728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bottom Freezer Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED

30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED

Everything you want is right there with this ENERGY STAR qualified refrigerator. The full-width refrigerator compartment makes it easy to find your groceries, and the side-swing freezer door opens and closes with ease. Spill-Catcher shelves ensure clean up will be easy, while gallon door bins allow for convenient large container storage. This model fits in a 30-inch opening, and the included ice maker will ensure you have cool drinks for everyone.
Overall rating:
4.229 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(140 reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product116 of 133reviews
Rating Breakdown 140 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(73)
4
(44)
3
(12)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product116 of 133reviews
Customer questions and answers:
67 Questions | 127 Answers
Customer reviews for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED

Good Value

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The refrigerator much larger than I anticipated since I was not able to see it in my local store. The freezer offers a lot of efficient storage space. The door bins are easy to remove.
The ice maker is loud enough to startle someone watching tv in the next room. Hopefully we will get used to this. The refrigerator did take nearly a full day to cool down but seems to be maintaining its temperature. The freezer cooled down within an hour.
This refrigerator has an excellent set of features for the money. I am glad that I didn't buy a more expensive model. Since the website did not show interior photos of the freezer, I took some and uploaded them. I hope they are helpful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+223points
223out of 223found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Nice fridge for the value

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This fridge has lots of space within! I love that both compartments have lights and separate thermostat settings (everything is cooled just right). The drawer in the freezer compartment could be better, but it does the job well enough. I do like that you could take it out to clean underneath if something should happen to leak. The fridge is a little awkward for trying to fit tall items without re-arranging and the top shelf then only becomes good enough for short items, but you can fit a 12 pack soda box under the deli drawer. The good news is, the door shelves & glass shelves are easily re-configurable; within a few minutes, you could have a new fridge layout. The ice maker works great. My only wish is that it came in a glossy, smooth black finish rather than a textured finish. Nice mid-range refrigerator, especially if you just don't want a standard freezer on top fridge.
Don't forget to wipe the surfaces inside the fridge and freezer compartments down before using and if you don't hook up the ice maker immediately, lift the arm to the OFF position so it's not running without a water supply, otherwise it makes a lot of noise. The only noise I hear is when the water fills up and when the ice drops. (like someone turned on a hose quickly and later rolled yahtzee dice)
I've only had the fridge a little over 2 weeks at the time of this review. I've also included 2 photos of the freezer since there is a lack of photos for this fridge, 1 is the whole freezer and how much space there is, the other shows the track on one side. The fridge photo is so you could see my config and how certain things fit within (gives a good feel for the interior size/space)
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: textured finish, freezer drawer basket is not on a track
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+65points
65out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Dearborn Heights, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this will do on a budget

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
average at best, not for a family over 3 people, not built very well at all,
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It was a rocky delivery

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This refrigerator is great but I had a hard time getting it. When the service people came at 4:45 on Wed. they were tired ,rude and somehow the screws were stripped and it had to go back. I couldn't get a replacement for 2 days and never received a call when it would be delivered so I had to wait around until 2:00 on Friday when a very cordial service person called and said he'd be there in 25 min. This team was excellent and my refrigerator was working in 20 min. I kept the old and they put it in the garage and pluged it in and we had refrigeration. It's a good thing because it takes several hours to bring the new refrigerator to correct temp.You have to have an empty refrigerator or coolers that maintain your food for 3-4 hours. So think about your food if you buy in the summer. We replaced our working frig and plan on donating it so we just put all our items in bags( those cloth grocery bags) and it was easy to take them out and replace them in the new refrig. Each bag held what was on each self or bin.. I talked to Maytag regarding the quality control of the stripped screws and 48 hr delay in replacement and they told me they would check 2nd refrig and were sending me a gift card for our trouble,I have a bad back and so many items have gone bad because I couldn't see them. I open the door now and everthing is right in front and I am amazed. I tell someone everyday how great this refrigerator is. I wish I bought it 2 years ago. This product gets a five in spite of a rocky delivery.
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED

the best I found

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did not want a fancy sooper dooper deluxe fridge. I love the bottom freezer and don't know why they all don't come like this! I have more room than in my old fridge and Maytag was recommended by the repair guy who told my my last one was "terminal," after only five years! This was a great price for a simple new fridge and nice interior. I wish I could have declined the ice maker but this was not an option to decline. I would recommend this, ask me again in 5 yrs.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
from ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

spacious - can see everything at a glance

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this refrigerator- Much more room than a side by side- When we open the door we know where everything is. I even love the freezer which does surprise me, best purchase in a long time. love love love it :)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED

So far so good

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Refrigerator was used to complete a home bar so the upper refrigerator was a must for me.
The only thing to consider is if one is purchasing this as their primary home frig, be sure this will be large enough. Clearly large enough for a couple but if you have a large family I would suggest going up one size.
Also this model has a swinging freezer door which is fine for me but if it was my primary frig I might prefer a drawer style freezer.
Great value and so far trouble free (1 month).
Delivery process was smooth and problem free.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Wyandotte, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with this refrigerator

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Refrigerator and freezer are very spacious. Drawers are nice especially because you can see through them. I like it also because it's easy to see items on the shelves and in the drawers. You can move the shelves and drawers around. I never had a bottom freezer before and I love it. It's very easy to keep clean on the inside and outside. Great price and free delivery.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So far so good

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When it was delivered, the guys moved the handle from left to right and gingerly put it in place. It cooled down in about an hour and has been humming quietly ever since.
Note: this unit is quiter then my computer. So far, so good.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Wanamingo, MN 55983, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has great value.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent refrigerator at a great price. Love the big bottom freezer and pull out basket. Easy to move to clean behind and under!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what we needed!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this refrigerator! It was hard to find this particular size to fit our limited space. Inside is more than adequate and has 3 storage bins (2 humidity controlled) and adjustable shelves throughout. Love the bottom freezer with icemaker. Runs so quietly. Looks great. Only had it for a month but can't find any negatives so far.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect for narrow space, good price. Freezer door better than a heavy drawer.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fridge met the needs of my downsized home's kitchen. It was nice to find a product in an unusual size at a fair price. Quiet, cools quickly. Lots of useful drawers and shelf options. No complaints at all.
Pros: Lots of Features, Sturdy, Nice Design
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Lincoln Park
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

bottom freezer is great

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
the inside of the refrigerator is a little small but the glass shelves make it east to stack and place any size container.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Pitman, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome!!!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I didn't need a new refrigerator but I needed a bigger one. So I kept my eye on this one for months. Then I decided after shopping around other competitor's, Homedepot had the best price and the reviews were great. its been almost a month and I can just say WOW. its quiet, lots of room in the fridge and freezer areas.The delivery was fast and easy!! Didn't have to lift a finger! I LOVE my new fridge!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great features.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great for the two of us. Freezer is on the small side but we like it. We definitely feel we got a good deal.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED

WONDERFUL FRIG FOR THE PRICE!!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So wonderful to be able to see what's in my frig!!
Hopefully less waste will occur due to hidden items.
Love my new refrigerator!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Cumming, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

simple and sweet

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product is great for the money. Ordered on line it was delivered when they said it would be. Very happy with product and service. :Love the freezer in the bottom.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Brooklyn NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Satisfied

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It fits great, I like having the freezer on the bottom. A bit noisier than I hoped. I don't know about the energy efficiency yet haven't gotten a bill. I like the shelving arrangement, but not sure how I would fit in a large item.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED

Great refrigerator for the money

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We liked the flexablility and quality of the shelving. The Icemaker works very well.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Looks Great, Convenient, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black-DISCONTINUED

Maytag MBF1953YEB

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love our new fridge! Having the freezer on the bottom is great since we don't have to bend over as much getting into the refrigerator door. Also we love that the door holds gallons of milk juice etc. No more shuffling through the shelves to get to the jug we want. It has a textured finish so it should hide flaws in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>