728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

The Ortho Home Defense Max 1.33 gal. Ready-to-Use Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer is designed for interior and exterior use to kill ants, roaches, spiders and other pests and to help keep new ones from entering your home. This product features a sprayer for application of the fast-drying, non-staining formula.
Overall rating:
3.737 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(236 reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product167 of 231reviews
Rating Breakdown 236 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(127)
4
(33)
3
(13)
2
(13)
1
(50)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product167 of 231reviews
Customer reviews for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
Review 1 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
Age Range:45 to 54

Did not work

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used to have house professionally treated but we did not have any bugs. So I stopped; however, we had some people come over that have roaches and they travel in people purses and stuff that they bring. I started to see one or two bought this to treat them. It seemed alright at first, but soon I noticed that they were breeding. This spray does not kill them even if you spray them directly. I sprayed in cracks, crevices, under fridge, freezer, and sink but the infestation did not leave. It is a good value if it worked.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable, not effective
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Ralston, AB
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Prevented THOUSANDS from entering my home

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have millions of fire ants living in my yard. They were all over my trees, patio furniture, bbq and house. I threw this line down 6 inches up from the base of my patio furniture (mid leg) and then had no more ants or beatles crawling up my furniture. I did the same on the wheels of my bbq to the same effect.
In order to keep them out of my house I did all my exterior door jams, edged my windows and threw a line around my entire foundation. I now have 0 ants/beatles and even less spiders inside my residence.
I then edged the border of my pathway and driveway and no longer have any ants attaching me as I walk from home to vehicle.
Highly reccommend its ude
Pros: Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Thing EVER!!!!!!

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used this product for a couple of years now and it does the best job so far on fleas, ants, spiders, HUGE black water bugs and those icky nasty german water roaches.....we live by the local water filtration plant AND where 3 rivers come together so our yard is sandy dirt which fleas thrive in and this year they were EXTREMELY bad due to the drought then the constant rainfall which caused the flea population to explode the worst i have ever seen...we r still trying to rid our pets of them but they are dying off fairly quick due to this product being used in the home....now we are dealing with a bed bug problem...nothing has worked on those so far so we are hoping this may have an effect even though they aren't listed on the label as being one of the creepy crawlies this product is for... i will post on here and let everyone know how well it works on those nasty buggers.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

It works

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Some of my review can be a little long, but this one is quite easy. This product works...buy it.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Allentown, PA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Control the ugly creatures...

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The "bug juice" is extremely effective in dealing with excess spiders and/or cockroaches. I usually use this particular brand when I am unable to afford a professional exterminator. Right now my limited income has forced me to stop my monthly exterminator. The container is expressly made for one's protection while using. Between the "lock" on the cap, the button to turn the nozzle on & off, and the fact that the fluid is actually pumped out by battery!
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Houston
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Product

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this all the time in my vacant apartments and for my house and once i use it i never seen a roach again for 6 to 8 months respray and im bug free also it has so much in the one bottle it last all year long
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

Worst thing I ever bought

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this because Ortho has a good name. This is the first review I have ever done on a product but I had to on this one. It is the WORST thing I ever bought. You have to drown bugs before they die. It doesn't kill anything. Being from Southern California we have ants, fleas and spiders. It didn't work on any of these bugs. I get better results from a $4.00 can of Raid. I spray for ants and they don't die and are back the next day. I sprayed for fleas and it doesn't work. Spiders love the stuff, it's like they come back for more. Seriously, go buy Raid. It's alot less expensive and works better.
Pros: i did like the spray handle
Cons: doesn't work
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareDecember 8, 2014By ScottsCustomerCareDecember 8, 2014
We are sorry to hear of your experience with our product. Ortho Home Defense MAX Insect Killer For Indoor & Perimeter1 is a good product and will control listed insects. Timing is an important factor in insect control. Most insects cannot be controlled in the egg stage, so insecticides are targeted to control insects in the larval or adult stages. Also, more mature or larger insects will take longer to control than younger or smaller insects. You may not see the insects die immediately, but you should see a reduction in the pests or their damage within a few days. Treating both the outside entry points and the inside at the same time will also help.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3nscotts
Review 8 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

Waste of money (NYC)

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sprayed a roach for a good minute didnt even kill him he got up went along hia business . its like a bunch of water
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareNovember 3, 2014By ScottsCustomerCareNovember 3, 2014
We are sorry to hear of your experience with our product. Ortho Home Defense MAX Insect Killer For Indoor & Perimeter1 is a good product and will control listed insects. Timing is an important factor in insect control. Most insects cannot be controlled in the egg stage, so insecticides are targeted to control insects in the larval or adult stages. Also, more mature or larger insects will take longer to control than younger or smaller insects. You may not see the insects die immediately, but you should see a reduction in the pests or their damage within a few days. Treating both the outside entry points and the inside at the same time will also help.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3nscotts
Review 9 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

This stuff is awesome!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We picked this product up after being unsatisfied with other products and methods. We hads sugar ants coming in the house through any gap in a window screen that they could find. Even though it states that it is safe to use indoors, we sprayed the perimeter of our house along with window frames and door frames. We had a large amount of dead ants and bugs along the outside of the house ... it was disgusting honestly, but goes to show how effective that the product is! We are still going on two months with zero bugs in the house.
We also decided to spray inside the perimeter of our garage in preperation for an upcoming party. We had first used a fogger in the garage and then cleaned it very well. After spraying this product, we AGAIN had a large amount of gross dead bugs. Our GARAGE is still bug free! I cannot say enough good things about this product!
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Aberdeen, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the best stuff for killing bugs at home

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product for many years and it always outperforms the other available products. the protection lasts and the initial application kills immediately.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Salt Lake city utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Removing spiders from home

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wife and I just moved in a 1300 sqft. half basement home and ran into many wolf spiders. We've killed about 30 in the last 2 weeks. I went to home depot to buy this product and I sprayed around the perimeter of the home, inside the home, windows, dark corners, along the walls, vents, under furniture, around doors, and cracks until I used the entire gallon. I woke up next morning and here I have found more spiders. Not a very good product. The spray also is horrible. It kept on malfunctioning and it doesn't spray in a wide diameter. I've seen many 5 star reviews with Talstar Pro on Amazon so I'm going to give that a shot and by my own spray on there for $10.00
Pros: Easy to Install, easy to carry around
Cons: spray is a small diameter, spray gun malfunctions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

stink bug killer!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been struggling with stink bugs for a long time now. This year has been the worst until I bought this product. After vacuuming up all the alive and dead bugs from windows and door ways I sprayed inside and out. It has stopped every bug, kills them within minutes. If you have a stink bug problem seal all the cracks you can find and spray this product works wonders
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

does kill widow spiders

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have recently had a black and brown widow problem around the house in which i have killed around 10 before i bought this product. It easily killed the spiders as i went around the house foundation. Great product.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeps Killing

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a huge ant problem and used Home Defense around the outside perimeter of my house and along every single baseboard. If you take the time to spray everywhere, under fridge, sinks, stoves, etc., you won't see another bug. I had forgotten about it after a few months and then noticed a large amount of dead ants along the base of the French doors. The outside spray was no longer working due to rain (you have to keep up better than me) so they ants returned and tried to get in. They failed. I was pretty impressed. Your bug guy will try to talk you out of doing your own pest control but I guess he needs to eat too. Make him a goodbye sandwich and buy some Home Defense Max.
Oh, the wand could be made a little stronger to withstand a teenage driver running over it with his car...just a suggestion Ortho ;-)
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: using it means you have bugs yuck ;-)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Inland Empire, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Very good product...

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used this in the past and will be going out to get more for pest control since summer is just around the corner.
"LLLnMML
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
35 to 44, Female" For LLLnMML, i have used an all natural cinnamon spray bought from a local 99 Cents store that got rid of bed bugs. It's safe around pets. I believe you can make your own with cinnamon extract or boil cinnamon sticks as if making tea. Put it in a spray bottle and lightly spray your mattress, sofas, etc.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

Best spray around

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used many different brands and this one is by far the best one and it's really odor less. I highly recommend this spray kills roaches, house spiders,ants and sugar ants.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Big Island, Hawaii

It used to be good!

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used this product for many years and it used to provide four to six months of protection in between applications. Now I spray twice a week and I still see creepy crawling critters. And whoever invented the battery operated applicator should be fired. What a waste - it sprays only downward.with next to nothing power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Weston, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WORKED ON CONTACT! KILLED ALL MY FLORIDA BUGS - WILL KEEP USING INSIDE AND OUT.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand

did not work

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used the spray around my house as a barrier and I figured it would work. Well I was cleaning my back porch when I moved some boxes and I seen a couple spiders and roaches, I quickly grabbed this spray and sprayed down the insects and it did NOTHING to them! They kept running, it didn't even slow them down. I will never buy this again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Defense MAX Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer with Wand
from Asheville, NC.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Flea Failure

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our house (basement) has been taken hostage by fleas. We have tried many different products to remedy the problem. I used the Ortho Home Defense Max bug killer that has Fleas listed. I exceeded the recommendation to spray the perimeter by spraying every square inch of my basement. I then repeated the process the next day. And over a week later there is no effect. The fleas are as bad as ever. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ScottsCustomerCareOctober 28, 2014By ScottsCustomerCareOctober 28, 2014
We are sorry to hear of your experience with our product. Ortho Home Defense MAX Insect Killer For Indoor & Perimeter1 is a good product and will control listed insects. Timing is an important factor in insect control. Most insects cannot be controlled in the egg stage, so insecticides are targeted to control insects in the larval or adult stages. Also, more mature or larger insects will take longer to control than younger or smaller insects. You may not see the insects die immediately, but you should see a reduction in the pests or their damage within a few days. Treating both the outside entry points and the inside at the same time will also help.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3nscotts
1 2 3 >>