728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

The Suncast Aquawinder Automatic Hose Reel features a 125 ft. hose capacity for a standard 5/8 in. garden hose. This hose reel comes with a hose guide and leader hose and has a water-powered winding reel. Easily flip the lever on the side of the unit once you are finished using the hose and watch as the water powered hose reel re-winds your garden hose. Additional features include a discharge tube for excess water, leader to attach hose reel to outdoor faucet and garden stakes to secure unit to the ground. All-weather resin remains rust free for long-term outdoor use. The wicker design will compliment any patio or garden setting.
Overall rating:
3.096 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product30 of 50reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(14)
4
(13)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(16)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product30 of 50reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Review 1 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Janesville,Cal
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Hose Winder

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have owned several of these hose winders over the years. They seem to last a couple of years and due to a design flaw the handle used to rewind the hose breaks.It is plastic and always breaks in the same place. I continue to purchase this winder because I like it so much.It works great,making hose winding a pleasure.I'm a senior and hand winding the hose was difficult but this makes it so easy. They are attractive and very efficient until the handle breaks. It's worth it to me to replace every couple of years. A big plus for me is being able to put a 125 foot hose on this reel. Very easy to install.Stakes are provided to anchor it down but my husband made a sturdy bracket for ours.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Gaithersburg, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DISAPPOINTING PRODUCT

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have bought one AT LEAST once a year over the last 5-6 years for work but CANNOT RECOMMEND IT but just consider it as a cost of business. It is cheaply and poorly made for the price - now almost $100 but started around $70. Has NEVER changed or improved over the years and can be relied on to FAIL. INEVITABLY the CHEAP PLASTIC rewind selector will start to slip and will no longer engage even when the unit is being gently and properly operated.
Cons: Not Durable, shame on the manufacturer
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Marietta
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for 2 years

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this because I have congestive heart failure and could not hand wind my hose any longer. I worked great for the first year and then pulling the hose out was becoming difficult to the point of impossible. I went and bought another since I needed an automatic and the same thing happened. I called Suncast and they immediately had me look at the gears and sure enough teeth were missing. They sent new gears put I could not get the box apart, it is obviously made to go together fast in the factory but difficult to take apart. I noticed Suncast had a new model so purchased that and the same thing happened and the same gear was damaged.
I gave up after three. If you want a great automatic hose reel for two years this is for you.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

Absolutely Terrible!!!

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item should be taken off the shelves and the patent should be removed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from East Cobb, Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Water powered hose storage/rewinder

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The rewind hose reel was easy to hook up, The one drawback is the fact that the hose must be laid out horizontally (i.e. NOT bunched up or twisted) in a straight line almost perpendicular to the rewind port. Too much of an angle off center causes the rewind mechanism to stop. Also, the water line must be pressurized by leaving the inlet hose on full while turing off the hose at the hose nozzle. Some nozzles have handles and/or shapes that make it difficult for the rewind mechanism to pull the hose back in.
Don't forget to turn off the water inlet and relieve the hose pressure (open the nozzle) when you are finished.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

Lasted one season.

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lasted one season. Short warranty.
I had owned an earlier version made by an Israeli company. It worked great and lasted 6 years with 100 feet of hose on it.
So I bought the Suncast version with basket weave pattern (now apparently discontinued.) The plastic gears failed after one season.
It looks like Suncast bought the design and cheapened the construction so it is not reliable.
Maybe this newer Suncast model will work better. I hope so, but I'm not willing to risk it.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Bellevue, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Hose Reel Ever

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned Suncast products before and those with auto-rewind systems broke down within a few months even though I am not a heavy user (I guess things break down when you build a rewind mechanism with plastic cogs). But I figured that maybe Suncast had broken the code and fixed or improved its products...wrong! I bought this model and set it aside for about ten days before putting a hose on it and using it. I used it about three or four times in a two-week period and then went camping for five days, having left instructions for my daughter to water the bushes and flowers a couple of times. When I returned, she told me it failed the second time. I checked it out and it had a hard-over failure of the rewind mechanism and the hose could not be deployed for use. As soon as the water was turned on, the hose retracted even though the control arm was in the 'Rest' (not the 'Rewind') position. Cheap plastic construction by a company that apparently does not care about quality and durability and makes money by flooding the market with products people will buy and throw away.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

Gimmick Not Worth The Money

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Twice as expensive as simpler manual reels- gearing broke the second time I used it and there's no way to manually reel in the hose. Used with 50 foot light duty hose (well below load this thing is supposed to be able to handle)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The plastic thing holding hose inside messed up the first week.

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The rewind thing works well, except one of the first few usages, the hose while auto rewinding some how got next to the hose holder on the inside and wrapped itself into a big mess on the inside jamming everything. The fix was to put a big stake on the ground by the input to the re-winder so that the hose would not go completely to the left while rewinding which causes it to hop all the way over past the plastic piece that holds the hose. When it happened, it sort of bent the whole inside plastic coil thing so without the workaround it happens very easily and I have to turn it off and manually unjam everything and is huge pain. I had to put the stake permanently in the front to prevent the hose from going to the left to avoid the problem.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable, badly designed holder inside
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

Great product, but had to return first two with faulty gear

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
My brother has one of these and loves it. I bought one and had to return it because the return gear wasn't connected. I had the same problem with the second one. The third works fine so far. It's a nice product, but their quality control is not good.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: quality control
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from arkansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

automatic hose reel

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
when I opened the shipping box the reel had a large crack in the top corner. I returned it for a new one which I have not yet received. This will be the third one of these I have purchased. Each of the others lasted about one season. They are wonderful...when they are not broken. Which is why I keep buying them. I would be happy to upgrade to a model not so easily broken under normal use.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just buy it!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What a great product! Every time I use this hose reel, I'm amazed at how it works. It's a simple flip of the lever and the hose starts winding back in. I use a 50 ft neverkink hose and the hose reel has no problem rewinding. I use the discharged water in a watering can to get to other flowerbeds my hose won't reach. I hated putting the hose away after work in the yard, now I find myself outdoors more often & my plants couldn't be happier! Go ahead and buy one...you'll become a believer as well.
+27points
30out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

junk

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
will not do what it is advertised to do will not rewind properly.Very disapointed
Cons: does not work
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Canton, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weak, have to help rewind

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the same model several years ago. After several years of service it finally wore out. So, I purchased another. This one is of lower quality from a function standpoint. The windup mechanism is not as strong as the first one I purchased.
Cons: weak have to help rewind
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from New England
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Flimsy materials, poor design

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one worked OK for a couple of weeks, and then a plastic mount for one of the gears broke. It is cheap molded plastic and only about 1/4" in diameter. The second one pulled the guide out of its socket, the third one ate the hose and chewed it up in the gears, and even more parts were gathered and returned to HD.
The entire unit is made of thin plastic that is too flexible to hold up in most any normal use condition. The housing flexes and things pop apart. They go into self-destruct mode. I wish i had video to share. Speaking of video, their website only shows a theoretical operation of their product, not an actual working unit. This may work OK for a short while with a 50' or so light duty hose but it will not wrap even 100' of 5/8" hose. The hose guide will cause the hose to jumble wrap and either bind or get caught in the gears, none of which should happen. Unless you intend to assist this thing by helping it pull the hose in and making certain it is winding correctly, do not buy it.
Cons: Not Durable, does not meet expectations
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Whidbey Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very poor design

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The installation gets off to a very bad start as the first step is not physically possible - even in the accompanying drawing one can see that it cannot be achieved as drawn - the pins that hold the unit in place cannot go in vertically as shown. The inset of the pins holes in the reel case makes for a very hard time. And it cannot be installed flush up against anything - you need several inches to access the back to achieve any kind of anchoring.
Cons: very hard to install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pretty nice !

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love how neatly the hose is displayed in the backyard; and it reels in quite easily too. I would recommend this product, it adds a nice design to the backyard too.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Wadsworth, OH, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes gardening more fun!

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I always hated to water my gardens with the hose because it was such a hassle to rewind it when I was finished. Now all I have to do is flip a switch and the Aquawinder does it for me. I was a little hesitant to spend that much money on a garden hose reel but it is worth every cent!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Staten Island, NY
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a heavy duty hose and it worked great with it. If you expect it to wind up your hose in a pile or around objects it won't, I don't think any reel will. It does wind up 100 ft. of heavy duty hose easily if you lay the hose in front of it and it will do it fast if you open the hose sprayer to release the pressure(only the water in the hose comes out once you switch to wind).
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from King of Prussia, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart Trak, not so smart!

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
On the 3rd time using it the Smart Trak has the hose wound between the reel and the housing and after working on it for 1hr I cannot get it unwound from the outside of the reel. It is hopelessly bound up and I looked for how it is assembled, so that I don't break it, while taking it apart and cannot find anything on Suncast's website!
Cons: did not work as intended
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>