728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Siphon Pump Kit

Siphon Pump Kit

The Arnold Siphon Pump is the perfect tool to drain the oil and gas in your outdoor power equipment. In a few quick and easy steps, you can prepare your equipment for off season storage, or just transfer gas from one machine to another. Once you're finished, dissemble the pump for easy cleaning.
Overall rating:
2.971 / 5
3
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product18 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(12)
Features 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product18 of 34reviews
Customer reviews for Siphon Pump Kit
Review 1 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Lakeland, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Great

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you follow the instructions you shouldn't have any trouble with this pump. Make sure you spray lubricant ( I used vegetable cooking spray ) into the intake tube (the top tube) and move the pump handle up & down several times, and repeat. Next assemble the pump as instructed ( will vary on your use.....) place top hose into liquid to be pumped and point bottom hose where liquid is to go...when finished clean unit by pumping soapy water through it !! When finished dry everything and re-prime pump with vegetable oil. I believe a lot of these negative reviews are from operator error....you got to be smarter than the equipment you operate !!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Siphon Pump Kit
from BF PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for moving liquids between containers

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This siphon kit is ideal for all those times you don't want to pour out your liquids, and pollute the environment. Comes with 2 size hoses and adapter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Siphon Pump Kit
from West Chester. PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent Little Siphon Pump

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Sometimes I'm not sure how to take on-line reviews. Yes, my hoses were kinked in the package just like everybody's. However, I had not one problem using this product. The pump assembled in 2 minutes and I've been siphoning my snow blower and emergency generator ever since. Not one issue with a bad siphon even with the kinked tubes. After using it once and setting it out in the sun, the kinks disappeared. No need to buy new tubes, that seems ridiculous. Buy this pump, read the directions and you won't have any problems.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Concord, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Arnold Siphon Pump!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Arnold Siphon Pump.... is the helpful tool to drain the oil or gas in your outdoor power equipment. In a few quick and easy steps, I changed oil in my pushing lawn mower's engine! It would be very handy to get my lawnmower or any other equipment ready for off season storage! Oh, good for transferring gas from one machine to another.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Elmwood, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frustrating out of the box but worked

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Out of the box, the hoses are all kinked into small circles. Tried to siphon gas out of my motorcycle using these hoses by myself, and it was a nightmare. If I got the tank hose situated, the gas can end kept coming out. Advise? Take this out of the package and work the hoses until they are straighter before use. Even then, have a second pairs of hands so that one person can focus on keeping the inlet hose at the bottom of the gas tank. Further advise. the smaller oil dipstick hose worked better for gas removal for me than the bigger hose, in part because it is easier to straighten. Best of siphoning!
Pros: All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Siphon works well

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We got this siphon to work on a jet ski, which required the narrower tube. It took longer to siphon because we were restricted to the smaller tube. The siphon worked well, but just took longer than we'd like.
This siphon would work great on a lawn mower where you could use the wider tube.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works as advertised

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Don't know what everyone else is complaining about but the product worked as advertised. It emptied the gas tank from my snow blower in less than a minute. I dont think you could do a car or boat with it but a small yard engine no problem.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product did the job it was intended to with Ease.

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needed this to drain the gas out of my lawnmower (evidently it was bad gas) and did the hob that it was intended to do within moments, very ease to use. Woud recommend this if you have the same need.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Englewood, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hoses are too short

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hoses are very short (25 1/2") and don't appear to match the picture for length. My neighbor has one that is almost identical and his hoses are 48 1/2" long. I'm trying to use this to drain my antique car gas tank and this simply won't work. The hoses are also kinked and I doubt they will ever unkink. I'm going to return it without even trying it.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expected better

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ran my lawn mower a minute just to warm the oil a bit to thin it out. The hose would collapse in on itself and not much would get drawn into it. I needed to remove the hose several times in the process. I finally got it out, but it was more work than I expected.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Hudson, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I was looking for.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect for what I needed! Worked as advertised. Love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Siphon Pump Kit
from New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good if you use a heat gun.

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It is true about the coiled tubing being difficult. I found that if you use a heat gun to restraighten the hoses, it makes a world of difference. If you don't heat the hoses to reform them, you might as well not bother purchasing it.
Pros: kept me from getting more gas in my mouth
Cons: requires continuous pumping to remove fluid
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is worth the extra bucks

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before trying this product I tried a few other cheap products but nothing work as closed to this one. A bit costly but worth the extra bucks if you are going to use it. Saves both time & effort & greatly the frustration :-)
Enjoy!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Siphon Pump Kit
from miami
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It works.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought the pump to drain my boat gas sludge. It didn't fit to the tank but I found another use for it. I pumped the gas from my generator that has been sitting for years. I found the gas was dark and developed a jelly like substance which I was able to strain out with a cotton shirt. The pump worked quickly and with little effort. Make sure your pump doesn't have any kinks in it which will stop the flow. Mine came with about six kinks which stopped the flow several times.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: hose came kinked in package
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't bother with this. It's inexpensive for a reason. It doesn't work. Hose is cheap plastic that kinks which interferes with flow of fluids. The way the hose is packaged makes it kinked right out of the box. Doesn't have a good vacuum seal so doesn't really work as a siphon. I was using it to siphon gasoline out of my lawn mower. Wasn't helpful.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Litchfield
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

JUNK

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It didn't work at all. Gas all over and just a complete train wreck.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Siphon Pump Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible product, could not get it to work.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If possible I would have given this less than one star in all categories. I bought it today and spent 20-25 minutes trying to get it to work. I read the directions as simple as they are and even tried lubricating it. I could not get it to work. I ended up by picking up the power washer, tipping it over and pouring the gasoline into the gas can though a funnel. I was able to get all the gas into the gas can except about 15% which spilled over onto my walkway. I bought it today. Tomorrow it goes back for a refund. If you are feeling great and you want a very frustrating situation to bring down your day buy this product.
Cons: could not get it to work
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Aurora, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Adequate

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I needed to siphon some gas out of a piece of yard equipment. I have not had to use a siphon in years and did not have one. This is the only one my local Home Depot had. It is adequate but very cheaply made. The hose is stiff and prone to kinking. Like a lot of things lately it is made very cheaply and probably will not last through very many uses.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Not Durable, tubing stiff and prone to kinking
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Siphon Pump Kit
from California, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works fine and easy to use but if you want to siphon gas from a large suv or truck tank you are going to need a longer tube.You stay clean and safe.
+22points
26out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Siphon Pump Kit

Good product

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked great for me and it includes a narrow diameter tube to pump oil from oil dipstick. I used this narrow tube to pump from a motorcycle gas tank. There is an adapter to convert from wide tube to narrow (1/4") tube.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 >>