728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Deck Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Marksman Pro Tool

Marksman Pro Tool

The CAMO Hidden Deck Fastening System works on any treated lumber, hardwood, cedar, composite or PVC deckboard. CAMO Hidden Fasteners, a CAMO Marksman tool, and CAMO Driver Bits combine to deliver a fastener-free deck surface at a price that makes getting the job easy and installing the deck even easier. The CAMO Hidden Deck Fastening System is engineered to work exclusively together. Using other branded tools, fasteners or bits will impair performance and won't produce the desired results.
Overall rating:
4.552 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product49 of 53reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(42)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product49 of 53reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Marksman Pro Tool
Review 1 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Ann Arbor, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic product! Highly recommended!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This made deck installation extremely easy and it looks fantastic! I recommend buying two so you can put them at either end of the deck board to get the spacing right. You want to figure out where the board is bowing so you can drill in there first, then strategically place the camo so you can push the board straight and drill it in. It's much easier if you have at least two people, ideal if you have four (two people working on either end of the board, one person drills and the other pushes).
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Marksman Pro Tool
from San Francisco Bay Area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product but you should know this

PostedJune 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a good product that my son & I used to install about 600 sq. ft. of redwood decking. There are 2 things to be aware of. If your deck is against a house wall, you can not use this for the first two rows because (like hardwood floor installation with nailer) the drill does not have enough room to maneuver on the wall side. So you need to used some L brackets. Not a super big deal. The second thing to be aware of is where two adjoining boards share the same joist. I would suggest that you don't share the joist and just add some scrap 2" x to this joist and start your next decking board on the spliced piece. The reason for this is the tolerance for putting 4 screws on the one joist is not great.
The screws are a small diameter. I hope they stand the test of time.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesomness Takes Time

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The final product from using this tool is simply amazing. No screws or nails to worry about catching your feet on and it looks beautiful. I mean BEAUTIFUL!
If you watch the video about how easy it is to remove a board in the middle and wonder if it really is that easy - YES it is. TIP: go slow when removing screws. It made a huge difference for me.
What they don't tell you… you are either going to break your back and knees if you work from the deck surface OR you will have to keep stepping over/under the framework. Finally, It's painfully slow and for the most part, a one person job once the screwing begins. I used standard pressure treated wood which, as wood does, had a few bends to it. This meant occasionally needing a second pair of hands to help with getting the gap just right.
TIP : At the end I had my wife loading the screws into the tool at every joyce while I repositioned.
As far as the tool quality goes - I had zero issues with it. I cleared it out a couple times but that really wasn't needed.
The bits lasted forever, I used 2 for a 300sq. ft. deck.
Would I use this tool again? you bet. I wouldn't build another deck without this tool or something just like it.
If you are on the fence about getting this, just do it. you will not regret it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, simple to use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Lunenburg, Virginia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent tool and well worth the price!!!!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our new deck looks great!
If you're building a new deck, don't hesitate and purchase the Marksman Pro along with the camo screws. Make sure you get enough screws to finish the job. Our deck was 16x24 and the boards went down with ease with this tool. Once the screws are set, you don't have to worry about them backing out.
Our deck looks great especially because you don't see any screw or nail heads and you don't have to worry about catching your bare foot on one in the summer etc. Our photo is not the best but we thought we'd try to show how it turned out.
Great item and we will definitely save it to use on any future projects.
Pros: Easy to Use, spaces boards perfectly, hidden fastner, does not back out easily, made well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Marksman Pro Tool

Very good product - As advertised

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the marksman pro to install a 20x12 deck using the veranda PVC boards from the HD. Using the tool took a lot of time but it was worth it. The screw system works well with the PVC. You just need to spend the time to make sure that the tool is aligned properly for spacing and position. Depending on the deck setup you may need to face-screw near the edges. In my situation the board along the house is the only board that has any screws showing on the top surface.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Alexandria, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent tool

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
You get exactly what is being advertised. I finished my deck with this over the summer and I couldn't be happier with the results. I used composite decking (Veranda from HD). They say its not necessary to pre drill the holes but I did anyway. It was a little difficult to get the screws all the way in without per drilling. This became obvious right away so it wasn't an issue. Cheaper and easier than using fasteners. See pitch for deck finish.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works exactly as advertised

PostedApril 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product works great!! Easy to use, no complications.
A real time saver, not to mention my deck looks like boards are perfectly laid with 1/4 in gaps between. No screws showing.
There was no need to read instructions. I just picked it up and started using it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, perfect use of a jig
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made the deck work a snap

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We seem to always have a problem when we start a project, something always goes wrong. Not with this tool, we kept thinking something must be wrong because it was so easy, fast and good looking. Who ever designed this really had a great idea. The only drawback is the specific size of boards that each of the tools can handle This one can only handle 6" nominal boards, it would have been fantastic if one tools could handle 4" or 6" boards. I'll never do a deck again without this tool.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Cons: width of board
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Clive Iowa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, so good...

PostedAugust 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
DIY guys, if you are going to put down decking by yourself, you should buy two tools. The Camo Pro and the Bowrench. The Bowrench helps hold your boards in place while your Camo helps drill the hidden screws without worrying if the screws are going in too far or not far enough like you may do when face screwing. I used 5/4 cedar decking and the longer screws rather than the shorter ones. It gives a great look and so far the deck is solid without any creaks. Only time will tell if it stays that way. Take your time and pay attention to what you are doing. Once you get your rhythym it will go smoothly. I always say, "I can do it well or I can do it fast, but I can't do both". I am happy and my wife is happy, which makes it all worth while. My wife hated even walking on our old deck with popping nails and rusted screw heads. Now she lays on the cedar deck and comments on how smooth it is!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Marksman Pro Tool
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Camo Marksman

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used the Camo Marksman to build a 425 square foot deck. The tool worked great with 2x6 deck boards. Takes more time that drilling straight down, but it looks great and the boards are very sturdy. The fasteners are pretty expensive but work great with the tool. Box of screws came with two bits so we ran two drills to speed up the process (you put down the tool and load one screw in each side then screw in both at the same time using two people). Would highly recommend.
Pros: Looks Great, spaces board for you
Cons: takes time, more expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Marksman Pro Tool

Camo review

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Half way through my project which took 6 months the Camo screws seemed to get loose and the boards had some play. I switched to standard deck screws that held 100% better. The problem with Camo screws is the head is tiny which prevents a solid squeeze between the screw head and under framing. Another problem is removing Camo screws. Sometimes they just spin within the wood. Upon succesful extraction they often damage the boards. Lastly my Camo tool broke when dropped which is bound to happen on construction. The concept is great and the look is very clean with Camo however that all goes out the window giving the poor performance. I would not recommend.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Weaverville NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Professional builder review

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We've used the Camo Marksman Pro for several decks and so far, so good. There are a few things that might be helpful. 1. Start with dry, straight lumber. Very green or wet treated lumber will not even fit between the guides and the chances of screws breaking from board contraction are much greater. This tool is made for dry lumber. 2. Make sure there is constant downward pressure while putting in the screw or the Camo tool will ride up and the screw head will be misplaced on the upper side of the board edge. 3. We find that two people can work efficiently if one is placing the board and tool while the other is ready with the screws and driver tool. 4. Use an impact driver. Two men can put down a 12'x20' deck in less than a day.
We've use the Camo tool on treated yellow pine and also on Cumaru which is very hard and dense. With it we pre-drill all of the holes just slightly smaller than the screws. It's at least twice as fast as using slotted boards and fasteners between the boards. The biggest advantage is that the boards can be removed if needed. With slotted boards this is not the case.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Marksman Pro Tool
from San Diego
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A new Tool

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A much neater job and no screw holes, plus the spacing of the boards is accurate
Pros: High Quality of Material
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Sumner, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product with great results!

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After deciding to replace the boards on my 16 x 40 deck. I had two choice’s to make. What kind of material and what type of fastener system. I decided on 5/4 x 6 Cedar because it is plentiful and inexpensive here in the Pacific Northwest. Deciding on the fastener was more difficult. I really like the sleek look of hidden fasteners, but was turned off by their high cost and time consuming installation. Then I came across the Camo Hidden deck system and decided to give it a shot. I purchased the Camo Pro Tech coated 1-7/8 inch 1750 count screws. To use these screws you will need a Marksman to drive your screws into the boards. I strongly recommend buying the Marksman Pro. For a little extra money the construction is far superior than the DYI model. You are also able to drive the screws from both sides of the boards without having to reposition the tool. This is a real time saver and alone is well worth the extra money. Another handy feature is the built in board spacer for a professional look. The screw gets loaded into the Marksman and the depth and angle are set so you don’t have to worry about splitting the board or rounding out the screw. You can’t over torque the screw. The self starting Camo screw does not require pilot holes even at the end of the board. That saves serious time. Some of the things that I really like is the cost of the fasteners. They are comparable to regular deck screws. They are also very easy to install. Another great feature is being able to remove just one board for replacing or maintenance. Just unscrew the fasteners on the board you want to replace. With other hidden deck systems you need to remove all previous boards until you get to the one you want to replace. One of the few short comings of the screws are when you butt up the boards on the joist. If you don’t get your cut right on center you run the risk of splitting the board or missing the joist. A very small drawbacks that should not keep you from choosing this product. I highly recommend this product to anyone replacing boards or building a new deck. The trick to the Camo system is it’s simplicity. “So easy, a caveman or husband can do it”.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Marksman Pro Tool
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Takes some finesse

PostedApril 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great idea and great results, but I find it very hard to get the tool not to walk when the screws engage. Also, there is a bulge that develops behind the screw which effects the spacing of the next board. Not as precise as I'd like it to be.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good value for price

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased for use with premium #1 extra thk treated cedar toned decking. Took a few minutes to master use of semihidden fasteners. I like the "no screws or nails" look. One caution is camo screw heads are small and will not draw dwn a bowed board or curved board. I used clamps when needed and that worked fine. My wife is very happy to not have exposed fasteners.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Light Weight, adjustable, much quicker and cheaper than hidden fasteners
Cons: screws are more expensive, need more than one tool to efficently screw long b
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made building deck easier

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wonderful product! I returned the Trek hidden fasteners when I purchased this tool. I was going to have to do biscuit cuts in each board to use the fasteners and it was going to be time consuming. The marksman tool is great invention to use on composite or wood decks. I highly recommend it to everyone building a deck that does not want their screws showing.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Tampa, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beware, don't waste your money

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy this, the screws break in after only been installed for one month. I have to remove my entire deck and installed a proper fastening system. Don't waste your money like I did. The company that makes them will not return calls or emails
Cons: they break
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Marksman Pro Tool

Works Like a charm

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this after reading othe types of tools reviews. Was really happy with the drill bit and the screws. Deck has been in 6 months now with no issues of boards pulling up etc. Only issue was near posts/existing structurs sometimes I had to put a regular screw in because of the angle, but the rest of the deck sure looks nice.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Good Shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Marksman Pro Tool
from SOMD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised.

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great, I put down 400 sq feet of deck in a few days after work. It looks good much better than nailing or screwing through the top of the boards. You can still see the screws if you look but they are much less noticeable. Easy to use, but it is a bit slow. A fast drill makes it go a lot faster, you don't need a driver just a drill, the tool sets all depths for you. I have one complaint, and that is if you are using boards with edge grooves you need a different driver bit, one with a longer recessed tip. It is not really mentioned when you purchase the tool and you wont find this out until you hunt around the camo fastener website. I ended up modifying the supplied bits because I could not get any in time to start this project and they are not carried in the store. I used composite boards similar to trek with a grooved edge. Overall I am very happy with the end result. I found the combo pack deal priced best at homedepot.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Cons: different bit needed for edge grooved boards.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>