of power for full width planning or long run jobs. The helical Head has 26 indexible HSS inserts for superior finishing. Snipe lock firmly locks cutter head assembly to help minimize snipe.
Overall rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product6 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product6 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for 13 in. Portable Helical Cutterhead Bench Top Planer
Review 1 for 13 in. Portable Helical Cutterhead Bench Top Planer
Robert
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very user friendly

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This planer is very easy to use. Set up was simple and operating is even simpler. It provides a great finishe to several types of wood, treated or non (it's best to plane treated lumber after its had time to dry). You won't be disappointed with this planet, it's a great value for its size and features You will want to have a large capacity shop vac hooked up while using cuz this guy makes a lot of chips. Also recommend using two roller support stands to keep the lumber level during feed in and out.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 13 in. Portable Helical Cutterhead Bench Top Planer
JKing
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Outstanding machine

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a no-nonsense, capable and hardworking machine. It's first job was to plane 50bf of old growth, highly figured walnut. It motored though it effortlessly and produced outstanding surfaces with no chipouts. Also, it's relatively light weight makes for easy setup and storage in tight shops.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 13 in. Portable Helical Cutterhead Bench Top Planer
Marc
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent results

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have now used the planer on 8" wide oak and 11" wide poplar with excellent results. No additional sanding will be required.
Minor adjustments on the in- and out-feed tables were required so the planed board was even to the end. I also had to clean grease from the cutting head before first use as has been pointed out by other reviewers. I used solvent on a rag to get most of the grease off and then ran scrap wood through to throw off the remaining grease.
This is my first planer and was purchased due to the wide variety of rough sawn wood available to me now and I am very pleased with the results.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 13 in. Portable Helical Cutterhead Bench Top Planer
Cici4000

Great planer

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This planer does a fantastic job. I have a small wood workshop and this does the trick for allowing me to create my own lumber. The cut is so smooth there is minimal sanding required. I would highly recommend this quality product to small wood workshops.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 13 in. Portable Helical Cutterhead Bench Top Planer
Programs101
from Liberty Lake WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to set up with only minor adjustment to input / output trays. Very quiet. Most of the shavings are ejected without the use of a vacuum system.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy, Accurate
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 13 in. Portable Helical Cutterhead Bench Top Planer
Jackman
from South West Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Planer is absolutely awesome great finish, easy to use!

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used other planers, but none compare to this one. The finish is absolutely great, lower noise level. I pulled it out of the box, set it on a table, connect the exhaust and planed wood. You can not beat that!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 13 in. Portable Helical Cutterhead Bench Top Planer
Jcat
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding at first!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought to replace my Delta 12 and a half inch planer. Steel city planer was outstanding at first, until the cutters got dull. Then realized 2 things: (1) not a "true" helical head cutter, and (2) at current prices it will take over $150 to replace the HSS cutters. If you don't have any problems with that, then this is a very nice planer and does a better job than the Delta.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: hss cutters very expensive, no carbide cutters available
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 13 in. Portable Helical Cutterhead Bench Top Planer
skewed
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't bother

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After setting up the planer, I was excited to try out the new helical head. I had a Delta 13" that worked well for quite a few years before it gave up and wanted to replace it with a quieter helical head. I heard reports of it spewing oil but thought they were exagerating... they were not. This thing keeps spitting oil out of the cutterhead and doesn't seem to want to stop. I have no confidence that this won't continue and can possibly ruin a finish. I returned it and bought a Grizzly 15" planer
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: spits oil everywhere
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.