728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Humidifiers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.

2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.

This multi-room humidifier makes maintaining proper humidity levels easier than ever. Our humidifiers work by adding invisible moisture to your environment by moving dry air through a saturated wick. Maintaining proper humidity levels between 30-50% in your home/office/workplace has been scientifically proven to help prevent the flu and allergies. Proper humidity hydrates your skin, alleviates dry eyes, scratchy throats and can reduce snoring. With a doctor's approval increased humidity can reduce asthma and allergy symptoms. It also protects fine furniture, musical instruments, collectibles and wood floors. Proper humidity makes you feel warmer allowing you to lower your thermostat setting which will save money.
Overall rating:
4.213 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product52 of 60reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(34)
4
(18)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product52 of 60reviews
Customer reviews for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
Review 1 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Cumming, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Digital controls keep exact humidity level

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This humidifier keeps the humidity at the exact level you set it. I have had other humidifiers in the past that would not turn on or off unless the humidity level changed drastically. Love it! Getting ready to purchase another one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Burke, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Watchout

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this for about 3 months. The cost is great but only if you don't add in all the wick filter replacements. I have not tried, but have read that if you use soft water it will not be a problem? But soft water can be expensive? During the past 3 months I have had to replace the wick filter 3 times. So when you add in the wick filter replacements you end up paying more. The first wick filter I noticed that there was a red - orange band that started in the middle of the wick filter about 2 inches wide. So I replaced it with another wick filter. One month later again, starting getting a "CF" code and noticed that the filter had turned a dark yellow. Now another wick filter wow. The wick filter is around $12 - $25 each time you replace. I do have to say that I noticed a big difference each time a new filter replacement. The humid stayed at the level set, but about the 3rd week the humid did not stay at the level then soon after a musty smell, then the "CF" code. Maybe it is just that my water (public water) is very hard and causes a wick filter replacement about once a month? And to top it off the stores do not carry the wick filter replacement and you end up waiting about 10 days with the "CF" code and the musty smell until the replacement comes in. So if you are going to buy this humidifier, please buy about 3 - 6 replacement filters ahead of time.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: wick filter replacment
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Reston, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works well for my small apartment

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I recently moved into an apartment and the air was getting much too dry during the winter so I got this humidifier. It works wells, keeping the humidity level pretty constant (not just according to the gauge on the humidifier but my other, separate, gauge also.) I fill it twice a day but could probably get by with once a day if I let it run completely dry before refilling. As others have mentioned, the highest fan level is somewhat loud but the next level down is barely noticeable and the lowest level is hard to hear. It is not stylist looking but does the job. Overall, I am really pleased with it. I hope it will work as well next year.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Idyllwild, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Stopped working

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is an update to my recent review. Moving the cord slightly started causing the machine to shut off. Then it stopped pulling water up in the filter altogether. Will be returning and looking for another brand.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Hornbrook, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY GOOD PRODUCT

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had my unit for 2 years now and keep it running all year round. It still works perfectly. I love the automatic feature and the ability to set the humidity. I agree with other reviews that the square footage is off. It does not work well with a 1700 square foot house. I have an additional one in my bedroom. The filters can be costly but I found that if you rinse them out carefully and dry them in the oven at 200 degrees I can keep a filter much longer. I have had several units and this is the best so far. If this one is still available when I need a new one I will buy this again.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.

Great humidifier

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the 2nd time I bought this same model. They work well, getting a lot of water into the air during this dry winter season.
The first is still in service after 2 years, handling a different portion of the household. Wicks are reasonably easy to replace and easy to find online. It is also easy to clean when needed. I spray a little disinfectant in each refill which seems to extend the life of each wick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from New Hampshire
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Liked it so much we bought a 2nd one!

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best humidifier we have ever owned. It has been working steady for a few years now, so we decided to buy one for our daughter and her family. Unlike the mist types that spew white particles all over your furniture, this one sends off clean water vapor. It is easy to refill which we seem to do daily to keep the humidity to the level we want. We fill the tank upside down at the kitchen sink and then flip it by the handle when we get it back to the unit. If the unit has gone dry, it will need 2 refills to totally fill it, as the first full container immediately empties into the unit base. We set the unit on a plastic place mat to catch any drips, and occasionally drip water on the floor in transit from the sink. Overall, a great humidifier!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from 06877
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No problem, so far in first two weeks

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The only way, IMO, that the 1700 sq. ft. would be attained is if it was in one room. I did not make this purchase expecting this much performance. Filter cleaning time will add more info.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Youngstown, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good purchase

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to use and works great in my 1,500 sq. ft. home.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from wilmington nc
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Machine!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The unit is very quiet and very efficient. It's rated for 1700 sq ft, and raises the average humidity in my single story 2100 sq ft home at least 10-15 % during heating season.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Placitas,NM
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy with purchase

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Unit operates quietly and produces good humidity levels in a short period of time. Best for large rooms. We have recommended this unit to friends.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Wallingford, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Humidifier

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Based on reviews I have read, I ordered this humidifier as a replacement for a older name brand unit. I have not been disappointed and am more than pleased with this purchase. It runs for more than a day on a fill and is very quiet. You hardly know it is running. Even though I run the fan on low it maintains the humidify where I want it. All in all a great unit.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Monroe, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to set up but doesn't cover area as advertised

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this humidifier as I have radiator heat in my home. I have a whole house one on the main floor and wanted something to cover the second floor on the opposite side of the house. It cannot get the humidity to 35% (barely 30%) and runs constantly. Maybe there's too much area, but I figured between the two I'd be ok. This probably would work for a master bedroom or just a couple of rooms. Set up is real easy and operates/fills easily.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: does not cover area advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Tonkawa, OK
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase!

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very quite, easy to fill and helps with the dryness in our house. Depending on how much our furnace runs, it usually needs to be filled morning and evening.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Reno, Nevada
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good humidifier, very quiet when on low and medium speed. I like that you can set the humidity level that you want and the machine will shut off when it gets to that level. It does not take up a lot of space.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.

Great humidifier at nice price. Hope they continue the product

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great humidifer at a nice price.
The size is appropriate. Has 3 fan speed settings with the sound at lowest settings barely noticeable.
I usually keep it one at high settings for an hour or so and then at medium speed for couple of hours to raise humidity before turning to lowest setting. With the reservoir capacity I need to fill it only once every couple of days.
Also gifted one of these to a friend who just moved in this area.
Seems like they are phasing out the product. The Homedepot stores dont carry this product and had to order online on homedepot.com.
I previously bought the honeywell quiet care cool mist multiroom humidifier. While that humidifier was nice at quickly raising humidity levels, it was loud, even at the lowest fan speed setting. Had to return it within 2 days.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, lowest fan speed is quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Boston, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent price, but has a few flaws.

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these on a black Friday sale but am hesitant to use it as I noticed a major issue upon unboxing - one can't see into the reservoir to see if it needs cleaning. I have another evaporative humidifier and can list the pros of why I bought it below and cons of my unboxing and experience with my other unit below.
Pros:
Low initial cost
Won't over humidify
Auto low water shutoff
Medium size footprint
Quiet enough if you only need to humidify 850 sq ft
Huge (sq ft) coverage
Cons:
Cools the air - acts like a swamp cooler which can make it harder to keep you house at temperature.
No cap to unscrew - Can't see into the reservoir to determine if it needs cleaning!
Small Reservoir - must fill 3 times a day on max setting!!
Costly filters - need to be changed every 2 weeks to 2 months depending on how hard your water is / how much maintenance you are willing to put into them - new filters are about $15 a pop.
Loudness - max setting is loud (as it always is for evaporative humidifiers)
Alternatives:
I have a Honeywell evaporate humidifier that is essentially the same but uses two 3 gallon tanks (6 gallons) that easily stand upright while filling. It uses 3 smaller filters and doesn't have an auto shutoff when the reservoir dries out, but I'd still recommend it over this one due to it's ease of cleaning, and filling (when one tank runs out you still have a back up tank, so you just keep alternating filling empty tanks).
My parents have an upright wooden box style humidifiers that you use a pitcher to pour water, and while a bit more difficult to fill requires the least amount of maintenance. It works by rotating plastic netting like a conveyor belt though the reservoir and over the fan that blows up the moisture. As far as portable evaporative systems, this is what I'd buy if I could afford it.
Overall, if you have hard water, evaporative style of humidifiers are going to require a lot of maintenance and/or new filters and thus is not recommended.
Ultrasonic humidifiers also act like swamp coolers, and it is difficult (but not impossible) to find ones that can cover this kind of area, and comparative coverage is much more costly. They re the quietest of all humidifiers and maintenance is minimal, but they do leave behind a white powder of the precipitated impurities in the water. I haven't tried one specifically, but hear the white powder is particularly bad if you have hard water and thus isn't recommended. Nonetheless, for those of us with hard water I can't imagine they are much more work than evaporative humidifiers. Thus, if you can find comparable coverage and can afford the markup, it might be better to go with one of these type of systems.
Steam based humidifiers solve the swamp cooler effect, but all portable units I've found don't cover nearly the same amount of area as this unit however one might consider just buying 3 separate ones, but I'm guessing it's not cost effective. Further, often people complain about bacterial mold buildup with these units as they tend to warm their reservoirs as well.
There are 2 main types of portable steam humidifiers. filamentous and conductive. Filamentous work much like a toaster oven, but the filaments are often covered to make it easier to clean the enviable lime scale build up. Indeed, just spraying a little vinegar on the interior pieces of the apparatus makes for easy clean-up / maintenance. Conductive steam humidifiers uses the waters own conductivity and essentially electrifies the water, the waters own resistance provides the friction for heat generation, thus it is more efficient than the filament - in fact, it's probably the best way to electrically generate steam. The caveat here is that distilled water wont conduct, thus hard water is actually a plus with conductivity based steam generation. In fact, if you have hard water either type of steam humidification will provide you with the lowest amount of maintenance possible. The electrode based system however is more difficult to clean, and new electrodes are sometimes sold as a disposable component.
All in all, portable humidifiers require a lot of attention. Ideally there would be some sort of direct-line / portable system hybrid that could tap into your filtered drinking water supply and gas stove, but no such monster exists.
Ultrasonic wall mounted direct-line units made for offices do exist, but they are hard to find (fortunately Home Depot sells one), that are extremely low maintenance, but they cost much more. However, as I hate filling reservoirs, I'll probably try the Home Depot unit (steam based ones are 3x the cost).
Steam and evaporative wall units don't seem to exist (though I didn't look hard for evaporative ones) as a complete system. But are available for those of you with heating duct work (HVAC), and I'd what I'd recommend getting if you do already have duct work (for those with hard water, you want a conductivity based system as it will be the lowest maintenance). There are often modification kits (like the Aprilaire 865) for those without duct work, but I haven't found any that don't require cutting large holes in my house.
I've obviously waisted a lot of time on this - hope it helps someone else.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, low cost, realitively quiet on low setting
Cons: hard to maintence, lots of maintince, small resivor, noisy on highest setting
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Sparta, Mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is the best humidifier I have ever had.

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My humidifier arrived shortly after the order was placed, in a matter of days, well packed and in good condition. It is not quiet, but it will regulate humidity with an acceptable level of noise. The humidifier will start shortly after my furnace cycles on, and stops shortly after when the set humidity is achieved. If it would only fill itself! I do have to refill the tank daily, but it is easy to fill and reset on the humidifier. The need to refill is a good indicator it is doing its job! Got to go, tank needs refilling now!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Wilmington, DE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Humidifier review

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would NOT recommend this humidifier. It worked fine for a week. Then it became very difficult to seat it correctly to start the fan. I am returning it for a refund.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.

Great product!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use & works great! My neighbor has had the larger version for years & highly recommended I purchase this product. I'm very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>