728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Wood Flooring or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)

Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)

The Hampton Bay Blackened Maple 8mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring features an eased edge and rich embossed finish to offer the look of real hardwood flooring. The floating-click design helps make assembly quick and easy over your existing concrete or wooden subfloors.
Overall rating:
3.308 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product14 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product14 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
Review 1 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
Anonymous
from Oklahoma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good flooring with but with some issues mentioned

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When we closed on our new home we got the keys and had Home Depot install this floor in our living room, dining room and hallway since we didn't have our tools with us (on the moving truck in route) and they were running an install promotion. The flooring went down easily for the guys they sent and were out in a day since we were doing the base boards ourselves later. It's been down about six months and it has been structurally sound, nice looking and relatively easy to clean. Being a dark floor, it does tend to show dirt and dog hair so keep your swiffer handy. I have had a few light top coat scratches from my big dogs claws skittering on it, but no gouging. For the price we paid it's actually performing quite well. Thinking of extending it into the foyer since we've worked with harder install laminates than this.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: will scratch if abused
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
Unhappy

This product looks great, but does not withstand normal wear.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We recently installed this flooring in the living room, dining room, kitchen and hallway. Prior to completing the installation we already had scratches and damages from our shoes. We used a vaccum during the installation to clean up dust and the wheels of the vaccum left permanent markes. With less than three months of use we are already replacing the floor.
Cons: Scratches Easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
Happy
from El Centro, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very happy

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with it. It is easy to clean and it looks beautiful.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
StephDamics
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put this floor down on the whole first floor of my new home. The look of it is beautiful! It looks like real wood. The product itself was easy to install, some of the pieces didn't want to snap into place, but for the most part- it was a good product to work with. Laying floor isn't easy no matter what the product, this is why I only gave it a 4 on ease of installation. Corners, closets, fireplace, bathroom, bay window... going around that stunk! But again, that would have been with any product.
I highly recommend this! Looks great and the price is excellent.
Beware that you will have to sweep once a day, the darker the floor, the more will show up. I'm a neat freak, so that doesn't bother me!
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
free

Purchased this floor to replce carpet in my entire house. Looks great, feels great; it is better than I expected it to be.

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this floor to replace carpet in my entire house. Looks great, feels great; it is better than I expected it to be.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
beachbabe
from delaware
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Looks great!

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This floor is very nice. I read the reviews before buying and am glad. I was not disappointed at all. The floor due to it's dark coloring does show footprints and dust, but I knew that from the other reviews. My rooms look great and I'm very pleased with the results.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
ErinB
from Burke, VA, USA

Beautiful Floor!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Initially we wanted to only install this flooring in our den but now that it's in, we want it everywhere!
My husband and I installed it ourselves and it went in beautifully. Cuts easily and has completely changed the appearance of the den from just a room, to an elegant yet cozy spot.
We have dogs, cats and a preschooler and the floor is so far holding up well. Yes, you can see paw marks when the light reflects on it, as some other reviews have said but that doesn't bother us, and it cleans up well and easily.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Cons: tap pieces in carefully edges can bend
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
sparkie

Beautiful floor, but hard to keep clean

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased this for our daughter's bedroom and it is gorgeous w/ the walls that she sponge painted. I think it has a sort of "old world" feel. It is hard to keep clean and bare feet leave smudges, but she had her heart set on a dark floor. It has been down for about 3-4 months and seems very durable.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, lovely antique look
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
LonghornGirl

Do Not Recommend

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These floors are nice looking, but they are cheap. We have had them since December 2012, and there are scratches everywhere. We think they are from my 18 month old's Thomas the Train ride on, but we don't know for sure. We have used several brands of laminate flooring, and they were all very durable. We have these in our entire 3200 sq ft house, and I am so over them. I strongly encourage anyone who is thinking about purchasing these floors to find something else.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily, cheap
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
Timmy
from Oxford, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product for the price

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for our living room to replace the carpet. Installation was a breeze, and it looks great. Its been down about a month and its more forgiving than we thought it would be. We like it so much we are getting more for our family room and dining room. Good value for the price.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
mindy
from fishers
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

worst purchase ever

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This floor looks horrible. Always looks dirty. Even from barefoot prints. Scratches every where from any little thing. Shows dirt. I am mopping every other day and I am so not a neat freak. Leaves water spots even from damp mop. All furniture has to have pads under it or it leaves scratches. Dropped a fork on the floor and it gouged a mark in the floor. Warranty is supposed to be for 50 years and after one month the inspector said it is not covered. Who would want a floor that looks like this
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
RDUB
from Wyoming, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value, and looks amazing!

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first attempt to install flooring. After a box or two, it was a breeze. The floor loos so much like real hardwood, you would almost have to get down and feel it with your hands to be able to tell the difference. It was also a GREAT value. Under $2.00 a sq ft, you can't beat that.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
jojo
from owensboro
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love it, easy to install. It sure dont take a pro to put down this floor!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
NeilD

Great looking floor, easy to install

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Some of the reviews said this product is difficult/frustrating to install. Thought it went smoothly with the proper tools (tapping block, etc). Only complaint is there are a couple areas where we had to cut the planks and the seam is showing. Tapped the heck out of them, but they wouldn't lock. Ended up filling with stain/touch-up pens.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Looks Great, Modern, Comfortable, Looks High End
Cons: Hard to Remove, Difficult to Clean
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
Tmurphy379
from Algonquin Illinois
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bad choice

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought over $3000 in this flooring for our new home in June of 2012, during the install I noticed corner would crack pretty easily. We have 2 dogs and their nails scratch the floor if we don't keep on top of trimming them, their food and water discs scratch the floors as well as the Rubbermaid container we store their food in, our kitchen table and chairs scratch the floor even with felt pats under them. We live in Chicago so snow is unavoidable, well if you walk on this floor with wet shoes you better wipe up any water immediately because within 5-10 minutes e edges will swell up perminantly. Also we have now noticed randomly boards are separating end to end and lengthwise. I am currently in touch with Home Depot and the manufacturer to see if someone is gonna stand by this product and make something right! Overall if you install it and never put furniture on it, walk on it, touch it or look at it, this product is great, but it cannot hold up to everyday life!
Pros: looks good the day you install it downhill after
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
SarahS
from West Virginia, USA

I love this floor!

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We put 463 sq. ft. Of this flooring down. It looks just as good as it does in the Home Depot stock photos. It went down as easily as one would expect. The biggest majority of ours went in long sections with several sections connected and snapped in place by 4 people. The only drawback to this floor that I see is how easily it shows dirt and pet hair. It cleans up quickly and easily though. We have a hyper 12 pound Jack Russell Terrier and so far the floor doesn't show any sign that she even lives here.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
Melissa

Never clean!

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very pretty once installed but only at first. This is the hardest thing ever to clean. It never looks clean! I would not choose this product if I could go back and do it again.
Pros: Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
Hatemyfloor
from Nj
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awful

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed the floor six months ago, and it is not holding up well at all. Scratches and scuff marks all over and nothing will remove them. Never again!
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
Iceman
from Roanoke, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product installed with ease

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We used this flooring to cover approx 350 sq ft. This flooring was easier to install than others that I have worked with. Used a foam pad under the flooring. Ordered flooring online and picked up in store when recieved a text message stating it was ready.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Blackened Maple 8 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47 1/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (19.13 sq. ft./case)
Leigh34
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks good but is a pain in the butt to keep clean

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really like the way this floor looks but I do not recommend this for high traffic areas! There are already many scratches I have to vacuum and mop it everyday sometimes multiple times, it shows many smudges and footprints after a couple of hours from cleaning I feel it needs to be cleaned again. I'm very disappointed in this product
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Comfortable
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 >>