728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

With a 3-in-1 mowing system, the Toro Recycler 22-in. 6.75 Gross Torque OHV gas variable speed, high-wheel mower offers bagging, mulching and side discharge capabilities for flexible performance in all mowing conditions. The 11 in. (28 cm) rear high wheel
Overall rating:
3.376 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(625 reviews) 625
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product373 of 598reviews
Rating Breakdown 625 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(253)
4
(120)
3
(36)
2
(41)
1
(175)
Features 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product373 of 598reviews
Customer questions and answers:
57 Questions | 291 Answers
Customer reviews for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
Review 1 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not so easy start

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When a product is advertised as "guaranteed to start" then it really should start! I bought my first house and I wanted to buy a new, reliable mower that will last. THIS IS NOT IT.... it had trouble starting 6 months after I bought it and now it's been almost a year and it is in the shop. I'm really hoping it's covered under warranty but I'm willing to bet that it's somehow fuel related and won't be covered. I've only used regular gas, and that should be just fine in this mower. The shop guy didn't make it sound very promising. If regular gasoline isn't good enough for this mower then Toro needs to come up with a better engine or advertise an awesome gas additive to use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would like to give two stars, but can't justify it.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I usually don't trust one star reviews, so I try not to write them, but I just can't justify 2 stars for this mower. Year and a half old, and have had to have it serviced 3 times so far for not starting. Carburetor is a very poor design, and I also hate the autochoke. Using new fuel, and fuel stabilizer, and after taking apart and cleaning the carburetor, it still goes dead after about two seconds. 10% ethanol fuel is all that is available, and these mowers say don't use with more than 10% ethanol fuel, so it should work, but it does not.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Lexington, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Walk Away NOW!!!

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower last year and in it's second year it doesn't want to start. After finally getting it started, the mulcher doesn't work and the bag wont catch. I HATE I bought this, I'm getting another Craftsman. I had owned my Craftsman for almost 20 years before someone stole it.
Pros: Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer Beware

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved my old Toro Recycler. It lasted 10 years without any problems. I cannot say the same for the newer Recycler. Started having problems with this one after 2 yrs. I've had it in the shop multiple times & continue to have problems starting the darn thing. What happened to the quality?! I'm going to part ways with this company today & pay a little more for a Honda. I understand that we all want to save money & this use to be a great deal for the price, but I would steer clear of the Toro Recycler for now, because after you've had it in the shop multiple times, you've basically paid $700-$800 for a lawn mower that lacks durability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Sacramento California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst Purchase Ever

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Rear High Wheel Variable Self-Propelled features .
Pros: Self-Propelled
Cons: poor quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Charlotte NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mower

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Mower was easy to get put together and started up. It works great and has made my mowing experience better!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Self-Propelled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from roanoke, va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good mower

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Into my third season with this Toro. Overall a good mower, easy to use and no manufacturing /quality issues, self propel speed is at a good pace and it is very east to start, no priming and one easy pull to start the mower. Only issue I that it can be a bit bouncy at the higher self propel speed. I changed to rubber tires and thee was some improvement. I would recommend this model and buy one again
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, fast paced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not like my old Toro

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In 2002, I purchased a Toro mower that was Guaranteed To Start. It did that on the first pull for 11 years withn no mechanical issues. After 11 years of faithfull service I thought I'd by another. I bought this model late last summer and worked fine, although it didn't start on first pull like the other. It sat for one month during the Florida Winter. I pulled it out to cut grass and would not start.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Mulches Well
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from N. Tonawanda
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not totally satified

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For the price of the Lawn Mower I would have thought it would have been made better. The wheels are made of plastic, my old Toro mower had metal wheels and was the same model 10 years ago. They have made the mower quality cheaper to keep the price down.
Cons: quality made cheap
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

Inefficient foam air filter.

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hi quality engine mated with poor quality air filtration. I removed the foam air filter and found dirt in the throat of the carb and on the choke butterfly. This does not happen with a good paper air filter. This engine probably wont last any longer than an aluminium bore briggs.
Pros: Great Engine
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

Unreliable!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Started off as an easy to use lawn mower. Gas cap started leaking in the first 6 months. Problem with engine two months later. Took to authorized repair store and given a $130 repair bill. Toro said it was due to maintenance items. I've NEVER had problems with maintenance items in the first year of owning a lawn mower. Waste of money and never buying TORO again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Fremont, CA

Do not buy

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product against the advice of my wife who was wanting an electric mower. It ran fine for a while during the summer and I put it away for a couple of weeks. Took it back out and it would not start. Took it back to Home Depot and they said it is not under warranty. So i took it to a local mechanic and got it fixed for $70. It ran for one more time and it will not start again. One of the very few products I regret buying.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great mower Starts right up.

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just was reading all the comments the others put about not starting. Mine starts wright everyday all day as i use mine for a lawn service. & we never have had it serviced. buying a 2 one today.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Always starts on the first pull!

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews from other users before I bought this mower in March 2013. I kept my fingers crossed and I haven't been disappointed. Our mowing season runs from April into November in north Georgia. From June through September I have to mow every 3 days, so mowers get a workout. This mower with the Kohler engine has started on the first pull for the 3 months I've been using it. I use fuel stabilizer in my fuel and I always use fuel that is "fresh", no more than 60 days old. So far I'm a fan. By the way, the cut is nice, better than the Murray it replaced. I keep my mowers a long time and I'm hoping this will last. I'll re-review next spring. TGR from North GA
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: somewhat difficult to adjust mowing height.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stay Away

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this lawn mower 10 days ago and only used it twice ,on the second time the pull cord broke off.It pulls to one side and the catcher does not fit snugged so most of the clipping escapes.I am going to take it back and get a Honda.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Orlando,florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toro self propelled front wheels drive with brigg & straton 6.75HP

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Since I bought the about mower 2 years until now, I don't have any complain the mower. I do the oil changed 2 times per year. the self propelled run very fast. certainly I do the filter changed once per year. I remember I have the Kohler engine with other band I owned. there have problem with Kohler engine, its die by itself. Now the Toro changed & using Kohler engine. I may not consider the new Toro with Kohler's engine
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Garrison, Philipstown, NY 10524, USA

Built to FAIL

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plastic gear wheels crack easily. This means, being right next to the cutting deck, debris gets pushed into the hole stopping the wheels. Replacement piece of junk... $16, or your duct taping the hole and cleaning it out regularly. After 2 years I've got the drive cord to the handle rigged and the pull start cord replaced with 550 cord. Stabil high octane gas, changed filter, line, plug... still doesn't want to run more than 3 minutes. Built to FAIL... piece of junk. Toro, what happened to you? I'm gone.
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

Total Garbage!

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower encouraged by the "guaranteed to start" pitch from Toro. Worked fine for the first 6 months. After that it wouldn't start no matter what I did. Now I'm having to pay for repair. AVOID THIS MOWER!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Methuen, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wont start after 1 year

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this lawn mower last year and it worked fine all year. This year i pulled it out of the garage filled the gas tank and it wont start.
I have a Toro Lawn mower I purchased about 5 years ago and I do anything to care for it at all, I even leave the gas in the tank all winter long and leave it out foors with a cover on it and it always starts on the first pull? Go figrure. I'm not sure of the model on the working mower
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

Don't bother

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I had never bought this mower. I've mowed my yard twice and it no longer will start. (it's guaranteed to always start, remember?) Because of where I live, I have to load it up and drive 30 minutes to get it to a dealer now. It's also so heavy that when the self-propelled feature stopped working (the belt slipped off and had to be put back on) it was next to impossible to use. I wish I could afford to buy a different mower and scrap this one.
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 31 >>