728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

The Ortho Home Defense Max 1.33 gal. Ready-to-Use Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer is designed for interior and exterior use to kill ants, roaches, spiders and other pests and to help keep new ones from entering your home. This product features a sprayer for application of the fast-drying, non-staining formula.
Overall rating:
3.376 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(133 reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
63%of customersrecommend this product82 of 130reviews
Rating Breakdown 133 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(62)
4
(14)
3
(8)
2
(10)
1
(39)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
63%of customersrecommend this product82 of 130reviews
Customer reviews for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
Review 1 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Ralston, AB
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Prevented THOUSANDS from entering my home

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have millions of fire ants living in my yard. They were all over my trees, patio furniture, bbq and house. I threw this line down 6 inches up from the base of my patio furniture (mid leg) and then had no more ants or beatles crawling up my furniture. I did the same on the wheels of my bbq to the same effect.
In order to keep them out of my house I did all my exterior door jams, edged my windows and threw a line around my entire foundation. I now have 0 ants/beatles and even less spiders inside my residence.
I then edged the border of my pathway and driveway and no longer have any ants attaching me as I walk from home to vehicle.
Highly reccommend its ude
Pros: Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Houston
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Product

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this all the time in my vacant apartments and for my house and once i use it i never seen a roach again for 6 to 8 months respray and im bug free also it has so much in the one bottle it last all year long
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
Age Range:45 to 54

Did not work

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used to have house professionally treated but we did not have any bugs. So I stopped; however, we had some people come over that have roaches and they travel in people purses and stuff that they bring. I started to see one or two bought this to treat them. It seemed alright at first, but soon I noticed that they were breeding. This spray does not kill them even if you spray them directly. I sprayed in cracks, crevices, under fridge, freezer, and sink but the infestation did not leave. It is a good value if it worked.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable, not effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Thing EVER!!!!!!

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used this product for a couple of years now and it does the best job so far on fleas, ants, spiders, HUGE black water bugs and those icky nasty german water roaches.....we live by the local water filtration plant AND where 3 rivers come together so our yard is sandy dirt which fleas thrive in and this year they were EXTREMELY bad due to the drought then the constant rainfall which caused the flea population to explode the worst i have ever seen...we r still trying to rid our pets of them but they are dying off fairly quick due to this product being used in the home....now we are dealing with a bed bug problem...nothing has worked on those so far so we are hoping this may have an effect even though they aren't listed on the label as being one of the creepy crawlies this product is for... i will post on here and let everyone know how well it works on those nasty buggers.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Southern California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Automatic wand is amazing. Effectiveness period is so-so

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sprayed the perimeter of my home before a long vacation to keep out the ants. Upon return I found my pantry and fridge covered in ants, however their trail came in through the top of a window and they did not cross the perimeter I had sprayed. The battery operated wand is an amazing invention because it allows you to spray a continuous stream without gaps. And it made my cleanup job much easier. This product is effective against ants and spiders however this is not commercial grade so don't expect it to last forever.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Inland Empire, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Very good product...

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used this in the past and will be going out to get more for pest control since summer is just around the corner.
"LLLnMML
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
35 to 44, Female" For LLLnMML, i have used an all natural cinnamon spray bought from a local 99 Cents store that got rid of bed bugs. It's safe around pets. I believe you can make your own with cinnamon extract or boil cinnamon sticks as if making tea. Put it in a spray bottle and lightly spray your mattress, sofas, etc.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from denver colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not that great

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product doesn't smell and is just average on getting rid of insects but the wand quit working. I've done everything to try to get it to work--batteries are fine--but not having much luck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

It works

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Some of my review can be a little long, but this one is quite easy. This product works...buy it.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from East Bay, California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked only for a week

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Always had spiders in the home but this year we saw some big roaches. Read up everywhere and this product got good reviews. Also at the hardware store the rep told me this is good to get.
I tried it as instructed and it worked immediately in our bedroom. Saw a spider on it's back when I sprayed it on the other side of the room. When I tried to pickup the spider, it was not dead but just crawled in a circle like it was stoned. Didn't see bugs inside for a week and I had sprayed outside extensively. On spraying outside, I went back around the home and saw roaches and spiders immediately dead where I had not noticed them before.
But about a week later, the weather got hot and I noticed the spiders came back in the home. Also we found a roach in the dining room and killed it with raid.
So disappointed as it seems to have worked only a week in. It does leave a smell outside the home when you have it on outside spray. The smell lingers for a week.
Disappointed. Wished it would have lasted at least 3 months.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Fremont, Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product for years and it always works great. I have large juniper hedges in my yard and spiders love them. About every six months I spray them with Home Defense and never have cobwebs. I have neighbors with similar hedges and theirs are covered with cobwebs. I also spray around my doors and window and never have spiders or ants in the house. In fact I spray a line in front of my garage door and on very hot days when the ants are trying to find cover I find them piled up dead by the hundreds at the line. I have had trouble with the spray nozzle so I purchased a two gallon plastic sprayer and I empty the Home Defense into that. Pump up the sprayer pressure and pull the trigger on the wand and just walk along spraying. This saves on arthritic hands not having to continually squeeze the sprayer than comes with it.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from New York City

As effective as water

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
NYC roaches laugh at this thing. Don't waste your money if you are trying to rid your home of roaches and you live in NYC. After 3 months usage roach problem is greater than before. RAID took care of that in less than 1 month!
Pros: cheap
Cons: useless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

This stuff is awesome!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We picked this product up after being unsatisfied with other products and methods. We hads sugar ants coming in the house through any gap in a window screen that they could find. Even though it states that it is safe to use indoors, we sprayed the perimeter of our house along with window frames and door frames. We had a large amount of dead ants and bugs along the outside of the house ... it was disgusting honestly, but goes to show how effective that the product is! We are still going on two months with zero bugs in the house.
We also decided to spray inside the perimeter of our garage in preperation for an upcoming party. We had first used a fogger in the garage and then cleaned it very well. After spraying this product, we AGAIN had a large amount of gross dead bugs. Our GARAGE is still bug free! I cannot say enough good things about this product!
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Aberdeen, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the best stuff for killing bugs at home

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product for many years and it always outperforms the other available products. the protection lasts and the initial application kills immediately.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from New York, NY

I still have a roach problem

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this after finding 2 huge roaches in my apartment within a month of moving in. After I sprayed, a few months later I found another live roach. I sprayed again yesterday after seeing a centipede looking bug crawling around my windowsill. Today I found a dead roach when I came one. At least it was dead, but it hasn't kept these pests from invading my home.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from colonial heights va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works!!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product really works! No more spider crickets in the basement!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Weston, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WORKED ON CONTACT! KILLED ALL MY FLORIDA BUGS - WILL KEEP USING INSIDE AND OUT.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Falls Church, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for ants

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this last summer at the suggestion of a sales associate at Home Depot. I had tried the Terro Liquid baits which worked well but had to be replaced fairly often. This summer the ants started invading the kitchen and the front porch again. I sprayed Ortho around the perimeter of the kitchen door and under the cabinets, including all crevices quite well. This was about a month and a few days ago. Since then I have not seen any ants in the house. Even if I see a few ants on the part of the deck where I didn't spray, it looks like they are not able to cross the barrier of the Ortho spray. It has rained several times since then. We've even had a few thunderstorms which should have washed off all the Ortho but there haven't been any ants since I sprayed. I would like to think it is the Ortho since I didn't use anything else. So far it seems to have worked extremely well. I'm VERY happy not to find ants in the kitchen. This is money well spent. I fully recommend this product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Houston
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lies

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does not work to defend home or kill insects. I got it for ant beds in my front yard. saturated my yard with it and still see ant beds forming all around my yard. I have a small toddler and dont want him getting bitten. I also sprayed the inside oof all my rooms with this and i still seen a few spider webs. So i would not reccomend this. You can spray it on a insect and it does nothing.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Poor Sprayer Design

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this product with decent success in the past, but if Ortho does not provide a better sprayer mechanism I will continue to look for alternatives. The battery operated sprayer is weak and ended up dying with half of the container of chemical still left. I ended up switching to a competitive product that has a pressure pump which allows you to pressurize the container, a much better design.
Pros: chemical is effective
Cons: poor sprayer design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Lithonia
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Home Defense

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this product for many years and tell everybody how well it works.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>