728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)

22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)

With a 3-in-1 mowing system, the Toro Recycler 22-in. 6.75 Gross Torque OHV gas variable speed, high-wheel mower offers bagging, mulching and side discharge capabilities for flexible performance in all mowing conditions. The 11 in. (28 cm) rear high wheel
Overall rating:
3.265 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(442 reviews) 442
Open Ratings Snapshot
59%of customersrecommend this product248 of 417reviews
Rating Breakdown 442 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(169)
4
(80)
3
(26)
2
(33)
1
(134)
Features 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
59%of customersrecommend this product248 of 417reviews
Customer questions and answers:
50 Questions | 252 Answers
Customer reviews for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
Review 1 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
Jess
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not so easy start

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When a product is advertised as "guaranteed to start" then it really should start! I bought my first house and I wanted to buy a new, reliable mower that will last. THIS IS NOT IT.... it had trouble starting 6 months after I bought it and now it's been almost a year and it is in the shop. I'm really hoping it's covered under warranty but I'm willing to bet that it's somehow fuel related and won't be covered. I've only used regular gas, and that should be just fine in this mower. The shop guy didn't make it sound very promising. If regular gasoline isn't good enough for this mower then Toro needs to come up with a better engine or advertise an awesome gas additive to use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
maikerum
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would like to give two stars, but can't justify it.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I usually don't trust one star reviews, so I try not to write them, but I just can't justify 2 stars for this mower. Year and a half old, and have had to have it serviced 3 times so far for not starting. Carburetor is a very poor design, and I also hate the autochoke. Using new fuel, and fuel stabilizer, and after taking apart and cleaning the carburetor, it still goes dead after about two seconds. 10% ethanol fuel is all that is available, and these mowers say don't use with more than 10% ethanol fuel, so it should work, but it does not.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
PCNerd
from Lexington, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Walk Away NOW!!!

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower last year and in it's second year it doesn't want to start. After finally getting it started, the mulcher doesn't work and the bag wont catch. I HATE I bought this, I'm getting another Craftsman. I had owned my Craftsman for almost 20 years before someone stole it.
Pros: Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
ptrimm3
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer Beware

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved my old Toro Recycler. It lasted 10 years without any problems. I cannot say the same for the newer Recycler. Started having problems with this one after 2 yrs. I've had it in the shop multiple times & continue to have problems starting the darn thing. What happened to the quality?! I'm going to part ways with this company today & pay a little more for a Honda. I understand that we all want to save money & this use to be a great deal for the price, but I would steer clear of the Toro Recycler for now, because after you've had it in the shop multiple times, you've basically paid $700-$800 for a lawn mower that lacks durability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
JackB
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not like my old Toro

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In 2002, I purchased a Toro mower that was Guaranteed To Start. It did that on the first pull for 11 years withn no mechanical issues. After 11 years of faithfull service I thought I'd by another. I bought this model late last summer and worked fine, although it didn't start on first pull like the other. It sat for one month during the Florida Winter. I pulled it out to cut grass and would not start.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Mulches Well
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
Killaron
from Fremont, CA

Do not buy

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product against the advice of my wife who was wanting an electric mower. It ran fine for a while during the summer and I put it away for a couple of weeks. Took it back out and it would not start. Took it back to Home Depot and they said it is not under warranty. So i took it to a local mechanic and got it fixed for $70. It ran for one more time and it will not start again. One of the very few products I regret buying.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
Myemailhasmyname

Abhorrent product that cannot withstand ethanol and even semi-cold weather

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A lawnmower needs to do two things - start and cut grass. After only 6 months, the mower had to be serviced because (atleast I'm told), I was storing the mower with too much gas in the tank, not using enough stabilizer, and not using the mower frequently enough (I mow once a month). Well, I corrected all of those things and yes, running the mower atleast once a week even though I had no grass to cut. I went 6 more months after the first service of having to pull the cord 30 times before it starts, using enough stabilizer to fill a swimming pool, and wasting gas by running the mower so no gas would be stored in the tank for more than week, the engine now can't keep a start after only a single week of 50 - 65 degree weather in the early mornings. I gave a 3 for the features because when it started, the grass got cut. That's it. Now after a year and one service and following an obscene amount of instructions, it doesn't start again.
Pros: Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
jfaw
from Las Vegas, Nv.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of JUNK!

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the box, following all directions. Would not start. Why does Home Depot subject their reputation by selling this product considering all these terrible reviews?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
oxford
from Orlando,florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toro self propelled front wheels drive with brigg & straton 6.75HP

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Since I bought the about mower 2 years until now, I don't have any complain the mower. I do the oil changed 2 times per year. the self propelled run very fast. certainly I do the filter changed once per year. I remember I have the Kohler engine with other band I owned. there have problem with Kohler engine, its die by itself. Now the Toro changed & using Kohler engine. I may not consider the new Toro with Kohler's engine
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
GMac
from Garrison, Philipstown, NY 10524, USA

Built to FAIL

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plastic gear wheels crack easily. This means, being right next to the cutting deck, debris gets pushed into the hole stopping the wheels. Replacement piece of junk... $16, or your duct taping the hole and cleaning it out regularly. After 2 years I've got the drive cord to the handle rigged and the pull start cord replaced with 550 cord. Stabil high octane gas, changed filter, line, plug... still doesn't want to run more than 3 minutes. Built to FAIL... piece of junk. Toro, what happened to you? I'm gone.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
DJPardi
from Methuen, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wont start after 1 year

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this lawn mower last year and it worked fine all year. This year i pulled it out of the garage filled the gas tank and it wont start.
I have a Toro Lawn mower I purchased about 5 years ago and I do anything to care for it at all, I even leave the gas in the tank all winter long and leave it out foors with a cover on it and it always starts on the first pull? Go figrure. I'm not sure of the model on the working mower
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
Martin
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stay Away

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this lawn mower 10 days ago and only used it twice ,on the second time the pull cord broke off.It pulls to one side and the catcher does not fit snugged so most of the clipping escapes.I am going to take it back and get a Honda.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
TGRfromnorthGA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Always starts on the first pull!

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews from other users before I bought this mower in March 2013. I kept my fingers crossed and I haven't been disappointed. Our mowing season runs from April into November in north Georgia. From June through September I have to mow every 3 days, so mowers get a workout. This mower with the Kohler engine has started on the first pull for the 3 months I've been using it. I use fuel stabilizer in my fuel and I always use fuel that is "fresh", no more than 60 days old. So far I'm a fan. By the way, the cut is nice, better than the Murray it replaced. I keep my mowers a long time and I'm hoping this will last. I'll re-review next spring. TGR from North GA
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: somewhat difficult to adjust mowing height.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
clif

Don't bother

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I had never bought this mower. I've mowed my yard twice and it no longer will start. (it's guaranteed to always start, remember?) Because of where I live, I have to load it up and drive 30 minutes to get it to a dealer now. It's also so heavy that when the self-propelled feature stopped working (the belt slipped off and had to be put back on) it was next to impossible to use. I wish I could afford to buy a different mower and scrap this one.
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
Benny
from Harper Woods, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Bag design...

PostedApril 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this mower a total of 2 times when I found the design flaw. The rear bag does not seal therefore allowing grass clippings to blow right out of the top of the bag. I took it back & got the Honda I was originally going to buy. You get what you pay for........
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
SDGUY

Total Garbage!

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower encouraged by the "guaranteed to start" pitch from Toro. Worked fine for the first 6 months. After that it wouldn't start no matter what I did. Now I'm having to pay for repair. AVOID THIS MOWER!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
tcirucci

BELOW AVG CUT AND BAG

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I've had this mower for 4 years now. Always started easy. The front wheel drive isn't working the it should, it's burning up. I borrowed my neighbor's Craftsman and it mowed and bagged a whole lot better. The Craftsman was harder to push even with the front wheel drive so I wouldn't recommend it either. I am going to step up and buy a Honda. Overall use and time I'll have it will be worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: bad cut
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
Trrk

Junk

PostedMay 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owned this mower for years and decided to get a new one, big mistake! It was unable to finish the first half of the yard before the left rear wheel fell off. The bolt must have been cross threaded when assembled at whatever foreign factory. It was totally striped out. Returned it for a different brand. Toro, you've gone down hill.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
L355
from Coral Springs, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Luck starting it!

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only the first time did it start right up. After that, sometimes I can get it started after about 10 minutes. Otherwise I give up. If you can get it started, it works great. Tried for awhile the other day, no luck. Tried again today and even had someone else try. After about half an hour I gave up. Will try again tomorrow. Sure wish I had bought a different mower!
Pros: if you can start it works great
Cons: Difficult to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower (50-State Engine)
FilmLabRat
from Colfax, CA 95713, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprisingly pleased

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Because of all the highly negative reviews, I almost didn't buy this mower. Went to HD and looked at all the alternatives and decided to go for it anyway.
There was essentially no assembly so I gassed and oiled it up and it started with the first pull of the starter cord. Never had any gas engine start so easily.
I live on a few acres of hilly terrain in the Sierra Nevada foothills and wanted this mower for controlling weeds. I knew that it was asking a bit much from a mower, but I was tired of weed whacking. I've driven it over lots of large twigs and dirt clods and rocks and still haven't killed it. I can't use it on really steep slopes but it works very well on the milder stuff. Using it on a normal lawn would be a piece of cake.
The large rear wheel is a bonus for rugged terrain. Larger wheels all around would have been even better, but these are better than most of the competition.
I am very impressed with dozens of clever engineering features. Some of the things that others have complained about, like the smallish grass catcher are a little silly. If the grass catcher were bigger, it would be difficult for the average person to handle when full of damp grass. It's sized so that it can be lifted straight up through the handle, if it were larger, that would not be possible. The attachment of the catcher is nicely engineered as is the attachment of the side discharge chute. The biggest bonus is the easy starting of the engine. I don't know how they did that, but I think all gas engines could learn a lesson from this one.
Talk about value. I think I paid about the same for a smaller Toro about 16 years ago that wasn't nearly as slick as this one. I'm amazed what a good value it is.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 22 >>