728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz

24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz

No Ductwork No Problem. Ramsond Ductless (Duct-Free) Mini Split Air Conditioning Systems can be installed in virtually any location. Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioners are also referred to as Zone Systems. They cool/heat the zone or areas in which they are installed. When the zone is in use, the mini split system can be turned on. When the zone is not in use, you can simply turn it off. This zone capability allows for substantial energy savings. Ramsond Heat Pump systems not only provide cooling during the hot summer months, but also provide efficient heating for the winter. They are far more efficient and substantially more economical compared to conventional central air conditioning systems. Ductless Mini Split systems are comprised of two main components: 1) The outdoor unit (Condensing Unit), and 2) The indoor unit (Evaporator Unit). The installation is simple. The indoor unit hangs on a metal bracket (supplied) that attaches to the interior wall, much like a picture frame. A three inch (3) hole is then drilled through the wall. The Line set and communication wires are passed through this hole and connect the indoor and outdoor unit together. The Main power is supplied to the outdoor unit. The indoor unit draws its power from the outdoor unit. The system is operated by a wireless remote control (supplied). Simply set the remote control to the desired temperature and the system maintains the desired temperature.
Overall rating:
4.208 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product20 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product20 of 22reviews
Customer reviews for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
Review 1 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Pelham, AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great HVAC Unit!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great - even in HOT Alabama humid temps. In my 1/2 insulated metal building (1200 sf), it kept it below 80° when outside was 96° and very humid. The dehumidifier on it works great too (with or without the AC), kept it in the 55% range. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the fan stays on all the time the AC is on - even after it reaches the set temp. They said that's the way it is, but on heat it will shut off. Not a huge thing, just waste a little energy when the condenser is not running (but also not as bad as the outside unit running).
Anyway, very happy with my purchase!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design, customer service was great!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Hilo, HI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased with all aspects of this.

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The shipping from California to my local store here in Hawaii took less than 3 weeks. Much better than promised. The unit arrived complete and undamaged. The HD staff helped load it into our SUV. Unloading and unpacking went without a hitch. The packaging was robust and protected the interior and exterior units very well. This was my first mini split installation and I prepared by watching some You Tube videos and reading the on-line installation literature. Having all of the required tools and a cordless impact driver on hand helped alot. Bending the tubing without kinking was the most challenging. We also had to select a secondary installation location due to a structure conflict. The 25' line set helped with that. We mounted the condenser on 4 oversized retaining wall blocks using concrete expansion anchors. The electrical hook up was very easy. The whip to the disconnect was included which saved buying one. The cabling between the interior and exterior has modular plugs and simply clicked together. I borrowed a vaccum pump and gauges from a friend but had to order a R410A adapter. The draw down and leak testing went without a hitch. The overall installation time for one person including electrical and refrigeration work was less than 8 hours. The interior unit for the 2 ton is a bit large and heavy. A second person to help guide the hoses and wiring was required. A final thought is that our next unit for the bedroom will be energy star rated. The increased cost is offset by the rebates and tax incentives as well as the reduced energy consumption cost which is 4X here. We are very happy with this unit. It cools well and is relatively quiet for a 2 ton unit. It looks great and is easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design, ships well-sturdy packaging, engineered for diy installation
Cons: seer could be better
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+54points
59out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz

we love it

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had ours for 2 years. It was fairly easy to install, use 2 people. We have not had one problem with it. I will be buying another one soon.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Placerville, CA 95667, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

This product is perfect for us.

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have been wanting a ductless heating and air unit for quite a while. This unit is a perfect fit for our house and our needs. The only difficulty was finding someone locally to do the install as we were not able to do it ourselves. The install went smoothly and we were able to enjoy the cool air that afternoon.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: needed professional installation
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Fairview Heights IL

Great Option

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have the mini split in my home daycare that was converted from a two car garage about 1000 sq ft. It heat and cools well so far, haven't had it through a winter yet. It has a attached deflector that switches the flow from up to down, but not left to right. That's my only problem, because it flows to the right and I have a hallway to the right. Air gets trapped there and doesn't fill the room like it should. All in all...it's still warm and I didn't have to spend money on a new AC unit and furnace and duct work!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: needs additional deflector
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz

"No vacuum" will kill the unit

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I came across this in doing product research and thought I would help clear the air. Any heat and air unit especially those using R-410a for its refrigerant MUST have a vacuum before the line set is charged with refrigerant. I am a hvac veteran with a lot of 410a experience. This refrigerant contains a oil that is dehydrated acid (POE oil) if no vacuum is done, any and all moisture will become acid in the system. This will not cause any short term symptoms, but will cause premature wear and parts failure! If you don't believe mme google search
Cons: requires vacuum
+42points
56out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Ontario, Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great....easy install

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice unit, fast shipping. Took a day for me to install, but an expert could likely install in less than an hour if 220v power and condensor pad is already available.
Conditioner looks and works excellent, fairly quiet.
Borrowed a neighbors vacuum pump to dehydrate the lines.
Great product for the price.
+27points
28out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Morristown, TN
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You'd do well to buy something else

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit is not too difficult to install. It is poorly engineered. The wall unit should be mounted, cover removed and connections made. Instead, connections have to be made and then the unit mounted. A little difficult to feed the line sets this way. Second, we accidently discovered that approximately 24" of the line sets had been crushed. This was concealed by the line insulation. I hired a tech to cut the crushed section out and completed the installation. When I contacted Home Depot they offered me a gift card for 1/3 the ammount it cost me to repair the unit.
Lastly, the remote control does not operate.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality, poor customer service, poorly engineered, made in china
+26points
34out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
Age Range:35 to 44

Great Item, Easy Install, No Vacuum Needed

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just wanted to write a quick review to say that this item is great. It was an easy install, the hardest part was hanging it on the wall and getting the lines,wires through the hole at the same time you're hanging it. The "tape" it comes with isn't worth anything, don't know why they call it tape. The instruction manual isn't that great either but you can make do with it. If you aren't an electrician, I'd consider hiring one to wire it to your panel. Other reviews say you need to have it vacuumed and you don't. If you call tech support they will point you to the purging instructions. The purging instructions include pictures so everything is understood. Per the instructions I received here are the steps (disclaimer, i'm not responsible if you follow these): STEP 1 - Remove Dust Caps, attach Line Set to Valves
STEP 2 - Open Liquid Valve ¼ turn counter-clockwise;wait 10 sec. before Step 3
STEP 3 - Press Service Valve for 2 sec. then release
STEP 4 - Fully open the Liquid Valve by turning counter-clockwise
STEP 5 - Fully open the Suction Valve by turning counter-clockwise
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Shape, Great Value, Lots of Features
Cons: poor install manual. needs to add purging instruct
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Lewiston, ID, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is just great

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did not try to install it myself. I had a local heating and cooling company install it It took three hours and was done. no mess no problems. It works very well, our house
is quite small and it cools the whole house with no
problem. even paying for instalation it was the best value
in the area
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: a little larger inside than i thought but is still, i wish the fan would turn off when the compressor
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Denton
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well just the installation instructions are vague and so is the operation manual

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works well just the installation instructions are vague and so is the operation manual but other than that very good product for the money.
Pros: Durable, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Difficult to Install
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This A/C unit works better than exspected.

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Living in AZ the garages get quite hot. I bought this unit to help keep my 3 car garage cool while I work. WOW!, It works great. The 24,000 BTU's (2 Ton) was a little larger than i thought I needed. But, I'm glad I got it the extra power.It comes with an easy to use remote. Thats it. It's esyer to use than my TV remote. I havent had to use the heater yet. But, I'm thinking It too will not be disapointing. It arrivered on time and in great condition. I wish I would have thought of this years ago.
+15points
29out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from VT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

nice but not easy

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just tryed to install this unit today.Found the instruction are very poor.They dont give any clues on were drill holes or how to bend the copper hoses to fit.I ended up kincking one of the hoses.Now I have to get a/c guy plus a electian to run a 220 line.Knowing what I know now I would hire a pro to install.I hope its worth the exta money.Will update latter.
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Freeland, Tittabawassee Township, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to install, everything is included

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
unit comes with everything to install. Only need to have A/C serviceman bleed down and check pressures if you can't do it yourself. Works great, A/C temp is 40deg and Heat pump pushes 70deg when turned on. I had no problems understanding install instructions.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Elkmont, AL 35620, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Unit for the money

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this unit to heat and cool an apartment over a garage/workshop. The unit is ok and was not too hard to install. The instructions are inadequate at best but after reading other reviews I expected that. Set the outside unit on 4 concrete cap blocks fastened down with Tapcon bolts. The inside unit install was pretty simple, I had an attic space behind the wall so I could get in there and make all the connections easily. There were 3 different wires running between the indoor and outdoor units and I see no logic why they couldn't have been put in one cable. Again the instructions weren't clear on this and I ended up snaking the wires through, one at a time. I used a cheap vacuum pump that operates off an air compressor to purge the lines and then purged them as per the instructions. When I powered it up everything works fine. Have ran it occasionally for about a month now in heat mode only. No problems. Again, the instructions are not real clear about how the remote works so I'm sure I'm not using all the features available, but it does the job for what I bought it for. Time will tell on the durability.
Pros: Lots of Features, purchase price
Cons: inadequate instructions
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz

This product have great cooling features

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great machine and I love it. It cools the 12000 sq ft as advertised. The only thing I dislike is the remote control. The one I received doesn't go with the book.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from VT

Up date

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had the unit running for a few weeks now after my a/c guy finnished.Dont let enyone fool you into thinking its easy to install,without the proper tools.It took to guys four hours to finnish.My opinion is get a pro so you damage the unit.Be ready to pay an extra 5 to 6 hundred dollars.Ok after all that the cooling part works great it easly cools 1400 sq feet.The heater I dont know yet the only thing I know that it will only work down to 30 degrees
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet, Great Value
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
from Twentynine Palms, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Kinked lines and refridgerant leaked out

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I purchased this for my mom's house and the system was not easy to install. I paid an electrician (not an A/C guy) to install it and after about 2 months of trying to get clearer instructions and any information online he was unable to get it going. It was running but with no cold air. I ended up calling a A/C company to come out and troubleshoot. The lines had aparently been kinked and the refridgerant had leaked out. The cost was $45 a pound multiplied by 6 lbs of regridgerant $270 and replaced kinked lines with labor $75. The cost to install was $500 and an additional $345 to repair. $845 later the unit is now working as advertised. I recommend if you purchase this unit that you inspect the lines thoroughly when it is delivered and check for any kinks since this unit is delivered precharged.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
-5points
11out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Good Product..Horrible installation directions

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would not reccommend trying to install this unit on your own if you don't have any knowledge on air conditioning units the directions in the manual are very vague. If the manual had pictures and better instructions then the average home owner could do the installation on their own. You do NOT need a vaccum pump as previous customer reviews that I have read stated..after line set is installed to both units open one valuve, press the valuve for 2 seconds allowing air to escape, at that point open the other valuve and you are good to go.
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet, Stylish
Cons: Difficult to Install, not for someone without knowledge to install
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24,000 BTU 2 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump - 220V/60Hz

very nice piece of equipment

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i found this easy to nstall but did not know in advance i needed a pro to bleed it also the instructions cod be better
+3points
15out of 27found this review helpful.
1 2 >>