728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz

9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz

No Ductwork No Problem. Ramsond Ductless (Duct-Free) Mini Split Air Conditioning Systems can be installed in virtually any location. Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioners are also referred to as Zone systems. They cool/heat the zone or areas in which they are installed. When the zone is in use, the mini split system can be turned on. When the zone is not in use, you can simply turn it off. This zone capability allows for substantial energy savings. Ramsond Heat Pump systems not only provide cooling during the hot summer months, but also provide efficient heating for the winter. They are far more efficient and substantially more economical compared to conventional central air conditioning systems. Ductless Mini Split systems are comprised of two main components: 1) The outdoor unit (Condensing Unit), and 2) The indoor unit (Evaporator Unit). The installation is simple. The indoor unit hangs on a metal bracket (supplied) that attaches to the interior wall, much like a picture frame. A three inch (3 in.) hole is then drilled through the wall. The Line set and communication wires are passed through this hole and connect the indoor and outdoor unit together. The Main power is supplied to the outdoor unit. The indoor unit draws its power from the outdoor unit. The system is operated by a wireless remote control (supplied). Simply set the remote control to the desired temperature and the system maintains the desired temperature.
Overall rating:
3.45 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product12 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product12 of 18reviews
Customer reviews for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
Review 1 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from Jax, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High price

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These split type A/C units are great. Quiet and efficient. Can't believe we haven't seen these things until recently in the States. In Asia this is the way to go since decades and they only cost half of what we pay at home. Most of the brands we see in the U.S. are even the cheap Chinese built units. The better ones are Japanese, Korean, like Daikin, LG, Samsung and more (even though they may be built in China, quality control is usually better:). Just why does it have to cost us an arm and a leg while we pay hefty for installation as well since labor is much higher at home? These units, GREE, Changhoing and LG sell in Asia for around $250-$350 per set 1/2-3/4 HP). A Ramsond may sound American but is still a (most likely, cheaper?) Chinese unit. Price'm right, say at $400-$600 (9000-12000 BTU) and everybody should sign on.
Pros: Quiet, efficient (if priced lower)
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from Surfside Beach SC USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use, remote very easy to use.

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Received in two shipments within a day apart, took about 6 days. Installation very easy. Set up my Self contained as it says, only need to let air in line out, had a friend who is A/C licensed do it. Had an electrician run the power, because you need an outside switch off for the power and breaker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design, reasonably price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from catonsville, maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

sham sale

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
in the fine print under specifications, this product reflected "non-returnable". Yet -- I have been unable to get this product installed. The home depot referred installation services for A/C and heating refused to install it since I did not purchase it "through them" (these are home depot vendors). After much search, I found a first willing to give a quote -- they quoted $2,300 for installation of the $900 equipment. I found one other service provider on my own willing to provide an estimate. Once they saw the equipment, they refused to provide an estimate citing that this is poor quality equipment from China - and they do not want to be responsible for it. I cannot pay $2000+ and am concerned anyway about the quality/ maintenance, so I have just wasted $800. Home depot gave me 10% refund. Gee, thanks.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Quiet and Easy to Install

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The first thing that surprised and pleased me was the ease of installation. The condensing unit has proved to be amazingly quiet, so much so that my son in law, who helped install the A/C, will be purchasing one for his own home. The low 7 Amp load allows the A/C to be plugged into almost any outlet and will make it possible to connect to a portable generator should we have an extended power outage. The A/C has also worked quite well in cooling our master bedroom and bathroom along with a bit of the hallway and an adjacent bedroom. We will probably purchase one or two more ductless A/C units and eventrually replace our central A/C system . In general, we are very pleased with the Ductless A/C.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Economical, Light Weight
+33points
37out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from Vancouver, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DO NOT BUY

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Non returnable (trust me i tried)
Arrived damaged (looked liked someone opened the box to me). After that i had no choice but to install as is. Installation was not too bad although the book was useless. The inside unit has a weird odor coming from the plastic that will not go away. No telling what its made from. The AC part works but the remote does not have a HEAT option when i cycle through it. Epic waste of money
Cons: cheap, plastic has wierd odor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could Be Great, Poor Quality

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased on 7/14/2012. Took nearly 2 weeks to arrive. Shipped from CA but I suspect it actually shipped from China.
Arrived non functioning. Called HVAC company to check out unit and found bad circuit board and cut wire on the indoor unit.
Still waiting on repair parts but Home Depot has been very good and reduced the cost of the unit by the amount the first service call cost.
It has now been over 3 weeks and it is still not working.
Also best of luck with Ramsond's customer services. Will never purchase anything from this company again.
Cons: poor quality
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems OK so far

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The hardest part was making an almost 3" hole through my block wall. The outside unit came wired wrong. I cut the wires and the lines so I didn't have ten extra feet laying around.
When in cooling mode, the fan runs all the time, but it is pretty quiet. The remote is a little confusing and the manual that came with my unit didn't even have pictures of the remote. There are two buttons on the remote that don't even do anything.
There's an odor from the unit. Not a leaking refrigerant smell, just a new smell. It's been running for two weeks and hasn't gone away yet.
Other than that, the unit seems fine. I hope it lasts.
+21points
38out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from Grapevine, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

perfect fit

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit was easily installed and included everything. Perfect fit for the room expansion I just completed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from Niagara Falls, ON, Canada
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quite unit and easy installation

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Item arrived on time in good condition. Installation may be difficult without the correct tools for drilling or drain hook up. Installation manual offers little help for site conditions that you may run into, but any DIY'er should be able to figure it out.
Has been installed for 2 weeks and works great. Very quite.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz

Great Product, Cools better than I expected

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions were a little dated (in other words they weren't up to date), because it said we would need to have a vacuum pump to evacuate the supply lines. So we employed a HVAC guy to install, turns out we wouldn't have needed him because the lines are sealed with nitrogen and don't need to be evacuated like the instructions said. All you have to do is remove the caps on the lines and install. Anyway, the unit went in fast and it cools great, and it is very quiet, you hardly know it is running.
+15points
20out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from United States
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It will FREEZE you out....

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This turned out to be exactly what I was looking for. I found the value to be good and the quality is great. It has many options. Cool, heat, dry, and works flawlessly in each. It maintains the room at the temp that you set it. It is remote only so, you might want to get an extra one while you can in case one gets lost ot broken.
It is SUPER quiet, i'm amazed.
Installation was much more difficult than I had anticipated, and will require someone to place a vaccuum on the system once installed. This is a MUST or you will fry this thing. So if you are not mechanically inclined, or at least a minor handyman, you will need someone to do the installation.
I purchased it online and had it shipped to me, it all came as described and in mint condition.
I'd order another one if the need were to arise.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install, needs a professional at end of install
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product - Poor Instructions

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product seems to be good quality and works well, but has only been up and running 10 days. Longevity unproven at this time. Instructions could be much better. They showed illustrations of three or four different remotes and none matched the remote that came with the unit. For installations where the tubing and wires to the compressor go straight back through the wall, they should give dimensions for locating the through hole relative to the mounting bracket. Instructions on purging the refrigerant lines after connecting them are not clear. There are detailed instructions on how to bleed the lines with a vacuum pump as well as a brief mention of how to purge the lines with refrigerant from the compressor. Now where does it say that these are alternatives and only one process needs to be done.
I would recommend this product, but would also recommend better instructions.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: poor instructions
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz

Not the quality I expect from Home Depot

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The electrical connectors between the outside unit and the wiring harness did not match and weren't like the product photos and description on Home Depot and the manufacturer's website. The installer and to splice the wires together. I would guess I received an older model compressor unit with a newer model wiring harness, but did not realize this until it was too late. Most unhappy.
Cons: Difficult to Install, user's manual worthless.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from Valley Stream, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the money!!

PostedMay 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a bit reluctant to purchase this unit but a friend of mine bought one last year and has been very happy. As most reviewers have correctly reported, the instructions are very poor and lacking clarity. My friend wrote down the areas he had issues and noted the things I needed to do. After that, the installation was quiet simple and the unit has been working now for over a month and the performance has been excellent. The unit is quiet, heats/cools well and hasn't shown any problems so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from Loveland, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

instructions almost useless

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was almost a nightmare to set up. I had to call upon a Plumber and Electrician ($231.00) to get it working. There was no contact phone number to ask questions. I just about returned it to Home Depot. The instructions really need updated.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from riverside
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

bad item to purchase

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a non returnable item. It is about the worst split AC/heater that I have every seen. It does not work as well as it should as well as installation is next to impossible. Home Depot does not warranty the item. I would not recommend purchacing th is item for your home.how every I would recommend that you use another home improvement company..
Cons: Leaks, Dirty, Noisy, Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, Vibrates, No Instructions, Difficult to Install
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from New Braunfels, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

9500 btu

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The unit itself was easy to install. I did have to hire a electrician to run power to it ($150 to run 10' line and a breaker for box) and a A/C guy ($150) to vacuum lines and rewire electric to out side unit the Electrician wired it wrong. It is very quiet. Less noise then my Central unit in my house. Has only been install 1 week so we"ll see how long it last.
Pros: Quiet, Good Size & Weight
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from tucson az

ramsond split air

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
easy to install but 2/3 of book spent on remote that we didnt have.service port for vacuum unit is not a normal a/c fitting should be in install info or ramsond should put note. you cant vacuum system with normal a/c guages and pump,you need adapter.we didnt have remote they showed in manual...works good .
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Simple on the wiring diagram

PostedMay 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The wiring in harendus- if Anybody has the correct way please post it -i f not when i am done i wili post it- I wll Also tell you how good the unt is-
-5points
10out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 9,500 BTU (3/4 Ton) Ductless (Duct Free) Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz
from Warrenton, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Haven't installed it yet.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
There was some confusion on the shipping of the heat pump, but overall service was good.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Nice Design, very efficient units for cooling and heating
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.