728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

Recycler 22 in. High Wheel Front Wheel Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower with Kohler Engine (CARB Compliant). For homeowners seeking a lawn mower with high quality, a user-friendly design, and excellent mulching capability. Toro products are known for Smart Features and Proven Dependability. Count On It.
Overall rating:
3.294 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(758 reviews) 758
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product437 of 728reviews
Rating Breakdown 758 reviews
3.3 out of 5
5
(298)
4
(140)
3
(37)
2
(53)
1
(230)
Features 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product437 of 728reviews
Customer questions and answers:
62 Questions | 304 Answers
Customer reviews for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
Review 1 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Guarranteed to cause headaches

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I choose this model for the guaranteed to start warranty. It started fine the first time and I have had nothing but problems since. I tried to take it back to Home Depot but it had been over 30 days and they said I had to go through the Toro warranty. The Toro warranty is worthless. I had to pay out of pocket to get it serviced. It doesn't cover anything fuel related, and the main problem with this mower is the fuel system. I've used the fuel preservative and it still doesn't matter. I have had this lawn mower for over a year and only used it maybe 4 times. Most of the time, I give up on it after pulling the starter until my arm is jello.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Knoxville, Tn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Starting after winter storage

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
When I bought this July 2013, I liked the ease of putting it together and the fact that it did start on the first pull. I followed instructions on winterizing to the letter. Got it out of the garage today, put fuel and oil in it, then tried to start it. Nafter 45 minutes of not even a cough, loaded it up and took it back to Home Depot. Service agent was very nice and asked if he could try one more thing before going through the repair routine.
He took the air filter off, and shot a small amount of carb ether. Fired up immediately. So if you are having troubles starting the mower would recommend this as a first step before taking the mower to a dealer.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Greenville, South Carolina
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not run well (In the shop2 times in because it won't start)

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time with this lawn mower. I thought buying a Toro would keep me from the shop for repairs for at least 5 - 10 years but in the first 2 years I have been to the shop 2 times with this mower. Even after bringing it in and the shop saying "it was just some tweeks and tune up" plug was fine and gas was good. Toro support just says, "sorry, we cannot provide assistance, you need to talk with the dealer". Now my warranty is about up (3 yrs) and it won't start again. HomeDepot/Toro, it is obvious there is an issue with this based on the reviews please make it right.
Cons: Not Durable, won't start, toro support not helpful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not so easy start

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When a product is advertised as "guaranteed to start" then it really should start! I bought my first house and I wanted to buy a new, reliable mower that will last. THIS IS NOT IT.... it had trouble starting 6 months after I bought it and now it's been almost a year and it is in the shop. I'm really hoping it's covered under warranty but I'm willing to bet that it's somehow fuel related and won't be covered. I've only used regular gas, and that should be just fine in this mower. The shop guy didn't make it sound very promising. If regular gasoline isn't good enough for this mower then Toro needs to come up with a better engine or advertise an awesome gas additive to use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer Beware

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved my old Toro Recycler. It lasted 10 years without any problems. I cannot say the same for the newer Recycler. Started having problems with this one after 2 yrs. I've had it in the shop multiple times & continue to have problems starting the darn thing. What happened to the quality?! I'm going to part ways with this company today & pay a little more for a Honda. I understand that we all want to save money & this use to be a great deal for the price, but I would steer clear of the Toro Recycler for now, because after you've had it in the shop multiple times, you've basically paid $700-$800 for a lawn mower that lacks durability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Lexington, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Walk Away NOW!!!

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower last year and in it's second year it doesn't want to start. After finally getting it started, the mulcher doesn't work and the bag wont catch. I HATE I bought this, I'm getting another Craftsman. I had owned my Craftsman for almost 20 years before someone stole it.
Pros: Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Chicago, IL

Get a different lawn mower

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had to take this lawn mower back to Home Depot three times within the first season of use. Two times because this 'guaranteed to start' mower would not start and also because the self propel stopped working. Finally the repair guy at Home Depot told me to return it. I'd never buy it again!
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: breaks down
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would like to give two stars, but can't justify it.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I usually don't trust one star reviews, so I try not to write them, but I just can't justify 2 stars for this mower. Year and a half old, and have had to have it serviced 3 times so far for not starting. Carburetor is a very poor design, and I also hate the autochoke. Using new fuel, and fuel stabilizer, and after taking apart and cleaning the carburetor, it still goes dead after about two seconds. 10% ethanol fuel is all that is available, and these mowers say don't use with more than 10% ethanol fuel, so it should work, but it does not.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Vermont
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quit after one season

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this lawn mower at the end of the summer in 2013 and it ran well the first few times I used it. After storing it properly and pulling it out in the Spring of 2014 it wouldn't run properly. I took it to the Toro dealer where they cleaned the carburetor and blamed it on dirty fuel (even though I used the recommended fuel stabilizer and removed the fuel when storing it). After cleaning the carb, it still wouldn't run properly. I took it back to the dealer, but they were unable to figure out what was wrong with it.
So now I am stuck with a lawn mower that isn't "guaranteed to start" and even when it does start it won't run more than 20-30 minutes before shutting off. Somehow this issue isn't covered by the warranty or any of Toro's "guarantees".
Before purchasing this product I would recommend researching this issue elsewhere. It seems that this mower works great the first couple of months and then it's all downhill. Toro has received many complaints about this through the Better Business Bureau and their stock answer seems to be that the issue is due to bad fuel. Bad fuel is not covered by their warranty.
I imagine many of those reviewers giving this mower 5 stars will probably be coming back this spring to amend their reviews.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't always start, not guaranteed to start, sporadic engine, bad toro customer service
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer Beware

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My mower is barely over one season old and will not start. i have changed the oil, gas, and sprayed carburetor cleaner to try and get the "guaranteed to start" lawnmower to live up to the name. I was in love with this mower for it's first (and only) season of use; but after one winter in the garage (stored with no gas per the instruction manual), I changed the oil and put new gas in and it will.not.start! I wish i had read the earlier reviews for this mower from the people who have owned it for more than one season. They all have the same review: A faulty carburetor on the part of Kohler/Toro will prevent the mower from running after one winter of sitting idle. DO NOT BUY THIS MOWER!!
Cons: not dependable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from granbury texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

kohler

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
ease y installed easy to adj runs quite starts one pull
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

won't start

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Says guaranteed to start, who's guaranteeing it. They only blame you when it doesn't mine started first pull a few times but when I complained all I got was lip service from the help line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to assemble and was done with my lawn in 10 minutes

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this lawn mower this morning. I assembled and added the oil and gas per instructions in less than 5 minutes. I was done mowing my front and back yard in 10 minutes. After I was done, I had to review and state this was worth the buy.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Always starts on the first pull!

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the reviews from other users before I bought this mower in March 2013. I kept my fingers crossed and I haven't been disappointed. Our mowing season runs from April into November in north Georgia. From June through September I have to mow every 3 days, so mowers get a workout. This mower with the Kohler engine has started on the first pull for the 3 months I've been using it. I use fuel stabilizer in my fuel and I always use fuel that is "fresh", no more than 60 days old. So far I'm a fan. By the way, the cut is nice, better than the Murray it replaced. I keep my mowers a long time and I'm hoping this will last. I'll re-review next spring. TGR from North GA
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: somewhat difficult to adjust mowing height.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Northern Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One Star

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only used it once, and the inner shroud had a piece broken off. Other than that, it did start on the 1st pull, and the price was right.
Pros: Great Engine
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

50/50

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I really like the mower. I do get frustrated at times because it doesn't always start with just one pull. Other than that it's great! HOME DEPOT needs to carry the filters for them!!! My job is Lawn care, Landscaping. I honestly do not have the time to wait for a new filet in the snail mail!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a good job.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Seems to do well on level ground, but hard to control on hills. The "Variable Speed" feature is not so "variable"--it goes fast or stops --it is not easy or almost impossible to get it into a slower speed.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Garrison, Philipstown, NY 10524, USA

Built to FAIL

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plastic gear wheels crack easily. This means, being right next to the cutting deck, debris gets pushed into the hole stopping the wheels. Replacement piece of junk... $16, or your duct taping the hole and cleaning it out regularly. After 2 years I've got the drive cord to the handle rigged and the pull start cord replaced with 550 cord. Stabil high octane gas, changed filter, line, plug... still doesn't want to run more than 3 minutes. Built to FAIL... piece of junk. Toro, what happened to you? I'm gone.
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower

Junk

PostedMay 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owned this mower for years and decided to get a new one, big mistake! It was unable to finish the first half of the yard before the left rear wheel fell off. The bolt must have been cross threaded when assembled at whatever foreign factory. It was totally striped out. Returned it for a different brand. Toro, you've gone down hill.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. Kohler High Wheel Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Lawn Mower
from Orlando,florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toro self propelled front wheels drive with brigg & straton 6.75HP

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Since I bought the about mower 2 years until now, I don't have any complain the mower. I do the oil changed 2 times per year. the self propelled run very fast. certainly I do the filter changed once per year. I remember I have the Kohler engine with other band I owned. there have problem with Kohler engine, its die by itself. Now the Toro changed & using Kohler engine. I may not consider the new Toro with Kohler's engine
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 37 >>