728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Wood Flooring or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.

Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.

This European made laminate flooring’ s authentic handcrafted oak design is accentuated by it’s remarkable 6 ¼” wide planks. It offers an E1 HDF core for healthier homes and is Greenguard air quality certified Children & Schools. The wood used in the core of the product is harvested from PEFC certified forests. The product is 8mm thick, has an AC4 wear layer and offers a triple warranty against staining, fade and wear.
Overall rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product13 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(8)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product13 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
Review 1 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great bang for the buck!

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought this laminate for our great room and LOVE it. We've had the floor for almost four months, and our very large dog, cats and active children have yet to make a mark on it. The floor has been really easy to keep clean, including animal accidents and kid spills. Guests always comments on how much they like the floor, too. This laminate has really improved the space in terms of appearance and ease of care.
At the start of the project, we relied on past experience instead of reading the instructions. That was a mistake. After stopping to read the instructions, installation was really easy. The only thing to watch out for - sometimes the groove would have a little piece of particle board stuck in it that would keep the tongue from locking in. Those pieces were few and far between and were really easy to remove.
Pros: Good Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from Maple Valley, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for the price

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this product because it was inexpensive and we were looking for a quick upgrade to the bathroom flooring in our farmhouse before we put it on the market. This flooring went in nicely over the vinyl flooring that was in the bathroom already. The locking mechanism worked just fine. The only part I wasn't happy with was the very last piece since it wouldn't lay flat. We ended up attaching it to the floor with silicon when we were done. We also applied a bead of clear silicon all the way around the edge of the flooring for a nice finished look.
I'd like to add that I have installed a lot of ceramic tile, but never wood flooring. I found this product very easy to install (and I'm a lady to boot). Any person who has ever played with Legos should be able to get this flooring in. I did a 100 sf bathroom in one day including cutting around one doorway, a toilet, bath tub and two cabinets.
The flooring looks great and there were no damaged pieces in the cartons. We have more expensive Pergo in the kitchen, and honestly I can't say the Pergo is nicer or more attractive.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value and Looks Great

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed 750 Sq Ft found it easy to install took a few pieces to find the best way to snap together but it went together pretty good. There were quite a few pieces that were damaged in the boxes but no obvious damage on the box itself. The color of a few boxes was off a bit compared to the others and there were no lot numbers on the boxes to check if they were manufactured together or not. But the look of the product is like no other I have seen it looks realy good like natural wood. Hope it holds up but it has a 50 year warranty if it does not.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Looks Great
Cons: color variation in product
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from Richmond, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product and value

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I also don't usually review these types of products, but I just installed 800sf of this product in a condo and was ecstatic with the results. I'm a general contractor so have familiarity with these types of installs. Installation was easy and clean, and when fully installed to floor looks high end and fantastic. Totally recommended, plus this flooring is made in Austria!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from Chicago, IL, USA

This flooring is great! Especially for the price!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So, I always look for the bargain basement pricing on anything, and have learned to overlook small issues knowing I'm bottom-feeding etc...
And have installed a few laminate floors in my life, so kind of know the pitfalls of cheap/cheap.
But I have to say, this flooring looks great! Its textured, warm looking and excellent quality. It didn't chip when installing it carefully, no seams popping up with those beveled seam edges this has, and its slightly thicker mil than some of the other inexpensive brands I've worked with.
I am very happy with the look, and feel of the floor, and no issues with how it installed. Very easy to work with, did not require any special tools or glue and snapped together easily.
With the matching trim, it looks like flooring that cost 3 or 4 times as much, and it was on sale when I picked it up, so was a true win/win for me.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from North Port, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great floor!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was so easy to install, just snaps together and your done! If it didn't snap right together, its because there was a speck of material in the grooves so just remove and your good to go. Bought this because it was on sale (about $85 including tax to do this room) but glad I did because it looks very similar to wood and its very sturdy. would definitely buy again.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from Flint, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product at a great price!

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just installed 900sf of this product over the weekend and am very happy with the look of the floor. It looks like real hardwood but was much easier to install. I will be buying more to do my basement floor.
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.

Good product

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm a professional flooring installer, and I don't usually write reviews for the products I install. But I felt compelled to tell people who may be considering this floor that I had no issues with the locking system, or any other aspect of the floor. After reading the reviews posted here I told my client that I wanted to go to Home Depot, open a box, and lay out several planks before he purchased it. If I had any trouble with the locking system I would have helped him find another similar floor. Before I told him that I wasn't concerned about the floor, he looked for other options but couldn't find anything that had the look of this one. When I finished the floor he said that he couldn't imagine any other product making him as happy as this one. Anyway, just wanted to let other people who love the look of this floor know that they shouldn't be turned away by the negative comments about the locking system.
+15points
30out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Issue with different finishes from the same dye lot...

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was being professional installed by Home Depot. The installer stopped in the middle of the job to inform me of the problem...It appears that the manufacturer used different finishes on this...so looking from an angle, it looked like two completely different flooring materials were being used on my floor. I was forced to select a different flooring, since Home Depot and their installers could not find a rhyme or reason for this issue...it was not just one bad case, it seemed to be mixed throughout each case. Overall, I liked the look of the floor, but I have to give a 1 star based on poor quaility control and consistency in my situation.
Cons: inconsistent product in same dye lot
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from North Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful, bargain and installing is super easy!!

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The flooring is beautiful and very easy to install! It really enhanced our home! My husband installed it on his own with a wood saw, nail gun etc. It does take some skill to install it so if you dont know what ur doing don't try it on ur own. But he had experience so he did it very well!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Good Wood, Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from Raleigh, NC

Buy something else

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Halfway through the kitchen with this flooring. If so much work had not been put into getting to the half way point, I would be taking this stuff back. It looks good, but the locking mechanism is not good, and they tell you not to use a tapping block or it will ruin the product. Hopefully my wife of 25 years and me can make it through this project together.
Cons: Difficult to Install
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good floor for the price.

PostedJune 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed just under 500 SF in our entry way, dinning room and living room. It installs fairly easily and everything locks together well. Good feel on bare feet. It does scratch if you're not careful with heavy furniture but seems pretty resilient so far with two boys (3 & 5) and a small dog giving it a pretty good test of quality. I got it on sale for $.69/sf so I can't complain. Seems like a pretty good value and holding up so far. I would recommend it...especially if it is on sale.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Looks Great, Comfortable
Cons: scratches when moving heavy furniture, not sure best way to clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from Manorville, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great looking quality floor!

PostedJune 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are handy and patient, pay no attention to the naysayers about the difficulty to install this product. It was my first laminate floor. I did a 12x10 room alone in two six hour day's and didn't remove all the furniture. I graphed it out on paper first, and had almost no waste. I'm 66, retired, and an ex white collar worker! It looks first rate and it is great Austrian quality. Bill B.....
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from Atascadero, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor craftmanship

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was very difficult to lay. We had the proper tools and saw blades and we have laid flooring before so we are not novices. The click and log was made from cardboard and kept breaking. So not worth the money no matter how economical it was. Just so you know....
-9points
5out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do not buy this product. It is that simple.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews of this product and still gave it a try. I am sorry to say that I am returning the flooring tomorrow morning. The simple truth is, the locking system on this laminate flooring is flawed. I am handy and have done this and other types of remodels. As a matter of fact, at one time I worked for THD as a Flooring Pro. Do not buy this product. It is that simple.
Cons: Difficult to Install, no support from mfg.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from Ambler, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

This product was perfect for us

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had spent months deciding which flooring we wanted to install, and had decided on something different when we found this. We were worried that it was so cheap because it would look bad or would be hard to install, but we LOVE it! It looks great in our old house, very natural looking. My husband and I had no trouble installing it either.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Comfortable, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.

You get what you pay for

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is cheap and it shows. The surface material looks fine but as others have said, the locking mechanism is simply flawed. My family and I spent the whole day trying to piece it together and finally gave up and returned all of the product we hadn't sawed. We are not novices and have installed several laminate floors in the past.
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT.
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from Port Charlotte, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not buy this!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have successfully installed 5 floors previously with laminate flooring from other suppliers. The locking mechanism for this product simply does not work. After completing 1/3 of the project, we simply could not make the floor stay together properly. I tore it up, took my losses on the cut pieces and returned the rest. Never again a Hampton Bay laminate product. I think they should stick to ceiling fans
Cons: Difficult to Install, locking mechanism is completely ineffective
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from Hawley, PA 18428, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible locking system

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 450 sq ft of this. Wasted 4 hours trying to get first 4 rows done. Would not stay locked together. Have done laminate several times before. Never had such problems with other laminates. Hampton Bay should stick to lighting. Stay away from this product. Look was good but locking system needs improvement. Returning all today.
-8points
3out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Silverhill Oak 8mm Laminate Flooring 19.87 sq.ft.
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good flooring but....

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks good but was not as easy to install as most laminate.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>