728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Humidifiers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.

2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.

This multi-room humidifier makes maintaining proper humidity levels easier than ever. Our humidifiers work by adding invisible moisture to your environment by moving dry air through a saturated wick. Maintaining proper humidity levels between 30-50% in your home/office/workplace has been scientifically proven to help prevent the flu and allergies. Proper humidity hydrates your skin, alleviates dry eyes, scratchy throats and can reduce snoring. With a doctor's approval increased humidity can reduce asthma and allergy symptoms. It also protects fine furniture, musical instruments, collectibles and wood floors. Proper humidity makes you feel warmer allowing you to lower your thermostat setting which will save money.
Overall rating:
4.278 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product30 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product30 of 35reviews
Customer reviews for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
Review 1 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Cumming, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Digital controls keep exact humidity level

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This humidifier keeps the humidity at the exact level you set it. I have had other humidifiers in the past that would not turn on or off unless the humidity level changed drastically. Love it! Getting ready to purchase another one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Hornbrook, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY GOOD PRODUCT

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had my unit for 2 years now and keep it running all year round. It still works perfectly. I love the automatic feature and the ability to set the humidity. I agree with other reviews that the square footage is off. It does not work well with a 1700 square foot house. I have an additional one in my bedroom. The filters can be costly but I found that if you rinse them out carefully and dry them in the oven at 200 degrees I can keep a filter much longer. I have had several units and this is the best so far. If this one is still available when I need a new one I will buy this again.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Prairie Village Kansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Still the best choice

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my second unit replacing one I had for 4 years. The old unit did not survive a fall down the basement steps.. I did plenty of research of other brands but they all had different issues. This humidifier is still the best choice. It runs quiet and maintains the humidity correctly. The filter is inexpensive and easy to replace. I had to return the first unit I ordered because it was reading the humidity high. HD gave me $10 off the replacement unit for my trouble. The replacement had vibration issues and the humidity sensor was still a little High but workable. I think the quality control on this product has slipped over the years. I decided to keep it. I balanced the fan blades and it runs quietly now. I wish Home Depot would stock these in the store.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from MARSHFIELD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I regret the purchase

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It works fine, etc. , but the tank filler is all plastic and u stand there refilling it w/o actually seeing the water level yr up to til it pours over yr hand. I am actually thinking of returning it, if they allow and replace it for something much better ... I bought it online, I suggest u actually go to the store and look at the humidifiers in person.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: u cannot see through the fill-up tank.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Effective Product

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Humidifier is working great being used in a 1,600 sq. ft. home with a warm air furnace.
The hardwood floors, furniture and musical instruments are maintaining a satisfactory moisture level.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Boston, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent price, but has a few flaws.

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these on a black Friday sale but am hesitant to use it as I noticed a major issue upon unboxing - one can't see into the reservoir to see if it needs cleaning. I have another evaporative humidifier and can list the pros of why I bought it below and cons of my unboxing and experience with my other unit below.
Pros:
Low initial cost
Won't over humidify
Auto low water shutoff
Medium size footprint
Quiet enough if you only need to humidify 850 sq ft
Huge (sq ft) coverage
Cons:
Cools the air - acts like a swamp cooler which can make it harder to keep you house at temperature.
No cap to unscrew - Can't see into the reservoir to determine if it needs cleaning!
Small Reservoir - must fill 3 times a day on max setting!!
Costly filters - need to be changed every 2 weeks to 2 months depending on how hard your water is / how much maintenance you are willing to put into them - new filters are about $15 a pop.
Loudness - max setting is loud (as it always is for evaporative humidifiers)
Alternatives:
I have a Honeywell evaporate humidifier that is essentially the same but uses two 3 gallon tanks (6 gallons) that easily stand upright while filling. It uses 3 smaller filters and doesn't have an auto shutoff when the reservoir dries out, but I'd still recommend it over this one due to it's ease of cleaning, and filling (when one tank runs out you still have a back up tank, so you just keep alternating filling empty tanks).
My parents have an upright wooden box style humidifiers that you use a pitcher to pour water, and while a bit more difficult to fill requires the least amount of maintenance. It works by rotating plastic netting like a conveyor belt though the reservoir and over the fan that blows up the moisture. As far as portable evaporative systems, this is what I'd buy if I could afford it.
Overall, if you have hard water, evaporative style of humidifiers are going to require a lot of maintenance and/or new filters and thus is not recommended.
Ultrasonic humidifiers also act like swamp coolers, and it is difficult (but not impossible) to find ones that can cover this kind of area, and comparative coverage is much more costly. They re the quietest of all humidifiers and maintenance is minimal, but they do leave behind a white powder of the precipitated impurities in the water. I haven't tried one specifically, but hear the white powder is particularly bad if you have hard water and thus isn't recommended. Nonetheless, for those of us with hard water I can't imagine they are much more work than evaporative humidifiers. Thus, if you can find comparable coverage and can afford the markup, it might be better to go with one of these type of systems.
Steam based humidifiers solve the swamp cooler effect, but all portable units I've found don't cover nearly the same amount of area as this unit however one might consider just buying 3 separate ones, but I'm guessing it's not cost effective. Further, often people complain about bacterial mold buildup with these units as they tend to warm their reservoirs as well.
There are 2 main types of portable steam humidifiers. filamentous and conductive. Filamentous work much like a toaster oven, but the filaments are often covered to make it easier to clean the enviable lime scale build up. Indeed, just spraying a little vinegar on the interior pieces of the apparatus makes for easy clean-up / maintenance. Conductive steam humidifiers uses the waters own conductivity and essentially electrifies the water, the waters own resistance provides the friction for heat generation, thus it is more efficient than the filament - in fact, it's probably the best way to electrically generate steam. The caveat here is that distilled water wont conduct, thus hard water is actually a plus with conductivity based steam generation. In fact, if you have hard water either type of steam humidification will provide you with the lowest amount of maintenance possible. The electrode based system however is more difficult to clean, and new electrodes are sometimes sold as a disposable component.
All in all, portable humidifiers require a lot of attention. Ideally there would be some sort of direct-line / portable system hybrid that could tap into your filtered drinking water supply and gas stove, but no such monster exists.
Ultrasonic wall mounted direct-line units made for offices do exist, but they are hard to find (fortunately Home Depot sells one), that are extremely low maintenance, but they cost much more. However, as I hate filling reservoirs, I'll probably try the Home Depot unit (steam based ones are 3x the cost).
Steam and evaporative wall units don't seem to exist (though I didn't look hard for evaporative ones) as a complete system. But are available for those of you with heating duct work (HVAC), and I'd what I'd recommend getting if you do already have duct work (for those with hard water, you want a conductivity based system as it will be the lowest maintenance). There are often modification kits (like the Aprilaire 865) for those without duct work, but I haven't found any that don't require cutting large holes in my house.
I've obviously waisted a lot of time on this - hope it helps someone else.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, low cost, realitively quiet on low setting
Cons: hard to maintence, lots of maintince, small resivor, noisy on highest setting
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Central, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Humidifier I've ever owned.

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only had it a month and its been a mild winter so far, but this product has worked flawlessly. It maintains the humidity and only runs when needed. The low setting is quiet and doesn't disturb our sleep. No more dry skin and dried out sinuses. I hope it last for years.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does what it claims

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall this humidifier meets our needs. For a smaller design it can really put out the moisture. I don't feel it could handle 1700 sq. ft. but I knew this from other reviews. I do know my family no longer wakes up with stuffy noses and sore throats.I am happy I purchased this item.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: needs casters for moving
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Nampa, ID, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Satisfied with products operation.

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have only two(2) comments to make.
1. It says that it is an 8 gallon whole house humidifier. This unit does not hold 8 gallons of water. I suspect that it is capable of infusing 8 gallons of water into the air during a 24 hour time period.
2. With the fan set to high speed it is somewhat loud; wouldn't place the unit in an area where you wanted to listen to music or watch TV. It keeps our 1500 sq foot home at about 33% humidity with the units humidity setting at 40 and the fan at the medium setting.
Overall I would recommend this unit.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.

Ideal for our needs

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The right size, quiet, maintains humidity level (verified by other humidity monitors in the house). Heat with coal stoker which is a dry heat. Past years without the humidifier it was around 15 -20 % now it maintains a comfortable 45% humidity.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.

So far, so good

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Unit works well, it would be more covenient to fill if the reservoir would sit flat to fill.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Easton pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks good, quiet

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Right product at the right price. Unit maintains humidity level as indicated. Seems to have eliminated our dry condition.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.

A Great Buy

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the humidifier a month ago. It's working great! I did buy an anti-mold additive for humidifiers so hopefully it keeps the mold away for good.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Alexandria, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product and dependable.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is a no frills good humidifier with just enough technology to make it convenient. The digital readout and three fan speeds makes this machine efficient and quiet. In addition, the fill container stands up in my sink and is easy to refill. Shipping from HD was great. In all it was a great experience.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Colchester, VT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Functional

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The digital settings and auto off features are great. No more bone dry filters because the water ran out!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Tulsa, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy and it does the job

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Found this humidifier on the website and was able to compare it side by side with 2 other humidifiers. Ordered it on a Sunday with an extra filter and bacteriostatic solution and it was here by Thursday....free shipping! It is just as described. Simple to set up and use. Very positive experience.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, free shipping
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Bristol, NH 03222, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Filter does not last as advertised we already need a new one

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
unit is fine good quality needs filters a lot sooner than is stated. Works well when new filter is used. Like the style and the way it works. It's quiet and does a good job as long as we keep using new filters. It covers our entire apartment 2 bed room, living room, kitchen and bath room.
Also the one tank system is great and not as heavy as our old one which had two large tanks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.

works good

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been using it for a few months now and it significantly help.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
from Petal, MS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent and efficient! Quiet and attractive!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The humidifiers arrived sooner than the projected arrival date and in good condition. Very easy to use and just what I was hoping for.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2.26 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 1700 sq. ft.
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does it's job..... but

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit does work well enough as far as humidity is concerned. We have had this unit (or identical unit) for 3 year now and are sick of the jet engine in the living room. The "filters" are expensive and hard to find, it is very messy to replenish the water. But the biggest thing is they could not have managed to make it any louder.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: loud
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>