728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Siphon Pump Kit

Siphon Pump Kit

The Arnold Siphon Pump is the perfect tool to drain the oil and gas in your outdoor power equipment. In a few quick and easy steps, you can prepare your equipment for off season storage, or just transfer gas from one machine to another. Once you're finished, dissemble the pump for easy cleaning.
Overall rating:
3.064 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product25 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(15)
Features 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product25 of 46reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Siphon Pump Kit
Review 1 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Oakland, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy $4 hose, & it's unbeatable!

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having read the reviews before I shopped, I was aware of the kinked hoses sold with this item. However, clear plastic hose (3/8" interior, 1/2" exterior diameter) is available on the plumbing aisle -- a perfect, tight fit for all couplings! A six-foot length (that can be cut to suit at home) is $4.00 -- for a total of $16. Ace sells an identical pump with un-kinked hoses for $45 -- so use a little common sense, do the math, and buy the pump kit here, with the hoses separately, and you'll save two-thirds!
i'm using the device out on my terrace, to remove rainwater from the pans beneath potted plants (to prevent root rot). As others have noted, even with the new hose, the pump is a bit cumbersome to operate (two handed) while keeping the intake hose fully submerged. That said, it does the job, and the price is right!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, excellent value, stunningly improved with a la carte hose
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Lakeland, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Great

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you follow the instructions you shouldn't have any trouble with this pump. Make sure you spray lubricant ( I used vegetable cooking spray ) into the intake tube (the top tube) and move the pump handle up & down several times, and repeat. Next assemble the pump as instructed ( will vary on your use.....) place top hose into liquid to be pumped and point bottom hose where liquid is to go...when finished clean unit by pumping soapy water through it !! When finished dry everything and re-prime pump with vegetable oil. I believe a lot of these negative reviews are from operator error....you got to be smarter than the equipment you operate !!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Siphon Pump Kit
from minneapolis,slush capital of America
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

stiff, kinked hoses

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This pump is actually a good idea and should have been very useful. But the hoses are a hopelessly stiff plastic. In the package, they come folded up into a tight bundle secured by a cable tie, and days after unpacking the pump, they're still curled up in a circle and kinked in several places. The plastic is actually white at the kinks, showing that the plastic has been stretched and weakened.
With these hoses, it takes 4 hands to use the pump - 1 to try and hold each hose straight, and 2 to work the pump. And you can't get the curled-up hose to reach to the bottom of a gas tank.
With better hoses, this could have been a good product.
Cons: poor quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Siphon Pump Kit
from BF PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for moving liquids between containers

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This siphon kit is ideal for all those times you don't want to pour out your liquids, and pollute the environment. Comes with 2 size hoses and adapter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Bonita Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Cheaply Made

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is an inexpensively built pump. The larger hoses are permanently bent because of the cheap material used, making it difficult to have them stay where you want them. The pump is okay but the hoses are coiled up so tightly in the packaging that they keep coiling up on themselves. I tried placing them in hot water to straighten them out and to remove the kinks with little success. I haven’t used it to transfer gas or oil from a tank to a container as yet. I found it work well to drain water from a toilet either when changing parts in the tank or from the bowl before replacing the toilet.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: cheaply made
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Siphon Pump Kit
from NE Indiana

Might work better in warm weather

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I attempted to use this product in 40 degree weather and it was almost impossible to straighten the coiled tubing and it kept forming kinks and stopping the suction while in use. May work very well in warmer weather - I won't know because I disposed of mine after it's first use.
You are supposed to be able to disassemble the pump and clean it which sounds like a very useful feature although I didn't get that far with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

NOT SO GOOD

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
MFR is using wrong type of hose. When you pull it out of the small package it remains curled up and kinked. This makes it difficult to keep the hose in tank and container when you need two hands to pump your tank out.
Cons: Difficult to Use, needs better hoses
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Elmwood, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frustrating out of the box but worked

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Out of the box, the hoses are all kinked into small circles. Tried to siphon gas out of my motorcycle using these hoses by myself, and it was a nightmare. If I got the tank hose situated, the gas can end kept coming out. Advise? Take this out of the package and work the hoses until they are straighter before use. Even then, have a second pairs of hands so that one person can focus on keeping the inlet hose at the bottom of the gas tank. Further advise. the smaller oil dipstick hose worked better for gas removal for me than the bigger hose, in part because it is easier to straighten. Best of siphoning!
Pros: All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Siphon Pump Kit
from West Chester. PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent Little Siphon Pump

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Sometimes I'm not sure how to take on-line reviews. Yes, my hoses were kinked in the package just like everybody's. However, I had not one problem using this product. The pump assembled in 2 minutes and I've been siphoning my snow blower and emergency generator ever since. Not one issue with a bad siphon even with the kinked tubes. After using it once and setting it out in the sun, the kinks disappeared. No need to buy new tubes, that seems ridiculous. Buy this pump, read the directions and you won't have any problems.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expected better

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ran my lawn mower a minute just to warm the oil a bit to thin it out. The hose would collapse in on itself and not much would get drawn into it. I needed to remove the hose several times in the process. I finally got it out, but it was more work than I expected.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Siphon Pump Kit

Worked as expected

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to siphon the gas from a ride-on lawn mower and it worked very well. The only reason I gave 4 stars for quality and ease of use was because of the plastic used for the siphon which is packaged all folded up and when you unfold it the creases remain in the plastic and inhibits the siphoning process. I was so glad I read previous reviews that mentioned the various techniques to get the bends out prior to actually trying to use it. I heated the plastic and it really took serious un-bending to make it straight enough to work. The manufacturer should really consider using a different type of material that would be more pliable. Other than that it was great to use the siphon. It worked very well and I am happy with the product and I would recommend it as long at the buyer is aware of the flaw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Peachtree city ga
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

warning warning

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
not easy to use. requires constant lubrication with something like WD-40. quit working fter about a year
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Siphon Pump Kit
from miami
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It works.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought the pump to drain my boat gas sludge. It didn't fit to the tank but I found another use for it. I pumped the gas from my generator that has been sitting for years. I found the gas was dark and developed a jelly like substance which I was able to strain out with a cotton shirt. The pump worked quickly and with little effort. Make sure your pump doesn't have any kinks in it which will stop the flow. Mine came with about six kinks which stopped the flow several times.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: hose came kinked in package
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Concord, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Arnold Siphon Pump!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Arnold Siphon Pump.... is the helpful tool to drain the oil or gas in your outdoor power equipment. In a few quick and easy steps, I changed oil in my pushing lawn mower's engine! It would be very handy to get my lawnmower or any other equipment ready for off season storage! Oh, good for transferring gas from one machine to another.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Englewood, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hoses are too short

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hoses are very short (25 1/2") and don't appear to match the picture for length. My neighbor has one that is almost identical and his hoses are 48 1/2" long. I'm trying to use this to drain my antique car gas tank and this simply won't work. The hoses are also kinked and I doubt they will ever unkink. I'm going to return it without even trying it.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works as advertised

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Don't know what everyone else is complaining about but the product worked as advertised. It emptied the gas tank from my snow blower in less than a minute. I dont think you could do a car or boat with it but a small yard engine no problem.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Siphon Pump Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible product, could not get it to work.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If possible I would have given this less than one star in all categories. I bought it today and spent 20-25 minutes trying to get it to work. I read the directions as simple as they are and even tried lubricating it. I could not get it to work. I ended up by picking up the power washer, tipping it over and pouring the gasoline into the gas can though a funnel. I was able to get all the gas into the gas can except about 15% which spilled over onto my walkway. I bought it today. Tomorrow it goes back for a refund. If you are feeling great and you want a very frustrating situation to bring down your day buy this product.
Cons: could not get it to work
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Fayetteville, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WORKED GREAT

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As noted by other reviewers, the hoses came out of the package a bit kinked; however, a little warm air and warm water solved that. Otherwise, the pump worked perfectly with the existing hoses. I purchased it to get rid of the water in a broken dishwasher and the pump did exactly what it was built to do. Clean up was easy and I didn't even have to oil the pump. The beauty of this pump is that you can use it with just about any liquid. The price was fantastic, too. I would have rated this product with all Excellent ratings, but the kinked hose brought down the Quality rating. Other than that, the quality of the pump is great...made sturdy and should provide many years of service. Great investment, time saver, doesn't require much effort to use.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Siphon Pump Kit
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't bother with this. It's inexpensive for a reason. It doesn't work. Hose is cheap plastic that kinks which interferes with flow of fluids. The way the hose is packaged makes it kinked right out of the box. Doesn't have a good vacuum seal so doesn't really work as a siphon. I was using it to siphon gasoline out of my lawn mower. Wasn't helpful.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Siphon Pump Kit
from California, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works fine and easy to use but if you want to siphon gas from a large suv or truck tank you are going to need a longer tube.You stay clean and safe.
+21points
26out of 31found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>