728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Siphon Pump Kit

Siphon Pump Kit

The Arnold Siphon Pump is the perfect tool to drain the oil and gas in your outdoor power equipment. In a few quick and easy steps, you can prepare your equipment for off season storage, or just transfer gas from one machine to another. Once you're finished, dissemble the pump for easy cleaning.
Overall rating:
2.967 / 5
3.0
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product31 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
3.0 out of 5
5
(17)
4
(12)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(21)
Features 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product31 of 59reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Siphon Pump Kit
Review 1 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Oakland, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy $4 hose, & it's unbeatable!

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Having read the reviews before I shopped, I was aware of the kinked hoses sold with this item. However, clear plastic hose (3/8" interior, 1/2" exterior diameter) is available on the plumbing aisle -- a perfect, tight fit for all couplings! A six-foot length (that can be cut to suit at home) is $4.00 -- for a total of $16. Ace sells an identical pump with un-kinked hoses for $45 -- so use a little common sense, do the math, and buy the pump kit here, with the hoses separately, and you'll save two-thirds!
i'm using the device out on my terrace, to remove rainwater from the pans beneath potted plants (to prevent root rot). As others have noted, even with the new hose, the pump is a bit cumbersome to operate (two handed) while keeping the intake hose fully submerged. That said, it does the job, and the price is right!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, excellent value, stunningly improved with a la carte hose
Cons: Difficult to Use
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Lakeland, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Great

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you follow the instructions you shouldn't have any trouble with this pump. Make sure you spray lubricant ( I used vegetable cooking spray ) into the intake tube (the top tube) and move the pump handle up & down several times, and repeat. Next assemble the pump as instructed ( will vary on your use.....) place top hose into liquid to be pumped and point bottom hose where liquid is to go...when finished clean unit by pumping soapy water through it !! When finished dry everything and re-prime pump with vegetable oil. I believe a lot of these negative reviews are from operator error....you got to be smarter than the equipment you operate !!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Siphon Pump Kit
from raleigh,nc
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I read all the critical reviews and was especially concerned that the hoses would be kinked to the extent that liquid flow would be impeded. The pump I purchased was packaged so that the hoses were not kinked at all. The tubing was approximately 3/8' ID and relatively thick walled and needed to be unrolled and stretched to straighten prior to use. Following the instructions I oiled the plunger through the upper intake fitting with thin cutting oil. I used the pump to drain a truck gas tank , approximately 3 gallons, that had been sitting for 2 years. I added a 6' X 1/2" straight thick walled tubing over the end of the intake tube ( assist in vertical straightening), pushed the intake tube with extension through the gas tank neck( 1 1/2" D X 1'L with a 90 degree bend attached to the top of the tank). The end of the intake tube touched the bottom of the tank and I was able to drain( Used the plunger as a pump rather than siphon) the tank as completely as possible. IT WORKED WELL!, After use disassembled, cleaned and re-oiled, ready for next job. RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT.
Pros: Easy to Use, worked well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Siphon Pump Kit
from minneapolis,slush capital of America
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

stiff, kinked hoses

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This pump is actually a good idea and should have been very useful. But the hoses are a hopelessly stiff plastic. In the package, they come folded up into a tight bundle secured by a cable tie, and days after unpacking the pump, they're still curled up in a circle and kinked in several places. The plastic is actually white at the kinks, showing that the plastic has been stretched and weakened.
With these hoses, it takes 4 hands to use the pump - 1 to try and hold each hose straight, and 2 to work the pump. And you can't get the curled-up hose to reach to the bottom of a gas tank.
With better hoses, this could have been a good product.
Cons: poor quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Elmwood, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frustrating out of the box but worked

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Out of the box, the hoses are all kinked into small circles. Tried to siphon gas out of my motorcycle using these hoses by myself, and it was a nightmare. If I got the tank hose situated, the gas can end kept coming out. Advise? Take this out of the package and work the hoses until they are straighter before use. Even then, have a second pairs of hands so that one person can focus on keeping the inlet hose at the bottom of the gas tank. Further advise. the smaller oil dipstick hose worked better for gas removal for me than the bigger hose, in part because it is easier to straighten. Best of siphoning!
Pros: All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Bonita Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Cheaply Made

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is an inexpensively built pump. The larger hoses are permanently bent because of the cheap material used, making it difficult to have them stay where you want them. The pump is okay but the hoses are coiled up so tightly in the packaging that they keep coiling up on themselves. I tried placing them in hot water to straighten them out and to remove the kinks with little success. I haven’t used it to transfer gas or oil from a tank to a container as yet. I found it work well to drain water from a toilet either when changing parts in the tank or from the bowl before replacing the toilet.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: cheaply made
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Siphon Pump Kit
from new jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very poor quality

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
worked ok 1st time had to un mold the kinked tubes, then went to use a second
time and I could not get the pump to work I tried everything from bringing in the house to
warm up the parts to oiling it to try to create suction, nothing worked I would save my money
and invest in a higher quality pump
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, very low quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great!

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product, emptied my snow blower's tank for summer storage in seconds. Seems they've addressed customer complaints regarding the plastic hoses. The two orange hoses are pliable and were not kinked in the box. Although they are tightly coiled and like to stay that way, I had no problem keeping the ends where they belong, one in the snow blower tank and the other in the gas can.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Siphon Pump Kit
from West Chester. PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent Little Siphon Pump

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Sometimes I'm not sure how to take on-line reviews. Yes, my hoses were kinked in the package just like everybody's. However, I had not one problem using this product. The pump assembled in 2 minutes and I've been siphoning my snow blower and emergency generator ever since. Not one issue with a bad siphon even with the kinked tubes. After using it once and setting it out in the sun, the kinks disappeared. No need to buy new tubes, that seems ridiculous. Buy this pump, read the directions and you won't have any problems.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Siphon Pump Kit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very disappointed in this siphon

PostedMay 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like another reviewer wrote, it worked great the first time, then the pump could no longer produce any suction. Complete waste of money. Cheaply made and it shows.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Siphon Pump Kit
from miami
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It works.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought the pump to drain my boat gas sludge. It didn't fit to the tank but I found another use for it. I pumped the gas from my generator that has been sitting for years. I found the gas was dark and developed a jelly like substance which I was able to strain out with a cotton shirt. The pump worked quickly and with little effort. Make sure your pump doesn't have any kinks in it which will stop the flow. Mine came with about six kinks which stopped the flow several times.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: hose came kinked in package
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Siphon Pump Kit
from BF PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for moving liquids between containers

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This siphon kit is ideal for all those times you don't want to pour out your liquids, and pollute the environment. Comes with 2 size hoses and adapter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Dallas, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Small Engine Gasoline Siphon Pump

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Clear instructions on how to use were included. Pump works like a charm. Much better than turning equipment upside down to drain old gasoline from tank.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Siphon Pump Kit
from NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

CHEAP-O

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this pump one time.... make that one-half time and it stopped pumping. I took it apart to find the little impeller was broken into pieces. I used it to pump water, cold and hot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Silver Spring, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfectly first time out

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
while the hoses were wound up and kept that shape, I was easily able to drain gasoline out of my snowblower and back into the gas container. I followed the directions by spraying some PAM into the fill side and it performed fine - just had to hold the hoses in place because they hold on to the rounded shape. Cleaned it up with soap/water and sprayed some more PAM into the fill side for storage. Will see how this performs in the long run,
Pros: works as intended
Cons: hoses hold their stored shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expected better

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ran my lawn mower a minute just to warm the oil a bit to thin it out. The hose would collapse in on itself and not much would get drawn into it. I needed to remove the hose several times in the process. I finally got it out, but it was more work than I expected.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you have another option, take it

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tubing with pump was stiff and kinked from the way it was packaged. I was unable to keep the tubing open enough to get siphon action started and had to continually pump to get the liquid (kerosene) to flow from an elevated can into my heater. The kinks restricted the flow so much that the pressure would occasionally build up to the point where the tubing would get blown out of the pump (spraying kerosene). The $4.99 plastic pump you usually find (and I found again) works much better for my needs. I threw this thing away.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Siphon Pump Kit
from California, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works fine and easy to use but if you want to siphon gas from a large suv or truck tank you are going to need a longer tube.You stay clean and safe.
+21points
26out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Siphon Pump Kit

worked great

PostedApril 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I read the reviews before I went to HD. I bought the extra tubing, but found I didn't need it. The red tube it came with was wound not folded so I didn't have kink issues. Inexpensive and worked as advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Wayne, Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very slow operating. Very cheap parts that did not even hold up to transfer 5 gallons of fuel oil. Plunger became stuck and unusable! Cheap copy made in China!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>