728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

The Suncast Aquawinder Automatic Hose Reel features a 125 ft. hose capacity for a standard 5/8 in. garden hose. This hose reel comes with a hose guide and leader hose and has a water-powered winding reel. Easily flip the lever on the side of the unit once you are finished using the hose and watch as the water powered hose reel re-winds your garden hose. Additional features include a discharge tube for excess water, leader to attach hose reel to outdoor faucet and garden stakes to secure unit to the ground. All-weather resin remains rust free for long-term outdoor use. The wicker design will compliment any patio or garden setting.
Overall rating:
2.815 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product14 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(11)
Quality 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product14 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Review 1 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from King of Prussia, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart Trak, not so smart!

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
On the 3rd time using it the Smart Trak has the hose wound between the reel and the housing and after working on it for 1hr I cannot get it unwound from the outside of the reel. It is hopelessly bound up and I looked for how it is assembled, so that I don't break it, while taking it apart and cannot find anything on Suncast's website!
Cons: did not work as intended
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

junk

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
will not do what it is advertised to do will not rewind properly.Very disapointed
Cons: does not work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Canton, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weak, have to help rewind

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the same model several years ago. After several years of service it finally wore out. So, I purchased another. This one is of lower quality from a function standpoint. The windup mechanism is not as strong as the first one I purchased.
Cons: weak have to help rewind
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Bristol PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Aquawinders

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great tool with one exception, if you need to place it on a patio or driveway where it can't be anchored it moves around when you try to rewind. I tried to weight it down but the lid would not support the weight needed to hold it in place. Other than this one minor flaw it is a great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Powell, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very limited parts available through Suncast!!!

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The reel worked great for almost an entire year. After that, a small plastic axle for a plastic gear snapped in two. Obviously there is no repairing this plastic part, so I tried to order what should be a $1 replacement part through Suncast. They only have about 6 parts available and the plastic axle is unfortunately not one of them. (Neither is the plastic gearing inside this unit which, being plastic, will become brittle and fail.) I checked the Suncast warranty. It should be noted that the only warranty is that the product is suitable for its intended purpose at the time of purchase. If it quits working after you use it, it is YOUR problem. I would NOT recommend this product!!!!!!!!
Cons: Not Durable, parts not available, terrible warranty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Denver
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so convenient after all

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Slower than slow. Broke the off and on retract handle on it. Would never buy another one.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: slow hose retracting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from New England
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Flimsy materials, poor design

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one worked OK for a couple of weeks, and then a plastic mount for one of the gears broke. It is cheap molded plastic and only about 1/4" in diameter. The second one pulled the guide out of its socket, the third one ate the hose and chewed it up in the gears, and even more parts were gathered and returned to HD.
The entire unit is made of thin plastic that is too flexible to hold up in most any normal use condition. The housing flexes and things pop apart. They go into self-destruct mode. I wish i had video to share. Speaking of video, their website only shows a theoretical operation of their product, not an actual working unit. This may work OK for a short while with a 50' or so light duty hose but it will not wrap even 100' of 5/8" hose. The hose guide will cause the hose to jumble wrap and either bind or get caught in the gears, none of which should happen. Unless you intend to assist this thing by helping it pull the hose in and making certain it is winding correctly, do not buy it.
Cons: Not Durable, does not meet expectations
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just buy it!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great product! Every time I use this hose reel, I'm amazed at how it works. It's a simple flip of the lever and the hose starts winding back in. I use a 50 ft neverkink hose and the hose reel has no problem rewinding. I use the discharged water in a watering can to get to other flowerbeds my hose won't reach. I hated putting the hose away after work in the yard, now I find myself outdoors more often & my plants couldn't be happier! Go ahead and buy one...you'll become a believer as well.
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

Rewinding hose reel

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best invention since sliced bread!! Looks great in the garden, easy to set up, easy to use, never have to rewind a garden hose again!! Will be a housewarming gift for all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Edmond, OK
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Like the aquawinder

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The hose winder does what it is supposed to do. I bought 4 of them and like them very much.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong, Good Shape
Cons: plastic gears break easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Staten Island, NY
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a heavy duty hose and it worked great with it. If you expect it to wind up your hose in a pile or around objects it won't, I don't think any reel will. It does wind up 100 ft. of heavy duty hose easily if you lay the hose in front of it and it will do it fast if you open the hose sprayer to release the pressure(only the water in the hose comes out once you switch to wind).
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Wadsworth, OH, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes gardening more fun!

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I always hated to water my gardens with the hose because it was such a hassle to rewind it when I was finished. Now all I have to do is flip a switch and the Aquawinder does it for me. I was a little hesitant to spend that much money on a garden hose reel but it is worth every cent!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Ri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Expensive

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Rewinding is so easy. Product does what it says it will do
Pros: Functionality, does what it says it will do., easy to use once installed
Cons: very expensive., cover has snapped at hinge., not too sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They used the cheapest material they could making this. I am now on my 3rd one hoping it will stay together. the first one i had worked for a week before if cracked and lost all pressure. the second one lasted two weeks before it stopped being able to reel up the hose. i use a 100ft garden hose not heavy duty not a cheap one either. i just put the 3rd one in and the leader hose is busted. thankfully home depot keeps taking this back. this time i'm just taking the store credit.
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

Poor Quality

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Great concept but poor execution. Lasted about 7 months before the auto-winding stopped working.
After about 3 months of use, the hose were very hard to "pull".
4 months later, the thing is just broken. Made in the USA? Very poor quality and not worth the price.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

Not very well made - lasted 1 1/2 seasons

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When it works, it's quite convenient. The problem is that it's full of poor quality plastic gears, which in our example failed after a year and a half of very light use.
Bottom line is it's a good ideas very poorly implemented.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for my back!

PostedApril 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm 75 and bending over to roll a hand cranked model was becoming too painful. I've been watering my front yard daily for over a week with no problems and no pain. I installed a 100 ft medium duty hose and it reels fast and smooth. I read reviews on lots of web sites and found that this model had good reviews. I am very happy with this product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Minnesota
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Worth it

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved it for 1.5 years and then it turned to junk. I am trying to find repair parts but that seems impossible. Great idea, bad execution.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Aurora, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good for now,will see at end of season.

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Hose reels up nicely. Drain water in second hose into a
water can (as to not waste water) and use on plants. Extra
pressure of water is what makes the reeling occur.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

very nice :)

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
love the automatic rewind and the guide keeps the hose nice and tidy. nice design and color
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>