728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

Recycler 22 in. High Wheel Front Wheel Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Kohler Engine (CARB Compliant). For homeowners seeking a lawn mower with high quality, a user-friendly design, and excellent mulching capability. Toro products are known for Smart Features and Proven Dependability. Count On It.
Overall rating:
3.276 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(780 reviews) 780
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product448 of 750reviews
Rating Breakdown 780 reviews
3.3 out of 5
5
(304)
4
(144)
3
(37)
2
(53)
1
(242)
Features 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product448 of 750reviews
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions | 308 Answers
Customer reviews for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
Review 1 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Greenville, South Carolina
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not run well (In the shop2 times in because it won't start)

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time with this lawn mower. I thought buying a Toro would keep me from the shop for repairs for at least 5 - 10 years but in the first 2 years I have been to the shop 2 times with this mower. Even after bringing it in and the shop saying "it was just some tweeks and tune up" plug was fine and gas was good. Toro support just says, "sorry, we cannot provide assistance, you need to talk with the dealer". Now my warranty is about up (3 yrs) and it won't start again. HomeDepot/Toro, it is obvious there is an issue with this based on the reviews please make it right.
Cons: Not Durable, won't start, toro support not helpful
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from By ToroApril 9, 2015By ToroApril 9, 2015
The most common reasons for starting issues on a machine are old fuel (over 30 days old without a fuel stabilizer), contaminants in the fuel system, not running the machine dry at the end of the season or a dirty air filter. To determine the cause of the failure it would need to have a physical inspection. Our authorized Toro dealer network (www.toro.com/dealer) or a Home Depot store equipped with a Tool Rental area (http://www.homedepot.com/StoreFinder/index.jsp) can provide mower service. Toro
Review 2 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Knoxville, Tn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Starting after winter storage

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
When I bought this July 2013, I liked the ease of putting it together and the fact that it did start on the first pull. I followed instructions on winterizing to the letter. Got it out of the garage today, put fuel and oil in it, then tried to start it. Nafter 45 minutes of not even a cough, loaded it up and took it back to Home Depot. Service agent was very nice and asked if he could try one more thing before going through the repair routine.
He took the air filter off, and shot a small amount of carb ether. Fired up immediately. So if you are having troubles starting the mower would recommend this as a first step before taking the mower to a dealer.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not so easy start

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When a product is advertised as "guaranteed to start" then it really should start! I bought my first house and I wanted to buy a new, reliable mower that will last. THIS IS NOT IT.... it had trouble starting 6 months after I bought it and now it's been almost a year and it is in the shop. I'm really hoping it's covered under warranty but I'm willing to bet that it's somehow fuel related and won't be covered. I've only used regular gas, and that should be just fine in this mower. The shop guy didn't make it sound very promising. If regular gasoline isn't good enough for this mower then Toro needs to come up with a better engine or advertise an awesome gas additive to use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Guarranteed to cause headaches

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I choose this model for the guaranteed to start warranty. It started fine the first time and I have had nothing but problems since. I tried to take it back to Home Depot but it had been over 30 days and they said I had to go through the Toro warranty. The Toro warranty is worthless. I had to pay out of pocket to get it serviced. It doesn't cover anything fuel related, and the main problem with this mower is the fuel system. I've used the fuel preservative and it still doesn't matter. I have had this lawn mower for over a year and only used it maybe 4 times. Most of the time, I give up on it after pulling the starter until my arm is jello.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ToroApril 9, 2015By ToroApril 9, 2015
Tomas,
We are sorry to hear about the issues your are encountering with the mower.
We would like to learn more regarding your experience attempting to start the mower. Please contact us at consumer.service@toro.com. Please include the name of the authorized service dealer where your machine was serviced and the model and serial number of your mower.

For assistance in troubleshooting, below are the most common reasons for starting issues on a mower:

· Old fuel in the system (fuel over 30 days old)
· Dirty air filter
· Fouled spark plug Toro
Review 5 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

Proceed with caution

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a horrible machine. Less than 2 years old and it routinely needs service. It won't start, ever. I've heard it's the 10% ethanol, but I've had it serviced, protected the engine, some what a novice could and it still doesn't start.
I had my parents old Honda, which was over a decade old before I parted ways with this Toro. Complete waste of money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Lexington, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Walk Away NOW!!!

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower last year and in it's second year it doesn't want to start. After finally getting it started, the mulcher doesn't work and the bag wont catch. I HATE I bought this, I'm getting another Craftsman. I had owned my Craftsman for almost 20 years before someone stole it.
Pros: Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Chicago, IL

Get a different lawn mower

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had to take this lawn mower back to Home Depot three times within the first season of use. Two times because this 'guaranteed to start' mower would not start and also because the self propel stopped working. Finally the repair guy at Home Depot told me to return it. I'd never buy it again!
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: breaks down
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer Beware

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved my old Toro Recycler. It lasted 10 years without any problems. I cannot say the same for the newer Recycler. Started having problems with this one after 2 yrs. I've had it in the shop multiple times & continue to have problems starting the darn thing. What happened to the quality?! I'm going to part ways with this company today & pay a little more for a Honda. I understand that we all want to save money & this use to be a great deal for the price, but I would steer clear of the Toro Recycler for now, because after you've had it in the shop multiple times, you've basically paid $700-$800 for a lawn mower that lacks durability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

won't start

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Says guaranteed to start, who's guaranteeing it. They only blame you when it doesn't mine started first pull a few times but when I complained all I got was lip service from the help line.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would like to give two stars, but can't justify it.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I usually don't trust one star reviews, so I try not to write them, but I just can't justify 2 stars for this mower. Year and a half old, and have had to have it serviced 3 times so far for not starting. Carburetor is a very poor design, and I also hate the autochoke. Using new fuel, and fuel stabilizer, and after taking apart and cleaning the carburetor, it still goes dead after about two seconds. 10% ethanol fuel is all that is available, and these mowers say don't use with more than 10% ethanol fuel, so it should work, but it does not.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Vermont
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quit after one season

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this lawn mower at the end of the summer in 2013 and it ran well the first few times I used it. After storing it properly and pulling it out in the Spring of 2014 it wouldn't run properly. I took it to the Toro dealer where they cleaned the carburetor and blamed it on dirty fuel (even though I used the recommended fuel stabilizer and removed the fuel when storing it). After cleaning the carb, it still wouldn't run properly. I took it back to the dealer, but they were unable to figure out what was wrong with it.
So now I am stuck with a lawn mower that isn't "guaranteed to start" and even when it does start it won't run more than 20-30 minutes before shutting off. Somehow this issue isn't covered by the warranty or any of Toro's "guarantees".
Before purchasing this product I would recommend researching this issue elsewhere. It seems that this mower works great the first couple of months and then it's all downhill. Toro has received many complaints about this through the Better Business Bureau and their stock answer seems to be that the issue is due to bad fuel. Bad fuel is not covered by their warranty.
I imagine many of those reviewers giving this mower 5 stars will probably be coming back this spring to amend their reviews.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't always start, not guaranteed to start, sporadic engine, bad toro customer service
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from fresno texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bad product

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought this lawn mover in sep 2013, used it maybe 12 times now it don't even start my lawn is not even big. i used murry lawn mover for 7 years no problem. i wanted self propelled i made a wrong choice $350 in trash
Pros: no good
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer Beware

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My mower is barely over one season old and will not start. i have changed the oil, gas, and sprayed carburetor cleaner to try and get the "guaranteed to start" lawnmower to live up to the name. I was in love with this mower for it's first (and only) season of use; but after one winter in the garage (stored with no gas per the instruction manual), I changed the oil and put new gas in and it will.not.start! I wish i had read the earlier reviews for this mower from the people who have owned it for more than one season. They all have the same review: A faulty carburetor on the part of Kohler/Toro will prevent the mower from running after one winter of sitting idle. DO NOT BUY THIS MOWER!!
Cons: not dependable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from granbury texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

kohler

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
ease y installed easy to adj runs quite starts one pull
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Always starts on the first pull!

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the reviews from other users before I bought this mower in March 2013. I kept my fingers crossed and I haven't been disappointed. Our mowing season runs from April into November in north Georgia. From June through September I have to mow every 3 days, so mowers get a workout. This mower with the Kohler engine has started on the first pull for the 3 months I've been using it. I use fuel stabilizer in my fuel and I always use fuel that is "fresh", no more than 60 days old. So far I'm a fan. By the way, the cut is nice, better than the Murray it replaced. I keep my mowers a long time and I'm hoping this will last. I'll re-review next spring. TGR from North GA
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: somewhat difficult to adjust mowing height.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to assemble and was done with my lawn in 10 minutes

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this lawn mower this morning. I assembled and added the oil and gas per instructions in less than 5 minutes. I was done mowing my front and back yard in 10 minutes. After I was done, I had to review and state this was worth the buy.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Garland, Teas
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TERRIBLE Mower!!

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was SO excited to get my self-propelled mower, too bad I picked the Toro Recycler. I've had it for about three years and I have CONSTANT problems getting it too start. I'm getting another mower and this one can go to the pawn shop. DO NOT PURCHASE.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Marietta
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not recommanded

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product near the end of summer season of 2013. after the first use, it was sitting for 3 weeks. when I want to use it again, it won't start. I took it to Toro authorized shop to check, they told me that I used the gas with ethanol, it is not under warranty, so I paid for the carbonater cleaning. I started to use ethanol free gas. I kept the gas tank empty after the second use.
In 2014, I took it out, it won't start again. I was very frustrated to look at the "guarantee to star" sign. My friend put in the quick start and it started. the following week, it won't start again. it is the worst mower I ever bought.
First, if ethanol hurts this machine, put the warming sign on the machine. second, Don't put the 'guarantee to start' sign when it does not start, it is an embarrassment and damage the reputation of the company.
I do not recommend this machine at all. I spent around $300 and only used it for 3 times. I bought a yard machine push mower with a cheap price for my tenant few years ago, the new tenant has they own. I brought it back. now, I am using it and it runs fine.
Cons: do not work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Northern Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One Star

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only used it once, and the inner shroud had a piece broken off. Other than that, it did start on the 1st pull, and the price was right.
Pros: Great Engine
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not like my old Toro

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In 2002, I purchased a Toro mower that was Guaranteed To Start. It did that on the first pull for 11 years withn no mechanical issues. After 11 years of faithfull service I thought I'd by another. I bought this model late last summer and worked fine, although it didn't start on first pull like the other. It sat for one month during the Florida Winter. I pulled it out to cut grass and would not start.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Mulches Well
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 38 >>