728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

The Ortho Home Defense Max 1.33 Gallon Ready-to-Use Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer is designed for interior and exterior use to kill ants, roaches, spiders and other pests and to help keep new ones from entering your home. This product features a sprayer for application of the fast-drying, non-staining formula.
Overall rating:
3.549 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product68 of 99reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(10)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(26)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product68 of 99reviews
Customer reviews for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
Review 1 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
LLLnMML
from Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Thing EVER!!!!!!

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used this product for a couple of years now and it does the best job so far on fleas, ants, spiders, HUGE black water bugs and those icky nasty german water roaches.....we live by the local water filtration plant AND where 3 rivers come together so our yard is sandy dirt which fleas thrive in and this year they were EXTREMELY bad due to the drought then the constant rainfall which caused the flea population to explode the worst i have ever seen...we r still trying to rid our pets of them but they are dying off fairly quick due to this product being used in the home....now we are dealing with a bed bug problem...nothing has worked on those so far so we are hoping this may have an effect even though they aren't listed on the label as being one of the creepy crawlies this product is for... i will post on here and let everyone know how well it works on those nasty buggers.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

It works

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Some of my review can be a little long, but this one is quite easy. This product works...buy it.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
Beauty
from Houston
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Product

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this all the time in my vacant apartments and for my house and once i use it i never seen a roach again for 6 to 8 months respray and im bug free also it has so much in the one bottle it last all year long
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
ging81

This stuff is awesome!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We picked this product up after being unsatisfied with other products and methods. We hads sugar ants coming in the house through any gap in a window screen that they could find. Even though it states that it is safe to use indoors, we sprayed the perimeter of our house along with window frames and door frames. We had a large amount of dead ants and bugs along the outside of the house ... it was disgusting honestly, but goes to show how effective that the product is! We are still going on two months with zero bugs in the house.
We also decided to spray inside the perimeter of our garage in preperation for an upcoming party. We had first used a fogger in the garage and then cleaned it very well. After spraying this product, we AGAIN had a large amount of gross dead bugs. Our GARAGE is still bug free! I cannot say enough good things about this product!
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
newhomey1
from Aberdeen, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the best stuff for killing bugs at home

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product for many years and it always outperforms the other available products. the protection lasts and the initial application kills immediately.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
Joseph
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Poor Sprayer Design

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this product with decent success in the past, but if Ortho does not provide a better sprayer mechanism I will continue to look for alternatives. The battery operated sprayer is weak and ended up dying with half of the container of chemical still left. I ended up switching to a competitive product that has a pressure pump which allows you to pressurize the container, a much better design.
Pros: chemical is effective
Cons: poor sprayer design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
713SHOPPER
from Houston
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lies

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does not work to defend home or kill insects. I got it for ant beds in my front yard. saturated my yard with it and still see ant beds forming all around my yard. I have a small toddler and dont want him getting bitten. I also sprayed the inside oof all my rooms with this and i still seen a few spider webs. So i would not reccomend this. You can spray it on a insect and it does nothing.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
1234
from colonial heights va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works!!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product really works! No more spider crickets in the basement!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
JLTC
from Hayward, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will not kill after a couple of years

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product has a shelf life, possible only two years max. Several years ago, the insect killer was on sale at Home Depot, and I bought four gallons. It did the job the first two years, but after that, the liquid lost its effectiveness and doesn't not create a barrier. Ants still crawl along the baseboards I have sprayed. So I sprayed it directly on some ants to test it, and two minutes later, the ants were still alive!! I wish Ortho inform the consumer on the label about the limited shelf life.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
SANDY
from Weston, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WORKED ON CONTACT! KILLED ALL MY FLORIDA BUGS - WILL KEEP USING INSIDE AND OUT.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
newhomeowner
from The Colony, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it gets the job done

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect way to extend the date gor calling the exterminator back out. I use this for full protection, in and out. It does what it says it does.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
Niner
from Madisonville, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this stuff

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have always used this product inside and outside of my home. I live in a high humidity area with lots of bugs and this stuff works best to keep them at bay and out of my home.
Pros: Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
TBM1
from Falls Church, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for ants

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this last summer at the suggestion of a sales associate at Home Depot. I had tried the Terro Liquid baits which worked well but had to be replaced fairly often. This summer the ants started invading the kitchen and the front porch again. I sprayed Ortho around the perimeter of the kitchen door and under the cabinets, including all crevices quite well. This was about a month and a few days ago. Since then I have not seen any ants in the house. Even if I see a few ants on the part of the deck where I didn't spray, it looks like they are not able to cross the barrier of the Ortho spray. It has rained several times since then. We've even had a few thunderstorms which should have washed off all the Ortho but there haven't been any ants since I sprayed. I would like to think it is the Ortho since I didn't use anything else. So far it seems to have worked extremely well. I'm VERY happy not to find ants in the kitchen. This is money well spent. I fully recommend this product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
bug100
from Lithonia
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Home Defense

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this product for many years and tell everybody how well it works.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
valanzo7
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product I

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product has done wonders for my home. I bought this house out in the country with 2 emty lots one either side of my house and was infested with all sorts of creatures in and outside this house. One Thorough use and the all disappeared. That's ove 9 months now!!! I LOVE IT!
Victor
Pros: Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
2ndMouseGetsTheCheese
from Brooklyn, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wand is flawed; buy hand trigger 1 gallon and $ave

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wand powered on but but could not draw up liquid to spray. Returned it. I bought the 1 gallon manual pump, SKU 577923, for $10 less.
Pros: Great Quality, no petroleum smell
Cons: Not Durable, wand is garbage, expensive
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
LadyBug

HASN'T WORKED FOR US

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My spouse and I just went and purchased this product last week and have used it outside and inside our home. However we are still seeing ants in and around the house, and now they are even in rooms that they were not in before. Maybe we are not using enough of it or maybe it is too soon to expect results because it has only been a few days, but so far thumbs down.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
FastEddie
from E. Tennessee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
love the wand, battery powered sprayer, good range,3 spray patterns. seems to kill'em ok, time will tell, have used Ortho brand in the past and it worked well
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
Diemritzz

Follow up on previous comments... I see less crickets now.

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product does not kill small brown crickets, and spiders instantly, but after a week, I see less of them around the house. I also got a respond from Ortho and express their concerns for my comments of the problem, which I thought was good customer service.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
g00fy
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Not what it used to be

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used to swear by Ortho products, but it seems their home defense is not what it used to be. I used to go around the inside and outside of the house once at the beginning of the season, and once maybe mid season to keep everything out of my house...
Recently though, the new jugs i've purchased are lousy, I've got sugar ants like you wouldn't believe, and I have sprayed, and sprayed, and sprayed. This stuff kills on contact if i see a convoy of them, and it dispurses them for a couple days, but then they are back walking right along where I just heavily hosed down a couple days earlier. I even started turning over some of the slate steps they nest under and spraying down the nests, then covering it back up... Within a week they're back like i never even sprayed. Terrible...
Inside the house it seems to work a little better, if I spot a convoy in the house, usually 2 sprays or so and they stop coming inside the house where i sprayed.
So this stuff, does kinda work, but it doesn't really do anything outside the house as far as keeping bugs away...
Also a comment on the electric wand, the thing works great and is way better then squeezing the pump on a traditional sprayer... However, the plastic tube that goes to the sprayer head is way too fragile, I own 3 or 4 of them now between different products (poison ivy killer, ground clear, etc) and they all end up snapping... Luckily the want still works since a hose runs inside the tube, but it makes it difficult to aim well.
I'm going to have to look to other means to control the sugar ants at my house since their clearly isn't up to the job anymore.
Pros: wand works nice
Cons: doesnt repel for more than 2 days let alone a year, wand is fragile
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>