728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

The Smarter Tools 3,500-Watt gas generator is an ideal portable generator to own. It adds comfort and possibility to any situation. Use it to keep your family safe through unexpected blackouts, add fun to a camping trip, or make your job faster and easier. Its compact frame makes it easy to accompany you wherever you go and with its heavy duty steel-tube cradle, this rugged generator holds up well for frequent travel, allowing you to look forward to years of operation. The Smarter Tools 3,500-Watt gas generator is equipped with a powerful 6.5 HP 4-stroke/air cooled OHV (overhead valve) engine. The engine features a low-oil shutdown system, which prevents engine damage and keeps your generator in good shape for long-term use. Its two 120-volt outlets and 12-volt 8-amp connection, with power overload protection, ensures that the operation of your electrical devices will run efficiently and smoothly. This generator's sturdy, 3.7-gal. steel tank ensures a full 10 hours of operation at a 50-percent load and with the tank's built-in fuel gauge; you can monitor fuel levels at a glance. The low-tone muffler means the generator runs at a comfortable noise level (70 db) that easily blends into the background.
Overall rating:
4.061 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product77 of 91reviews
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(31)
3
(13)
2
(1)
1
(8)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product77 of 91reviews
Customer reviews for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Review 1 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from East Brunswick, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great customer service from both Home Depot and Smarter Tools

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this generator on last Thanksgiving sales and never opened the box after it arrived since the box was in perfect condition; so we were really disappointed after we opened the box in preparation for Sandy to find the whole air filter system was damaged. After call to HD customer service and our trip to local Home Depot, we decided to keep the generator since there was no generator left in the store for us to exchange and we needed one for Hurricane Sandy. The kind gentlemen in the repair and rental department took his time to look at the generator and told us it's safe to use regardless of the damage air filter system and that he would order the part and replace for us later on. So of course we had to use the generator when Sandy arrived and had no problem at all. The generator started on one pull and ran smoothly. We even loaned it to our friend after we gotten our power back and she used it for almost a week. 3 weeks after Sandy, I called Smarter Tools customer service department to order the part (since my husband found it's very easy to replace it and wanted to do it himself) and right away they sent the part to us without charge...What a great service..thank you Smarter tools. One word of advice though, please do open your box to check the product as soon as it arrives to avoid unnecessary inconveniences.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Metuchen, NJ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

for the money this is a great little generator

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got this generator to run the essentials of our house during power outages (fridge, freezer, gas furnace fan), it works great. One thing to note, this generator (like most portable generators) has a floating neutral; meaning that the neutral and ground are not bonded in in the generator; this can cause residual current in the neutral line when using a long extension cord. Some electronics don't like this and will detect a reverse polarity. If you are using this generator to feed your circuit panel, this is not an issue (the neutral and ground are bonded in the panel). It took me a while to figure out why it wouldn't run my power vented hot water heater (which has some advanced circuitry) so I thought I'd pass it along.
Pros: Easy to Use
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from laurel highlands
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best money i spent on a generator

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i bought this generator a year before sandy came around and never really used it just started it every couple weeks let fuel drain out and kept it treated with fuel treatment. then sandy came i filled it up with gas got it ready. very easy to use not to loud and i had no problems i ran it threw an outside breaker box which feeds my main panel in the house all properly installed and being only 110 it ran my LP furnace fridge microwave lights in the house 2 TV's and cable boxes kept my internet on and charged my phones the best treat of all i ran it from 3am till 4 the next afternoon and still didn't run out of gas i did shut it down let it cool down for a couple min fueled it up and away she went it was the best money spent and i fill i allready got my money out of it just by saving my grocery's and staying warm during the storm
Pros: Easy to Use
+31points
35out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from WV

Fantastic price and super easy to start

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I opened the box, added oil, turned on the fuel, flipped the on switch and gave it a very gentle pull just to see how easy it would be to start. I waited 1 second to let fuel get to the carb then gave it one more light tug (about 1/2 the effort of pull starting a push mower) and it started right up. I allowed it to run for 10 min then I added a 1200 watt heater and 2 full size refrigerators (both running at the same time) and the generator did great.
I posted a vid on you tube showing it hooked up and running under load.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+59points
59out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Long Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good, cheap generator

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It probably isn't a product I will depend on to run when the zombies come, but it works great for camping. Don't be silly, follow the maintenance and storage instructions. As a mechanical engineer, I can tell you, these ARE important! If you're handy, keep a basic tool set with you, unless it's a generator issue, you can probably get her running. Overall a cheap buy. Easy to start (my wife can do it). Change the oil frequently! Lot's of chips from Chinese machining. Don't run it at full load! It's not a Briggs & Stratton.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

Service locations

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My only call out is the service stations Smarter Tolls is associated with. With in the first year I had a problem after less then 20 hours of use. Smarter Tool quickly sent a replacement part for what I thought the problem was but it did not help. I had to take it into service under the warranty. Smarter Tool is not associated and is limited to companies they have service contract in fact people they recommended didn't even know them. After a month I had my generator repaired and returned without a charge but it was a struggle. Smarter Tool stands behind their product and their customer service is good, they just need to start associating themselves with better service stations
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from S. Calif.
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great low cost generator.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great generator for the money.
Starts on the first pull.
Plenty of steady power to run the house in an emergency.
Stable enough to run large flat screen TV, modem and computer.
Noise level is acceptable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Lima, Ohio

This thing is a pain in the neck to get started.

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After your arm is extremely sore from pulling the rope 100 times, and the thing finally starts, it seems to work alright.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Chinesse knock-off

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The generator works. Vibrates and is loud, but to be expected from a cheap gen-set.
Honda and Yamaha are the best but cost a lot more. For simple power outages of a few days, these work good.
Study and educate yourself, know the generators limits. Sensitive equipment like computers and tv's are at risk to voltage spikes, if you over load the generator. Understand power spikes, each time the refridgerator compressor kicks on and off.
Remember to change oil often, as there is no oil filter.
Remember to drain the gas, and add a teaspoon of oil to the cyclindar/piston when in long term storeage.
Never backfeed your home.
Plenty of good advise on the internet, educate yourself.
+60points
79out of 98found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Charleston, WV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy !!!

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased two of these generators one for myself and one for my parents. They arrived quickly and I was able to start them while holding a can of soda so they are very easily started. The noise level is moderate and I love the features. The only draw back is that one of the generators started pouring gas when we started it upon further inspection the gas supply line had come off.
Both units seem to have the same problem the hose is an inch too short, so I made a trip to the local hardware store old hose in hand so they could match it up and it was $1.50 for two new pieces of hose and stronger clamps and then we were back in business. I hadn't seen this issue written in any other review but a word to the wise both of mine had it. (bad batch or lot ?) it takes about 5 minutes to repair
So just check it out at least it might save you some downtime in a much needed time of power but overall I would highly reccomednd it .
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

mixed feelings

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got it on BF last year for two hundred. I do have mixed feelings about this product. On one side, it was keeping our house warm during Sandy power outage. Pros: Easy to start, enough power for a fridge, lights, big TV and furnace. For this load under 1 kW, running time is more than 12 hours on one tank. Cons: needs premium gas, noisy for its size, smelly emission. It ran well for about 140+ hours and than failed. I called Smarter Tools CS (seems to be very polite and responsive) to learn that manufacturing warranty covers one year OR 60 hours of operation. Anyway, I got power for about $30 per day plus gas. Not too bad, but I won't buy it again. Warranty policy is ridiculous.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

Great price if you don't need 240 volts

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great price if you don't need 240 volts. For those not needing to hook up any 240 lines then this is cheap insurance for 120 hook ups.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from new orelans
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

No complaints

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought one and started right up and ran a load. No problems. Since it doesn't have an oil filter change the oil after the first five minutes to remove the metal flakes inside and repeat. Get quality spark plug too. The cross over is an Autolite 63.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

Two Defective Generators

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Reading the reviews, I am glad someone got a good generator. I did not. The first one had a dented gas tank with a sharp crease. I returned it. I ordered another, because an online special was $100 less than regular price. The second unit had large particles floating in the gas tank and a clogged fuel valve. (My gas was fresh and clean and passed through the gas filling filter.) I returned it. Two fails on the same model number. Either quality control is poor or I got units that had been returned and were not checked to make sure they were in good working order.
Cons: bad quality control
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Shelton, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You Won't Beat This Deal!

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was leary to purchase this unit because of the low price and discrepancies in the photos and manual versus actual wattage/current ratings of the unit. Received generator and it looks and works great! Connected (2) 1500 watt heaters to the 120vac outlets as a load test and it works fine! Looking forward to the next power outage!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Waldorf, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best deal on a generator available!

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best price I have found for a decent generator anywhere! I tested the generator after UPS delivered it (Free Shipping) with a P-3 Kill-a-watt device.Started up with only a light pull. Idle 115 +- 2 volts, 60 +- 1 Hertz. I then put a large load on the gen with two space heaters. Same Volts and Freqs with full load. I would recommend this gen to anyone. The only thing I need to add is wheels to easily roll it outside during the next outtage.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, consistant electricity output, easy starting, fuel efficient
Cons: no 220v outlet
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Bedford, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unreliable, Won't Start

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this generator 2 years ago and have yet to actually need it. I would start it up every couple of months and noticed that it was getting more and more difficult to start as time went on. Now I cannot get it to start at all. I always added conditioner to the gas, so there's no reason it should not start. I would not recommend this generator.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from United States
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Life saver

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were hit with that horrible storm 7/3/14 and without power from Thursday to Sunday. A full tank ran 12 hours easy. Far more quiet the what other neighbors had. I ran refrigerator, freezer, coffee maker and Lizard's lamp and rock, and cell phone charger. Very pleased that I bought this on a whim Black Friday 2013!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Lake Tapps, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great for the price. will do the job

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
really can't beat the price for this. We ran this for about 20 minutes. It runs very smooth and easy to start. The real test will be the next outage.
The other review that said noisy are just not familiar with generators. If you are a millionaire, this one is not for you. If you are just trying to keep food from spoiling and a light to keep from breaking your leg - this is the best value out there!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation, price, easy to maintain
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Tristate Area
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Questionable Build and Part Quality

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these units. Both were picked up simultaneously at the local Home Depot store. Upon close inspection it was found that a motor mount on one unit wasn't connected to the generator head which subsequently had caused contact with the frame rendering it unusable. The other generator's air cleaner assembly and fuel valve were broken beyond repair. Both were returned and will not be reordered.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>