728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz

12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz

No Ductwork No Problem. Ramsond Ductless (Duct-Free) Mini Split Air Conditioning Systems can be installed in virtually any location. Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioners are also referred to as Zone Systems. They cool/heat the zone or areas in which they are installed. When the zone is in use, the mini split system can be turned on. When the zone is not in use, you can simply turn it off. This zone capability allows for substantial energy savings. Ramsond Heat Pump systems not only provide cooling during the hot summer months, but also provide efficient heating for the winter. They are far more efficient and substantially more economical compared to conventional central air conditioning systems. Ductless Mini Split systems are comprised of two main components: 1) The outdoor unit (Condensing Unit), and 2) The indoor unit (Evaporator Unit). The installation is simple. The indoor unit hangs on a metal bracket (supplied) that attaches to the interior wall, much like a picture frame. A three inch (3) hole is then drilled through the wall. The Line set and communication wires are passed through this hole and connect the indoor and outdoor unit together. The Main power is supplied to the outdoor unit. The indoor unit draws its power from the outdoor unit. The system is operated by a wireless remote control (supplied). Simply set the remote control to the desired temperature and the system maintains the desired temperature.
Overall rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
Review 1 for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This unit runs very quietly and provides good coverage.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I gave this unit a 4 star for quality as it runs quietly and efficiently. It wasnt as easy to install due to poor instructions and wiring diagrams. I had anticipated a possible problem with the condensation leakage but was told by an installer to be sure to place the tube on the bottom of all the wiring and insure the 2" cutout was cut at a downward angle with about a 1/2" drop. So far all drainage has worked properly. Had to have a licensed HVAC pull a vacuum on the unit to insure proper Freon. I would recommend this unit to anyone that is a do it your selfer but would also recommend a licensed HVAC to pull vac.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from DE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for the money.

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far i have tried it in both modes. Heat is great and also does keep the area comfortable when in cooling mode. Best feature is the dehumidification mode. Unit is quiet and efficient. Area in question is over 800 sq ft.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, comes with a line set, installation a breeze
Cons: remote display on hand unit is small, air handler wall mount could be sturdier
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Elkmont, Ala.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

12,500 BTU split AC with heat.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you install it yourself, be prepared for some guesswork. The instructions are poor so will need some refrigeration and electrical experience to figure things out. Great unit and low power consumption. Oh yes, very quiet. Please rewrite the instalation Manual.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product if only it didn't leak condensation into my home

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this product in an efficiency apartment on my property to replace a window a/c and a ductless propane wall heater. Installation was easy... installed it myself in about 6 hours (I'm a retired contractor) and felt very comfortable that I had the perfect solution to my heat and air needs. It worked perfectly for about 2 months. Used both heat and air initially (installed in May of last year), then started using a/c only in June. About 2 months after the installation, I came home one day and noticed water had been dripping from the unit for quite some time. The floor and a nightstand below the unit were soaked from water dripping from the bottom of the unit! Checked the drain hose outside...no water coming out. I blew into the hose and felt resistance and water immediately began flowing again. Called tech support & got pretty much a run-around. The problem has persisted ever since. My solution has been to use a wet vac on the drain hose every time it starts dripping water inside the apt. which seems to correct the problem for a month or two. It only happens when I'm using the a/c since the condensation doesn't occur when in the heat mode, so I've resigned myself to the fact that I'll have to continue the wet vac solution every few weeks during the hot months. Seems like gunk accumulates in the drain pan and clogs the drain even though I religiously clean the filters every month. In other words, Ramsond needs to re-engineer the drain pan and either put a small pump to keep it cleaned out or make the pan and drain hole big enough to eliminate any debris that might accumulate there. Other than this ongoing maintenance problem, the unit seems to work very well... just be sure to install the indoor unit someplace where you can put a bucket underneath it while using it for a/c and invest in a wet vac to suck out the debris when it starts to leak.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cool very well

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You do not need to be an HVAC tech to install this unit
It comes with everything you need. Best price out there
Unit work like a champ, cool my living room very well
Just a quick FYI. The drain/condensation line needs to be clear all the way out. Don't let it make trap or anything like that since it needs air for the water to drip out. If you make a something like a water trap, the condensation will stay in the unit and later drain to you room. I had to drain mine some distance and figure it out. I added a t to get air and problem solved
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet, cools house very nicely

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit is very quiet and is cooling my living room and kitchen very nicely. The instructions need to be more detailed especially the electrical hookup. Found a good 24 photo step website that cleared up my electrical issue. strongly recommend hiring AC guy to vacuum system not expensive saves damage to compressor Will buy a unit next year for bedrooms.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: instructions more detail
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Bordentown Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great System

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this unit to heat and cool my 16 x 20 garage. Installation was simple and took about 4 hours. Have not tried the Air conditioning yet, but the heat works great. So long space heater....
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Hayward, WI 54843, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ran nicely after challenging install.despite claims to contrary

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Once installed, the unit ran quietly and effectively cooled the 450 sq ft space... but getting there was a challenge for the 2 engineers at every step in the 10-12 hr process.
The instructions were poorly translated to English and required "reverse engineering" to figure out the intent of the designer. The bleeding instructions were ambiguous in spots and vague or incomplete in others. Something as simple as, "Once the two lines are connected, remove the access covers and using a hex wrench, completely open the valves. (A hissing sound would indicate the connection is not tight enough). Remove the remaining access cover on the lower valve to reveal the schrader valve. Pressing that valve for 1-2 seconds allows the trapped air to escape. About that time, cool refrigerant will escape, thereby signalling the trapped air is purged out of system. Replacing the access covers completes the process." would be clearer.
Some annoying details: Inside mounting bracket on 16.5" centers; outside pedestal (bracket spacing) is 20". A 50 mm (2") hole is tight. The lengths of the copper lines coming out of the inside unit should have been made longer so as not to constrict the necessary tight bend coming out of the wall.
In most cases, the 25' long line is too long and there is no way of coiling it out of sight and have it look neat. To reduce the length requires a flaring tool. (the US tool for 1/4" and 3/8" slipped a bit when flaring metric lines). Some mention about reducing the lengths would have been nice.
No provision for attaching a shielded Romex (primary power) to unit. Instead a weather proof extension cord-like arrangement is used that requires a special clamp at the disconnect box.
The plastic covers for the electrical and refrigerant connections are ill-fitting, fragile, and may not offer much protection in snow or heavy rain. (one of mine was cracked out of box.)
In summary, I think the unit was rushed to the US market. More time could have been spent on instructions. I judge the primary power connection means to the unit to be marginal at best.
Like I said in the beginning, once the unit was installed it seemed to do a respectable job of cooling the room. The unit was installed in a cabin which gets intermittent use. How it fares over long term is TBD. I will keep my fingers crossed.
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Augusta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Since just installed, need more time to determine quality and value.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Working well. Everything simple except the remote control.
Pros: Lots of Features, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: remote is difficult to operate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Work well and doesn't take up much space

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Once installed the unit woks great however the instalation insructions are a unclear, at best. You will need a profesional HVAC contractor to vacume out the lineset before you start up the unit, unless you have a lineset vacume in your garage.
Pros: Performs Well, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz

works great

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
An electrician installed and wired. Seemed to be easy.
He liked it so much he is ordering 2 for himself. It is very quiet.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Just what I wanted

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
An excellent product for my sun room. It is doing a great job for me in cooling the room. Too warm to try the heat.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12,500 BTU 1+ Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good idea... bad product!

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this heat pump and had it installed by a professional. Since day one it was nothing but problems, mainly the controller was causing the issues... at least that is what their tech support said. Finally got fed up and bought a new one (Fujitsu) from a local hvac company and it is working great.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.