728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Marksman Pro Tool

Marksman Pro Tool

The CAMO Hidden Deck Fastening System works on any treated lumber, hardwood, cedar, composite or PVC deckboard. CAMO Hidden Fasteners, a CAMO Marksman tool, and CAMO Driver Bits combine to deliver a fastener-free deck surface at a price that makes getting the job easy and installing the deck even easier. The CAMO Hidden Deck Fastening System is engineered to work exclusively together. Using other branded tools, fasteners or bits will impair performance and won't produce the desired results.
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product42 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(10)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product42 of 44reviews
Customer reviews for Marksman Pro Tool
Review 1 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesomness Takes Time

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The final product from using this tool is simply amazing. No screws or nails to worry about catching your feet on and it looks beautiful. I mean BEAUTIFUL!
If you watch the video about how easy it is to remove a board in the middle and wonder if it really is that easy - YES it is. TIP: go slow when removing screws. It made a huge difference for me.
What they don't tell you… you are either going to break your back and knees if you work from the deck surface OR you will have to keep stepping over/under the framework. Finally, It's painfully slow and for the most part, a one person job once the screwing begins. I used standard pressure treated wood which, as wood does, had a few bends to it. This meant occasionally needing a second pair of hands to help with getting the gap just right.
TIP : At the end I had my wife loading the screws into the tool at every joyce while I repositioned.
As far as the tool quality goes - I had zero issues with it. I cleared it out a couple times but that really wasn't needed.
The bits lasted forever, I used 2 for a 300sq. ft. deck.
Would I use this tool again? you bet. I wouldn't build another deck without this tool or something just like it.
If you are on the fence about getting this, just do it. you will not regret it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, simple to use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Marksman Pro Tool

Very good product - As advertised

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the marksman pro to install a 20x12 deck using the veranda PVC boards from the HD. Using the tool took a lot of time but it was worth it. The screw system works well with the PVC. You just need to spend the time to make sure that the tool is aligned properly for spacing and position. Depending on the deck setup you may need to face-screw near the edges. In my situation the board along the house is the only board that has any screws showing on the top surface.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Alexandria, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent tool

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You get exactly what is being advertised. I finished my deck with this over the summer and I couldn't be happier with the results. I used composite decking (Veranda from HD). They say its not necessary to pre drill the holes but I did anyway. It was a little difficult to get the screws all the way in without per drilling. This became obvious right away so it wasn't an issue. Cheaper and easier than using fasteners. See pitch for deck finish.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works exactly as advertised

PostedApril 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works great!! Easy to use, no complications.
A real time saver, not to mention my deck looks like boards are perfectly laid with 1/4 in gaps between. No screws showing.
There was no need to read instructions. I just picked it up and started using it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, perfect use of a jig
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Marksman Pro Tool
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Camo Marksman

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used the Camo Marksman to build a 425 square foot deck. The tool worked great with 2x6 deck boards. Takes more time that drilling straight down, but it looks great and the boards are very sturdy. The fasteners are pretty expensive but work great with the tool. Box of screws came with two bits so we ran two drills to speed up the process (you put down the tool and load one screw in each side then screw in both at the same time using two people). Would highly recommend.
Pros: Looks Great, spaces board for you
Cons: takes time, more expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Marksman Pro Tool
from SOMD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised.

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great, I put down 400 sq feet of deck in a few days after work. It looks good much better than nailing or screwing through the top of the boards. You can still see the screws if you look but they are much less noticeable. Easy to use, but it is a bit slow. A fast drill makes it go a lot faster, you don't need a driver just a drill, the tool sets all depths for you. I have one complaint, and that is if you are using boards with edge grooves you need a different driver bit, one with a longer recessed tip. It is not really mentioned when you purchase the tool and you wont find this out until you hunt around the camo fastener website. I ended up modifying the supplied bits because I could not get any in time to start this project and they are not carried in the store. I used composite boards similar to trek with a grooved edge. Overall I am very happy with the end result. I found the combo pack deal priced best at homedepot.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Cons: different bit needed for edge grooved boards.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Marksman Pro Tool
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Takes some finesse

PostedApril 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great idea and great results, but I find it very hard to get the tool not to walk when the screws engage. Also, there is a bulge that develops behind the screw which effects the spacing of the next board. Not as precise as I'd like it to be.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Sumner, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product with great results!

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After deciding to replace the boards on my 16 x 40 deck. I had two choice’s to make. What kind of material and what type of fastener system. I decided on 5/4 x 6 Cedar because it is plentiful and inexpensive here in the Pacific Northwest. Deciding on the fastener was more difficult. I really like the sleek look of hidden fasteners, but was turned off by their high cost and time consuming installation. Then I came across the Camo Hidden deck system and decided to give it a shot. I purchased the Camo Pro Tech coated 1-7/8 inch 1750 count screws. To use these screws you will need a Marksman to drive your screws into the boards. I strongly recommend buying the Marksman Pro. For a little extra money the construction is far superior than the DYI model. You are also able to drive the screws from both sides of the boards without having to reposition the tool. This is a real time saver and alone is well worth the extra money. Another handy feature is the built in board spacer for a professional look. The screw gets loaded into the Marksman and the depth and angle are set so you don’t have to worry about splitting the board or rounding out the screw. You can’t over torque the screw. The self starting Camo screw does not require pilot holes even at the end of the board. That saves serious time. Some of the things that I really like is the cost of the fasteners. They are comparable to regular deck screws. They are also very easy to install. Another great feature is being able to remove just one board for replacing or maintenance. Just unscrew the fasteners on the board you want to replace. With other hidden deck systems you need to remove all previous boards until you get to the one you want to replace. One of the few short comings of the screws are when you butt up the boards on the joist. If you don’t get your cut right on center you run the risk of splitting the board or missing the joist. A very small drawbacks that should not keep you from choosing this product. I highly recommend this product to anyone replacing boards or building a new deck. The trick to the Camo system is it’s simplicity. “So easy, a caveman or husband can do it”.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Marksman Pro Tool

Works Like a charm

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this after reading othe types of tools reviews. Was really happy with the drill bit and the screws. Deck has been in 6 months now with no issues of boards pulling up etc. Only issue was near posts/existing structurs sometimes I had to put a regular screw in because of the angle, but the rest of the deck sure looks nice.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good value for price

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased for use with premium #1 extra thk treated cedar toned decking. Took a few minutes to master use of semihidden fasteners. I like the "no screws or nails" look. One caution is camo screw heads are small and will not draw dwn a bowed board or curved board. I used clamps when needed and that worked fine. My wife is very happy to not have exposed fasteners.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Light Weight, adjustable, much quicker and cheaper than hidden fasteners
Cons: screws are more expensive, need more than one tool to efficently screw long b
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Marksman Pro Tool
from wv
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great tool

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to use , the way to go when building deck and would use again
Pros: Multi Use, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Marksman Pro Tool

neat little tool

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Amazing tool, really works well. Deck looks great, and don't have nail or screws popping out to worry about for later splintering.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made building deck easier

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wonderful product! I returned the Trek hidden fasteners when I purchased this tool. I was going to have to do biscuit cuts in each board to use the fasteners and it was going to be time consuming. The marksman tool is great invention to use on composite or wood decks. I highly recommend it to everyone building a deck that does not want their screws showing.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Marksman Pro Tool

Very glad I bought it!

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a worthwhile investment. Do remember to read the instructions first - the handle is NOT for leaning on. It does not give invisible fasteners, but they're highly unnoticeable. But standing on the deck, if you know what to look for, you can see a uniform row of very small holes on the edge of the boards, down maybe 1/3 - 1/4 of the way from the top. It auto-sinks the trim-head screws to just the right depth, and made the spacing easy - IF you want their exact 3/16" spacing. I'd imagine that if you wanted more space, you could glue something on, but I don't think you can reduce the space. I'm also very glad that I got this one instead of the base model, which only lets you put in one screw at a time - then you pick the unit up, flip it around, and do the other side. Ugh.
I would definitely buy it again if I ever needed another. I only rate it a 4 because it could've been better, but maybe not at this price. By the end of my deck (about 400 sq ft), it seemed like it wasn't as tightly put together as at the beginning - but it IS plastic. I never dropped it, but my drill's rather fat chuck came in contact with the tool as I bottomed out their specialized bit (which you need to do, to sink it to the right depth).
I used it on a cedar deck - the cedar is so soft that the tool made impressions in it as it grabbed onto the wood - I don't know that it would do that on other material though.
By the way, if you're doing a deck solo - think about buying a BoWrench.
Pros: Light Weight, does its job well
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Meredith, NH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Low cost hidden fasteners

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This decking jig works great, its as fast as putting down decking with face screws and it is an inexpensive way to have a deck with hidden fasteners. Composite decking companies approve of its use with their decking and the screws go through all kinds of decking easily. The decking is automatically evenly spaced for you by the jig, It is a great tool.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Marksman Pro Tool
from DC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made the job a lot easier

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool made replacing deck boards (2" x 6") quick and easy. Getting a feel for the tool and how it worked came easily and quickly.
You have to use their drill bits and screws which was worth it to me. A couple extra drill bits are a good thing because they do wear out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Marksman Pro Tool

Terrific tool for the DIY deck builder

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great and definitely worth every penny! Already had friends/family request to borrow it for their own projects.
Pros: High Quality of Material
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Marksman Pro Tool
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works excellent!!!

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Redecked my deck and this tool made it soooo easy. Deck looks great with no screws showing. Excellent product. Highly recommended.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Marksman Pro Tool
from Concord, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you're thinking about using a different fastening system to this, don't bother, just get this one. It does exactly what it says on the box. Easy to use, fasteners are hidden and boards can be taken back up if needed. Std tool needs trigger pulled to grab board whereas Pro tool is sprung loaded so trigger is pulled to release. Makes it much easier for large jobs
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Marksman Pro Tool
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best tool for the job

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was one of the easiest and best tools I have bought in a while. It only has one use but the quality of the job is worth the expense. Easy to use, I even taught my 11 year old daughter how to use it. My deck looks awesome!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>