728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

The Suncast Aquawinder Automatic Hose Reel features a 125 ft. hose capacity for a standard 5/8 in. garden hose. This hose reel comes with a hose guide and leader hose and has a water-powered winding reel. Easily flip the lever on the side of the unit once you are finished using the hose and watch as the water powered hose reel re-winds your garden hose. Additional features include a discharge tube for excess water, leader to attach hose reel to outdoor faucet and garden stakes to secure unit to the ground. All-weather resin remains rust free for long-term outdoor use. The wicker design will compliment any patio or garden setting.
Overall rating:
2.947 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product10 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(7)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product10 of 18reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Review 1 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
JBinCanton
from Canton, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weak, have to help rewind

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the same model several years ago. After several years of service it finally wore out. So, I purchased another. This one is of lower quality from a function standpoint. The windup mechanism is not as strong as the first one I purchased.
Cons: weak have to help rewind
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Doodlebug
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just buy it!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great product! Every time I use this hose reel, I'm amazed at how it works. It's a simple flip of the lever and the hose starts winding back in. I use a 50 ft neverkink hose and the hose reel has no problem rewinding. I use the discharged water in a watering can to get to other flowerbeds my hose won't reach. I hated putting the hose away after work in the yard, now I find myself outdoors more often & my plants couldn't be happier! Go ahead and buy one...you'll become a believer as well.
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
dick
from New England
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Flimsy materials, poor design

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one worked OK for a couple of weeks, and then a plastic mount for one of the gears broke. It is cheap molded plastic and only about 1/4" in diameter. The second one pulled the guide out of its socket, the third one ate the hose and chewed it up in the gears, and even more parts were gathered and returned to HD.
The entire unit is made of thin plastic that is too flexible to hold up in most any normal use condition. The housing flexes and things pop apart. They go into self-destruct mode. I wish i had video to share. Speaking of video, their website only shows a theoretical operation of their product, not an actual working unit. This may work OK for a short while with a 50' or so light duty hose but it will not wrap even 100' of 5/8" hose. The hose guide will cause the hose to jumble wrap and either bind or get caught in the gears, none of which should happen. Unless you intend to assist this thing by helping it pull the hose in and making certain it is winding correctly, do not buy it.
Cons: Not Durable, does not meet expectations
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Cheftec
from Staten Island, NY
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a heavy duty hose and it worked great with it. If you expect it to wind up your hose in a pile or around objects it won't, I don't think any reel will. It does wind up 100 ft. of heavy duty hose easily if you lay the hose in front of it and it will do it fast if you open the hose sprayer to release the pressure(only the water in the hose comes out once you switch to wind).
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Darlene
from Wadsworth, OH, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes gardening more fun!

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I always hated to water my gardens with the hose because it was such a hassle to rewind it when I was finished. Now all I have to do is flip a switch and the Aquawinder does it for me. I was a little hesitant to spend that much money on a garden hose reel but it is worth every cent!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Andrew

Poor Quality

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Great concept but poor execution. Lasted about 7 months before the auto-winding stopped working.
After about 3 months of use, the hose were very hard to "pull".
4 months later, the thing is just broken. Made in the USA? Very poor quality and not worth the price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
OLDGOAT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for my back!

PostedApril 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm 75 and bending over to roll a hand cranked model was becoming too painful. I've been watering my front yard daily for over a week with no problems and no pain. I installed a 100 ft medium duty hose and it reels fast and smooth. I read reviews on lots of web sites and found that this model had good reviews. I am very happy with this product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
joedyi
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They used the cheapest material they could making this. I am now on my 3rd one hoping it will stay together. the first one i had worked for a week before if cracked and lost all pressure. the second one lasted two weeks before it stopped being able to reel up the hose. i use a 100ft garden hose not heavy duty not a cheap one either. i just put the 3rd one in and the leader hose is busted. thankfully home depot keeps taking this back. this time i'm just taking the store credit.
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
RDoc

Not very well made - lasted 1 1/2 seasons

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When it works, it's quite convenient. The problem is that it's full of poor quality plastic gears, which in our example failed after a year and a half of very light use.
Bottom line is it's a good ideas very poorly implemented.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
wheyguy
from Minnesota
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Worth it

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved it for 1.5 years and then it turned to junk. I am trying to find repair parts but that seems impossible. Great idea, bad execution.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Cath
from Aurora, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good for now,will see at end of season.

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Hose reels up nicely. Drain water in second hose into a
water can (as to not waste water) and use on plants. Extra
pressure of water is what makes the reeling occur.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
suer

very nice :)

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
love the automatic rewind and the guide keeps the hose nice and tidy. nice design and color
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Disappointed

Poorly executed...beware

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to replace a worn-out Hydro Industries Reel Smart unit we have had for eight or more years. The internals look exactly like the original Reel Smart, but the new design leaves much to be desired...this one is going back to HD tomorrow. Here are the specific problems:
The unit MUST be anchored to the ground because you are trying to pull 100' of hose out of it. No issue with that.. But the original Reel Smart had provisions for easily fastening to a wooden or concrete patio, and also allowed to you position the unit up close to a wall. The Suncast model only provided metal stakes...fine if you are putting it on the the lawn or dirt, but obviously not a solution for decks. The position of the retaining clips also makes it nearly impossible to screw fasteners (screws into wood or concrete anchors) if the unit is positioned close to a wall. So to get this to work for me (and for what I'd guess is the majority of the people who would use this product), I would have to improvise a bit...cutting plastic, drilling holds, etc. Why did they not anticipate this basic requirement (mounted on a deck/close to a wall)?
The second issue I have is construction quality. The panels (front, back, sides) of the original unit were screwed together, so everything stayed put. On the Suncast, the side panels are press-fit with "click/snap" fittings. Proper aliignment of the side panels is critical, since they hold the axles that hold the gears which make the product work. While trying to figure out how to install our unit, we flipped it over (very gently) and saw that the side panels had come loose...just enough to allow the one of the critical gears to disengage from it's drive gear. We pressed the sides back together, but I have zero confidence that the unit will hold together when we are pulling on the end of a 100' hose that is filled with water.
Bottom line...I think that a product manager really screwed up on this one. They took a very functional product, tried to take some cost out, and ended up with something that I can't even get installed without modifications, and I have no confidence will last very long in its intended use.
This is going back tomorrow. Sorry HD...somebody messed up on this one.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Anonymous
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Auto Hose winder

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is my second automatic hose winder that uses water pressure...I love the idea, and it winds up the hose conveniently, but it is sometimes challenging to pull the hose out...price is a bit high,but this is my second one, so I am sold on this feature!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
marty

product quality poor

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i could not recommend this brand at all. it is very poor quality an will only work properly until the warranty runs out.
calling the company is no help at all.
i rate this as junk.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Jan2013
from Porterville, CA 93257, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Hose reminder

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's late one nite and I got tired of tripping over the hose every time I went out to take trash so to Home Depot we went it was almost closing you didn't have what I needed so the the girl at said lets look on line there you had an automatically wound with waterpresser so my husband didn't so he didn't have to do anything except run the hose
The girl behind the counter sold us on it so she was kind enough to stay late and help us out on a few other things I don't know her name but she is a blessing to your store So from now I will shop Home Depot
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, nice basket weave pattern
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Lori
from Mound City, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the look!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great hose reel. I really love the look of it. Blends in with the surroundings well!
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
BaltimoreRavensFan

Don't Buy!!!

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose comes off of the track on a weekly basis and it takes about 15 minutes to get it back on.
Cons: doesn't operate properly
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
solly1212
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very easy to set-up and use.

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great space saver and organizing tool. Container color blends very well into landscape.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.