728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Siphon Pump Kit

Siphon Pump Kit

The Arnold Siphon Pump is the perfect tool to drain the oil and gas in your outdoor power equipment. In a few quick and easy steps, you can prepare your equipment for off season storage, or just transfer gas from one machine to another. Once you're finished, dissemble the pump for easy cleaning.
Overall rating:
2.55 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
45%of customersrecommend this product9 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
2.5 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(9)
Features 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
45%of customersrecommend this product9 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for Siphon Pump Kit
Review 1 for Siphon Pump Kit
Hawk60
from Elmwood, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frustrating out of the box but worked

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Out of the box, the hoses are all kinked into small circles. Tried to siphon gas out of my motorcycle using these hoses by myself, and it was a nightmare. If I got the tank hose situated, the gas can end kept coming out. Advise? Take this out of the package and work the hoses until they are straighter before use. Even then, have a second pairs of hands so that one person can focus on keeping the inlet hose at the bottom of the gas tank. Further advise. the smaller oil dipstick hose worked better for gas removal for me than the bigger hose, in part because it is easier to straighten. Best of siphoning!
Pros: All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Siphon Pump Kit
Frank
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't bother with this. It's inexpensive for a reason. It doesn't work. Hose is cheap plastic that kinks which interferes with flow of fluids. The way the hose is packaged makes it kinked right out of the box. Doesn't have a good vacuum seal so doesn't really work as a siphon. I was using it to siphon gasoline out of my lawn mower. Wasn't helpful.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Siphon Pump Kit
DonS
from Cincinnanti

Useless hoses

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Every one of eight packages on the shelf had kinked hoses. Don't leave the store without buying replacement hoses.
Pros: Accurate
Cons: bad hoses
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Siphon Pump Kit
Mickey
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

poor packaging

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
not a good product for the average home owner. Hoses must be of better quality so it does not kink
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Siphon Pump Kit
abt216
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible product, could not get it to work.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If possible I would have given this less than one star in all categories. I bought it today and spent 20-25 minutes trying to get it to work. I read the directions as simple as they are and even tried lubricating it. I could not get it to work. I ended up by picking up the power washer, tipping it over and pouring the gasoline into the gas can though a funnel. I was able to get all the gas into the gas can except about 15% which spilled over onto my walkway. I bought it today. Tomorrow it goes back for a refund. If you are feeling great and you want a very frustrating situation to bring down your day buy this product.
Cons: could not get it to work
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Siphon Pump Kit
theUtilityGuy
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is worth the extra bucks

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before trying this product I tried a few other cheap products but nothing work as closed to this one. A bit costly but worth the extra bucks if you are going to use it. Saves both time & effort & greatly the frustration :-)
Enjoy!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Siphon Pump Kit
JeffPescador

Cheap

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is cheap both in terms of price as well as quality. The assembly parts are very flimsy and the hoses have multiple points of failure that reduce suction and cause leakage. After assembling the hoses, I was afraid to use it because I couldn't keep all of the parts together long enough to even test the pressure with the hoses empty.
I originally purchased the pump to do an oil change on my lawn mower. It was not capable of producing the suction required to lift fluid of that viscosity. I set the pump aside intent on returning it and did the oil change the old fashioned way by tipping the mower on its side.
Later, I had fueled the mower up and was getting ready to start if for the first time of the season when I noticed a fuel leak. Out of desperation, I quickly grabbed the pump a second time to see if I could use it to get as much fuel as possible out of the tank and back into a container before it all leaked out of the bottom of the mower and onto the ground. It actually worked, but not without excessive effort. The hoses are stiff and pumping out of a shallow well was difficult to keep the opening of the hose from introducing air into the system. I guess I officially own this thing now, but it will be put on a high shelf until the next garage sale.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Siphon Pump Kit
Dm7sus4
from Crown Point, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap quality. Impossible to uncurl hoses

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The thin plastic/vinyl hoses seem to be permanently curled. I don't recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Siphon Pump Kit
powerguystrongman
from miami
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It works.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought the pump to drain my boat gas sludge. It didn't fit to the tank but I found another use for it. I pumped the gas from my generator that has been sitting for years. I found the gas was dark and developed a jelly like substance which I was able to strain out with a cotton shirt. The pump worked quickly and with little effort. Make sure your pump doesn't have any kinks in it which will stop the flow. Mine came with about six kinks which stopped the flow several times.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: hose came kinked in package
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Siphon Pump Kit
Butch
from Wesley Chapel, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Siphon Pump Kit

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked for what I needed it for but the tubing was packed in such a way that it developed permanent kinks which on the intake side would close completely and would have to be pressed open to draw in fluid.
Pros: worked well when not kinksd
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Siphon Pump Kit
Donald

Good product

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked great for me and it includes a narrow diameter tube to pump oil from oil dipstick. I used this narrow tube to pump from a motorcycle gas tank. There is an adapter to convert from wide tube to narrow (1/4") tube.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Siphon Pump Kit
Handyman
from California, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works fine and easy to use but if you want to siphon gas from a large suv or truck tank you are going to need a longer tube.You stay clean and safe.
+21points
25out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Siphon Pump Kit
Godfrey
from Owings, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good product

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very good product does what is made for easily.It is also a good price
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Siphon Pump Kit
camaro22
from Mass
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

what a piece of junk

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the kinked hoses did not securely attach into the pump fittings. In cold weather the cheap tubing is very inflexible, I now smell like the gasoline that spilled all over the garage floor. A hose with a clamp or your finger to pull suction would be better than this. AWFUL I should return this sad thing
Cons: cheep materials
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Siphon Pump Kit
widdiebit
from Moses Lake, WA 98837, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is easy to assemble.

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just what I was looking for--easy to use and works great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Siphon Pump Kit
jess

Did not perform as stated

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your money. Could not get it to work. Beyond that I have nothing else to say.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Siphon Pump Kit
GREGB
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worthless

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wish I would have taken the suggestion of the other persons. This thing did not work even the first time. Was leaking air so it would not siphon. I glued the hoses in so there would be no leaks and it still would not work. Really BAD junk. I bought the 2.98 plastic one and it works extreemley well. Did not return as I had glued the hoses. JUNK, Not even good junk.
Cons: junk
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Siphon Pump Kit
BigJoe22
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little pricey for plastic, but does the job.

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
There aren't a lot of choices in this category in the store I went to, but it definitely does the job without the agrivation and mess of loosening the rusted drain plug and using a make-shift V-gutter out of cardboard to direct the oil into a container. It takes more pumps than you'd think to get the job done, but it doesn eventually empty all the oil out. I'd say it took me about 20 minutes. I was under the impression that once I started the flow of oil with a few pumps it would keep on flowing itself without my continual pumping and release, but that is not the case with this design.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Light Weight, a less messy alternative.
Cons: Not Durable, takes several pumps., overpriced for plastic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Siphon Pump Kit
jther

Pump Worked Like A Charm

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a little hesitant to purchase this pump because of some bad reviews but had no other option. I had to drain the gas out of my generator and lawn mower for movers. The instructions were clear and easy to understand. I hooked up the tubes and went to work. Drained both items without a problem. My only caveat is that it might be a little small if you were going to use it to drain the tank of a car or boat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Siphon Pump Kit
SteveK
from Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I pumped with this unit 4 or 5 times and within a three day period is stopped working. The took care of it. This is a poor product.
Cons: Not Durable
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.