728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Siphon Pump Kit

Siphon Pump Kit

The Arnold Siphon Pump is the perfect tool to drain the oil and gas in your outdoor power equipment. In a few quick and easy steps, you can prepare your equipment for off season storage, or just transfer gas from one machine to another. Once you're finished, dissemble the pump for easy cleaning.
Overall rating:
3.171 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product23 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(12)
Features 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product23 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for Siphon Pump Kit
Review 1 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Lakeland, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Great

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you follow the instructions you shouldn't have any trouble with this pump. Make sure you spray lubricant ( I used vegetable cooking spray ) into the intake tube (the top tube) and move the pump handle up & down several times, and repeat. Next assemble the pump as instructed ( will vary on your use.....) place top hose into liquid to be pumped and point bottom hose where liquid is to go...when finished clean unit by pumping soapy water through it !! When finished dry everything and re-prime pump with vegetable oil. I believe a lot of these negative reviews are from operator error....you got to be smarter than the equipment you operate !!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Siphon Pump Kit
from BF PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for moving liquids between containers

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This siphon kit is ideal for all those times you don't want to pour out your liquids, and pollute the environment. Comes with 2 size hoses and adapter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Bonita Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Cheaply Made

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is an inexpensively built pump. The larger hoses are permanently bent because of the cheap material used, making it difficult to have them stay where you want them. The pump is okay but the hoses are coiled up so tightly in the packaging that they keep coiling up on themselves. I tried placing them in hot water to straighten them out and to remove the kinks with little success. I haven’t used it to transfer gas or oil from a tank to a container as yet. I found it work well to drain water from a toilet either when changing parts in the tank or from the bowl before replacing the toilet.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: cheaply made
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Siphon Pump Kit
from West Chester. PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent Little Siphon Pump

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Sometimes I'm not sure how to take on-line reviews. Yes, my hoses were kinked in the package just like everybody's. However, I had not one problem using this product. The pump assembled in 2 minutes and I've been siphoning my snow blower and emergency generator ever since. Not one issue with a bad siphon even with the kinked tubes. After using it once and setting it out in the sun, the kinks disappeared. No need to buy new tubes, that seems ridiculous. Buy this pump, read the directions and you won't have any problems.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Elmwood, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frustrating out of the box but worked

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Out of the box, the hoses are all kinked into small circles. Tried to siphon gas out of my motorcycle using these hoses by myself, and it was a nightmare. If I got the tank hose situated, the gas can end kept coming out. Advise? Take this out of the package and work the hoses until they are straighter before use. Even then, have a second pairs of hands so that one person can focus on keeping the inlet hose at the bottom of the gas tank. Further advise. the smaller oil dipstick hose worked better for gas removal for me than the bigger hose, in part because it is easier to straighten. Best of siphoning!
Pros: All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Concord, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Arnold Siphon Pump!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Arnold Siphon Pump.... is the helpful tool to drain the oil or gas in your outdoor power equipment. In a few quick and easy steps, I changed oil in my pushing lawn mower's engine! It would be very handy to get my lawnmower or any other equipment ready for off season storage! Oh, good for transferring gas from one machine to another.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expected better

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ran my lawn mower a minute just to warm the oil a bit to thin it out. The hose would collapse in on itself and not much would get drawn into it. I needed to remove the hose several times in the process. I finally got it out, but it was more work than I expected.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Fayetteville, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WORKED GREAT

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As noted by other reviewers, the hoses came out of the package a bit kinked; however, a little warm air and warm water solved that. Otherwise, the pump worked perfectly with the existing hoses. I purchased it to get rid of the water in a broken dishwasher and the pump did exactly what it was built to do. Clean up was easy and I didn't even have to oil the pump. The beauty of this pump is that you can use it with just about any liquid. The price was fantastic, too. I would have rated this product with all Excellent ratings, but the kinked hose brought down the Quality rating. Other than that, the quality of the pump is great...made sturdy and should provide many years of service. Great investment, time saver, doesn't require much effort to use.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works as advertised

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Don't know what everyone else is complaining about but the product worked as advertised. It emptied the gas tank from my snow blower in less than a minute. I dont think you could do a car or boat with it but a small yard engine no problem.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Siphon Pump Kit

Very handy,and very needed.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This pump was a lifesaver. We mistakenly put to much oil into our push mower. I had a little trouble finding it. The associate was very helpful in locating this item.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Siphon works well

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We got this siphon to work on a jet ski, which required the narrower tube. It took longer to siphon because we were restricted to the smaller tube. The siphon worked well, but just took longer than we'd like.
This siphon would work great on a lawn mower where you could use the wider tube.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Siphon Pump Kit
from New Hampshire
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good pump

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great pump. Works very, very good.
The only thing that was not so great was straightening the hoses.
They were balled up into small bundles and kinked.
I had to soak in warm water then unkink them.
But for the money, this is a great pump.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: kinks in hose
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product did the job it was intended to with Ease.

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needed this to drain the gas out of my lawnmower (evidently it was bad gas) and did the hob that it was intended to do within moments, very ease to use. Woud recommend this if you have the same need.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Independence, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what I expected, but works for what it is

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Somehow I was expecting a larger handheld siphon, that's what you get from not reading the description closely. I just used the syphon to remove the oil from my zero-turn mower before replacing it. I really like the idea of replacing the oil every mowing season and not just adding more, and this makes it so easy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Siphon Pump Kit
from miami
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It works.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought the pump to drain my boat gas sludge. It didn't fit to the tank but I found another use for it. I pumped the gas from my generator that has been sitting for years. I found the gas was dark and developed a jelly like substance which I was able to strain out with a cotton shirt. The pump worked quickly and with little effort. Make sure your pump doesn't have any kinks in it which will stop the flow. Mine came with about six kinks which stopped the flow several times.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: hose came kinked in package
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Siphon Pump Kit
from clarence NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A woth-it purchase.I hope it last's forever

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This pump is exactly what I wanted.I don't have to suck on a plastic hose,Anymore. Maintaining my Lawnmower and my Snowblower are NOW very simple.Only took a few days.to Receive. Good Job. Thank's
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Englewood, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hoses are too short

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hoses are very short (25 1/2") and don't appear to match the picture for length. My neighbor has one that is almost identical and his hoses are 48 1/2" long. I'm trying to use this to drain my antique car gas tank and this simply won't work. The hoses are also kinked and I doubt they will ever unkink. I'm going to return it without even trying it.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Siphon Pump Kit

siphon

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The siphon was not work with oil as described; it might work with thinner liquids..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Hudson, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I was looking for.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect for what I needed! Worked as advertised. Love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Siphon Pump Kit
from New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good if you use a heat gun.

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It is true about the coiled tubing being difficult. I found that if you use a heat gun to restraighten the hoses, it makes a world of difference. If you don't heat the hoses to reform them, you might as well not bother purchasing it.
Pros: kept me from getting more gas in my mouth
Cons: requires continuous pumping to remove fluid
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>