728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors

Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors

The most convenient standard duty door closer on the market. A pneumatic closer that has a smooth closing motion similar to a hydraulic closer without the mess and the cost. Patented push-button technology means a simple tap with a foot, elbow, or finger
Overall rating:
4.226 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product22 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product22 of 28reviews
Customer reviews for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
Review 1 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors

Skeptical about the hardware

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
To be honest, I did not install this opener because I was skeptical that the hardware would
not stand up to long term use. The mounting brackets were made of plastic. Why isn't it made of metal?
Returning item because of this.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
from San Diego
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product - Love it!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this door closer more than 3 months with no problem. It works as advertised and definitely will buy it again...
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, Durable

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this online and had it shipped to the nearest Home Depot store. It was shipped in a timely manner, HD was very communicative throughout the entire shipping and receiving process which made it worry-free for me.
I have an Anderson storm door. This closer kit came with everything I needed, and even a few extras. It was easy to install, it works great, and looks good.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
from Port Charlotte, FL

Working Fine, easy replacment

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Working fine to date, was exact replacement. Would recommend to others and on time delivery.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
from Central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best door closer I've ever had.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought three of these to replace my old door slammer closers. I hated the sudden surge as the door closed, slamming them shut. You could hear the screen doors closing two blocks away, not to mention they were damaging the finish on the doors and the frames. I had repositioned the mounting on the closers so they closed the door before the last surge at the end of the travel, but the other closers did not have enough power to close the doors. These close almost silently and have enough power to pull the doors closed, even in a stiff breeze. The one touch button locks are great. Just open the door and push the button and they stay with no slipping. When you close them, just give the door a gentle push with your elbow, or shoulder or foot, and it will close behind you. Great when you're unloading groceries and both arms are full.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, one button push no slipping metal plates, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
from SOUTH FLORIDA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DOOR CLOSER WORKS GREAT

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OUR LOCAL DOOR INSTALLER USED THESE CLOSERS ON INSTALLATION ABOUT A YEAR AGO. THEY WERE INSTALLED ON HEAVY HURRICANE RATED ENTRY DOOR AND THE FAMILY LIKED HOW THEY OPERATED. SO I PURCHASED A TOUCH AND HOLD CLOSER FOR OUR PATIO. THE OLD CLOSER WAS NOISY AND LEAKED OIL -- THIS ONE IS SMOOTH AND QUIET AND DON'T LEAK!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors

Product does exactly what it advertises.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ordered this product as a replacement for the original that I broke by stepping on it by accident. Couldn't be happier with it. It was an exact match for the original and was extremely easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Touch'n Hold Pneumatic Door Closer

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice item. I love the feature on the pump which you can use your foot to click on to keep the door open when you have your arms full of groceries. And I like the feature that you just have to nudge the door slightly open to have it automatically close behind you. I also like the adjustment of closing force for all types of doors.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
from Lubbock, TX 79423, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is exactly as described on your website

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is exactly as described on your website and once installed, it is working as well as I expected.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors

Hardly any different than basic closer.

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After much hype and hope, I installed this closer. Screen door still snaps back from 90 degree open to about 45 degrees. It then closes smoothly from there. But the snap-back is still a problem, which is the main reason I bought this. Also, it sometimes sticks open at 45 degrees and just sits there. I have to push it open then it closes all the way.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
from Valparaiso, IN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally, a tame door-closer!

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does its job without bouncing the door into your heels and without making you fight the door, ever. Hold-open is easy to use. When door is fully opened, closer begins closing it, slows after door is about a third of the way closed, and closes the last third a bit faster. Sometimes there is a pause after the first third. The final closure is not damped, so the door closes smartly rather than quietly. It remains to be seen how well it handles windy conditions. Can't yet speak to durability, but have no reason to doubt it. Seems well worth the price.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors

What you see is what you get

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect replacement for a worn out unit. Didn't need to switch any of the hardware / brackets. SImply unhooked the old and connected the new. 5 minutes later, I got a door that no longer whacks me on the way in the house
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors

it does what is expected of it..

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was easy to install. it stops at the touch of the button and releases when the door pushed bit outwards and released.. Only thing I can complain about is it's color.. my original door was almond and this one is white..I would have given it five stars had I had the choice of my color. it's just few weeks of purchase .. so can't write for sure about quality... but seems like it will last longer than that came with the door!
Pros: Easy to Install, Well Made
Cons: color
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
from Chelmsford, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

One of the best.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is second Touch n Hold we have used, one of the best. Easy to install and easy to use, very nice control to keep the door open, and then close it easily.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Door closer

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (Bronze) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm & Screen Doors
This closer is just what I was looking for, my door is now easy to open and closes slow enough so not to hit me before I get inside.
Pros: Easy to Move, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors

Good feature but weak hydraulic

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (Black) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm & Screen Doors
Was easy to install, but having just this one did not seem to be strong enough for Kansas wind. I suggest getting the package with a top and bottom closer kit if you have any kind of wind
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: more of light duty than medium, need addition part to hold screws to door
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
from Texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product works as advertized

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (Black) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm & Screen Doors
this product works as advertized. holds door open with a touch of a button
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors

Best Closer I've Had

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (Sandstone) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm & Screen Doors
I bought this to replace a closer on a $500 storm door that included a poor quality closer (that has broken twice already). This closer appears to be well built and functions so much more smoothly than the stock closer. It's like butta!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great replacement product

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (Cranberry) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm & Screen Doors
I have a glass door with two door closers. the bottom one would not close. So, I found this replacement based on the manufacturer of the old one. The replacement is better than the original. Been working exactly as expected for several months now.
Would highly recommend.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Touch'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (White) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
from Lawrence, KS, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Operates as advertised, smoothly and with easy lock.

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Touch 'n Hold Smooth Single Kit (Almond) - Standard Duty Pneumatic Door Closer for Storm and Screen Doors
Smooth operation, doesn't rapidly swing into your heel.. Easy to use lock in place mechanism.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>