728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

Recycler 22 in. High Wheel Front Wheel Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Kohler Engine (CARB Compliant). For homeowners seeking a lawn mower with high quality, a user-friendly design, and excellent mulching capability. Toro products are known for Smart Features and Proven Dependability. Count On It.
Overall rating:
3.293 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(917 reviews) 917
Open Ratings Snapshot
61%of customersrecommend this product537 of 886reviews
Rating Breakdown 917 reviews
3.3 out of 5
5
(358)
4
(178)
3
(39)
2
(59)
1
(283)
Features 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
61%of customersrecommend this product537 of 886reviews
Customer questions and answers:
79 Questions | 386 Answers
Customer reviews for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
Review 1 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Greenville, South Carolina
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not run well (In the shop2 times in because it won't start)

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time with this lawn mower. I thought buying a Toro would keep me from the shop for repairs for at least 5 - 10 years but in the first 2 years I have been to the shop 2 times with this mower. Even after bringing it in and the shop saying "it was just some tweeks and tune up" plug was fine and gas was good. Toro support just says, "sorry, we cannot provide assistance, you need to talk with the dealer". Now my warranty is about up (3 yrs) and it won't start again. HomeDepot/Toro, it is obvious there is an issue with this based on the reviews please make it right.
Cons: Not Durable, won't start, toro support not helpful
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Response from By ToroApril 9, 2015By ToroApril 9, 2015
The most common reasons for starting issues on a machine are old fuel (over 30 days old without a fuel stabilizer), contaminants in the fuel system, not running the machine dry at the end of the season or a dirty air filter. To determine the cause of the failure it would need to have a physical inspection. Our authorized Toro dealer network (www.toro.com/dealer) or a Home Depot store equipped with a Tool Rental area (http://www.homedepot.com/StoreFinder/index.jsp) can provide mower service. Toro
Review 2 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not so easy start

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When a product is advertised as "guaranteed to start" then it really should start! I bought my first house and I wanted to buy a new, reliable mower that will last. THIS IS NOT IT.... it had trouble starting 6 months after I bought it and now it's been almost a year and it is in the shop. I'm really hoping it's covered under warranty but I'm willing to bet that it's somehow fuel related and won't be covered. I've only used regular gas, and that should be just fine in this mower. The shop guy didn't make it sound very promising. If regular gasoline isn't good enough for this mower then Toro needs to come up with a better engine or advertise an awesome gas additive to use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Lexington, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Walk Away NOW!!!

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower last year and in it's second year it doesn't want to start. After finally getting it started, the mulcher doesn't work and the bag wont catch. I HATE I bought this, I'm getting another Craftsman. I had owned my Craftsman for almost 20 years before someone stole it.
Pros: Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Guarranteed to cause headaches

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I choose this model for the guaranteed to start warranty. It started fine the first time and I have had nothing but problems since. I tried to take it back to Home Depot but it had been over 30 days and they said I had to go through the Toro warranty. The Toro warranty is worthless. I had to pay out of pocket to get it serviced. It doesn't cover anything fuel related, and the main problem with this mower is the fuel system. I've used the fuel preservative and it still doesn't matter. I have had this lawn mower for over a year and only used it maybe 4 times. Most of the time, I give up on it after pulling the starter until my arm is jello.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ToroApril 9, 2015By ToroApril 9, 2015
Tomas,
We are sorry to hear about the issues your are encountering with the mower.
We would like to learn more regarding your experience attempting to start the mower. Please contact us at consumer.service@toro.com. Please include the name of the authorized service dealer where your machine was serviced and the model and serial number of your mower.

For assistance in troubleshooting, below are the most common reasons for starting issues on a mower:

· Old fuel in the system (fuel over 30 days old)
· Dirty air filter
· Fouled spark plug Toro
Review 5 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Knoxville, Tn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Starting after winter storage

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
When I bought this July 2013, I liked the ease of putting it together and the fact that it did start on the first pull. I followed instructions on winterizing to the letter. Got it out of the garage today, put fuel and oil in it, then tried to start it. Nafter 45 minutes of not even a cough, loaded it up and took it back to Home Depot. Service agent was very nice and asked if he could try one more thing before going through the repair routine.
He took the air filter off, and shot a small amount of carb ether. Fired up immediately. So if you are having troubles starting the mower would recommend this as a first step before taking the mower to a dealer.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from fresno texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bad product

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought this lawn mover in sep 2013, used it maybe 12 times now it don't even start my lawn is not even big. i used murry lawn mover for 7 years no problem. i wanted self propelled i made a wrong choice $350 in trash
Pros: no good
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ToroApril 22, 2015By ToroApril 22, 2015
Sam, Thank you for your recent review regarding hard starting on your Toro mower. We are sorry to learn of the difficulties you have experienced and appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention.

For assistance in troubleshooting, below are the most common reasons for starting issues on a mower:

· Old fuel in the system (fuel over 30 days old)
· Dirty air filter
· Fouled spark plug
Toro products are serviced through a network of independent dealers. Should you need locations, please visit our http://www.toro.com/en-us/locator/pages/default.aspx Toro
Review 7 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer Beware

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved my old Toro Recycler. It lasted 10 years without any problems. I cannot say the same for the newer Recycler. Started having problems with this one after 2 yrs. I've had it in the shop multiple times & continue to have problems starting the darn thing. What happened to the quality?! I'm going to part ways with this company today & pay a little more for a Honda. I understand that we all want to save money & this use to be a great deal for the price, but I would steer clear of the Toro Recycler for now, because after you've had it in the shop multiple times, you've basically paid $700-$800 for a lawn mower that lacks durability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from DeZavala
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Warranty not good, Guaranty to start NO Good!

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this lawn mower in June 2014, and six month after had problems. Doesn't start at all on the first time as it is advertising. Continue to not work at all. My previous lawn mower lasted 10 years and never had a problem. Called the maker and unable to assist. Wasted my money on bad product, wouldn't recommend to anyone. Unfortunately, we went by what the Home Depot sales rep. said, which is definitely not true for us.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By ToroAugust 24, 2015By ToroAugust 24, 2015
This is not a normal condition. It sounds like this machine needs to see a dealer for service. Please bring your machine, with the proof of purchase, to your local authorized Toro dealer for assistance (www.toro.com/dealer *services regardless of where purchased) or see your local Home Depot store equipped with a Tool Rental Center for a warranty inspection .(http://www.homedepot.com/StoreFinder/index.jsp). Toro
Review 9 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Chicago, IL

Get a different lawn mower

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had to take this lawn mower back to Home Depot three times within the first season of use. Two times because this 'guaranteed to start' mower would not start and also because the self propel stopped working. Finally the repair guy at Home Depot told me to return it. I'd never buy it again!
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: breaks down
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would like to give two stars, but can't justify it.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I usually don't trust one star reviews, so I try not to write them, but I just can't justify 2 stars for this mower. Year and a half old, and have had to have it serviced 3 times so far for not starting. Carburetor is a very poor design, and I also hate the autochoke. Using new fuel, and fuel stabilizer, and after taking apart and cleaning the carburetor, it still goes dead after about two seconds. 10% ethanol fuel is all that is available, and these mowers say don't use with more than 10% ethanol fuel, so it should work, but it does not.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

won't start

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Says guaranteed to start, who's guaranteeing it. They only blame you when it doesn't mine started first pull a few times but when I complained all I got was lip service from the help line.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer Beware

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My mower is barely over one season old and will not start. i have changed the oil, gas, and sprayed carburetor cleaner to try and get the "guaranteed to start" lawnmower to live up to the name. I was in love with this mower for it's first (and only) season of use; but after one winter in the garage (stored with no gas per the instruction manual), I changed the oil and put new gas in and it will.not.start! I wish i had read the earlier reviews for this mower from the people who have owned it for more than one season. They all have the same review: A faulty carburetor on the part of Kohler/Toro will prevent the mower from running after one winter of sitting idle. DO NOT BUY THIS MOWER!!
Cons: not dependable
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Vermont
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quit after one season

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this lawn mower at the end of the summer in 2013 and it ran well the first few times I used it. After storing it properly and pulling it out in the Spring of 2014 it wouldn't run properly. I took it to the Toro dealer where they cleaned the carburetor and blamed it on dirty fuel (even though I used the recommended fuel stabilizer and removed the fuel when storing it). After cleaning the carb, it still wouldn't run properly. I took it back to the dealer, but they were unable to figure out what was wrong with it.
So now I am stuck with a lawn mower that isn't "guaranteed to start" and even when it does start it won't run more than 20-30 minutes before shutting off. Somehow this issue isn't covered by the warranty or any of Toro's "guarantees".
Before purchasing this product I would recommend researching this issue elsewhere. It seems that this mower works great the first couple of months and then it's all downhill. Toro has received many complaints about this through the Better Business Bureau and their stock answer seems to be that the issue is due to bad fuel. Bad fuel is not covered by their warranty.
I imagine many of those reviewers giving this mower 5 stars will probably be coming back this spring to amend their reviews.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't always start, not guaranteed to start, sporadic engine, bad toro customer service
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Riverside CA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

self propelled lawn mower

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice mower starts on first or second pull and easy to pull. Using premium grade fuel with stabilizer doesn't have a throttle but did speed up when it started to bog cutting thick wet grass and didn't stall. Bag filled up quickly and fully of course it needed to be emptied which is easy to do. Cuttings were not as fine but with mulching they are recut and are much finer. Side discharge again doesn't recut the grass so cutting were not as fine. In general i Bag and compost. Self propelled front wheels works but going up hill and the bag with clipping has the tendency for the front wheels to be airborne. The speed is controlled by a bar pulled to the handle and the pulling the bar to the handle speeds up the drive to a fast pace now if you stride is long this maybe OK I have a short stride and this is to fast for me and trying to hold the bar at the desired speed is almost impossible but with a little engineering I found a way to keep the bar with the required space for the speed I wanted. Overall I like this mower and would buy again I do like Honda and I've had Honda but this is just as good as Honda without the price of a Honda. You do have to use clean fuel and a stabilizer this is the main problem with small engines. Toro includes a stabilizer and oil, bag, side discharge and mulching with this mower.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

Proceed with caution

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a horrible machine. Less than 2 years old and it routinely needs service. It won't start, ever. I've heard it's the 10% ethanol, but I've had it serviced, protected the engine, some what a novice could and it still doesn't start.
I had my parents old Honda, which was over a decade old before I parted ways with this Toro. Complete waste of money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Always starts on the first pull!

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the reviews from other users before I bought this mower in March 2013. I kept my fingers crossed and I haven't been disappointed. Our mowing season runs from April into November in north Georgia. From June through September I have to mow every 3 days, so mowers get a workout. This mower with the Kohler engine has started on the first pull for the 3 months I've been using it. I use fuel stabilizer in my fuel and I always use fuel that is "fresh", no more than 60 days old. So far I'm a fan. By the way, the cut is nice, better than the Murray it replaced. I keep my mowers a long time and I'm hoping this will last. I'll re-review next spring. TGR from North GA
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: somewhat difficult to adjust mowing height.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Birmingham, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mower!

PostedMay 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great Mower! I have owned this mower for right at 3 years, it still starts on first pull. I am little rough on equipment and it still operates like the day I brought it home. At the beginning of last years mowing season, it did not crank on first pull this was a easy fix changed sparkplug and shot some ether through the air filter started right up. This year at the beginning of mowing season I had no problems whatsoever, it cranked right up. I use primarily in mulching mode and have rarely used the bagging system. It still pulls great and is very durable.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from norfolk, va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not reliable

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Engine is unreliable and HD does not service. Toro repair is 6-8 weeks. The cost of even minor repair makes this a disposable unit.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, unreliable, no resource for repair
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Standard Lawn Care

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Instructions were not so clear, but it was intuitive when doing the assembly. So far, the lawn mower runs well. Uncertain on whether the blade or cutting motion cuts the grass fine enough for recycling back into the yard. If the grass is a little high, the lawn mower has some difficulty due to the lower power. But for my yard, this mower works well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Orlando,florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toro self propelled front wheels drive with brigg & straton 6.75HP

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Since I bought the about mower 2 years until now, I don't have any complain the mower. I do the oil changed 2 times per year. the self propelled run very fast. certainly I do the filter changed once per year. I remember I have the Kohler engine with other band I owned. there have problem with Kohler engine, its die by itself. Now the Toro changed & using Kohler engine. I may not consider the new Toro with Kohler's engine
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 44 >>