728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Grilling Cedar Planks

Grilling Cedar Planks

Capture smoky rich flavor within your fish, poultry, other meat, or vegetables using Brinkmann's Cedar Grilling Planks. Two planks are included and they designed for use on a gas or charcoal grill. At nearly one inch thick these sturdy planks will keep are wide enough to accommodate a full-size salmon fillet. Enhance your food's flavor with Brinkmann's Cedar Grilling Planks.
Overall rating:
3.947 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product16 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(7)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product16 of 18reviews
Customer reviews for Grilling Cedar Planks
Review 1 for Grilling Cedar Planks
from Roswell, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for grilling salmon

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The planks are not as fragrant as some I've used before but still provide a nice addition to summer grilling.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Grilling Cedar Planks
from San Ramon, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love the taste of things cooked on cedar planks

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use the cedar planks to cook fish on the grill and I love the taste of the finished product. Prior to cooking, you soak the planks in water or other liquid for an hour or two. While the boards are soaking, you can marinate or prepare your fish. When you're ready, you put the planks on the grill and put the fish on the planks. A Costco sized piece of salmon cooks in about 30 minutes. The fish comes out tasting slightly smoky. The planks help to distribute the heat evenly so the fish cooks evenly too. I have found it best to use indirect heat or the planks will burn up quickly. Even with indirect heat, the planks will get charred so they don't last forever but that's how they're designed to work. Since discovering cedar plank cooking, I've done it multiple times and it's been delicious every time. Even when I used direct heat, the planks burned but the fish was still excellent. Cedar planks are now my favorite way to cook fish.
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Grilling Cedar Planks
from Williamsburg, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cedar Grilling Planks

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Cedar Planks came packaged two in the pack. They are not thick but thin planks. I soaked one plank overnight in water and used it to grill two slices of salmon.
I used a medium low flame on my grill and after maybe 10 minutes closed the lid to get a better smokey flavoring. I did get the smokey flavoring also a very scorched cedar plank. Even on a medium low flame the plank caught on fire. It did not affect the salmon but I do not expect but only one more grilling time with the plank.
They are good for maybe two grilling times but they will catch on fire even over a medium low flame.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: burns easily, few uses, plank should be thicker
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Grilling Cedar Planks

Didn't Burn Up

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I soaked the plank for a couple of hours. I cooked the salmon on top, skin side down over direct heat on a gas grill. I kept the temperature inside around 350F. The plank charred a bit, but didn't burn up. It smoked a little. The salmon had a good taste, but I didn't really feel the cedar in it. It could definitely be used again, but the packaging says for one use only. I guess it's for food safety. It does seem a bit expensive for just one use.
I give it 4 stars instead of 3 because it didn't burn up.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
Cons: expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Grilling Cedar Planks
from SE Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Imparts subtle flavor

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Brinkman GRILLING CEDAR PLANKS infused my fish with a subtle, yet delicious flavor. The flavor was similar to having smoked fish, yet the fish remained moist and flaky. Just make sure you soak these planks well, say about 1 hour or more, so they don’t burn up the first use. As some other reviewers stated, they soaked them overnight. I found this to be a little overkill, as 2 hours did fine for me as long as I kept it mostly on indirect heat. (Charcoal grillers, build your fire off to one side and place the plank on the other side. Propane grillers, light both sides for about 2 minutes, then turn off the side with the plank on it.)
I agree with one reviewer that it seems a little costly for only one, maybe two uses, but I really enjoyed using it. I am looking forward to making some of these in cherry and white oak, too! Bon apetit!
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: will eventually burn up
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Grilling Cedar Planks
from St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Gave as a birthday gift to a friend. Cost 3 times paid in past.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bought from Home Depot since I did not have time to shop for blanks. Normally I would have bought 6 in a package for what I paid for 2. Plus the packaging did not say they should be soaked first. Fortunately the instructions in the inside told my friend how to use them.
Planks are a good way to cook fish. Just not from Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Grilling Cedar Planks

Been on the hunt for this quality for far too long

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Brinkman Grilling Cedar planks meet all of the requirements for a high quality grilling cedar plank. I have been searching for planks of this quality for so long, I nearly gave up on finding great planks. Competitor planks are too thin, very rough cut on the plane that get splinters in your food, inconsistent sizes and quality of wood within a pack, etc.
However, the Brinkman Grilling Cedar Planks have NONE of those faults. In fact, the package comes with two evenly sized planks that are so thick, you can use them multiple times without any loss of flavor. The planks are so smooth you would think they were made for flooring, definitely no splinters or stuck food there! I will ONLY get the Brinkman Grilling Cedar Planks from now on.
Tip: be sure to soak them overnight in water before grilling. You will get a lovely smoke from the planks this way and they will last longer as they do not burn/char.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Grilling Cedar Planks

worked great soaked in a cabernet.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
soaked the boards in a cabernet for three hours. definitely getting more of these soon!
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Small Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Grilling Cedar Planks
from Port Charlotte FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just OK

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The only reason I would recommend these planks is that they were the only ones I could find that did not need to be ordered online. I needed one right away for the recipe that I was using. They are pretty thin. After soaking for 24 hours, the planks were set on our Weber grill right over the flames as instructed. We kept the temperature at 350 with the lid shut for a while but the salmon pieces were barely cooking. We turned the grill up to high, charred the planks a bit, and kept the lid closed. Both planks warped. The salmon finally cooked. It tasted slightly of cedar but was not what we had hoped.
Pros: available in store
Cons: warped, too thin
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Grilling Cedar Planks
from Kissimmee, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Salmon never tastes so good.

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been cooking salmon with cedar planks, and these planks bring out great flavor of the fish. No more charring one side of the fish, and no more scrapping fish of the grill. I marinated the salmon right on the plank, left it overnight, and placed the whole plank on the BBQ. 20 minutes later... perfect meal. Be sure to soak the plank for 1/2 day to allow it to swell up... the water will keep the plank from burning on the BBQ, and as the water evaporates, it adds the cedar smell to the food.
I found that I am able to re-use the plank twice, as long as I freeze it after use. This prevent bacteria growth and save money/resource a little bit... Rinse it off really well (don't use soap), keep it wet, wrap it in foil, and freeze it... it will be ready to go next time to cook.
Pros: Sturdy, add good taste to food, convenient size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Grilling Cedar Planks

Planks were thinner that expected.

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not get expected taste or smoke from planks. They did burn slowly after soaking, but smoke and flavor just not there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Grilling Cedar Planks
from Kansas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used these packs several times for salmon and they work well as long as you soak them first.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Grilling Cedar Planks
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Soak first!

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had not used cedar grilling planks in years, and forgot that they need to be soaked first. Unfortunately the instructions to do so are on the INSIDE of the package, so I was quite disappointed when I went to toss them on the grill and realized - not today! Chalk that up to user-error, but it would have been great to see that on the outside of the package.
Two weeks later I did the recommended overnight soak and actually was able to use my planks. There was a slight smokey flavor to the salmon, but the difference between using the planks versus using tinfoil was not dramatic. I will keep experimenting (I've read soaking the planks in wine can add a nice flavor but have not tried it yet) but not sure I would run out to buy new planks when these are too charred to use.
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: instructions on the inside
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Grilling Cedar Planks
from New Mexico, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, but there is a learning curve

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We cook salmon fillets on the propane grill a few times a month. Usually, I use a greased coated stainless tray and that works fine. Decided to try these for the cedar flavor.
The first test didn't work out very well as the grill wasn't hot enough and there was minimal flavor. The second time around worked out much better as I soaked the plank in water for a few hours, and cranked-up the heat, and the smoked flavor was a nice addition.
Next time around, I plan on cooking the fillet skin side-up, then flipping it over, reducing the heat a bit, and adding lemon slices.
I hate to throw these out after one use, and they do char a bit. After rinsing, I'm not sure to put them. For now, the used planks are stored in the oven with the pizza stone. Just because of the storage issue, we'll buy these from time to time, but won't use them every weekend.
Pros: Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Grilling Cedar Planks
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thicker than most planks - Soak for 30 minutes

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These planks are about 50% thicker than the ones from the grocery store. They last longer before burning up, but the smoke taste is not as strong. Expect these to lastes 2-5 grillings. Each time you use it, the plank will get more charred. Do not wash with soap.
We soak the plant in water for 30 minutes, put the plank on our gas grill, add salmon and wait 10 -15 minutes. We do not flip the salmon and keep the grill heated to about 450 degrees. It is important to not overcook the fish and get it dried out.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, thick
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Grilling Cedar Planks

Great for a few use'

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is great, but doesn't last long. Have you ever used wooden shiskabob spears? If you have, then you know that they must be soaked for at least a half hour before use, but preferably over night (12+ hours). This is the same deal. You soak it to prevent it from becoming firewood inside the grill. However the water makes it warp, and upon grilling, it warps even more. Also mine I soaked over night (maybe 15 hours), and the corner of it still turned to charcoal. Though I've only used this once, I predict them being good for 3-5 uses each. By then they'll likely be mostly burned up.
The natural wood does add flavor, as well as a nice aroma. Now do note, that this is a flat surface that you are cooking on. In other words your food will not get the crisp crust it normally does from grilling. The outside will not cook as rapidly. With this being used, the grill turns into more of an oven. So the item becomes more tender, but sacrifices the great outer crunch.
Personally I would only recommend this for fish, shrimp, or things along those lines. Things that either fall apart too easily, or are too small and too many in numbers to easily manage unless speared. The planks are each roughly 1 foot by half foot. Plenty to cook a large amount of shrimp, or a few fillets.
Pros: Dishwasher Safe, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: doesn't last long.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Grilling Cedar Planks
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Imparts good flavor, a bit too thin

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these planks for use in BBQing salmon steak. While the flavor obtained from using them was good, the thickness of planks was barely adequate to get them through the needed cooking time before disintegrating and curling. A minimum of 3/4" thickness or even 1" would be better.
Pros: Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: a bit too thin
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Grilling Cedar Planks
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, makes food taste awesome!

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These cedar planks made my grilled salmon taste great! I had more salmon than would fit one plank, so I used the same plank twice. I soaked it overnight the first night, put the salmon on the plank, topped it with sliced tomatoes, and then put the plank into an aluminum foil pan to prevent flare ups from the fire on my gas grill. A couple of times, I sprayed the edges of the plank to keep it from drying out while cooking the fish. This worked really well. Then after eating the fish that night, I scraped and rinsed off the plank and put it back into a pan to soak it again over night. I cooked the fish the same way using the foil pan the second time which preserved the plank so that I can use it again. The instructions say that it is only good for one use, but I have used one plank twice and it still can be re-used. The price is reasonable, especially since you can get more than one use out of each plank. I think that soaking overnight is the best way to ensure that it is thoroughly wet. It makes your food taste really good!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Grilling Cedar Planks
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not my favorite flavor.

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We used it on salmon and chicken. Not my favorite as far as wood flavors go. I am not a big fish eater like my wife is. I still prefer mesquite and hickory for non-fish meats and vegetables.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: fish only
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.