728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sanders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED

5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED

The Porter Cable 390K Low Profile 5 in. Random Orit Sander Kit is ideal for surface preparation for coating, smoothing seams and removing paints, varnish and old coatings. The sander has a 3.5 Amp EnduraTech Motor with a variable speed dial providing 7,000-12,000 orbits per minute to enable users to control the removal rate and cater towards the application. The sander has Electronic Load Control providing 42% faster material removal. It includes a mechanical brake pad to reduce free-spin which virtually eliminates gouging. The low profile design reduces the sander height by 31% allowing for better control and finish. The 390K includes: sander and kit box.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great sander if you have a large hand

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a professional antique restorer and use a sander on a continual basis. If you have a hamfist hand to palm this sander, it is excellent. My hand is a normal mens large and it is just a bit big for my taste. What I like about it most is the low felt vibration and how fast it stops turning once you shut it off. Once I hit the off switch it stops before I can even set it down. Vaccuum port is a real plus. As a big Porter fan this one is a good one!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED
from Oakland, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lighter, easier to use and with a clutch

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Upgraded from a long-lasting Porter Cable standard random orbital to this low-profile one. Significantly more expensive but so far worth it. Much lighter – though still not totally ergonomically comfortable – and easier to control than the last model (the basic PC-382). The clutch makes it quick to go off which is very nice when you're done sanding, though there is a strange slight delay on startup. The receptacle for the sawdust is better than the hard plastic version (which is basically worthless), though much more difficult to get on/off. I like the way it latches, but it's for strong hands.
It's only been used a handful of times, but so far I love it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED
from Alpine, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best electrical sander I've tried

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall a very good sander. Easy to control and excellent dust collection.
This sander has plenty of power and won't try to run away.
I still prefer the air sanders but since they require a nuclear powered air compressor they are not appropriate for job sites.
This sander sits low but is a little big for my hand and the switch is hard to reach one handed but don't let that stop you.
It's a little pricy compaired to other name brands but the minute you turn it on you'll be glad you spent the extra.
Don't pay extra for the case unless you plant to transport it a lot.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight, low profile
Cons: a little big for my hand
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great tool- little awkward

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The sander has preformed well so far compared to the other three sanders I have tried. The low profile design is a little awkward and takes some getting used to. I end up holding the sander by the dust collector instead of the to control it. But to date it has out performed the other sanders I have purchased.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED
from Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is an excellent product which I highly recommend.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The dust pickup was very good (most of my previous sanding was with a ¼ sheet pad sander and it hardly picked up any dust at all). I have used both Bosch and Porter Cable H&L discs and they both stay on the sander very well. I have not had any discs slip. I used a pack of 60-120-240 grit discs and they worked great for taking the old finish off the old deacon’s bench I am refinishing and preparing for stain. You can easily feel the difference each time you change grits. The hard plastic case not only protects the sander, it has enough room for extra packs of sanding discs. My hand felt fine holding and maneuvering the sander, but I can see where different hand sizes might have a problem. My only complaint (and it is very minor): the power cord should be longer. You will probably wind up using an extension cord. Don’t forget to wear hearing protection. Like every sander I have ever used, it is loud. The price was good and it shipped promptly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Strong Suction, Powerful
Cons: power cord too short
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Orbital Sander

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a B&D "two in one" orbital sander for about 18 months before it died. I never did like the B&D because it walked so much; it was really hard to control.
I decided I'd try a Porter-Cable because of their reputation. I 'm glad I got it. This thing works great. The pad brake works well so you don't have to worry about gouging when you first set it on the wood.
The only negative is the size of the handle - I've got average size hands and the handle is just way too big.
The dust catch system is the best! My old B&D used a pleated paper filter that seemed to let about half of the dust go through it. Not this P-C! The cloth bag does a great job of catching dust. It's much, much better than the B&D.
I would definitely recommend to anyone in the market for an orbital sander.
Pros: Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED
from South Portland, ME, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good balance & smooth motor

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This new sander was ready to go right out of the box. The variable speed has already been a big improvement on various materials, such as softer PVC trim which will heat up with high rpm. Soft start feature is a big bonus, as I've been putting up with standard "hang on and go" sanders previously.
There have been some comments about the wide power head, but I don't find it an issue. What I do appreciate is not having a top-heavy housing as I work on many off-angle exterior trims and mouldings, so balance is key.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED

Great Value (But made in Mexico)

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have only used it a few times, but hooked to a standard shop vac, there is very little dust. The sander performance is similar to others I have used. I do like the quick braking of the pad and I have no ergonomic issues with it.
The 4 stars is because it is probably made with slave labor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED
from Dewar, OK
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great sander

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Use sander on crafts and cabinets and is just what I need for creating a good finish
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED
from utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

low profile design makes sanding with limited space just that much easier

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I must admit that the feel of holding the low profile sander took a little getting used to coming from the regular sander to this one, but it sands great and with the 4 1/2" height allowed me to sand in some tight spots.
Pros: Strong Suction, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED

As advertized

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product works as I expected. It is a good sander and is able to quickly remove material.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 in. Low Profile Random Orbit Sander-DISCONTINUED
from Forest Park,IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

5 IN. LOW PROFILE RANDOM ORBIT SANDER

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best sander you can buy for this price!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Strong Suction, Powerful, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.