728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

With a 3-in-1 mowing system, the Toro Recycler 22-in. 6.75 Gross Torque OHV gas variable speed, high-wheel mower offers bagging, mulching and side discharge capabilities for flexible performance in all mowing conditions. The 11 in. (28 cm) rear high wheel
Overall rating:
3.349 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(726 reviews) 726
Open Ratings Snapshot
61%of customersrecommend this product428 of 696reviews
Rating Breakdown 726 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(293)
4
(137)
3
(37)
2
(48)
1
(211)
Features 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
61%of customersrecommend this product428 of 696reviews
Customer questions and answers:
59 Questions | 296 Answers
Customer reviews for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
Review 1 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer Beware

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved my old Toro Recycler. It lasted 10 years without any problems. I cannot say the same for the newer Recycler. Started having problems with this one after 2 yrs. I've had it in the shop multiple times & continue to have problems starting the darn thing. What happened to the quality?! I'm going to part ways with this company today & pay a little more for a Honda. I understand that we all want to save money & this use to be a great deal for the price, but I would steer clear of the Toro Recycler for now, because after you've had it in the shop multiple times, you've basically paid $700-$800 for a lawn mower that lacks durability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not so easy start

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When a product is advertised as "guaranteed to start" then it really should start! I bought my first house and I wanted to buy a new, reliable mower that will last. THIS IS NOT IT.... it had trouble starting 6 months after I bought it and now it's been almost a year and it is in the shop. I'm really hoping it's covered under warranty but I'm willing to bet that it's somehow fuel related and won't be covered. I've only used regular gas, and that should be just fine in this mower. The shop guy didn't make it sound very promising. If regular gasoline isn't good enough for this mower then Toro needs to come up with a better engine or advertise an awesome gas additive to use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would like to give two stars, but can't justify it.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I usually don't trust one star reviews, so I try not to write them, but I just can't justify 2 stars for this mower. Year and a half old, and have had to have it serviced 3 times so far for not starting. Carburetor is a very poor design, and I also hate the autochoke. Using new fuel, and fuel stabilizer, and after taking apart and cleaning the carburetor, it still goes dead after about two seconds. 10% ethanol fuel is all that is available, and these mowers say don't use with more than 10% ethanol fuel, so it should work, but it does not.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Lexington, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Walk Away NOW!!!

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower last year and in it's second year it doesn't want to start. After finally getting it started, the mulcher doesn't work and the bag wont catch. I HATE I bought this, I'm getting another Craftsman. I had owned my Craftsman for almost 20 years before someone stole it.
Pros: Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Vermont
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quit after one season

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this lawn mower at the end of the summer in 2013 and it ran well the first few times I used it. After storing it properly and pulling it out in the Spring of 2014 it wouldn't run properly. I took it to the Toro dealer where they cleaned the carburetor and blamed it on dirty fuel (even though I used the recommended fuel stabilizer and removed the fuel when storing it). After cleaning the carb, it still wouldn't run properly. I took it back to the dealer, but they were unable to figure out what was wrong with it.
So now I am stuck with a lawn mower that isn't "guaranteed to start" and even when it does start it won't run more than 20-30 minutes before shutting off. Somehow this issue isn't covered by the warranty or any of Toro's "guarantees".
Before purchasing this product I would recommend researching this issue elsewhere. It seems that this mower works great the first couple of months and then it's all downhill. Toro has received many complaints about this through the Better Business Bureau and their stock answer seems to be that the issue is due to bad fuel. Bad fuel is not covered by their warranty.
I imagine many of those reviewers giving this mower 5 stars will probably be coming back this spring to amend their reviews.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't always start, not guaranteed to start, sporadic engine, bad toro customer service
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer Beware

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My mower is barely over one season old and will not start. i have changed the oil, gas, and sprayed carburetor cleaner to try and get the "guaranteed to start" lawnmower to live up to the name. I was in love with this mower for it's first (and only) season of use; but after one winter in the garage (stored with no gas per the instruction manual), I changed the oil and put new gas in and it will.not.start! I wish i had read the earlier reviews for this mower from the people who have owned it for more than one season. They all have the same review: A faulty carburetor on the part of Kohler/Toro will prevent the mower from running after one winter of sitting idle. DO NOT BUY THIS MOWER!!
Cons: not dependable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a good job.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems to do well on level ground, but hard to control on hills. The "Variable Speed" feature is not so "variable"--it goes fast or stops --it is not easy or almost impossible to get it into a slower speed.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Garland, Teas
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TERRIBLE Mower!!

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was SO excited to get my self-propelled mower, too bad I picked the Toro Recycler. I've had it for about three years and I have CONSTANT problems getting it too start. I'm getting another mower and this one can go to the pawn shop. DO NOT PURCHASE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Since buying two years ago, this mower has been in the shop twice. As with other reviews, the mower will not start and in both instances the fuel lines had to be changed and the carburetor had to be cleaned. The first time i went to a toro certified repair shop which stated it was because of "bad gas", the next time I took it to a general repair shop which blamed it on Kohlers poor quality. They recommended i clean it up and sell it. DO NOT BUY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

50/50

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like the mower. I do get frustrated at times because it doesn't always start with just one pull. Other than that it's great! HOME DEPOT needs to carry the filters for them!!! My job is Lawn care, Landscaping. I honestly do not have the time to wait for a new filet in the snail mail!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Marietta
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not recommanded

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product near the end of summer season of 2013. after the first use, it was sitting for 3 weeks. when I want to use it again, it won't start. I took it to Toro authorized shop to check, they told me that I used the gas with ethanol, it is not under warranty, so I paid for the carbonater cleaning. I started to use ethanol free gas. I kept the gas tank empty after the second use.
In 2014, I took it out, it won't start again. I was very frustrated to look at the "guarantee to star" sign. My friend put in the quick start and it started. the following week, it won't start again. it is the worst mower I ever bought.
First, if ethanol hurts this machine, put the warming sign on the machine. second, Don't put the 'guarantee to start' sign when it does not start, it is an embarrassment and damage the reputation of the company.
I do not recommend this machine at all. I spent around $300 and only used it for 3 times. I bought a yard machine push mower with a cheap price for my tenant few years ago, the new tenant has they own. I brought it back. now, I am using it and it runs fine.
Cons: do not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short Life

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Third time to use and it won't start! Put new gas in it and it still won't start!
Pros: All In One
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Charlotte NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mower

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Mower was easy to get put together and started up. It works great and has made my mowing experience better!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Self-Propelled
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Always starts on the first pull!

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews from other users before I bought this mower in March 2013. I kept my fingers crossed and I haven't been disappointed. Our mowing season runs from April into November in north Georgia. From June through September I have to mow every 3 days, so mowers get a workout. This mower with the Kohler engine has started on the first pull for the 3 months I've been using it. I use fuel stabilizer in my fuel and I always use fuel that is "fresh", no more than 60 days old. So far I'm a fan. By the way, the cut is nice, better than the Murray it replaced. I keep my mowers a long time and I'm hoping this will last. I'll re-review next spring. TGR from North GA
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: somewhat difficult to adjust mowing height.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from roanoke, va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good mower

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Into my third season with this Toro. Overall a good mower, easy to use and no manufacturing /quality issues, self propel speed is at a good pace and it is very east to start, no priming and one easy pull to start the mower. Only issue I that it can be a bit bouncy at the higher self propel speed. I changed to rubber tires and thee was some improvement. I would recommend this model and buy one again
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, fast paced
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

Unreliable!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Started off as an easy to use lawn mower. Gas cap started leaking in the first 6 months. Problem with engine two months later. Took to authorized repair store and given a $130 repair bill. Toro said it was due to maintenance items. I've NEVER had problems with maintenance items in the first year of owning a lawn mower. Waste of money and never buying TORO again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Sacramento California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst Purchase Ever

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Rear High Wheel Variable Self-Propelled features .
Pros: Self-Propelled
Cons: poor quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not like my old Toro

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In 2002, I purchased a Toro mower that was Guaranteed To Start. It did that on the first pull for 11 years withn no mechanical issues. After 11 years of faithfull service I thought I'd by another. I bought this model late last summer and worked fine, although it didn't start on first pull like the other. It sat for one month during the Florida Winter. I pulled it out to cut grass and would not start.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Mulches Well
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Orlando,florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toro self propelled front wheels drive with brigg & straton 6.75HP

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Since I bought the about mower 2 years until now, I don't have any complain the mower. I do the oil changed 2 times per year. the self propelled run very fast. certainly I do the filter changed once per year. I remember I have the Kohler engine with other band I owned. there have problem with Kohler engine, its die by itself. Now the Toro changed & using Kohler engine. I may not consider the new Toro with Kohler's engine
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Garrison, Philipstown, NY 10524, USA

Built to FAIL

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plastic gear wheels crack easily. This means, being right next to the cutting deck, debris gets pushed into the hole stopping the wheels. Replacement piece of junk... $16, or your duct taping the hole and cleaning it out regularly. After 2 years I've got the drive cord to the handle rigged and the pull start cord replaced with 550 cord. Stabil high octane gas, changed filter, line, plug... still doesn't want to run more than 3 minutes. Built to FAIL... piece of junk. Toro, what happened to you? I'm gone.
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 35 >>