728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

The Ortho Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Ready-to-Use Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer is designed for interior and exterior use to kill ants, roaches, spiders and other pests and to help keep new ones from entering your home. This product features a sprayer for application of the fast-drying, non-staining formula.
Overall rating:
4.007 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(544 reviews) 544
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product415 of 528reviews
Rating Breakdown 544 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(332)
4
(80)
3
(24)
2
(20)
1
(88)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product415 of 528reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
Review 1 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Lubbock, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST STUFF EVER!!!!

PostedJune 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product after my co-worker recommended it because I had a garage full of black widow spiders. I sprayed this stuff on the black widows and they withered up and died within 5 seconds no kidding. I have little children so it was of the utmost importance to get rid of these things. I also sprayed the inside of the house because we lived near a dumpster where flies would come in the house every time we opened the door. This stuff killed the flies, spiders, centipedes, whatever came in the house. I sprayed outside the door and inside the baseboards of the house. I never smell a thing because it's odorless.
Pros: Strong, Great Quality
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

READ: There is a cheaper, better alternative available.

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
This product just seems silly. The chemicals it uses are no doubt effective, but the spraying mechanism is a complete joke. If you want high quality protection, you need a 2 foot out/ 2 foot up spray around the house foundation, as well as a spray by any windows and doors. (I think domyownpestcontrol has a video that explains all of this) Applying that much product with what is basically a crummy windex sprayer is simply impractical.
There are bifenthrin concentrates available that are FAR cheaper (Talstar P, Bifen I/T, etc.) You can buy a 16 or 32 ounce bottle of the stuff for around $20, and 1 ounce makes 1 gallon. You only need a pump sprayer to apply it, a good one runs maybe $15. Your total initial investment will be about $40, but you will have FAR more product available (16 gallons versus 1.33 gallons) to use and a MUCH better way of using it. (Wand sprayer vs windex type thing.)
Mixed at a ratio of 1 ounce per gallon yields 0.06% bifenthrin. Home Defense Max is 0.05% with some cypermethrin mixed in for quicker initial knockdown (This just makes it so if you spray it directly on an insect, it kills it rather than having to wait for the bifenthrin to do the job.)
So forget this junk and get the real deal. You can even use other chemicals with the sprayer like weed killer, fungicide, deck wash, house wash, bleach + TSP cleaner, etc.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 30, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 30, 2015
We are sorry that you have found the design of the Ortho Home Defense MAX Insect Killer For Indoor & Perimeter1 container andapplicator to be unsatisfactory. Although we test the packaging very thoroughly before we introduce it to the public, we know that your experience may be different from our own. It is only through feedback that we can improve our products and packaging. Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Review 3 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Deep in the woods

Hopeful This Works

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a big-city midwesterner that just moved down to the woods of North Georgia - I got stung in my house by a southern devil scorpion, so my landlord gave me this stuff. The outside perimeter of the house was recently sprayed by a professional, so this is a second line of defense. We also have diatomaceous earth under the decks. If this stuff actually keeps my house scorpion free, I'm buying stock in the company! So far I have seen plenty of dead spiders so I know its working, but the real test is whether I can get back to sleeping at night without fear...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Ralston, AB
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Prevented THOUSANDS from entering my home

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have millions of fire ants living in my yard. They were all over my trees, patio furniture, bbq and house. I threw this line down 6 inches up from the base of my patio furniture (mid leg) and then had no more ants or beatles crawling up my furniture. I did the same on the wheels of my bbq to the same effect.
In order to keep them out of my house I did all my exterior door jams, edged my windows and threw a line around my entire foundation. I now have 0 ants/beatles and even less spiders inside my residence.
I then edged the border of my pathway and driveway and no longer have any ants attaching me as I walk from home to vehicle.
Highly reccommend its ude
Pros: Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This saved my life!

PostedAugust 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My dad recommended this product to me and although I don't really believe in store bought bug spray...this works! Maybe not for everything but I had a few pincher bugs and a baby scorpion in our brand new apartment on the second floor. Isn't that crazy! I didn't even think bugs could climb up here (just kidding). I hate bugs and was ready to call an exterminator until i used this. I live in Arizona so its really hot in the summer and bugs like cool places...like my house. I use it once every month just on the baseboards of my apartment and the outside of my back door. I haven't seen one bug since. Thanks Ortho, defiantly worth the $$$
Pros: Great Quality, non toxic
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Los Angeles, CA

Works great

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have been battling ants for a long time. Tried borax and sugar water and they just would not go away. Did not want to resort to a pesticide, but this stuff works really great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Jacksonville fla
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Dont waste you money is just water

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I spray for two week every day still a have roach , im very clean person , no food in my kitchen , no body live aroud me , I live in house , I use this poison the last year and work perfect but now no work I think they try save money and put too much water ,,,work no more ,dont waste 8 dollar in water
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 28, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 28, 2015
We're saddened to hear that the product did not control the roaches as it should have. We want you to feel confident in our products, and for that reason we offer a product guarantee to our customers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us using the information that can be found by following the link below and we would be more than happy to assist you in any way that we can.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Scotts-v2/help scotts
Review 8 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spider alive and well a week later!

PostedAugust 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I sprayed my interior and found a spider in the next room. So I wanted to test this chemical and put the spider on the area that I sprayed. Moved him around to make sure he was exposed to it. Then put the spider in a bottle. 2 days later spider alive and well. So I repeated what I did to make sure he was exposed to the chemical. Put him back in the bottle and 1 week later spider still alive! I thought you got to be kidding!
Cons: just didn't work. what a joke!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 18, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 18, 2015
We're sorry to hear that the product did not kill the spider as expected. We want you to feel confident in our products, and for that reason we offer a product guarantee to our customers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us using the information that can be found by following the link below so that we may assist your further.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Scotts-v2/help scotts
Review 9 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Preston
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Enter the dead zone if you dare

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased 20 year old home with a healthy number of ants in residence. Basement full of spiders too. A heavy application around perimeter of affected rooms and all we have found for weeks following is little specks of death. Have not seen a moving ant in weeks.
Basement is spider free - seems to kill most on contact.
Handheld electric pump wand is great. Got a deal at HD with a free refill that uses the same wand and it pumps both containers with ease. Awesome product.
Pros: Strong, odorless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Minnesota
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wont kill spiders on contact.

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading great reviews on this product I decided to give it a try. We moved into a house that has terrible spider problems. Today I sprayed this directly on a spider and it did nothing. You would have thought it would have drowned with the amount of spray I used! It took the varnish off the trim, but did nothing to kill the spider. :(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 13, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 13, 2015
We're saddened to hear that the product did not kill the spider as it should have. We want you to feel confident in our products, and for that reason we offer a product guarantee to our customers. Please contact us at your earliest convenience using the information that can be found by following the link below so that we may assist your further.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Scotts-v2/help scotts
Review 11 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Thing EVER!!!!!!

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have used this product for a couple of years now and it does the best job so far on fleas, ants, spiders, HUGE black water bugs and those icky nasty german water roaches.....we live by the local water filtration plant AND where 3 rivers come together so our yard is sandy dirt which fleas thrive in and this year they were EXTREMELY bad due to the drought then the constant rainfall which caused the flea population to explode the worst i have ever seen...we r still trying to rid our pets of them but they are dying off fairly quick due to this product being used in the home....now we are dealing with a bed bug problem...nothing has worked on those so far so we are hoping this may have an effect even though they aren't listed on the label as being one of the creepy crawlies this product is for... i will post on here and let everyone know how well it works on those nasty buggers.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

It works

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Some of my review can be a little long, but this one is quite easy. This product works...buy it.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Mentor, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live on 1 of the Great Lakes and had a huge problem with spiders on my balcony. One application and I have seen very few spiders! Easy to use. Would highly recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Lakeland, Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely useless; completely ineffective.

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've sprayed as per instructions in/under/behind cabinets, appliances, crevices, etc. throughout my kitchen over a week ago. I have not seen a single dead bug since. Not even one. The roaches continue to frolic in my kitchen as if nothing was done at all. I sprayed directly on several, only to see them scurry away as if they were sprayed with water.
A complete waste of time, money and effort.
Cons: ineffective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 4, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 4, 2015
We are sorry this product didn't work as expected. Timing is an important factor in insect control. Most insects cannot be controlled in the egg stage, so insecticides are targeted to control insects in the larval or adult stages. Also, more mature or larger insects will take longer to control than younger or smaller insects. You may not see the insects die immediately, but you should see a reduction in the pests or their damage within a few days. We want you to be confident in our products, for this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us to see what can be done. Visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Review 15 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Buford Ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NO bug problem

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a bug issue.a roach hitchhiked with a walking church lady i guess. I saw it so I ran right to home depot and bout this product because of the wand. I assumed it also worked on an issue and probably didn't work on a problem ~¿~ Well it didn't work the roach swam right through it under my dishwasher. for several more days I needed this to workhouse I just spent a lot of money on an important thing and I needed to give my bank a cool off period. All of a sudden I saw babies in the dishwasher one day ugh gross. I ran right to the closet store didn't care what it cost and got a bottle of raid. The raid nozzle has 2 lever points 1) to spray and 2) stream (like your using a wand) 1 week after using the raid my issue was resolved. If i kept trying to use Ortho I would have ended up with an infestation problem. Home Depot sales lady recommended this item I DO NOT
Cons: feeds roaches
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 4, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 4, 2015
We're saddened to hear that the product did not control the roach as expected. We want you to be confident in our products, and for that reason we offer a product guarantee to our customers. Please contact us at your earliest convenience using the information that can be found by following the link below so that we may assist you further.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Scotts-v2/help scotts
Review 16 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

This stuff is awesome!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We picked this product up after being unsatisfied with other products and methods. We hads sugar ants coming in the house through any gap in a window screen that they could find. Even though it states that it is safe to use indoors, we sprayed the perimeter of our house along with window frames and door frames. We had a large amount of dead ants and bugs along the outside of the house ... it was disgusting honestly, but goes to show how effective that the product is! We are still going on two months with zero bugs in the house.
We also decided to spray inside the perimeter of our garage in preperation for an upcoming party. We had first used a fogger in the garage and then cleaned it very well. After spraying this product, we AGAIN had a large amount of gross dead bugs. Our GARAGE is still bug free! I cannot say enough good things about this product!
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Aberdeen, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the best stuff for killing bugs at home

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this product for many years and it always outperforms the other available products. the protection lasts and the initial application kills immediately.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Brooklyn, New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It made my home have TRIPLE of roaches!

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Who would buy this!? It's a total waste of money and time!!! I cant believe I actually bought this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 4, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareAugust 4, 2015
We are sorry to hear of your experience with our product. Ortho Home Defense MAX Insect Killer For Indoor & Perimeter1 is a good product and will control listed insects. Timing is an important factor in insect control. Most insects cannot be controlled in the egg stage, so insecticides are targeted to control insects in the larval or adult stages. Also, more mature or larger insects will take longer to control than younger or smaller insects. You may not see the insects die immediately, but you should see a reduction in the pests or their damage within a few days. Treating both the outside entry points and the inside at the same time will also help.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/petzrfm scotts
Review 19 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't Work Like It DId

PostedJune 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this in past years and thought it was great. The jug I bought this year has been worthless. The ants are back in a couple of hours. And the sprayer broke in less than a week. I still had the sprayer from an old bottle so I switched them out, but I am not sure I will finish using the stuff. It isn't working.
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 30, 2015By ScottsCustomerCareJuly 30, 2015
We're saddened to hear that the product is not controlling the insects as expected. We want you to be confident in our products, and for that reason we offer a product guarantee to our customers. Please contact us at your earliest convenience using the information that can be found by following the link below and we would be more than happy to assist you further.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Scotts-v2/help scotts
Review 20 for Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Applicator

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The insect killer works great - my only problem is with the Applicator. Use it once, then 6 months later when you go to use it again, doesn't work. Need to clean it or ??? Now after 2 usages & 2 cleanings, the Applicator doesn't work, even after tried cleaning !! I have 1/2 of the Liquid left, but can't apply it !! Where can I get another Applicator?
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
Cons: applicator 'dries' out or plugs??
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>