728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

The Suncast Aquawinder Automatic Hose Reel features a 125 ft. hose capacity for a standard 5/8 in. garden hose. This hose reel comes with a hose guide and leader hose and has a water-powered winding reel. Easily flip the lever on the side of the unit once you are finished using the hose and watch as the water powered hose reel re-winds your garden hose. Additional features include a discharge tube for excess water, leader to attach hose reel to outdoor faucet and garden stakes to secure unit to the ground. All-weather resin remains rust free for long-term outdoor use. The wicker design will compliment any patio or garden setting.
Overall rating:
3.105 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
61%of customersrecommend this product22 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(10)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(11)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
61%of customersrecommend this product22 of 36reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Review 1 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Janesville,Cal
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Hose Winder

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have owned several of these hose winders over the years. They seem to last a couple of years and due to a design flaw the handle used to rewind the hose breaks.It is plastic and always breaks in the same place. I continue to purchase this winder because I like it so much.It works great,making hose winding a pleasure.I'm a senior and hand winding the hose was difficult but this makes it so easy. They are attractive and very efficient until the handle breaks. It's worth it to me to replace every couple of years. A big plus for me is being able to put a 125 foot hose on this reel. Very easy to install.Stakes are provided to anchor it down but my husband made a sturdy bracket for ours.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Marietta
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for 2 years

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this because I have congestive heart failure and could not hand wind my hose any longer. I worked great for the first year and then pulling the hose out was becoming difficult to the point of impossible. I went and bought another since I needed an automatic and the same thing happened. I called Suncast and they immediately had me look at the gears and sure enough teeth were missing. They sent new gears put I could not get the box apart, it is obviously made to go together fast in the factory but difficult to take apart. I noticed Suncast had a new model so purchased that and the same thing happened and the same gear was damaged.
I gave up after three. If you want a great automatic hose reel for two years this is for you.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Englewood CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New hose reel

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This certainly is easier than the handcrank ones I've used in the past. I hope it maintains it's durability, I've only had it 2 months. I notice a loss in overall water pressure coming out the nozzle. I don't know if that's from our water source or too much hose etc from the unit. It retracts very easy and better if I more or less guide the hose into the winder. My unit did not come with anything to secure it to the ground.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: lack of water pressure
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Whidbey Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very poor design

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The installation gets off to a very bad start as the first step is not physically possible - even in the accompanying drawing one can see that it cannot be achieved as drawn - the pins that hold the unit in place cannot go in vertically as shown. The inset of the pins holes in the reel case makes for a very hard time. And it cannot be installed flush up against anything - you need several inches to access the back to achieve any kind of anchoring.
Cons: very hard to install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Leesburg, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I works!

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this item because of the relatively high price. During assembly I found it had plastic hose connections and was afraid they would break or leak but they worked fine without issue. Assembly was easy.
The best part is - it works. It uses the water pressure from your hose to rewind the hose once you are ready to put it away. It has a mechanism to ensure the hose is wound evenly across the spindle. It comes with a small hose to attach to drain the water away that is used during the rewinding process.
It comes with two metal spikes so you can secure it to the ground. I was a little worried about that since mine is on my deck. I was afraid the force of the water during rewind might require the unit be secured but it worked fine without securing it.
You simply have to make sure the hose is laid out in a fairly straight line or a simple loop as it's not going to be able to untangle the hose or in my case - move the deck furniture out of the way.
The look is brown plastic made to imitate wicker - not great but no worse than other plastic hose reels.
There is a lot of plastic which makes me wonder about longevity. The price and quality (plastic) knock my rating down to a 4 - but it does work - we've been using it daily for about a month without issue.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from arkansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

automatic hose reel

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
when I opened the shipping box the reel had a large crack in the top corner. I returned it for a new one which I have not yet received. This will be the third one of these I have purchased. Each of the others lasted about one season. They are wonderful...when they are not broken. Which is why I keep buying them. I would be happy to upgrade to a model not so easily broken under normal use.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Riverside, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Absolutely a must if you ever struggled with a big hose.

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This equipment not only looks like a piece of furniture, it is so convenient and effortless to use.
Assembly was easy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just buy it!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What a great product! Every time I use this hose reel, I'm amazed at how it works. It's a simple flip of the lever and the hose starts winding back in. I use a 50 ft neverkink hose and the hose reel has no problem rewinding. I use the discharged water in a watering can to get to other flowerbeds my hose won't reach. I hated putting the hose away after work in the yard, now I find myself outdoors more often & my plants couldn't be happier! Go ahead and buy one...you'll become a believer as well.
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Canton, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weak, have to help rewind

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the same model several years ago. After several years of service it finally wore out. So, I purchased another. This one is of lower quality from a function standpoint. The windup mechanism is not as strong as the first one I purchased.
Cons: weak have to help rewind
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from New England
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Flimsy materials, poor design

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one worked OK for a couple of weeks, and then a plastic mount for one of the gears broke. It is cheap molded plastic and only about 1/4" in diameter. The second one pulled the guide out of its socket, the third one ate the hose and chewed it up in the gears, and even more parts were gathered and returned to HD.
The entire unit is made of thin plastic that is too flexible to hold up in most any normal use condition. The housing flexes and things pop apart. They go into self-destruct mode. I wish i had video to share. Speaking of video, their website only shows a theoretical operation of their product, not an actual working unit. This may work OK for a short while with a 50' or so light duty hose but it will not wrap even 100' of 5/8" hose. The hose guide will cause the hose to jumble wrap and either bind or get caught in the gears, none of which should happen. Unless you intend to assist this thing by helping it pull the hose in and making certain it is winding correctly, do not buy it.
Cons: Not Durable, does not meet expectations
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

junk

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
will not do what it is advertised to do will not rewind properly.Very disapointed
Cons: does not work
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from King of Prussia, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart Trak, not so smart!

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
On the 3rd time using it the Smart Trak has the hose wound between the reel and the housing and after working on it for 1hr I cannot get it unwound from the outside of the reel. It is hopelessly bound up and I looked for how it is assembled, so that I don't break it, while taking it apart and cannot find anything on Suncast's website!
Cons: did not work as intended
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Staten Island, NY
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a heavy duty hose and it worked great with it. If you expect it to wind up your hose in a pile or around objects it won't, I don't think any reel will. It does wind up 100 ft. of heavy duty hose easily if you lay the hose in front of it and it will do it fast if you open the hose sprayer to release the pressure(only the water in the hose comes out once you switch to wind).
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Wadsworth, OH, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes gardening more fun!

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I always hated to water my gardens with the hose because it was such a hassle to rewind it when I was finished. Now all I have to do is flip a switch and the Aquawinder does it for me. I was a little hesitant to spend that much money on a garden hose reel but it is worth every cent!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Geneva, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was rather easy to assemble. I purchased a 100 foot hose and the reel has no problem rewinding, as long as it does not hit a tree or get caught on the corner of the house. I was amazed at how well this product worked. Engineering marvel! Love the fact that it is MADE IN THE USA!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They used the cheapest material they could making this. I am now on my 3rd one hoping it will stay together. the first one i had worked for a week before if cracked and lost all pressure. the second one lasted two weeks before it stopped being able to reel up the hose. i use a 100ft garden hose not heavy duty not a cheap one either. i just put the 3rd one in and the leader hose is busted. thankfully home depot keeps taking this back. this time i'm just taking the store credit.
Cons: Not Durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
from Bristol PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Aquawinders

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great tool with one exception, if you need to place it on a patio or driveway where it can't be anchored it moves around when you try to rewind. I tried to weight it down but the lid would not support the weight needed to hold it in place. Other than this one minor flaw it is a great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for my back!

PostedApril 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm 75 and bending over to roll a hand cranked model was becoming too painful. I've been watering my front yard daily for over a week with no problems and no pain. I installed a 100 ft medium duty hose and it reels fast and smooth. I read reviews on lots of web sites and found that this model had good reviews. I am very happy with this product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

Poor Quality

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Great concept but poor execution. Lasted about 7 months before the auto-winding stopped working.
After about 3 months of use, the hose were very hard to "pull".
4 months later, the thing is just broken. Made in the USA? Very poor quality and not worth the price.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 125 ft. Aquawinder Auto Rewind Hose Reel

Not very well made - lasted 1 1/2 seasons

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When it works, it's quite convenient. The problem is that it's full of poor quality plastic gears, which in our example failed after a year and a half of very light use.
Bottom line is it's a good ideas very poorly implemented.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>