728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw

20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw

The DEWALT 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw helps you create accurate, detailed workpieces and has a user-friendly configuration with easily accessible controls, reduced vibration design and variable-speed performance. Featuring a double parallel-link arm design for accurate cuts, the arm pivots from the back to the front, shortening the distance the arm moves for smoother, quieter operation. Easy to handle with variable-speed control for application-specific performance, the on/off switch, speed control, blade-tensioning lever and flexible dust blower are all located within easy reach of the front upper arm. The dependable 1.3 amp motor delivers 400 to 1750 SPM for plenty of power, while the compact design makes portability around your jobsite or workshop a breeze. Durable for years of reliable use, this saw has a cast iron table that bevels 45 degrees to the left and 45 degrees to the right for versatility and also provides excellent support.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product48 of 50reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(32)
4
(16)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product48 of 50reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
Review 1 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good purchase

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great saw , easy to operate and use! The only thing that needs to be done to improve this is to have a lock on the arm to hold it up for changing the blades. I use a 4x4 x4 wood block to hold the arm up to change the blades, it works good. This is a great saw !
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
Cons: cant lock arm up to change blades
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Deltona, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good saw for the money

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Such an upgrade from the Ryobi which I would tell anyone looking to buy a scroll saw to stay away from and invest the extra money in a Dewalt!!!! Almost "NO" vibration. Makes excellent cuts. The blower keeps the dust out of the way. Blade changes are a breeze. However, I have to tap the side sometimes to get it to the dialed in speed when I turn it on. Other than that I would highly recommend this saw to anyone. Wish I would have pay the extra from the start.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Torrance, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

99% Dust free

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been waiting for sale on DeWALT scroll saw.
It was a good chance to buy it.
But I didn't know there were lots of dust.
I don't like to wear a mask while scrollsawing.
So, I made this. Now, I'm really satisfied with it.
Next time, I'm going to post some pictures again that it is 99.9% dust freee.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+36points
37out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works fabulous! Great Scroll Saw!

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This scroll saw is amazing! This would be good for a hobbyist or professional.
We started out with a cheap model elsewhere to see if we would continue scrolling and decided an upgrade is in order. Wish we would have gotten this sooner! The quick blade changing has made pieces that took 40 minutes only take about 10- maybe less.
We turned it on and put a nickle on it's side. Great scroll saw!!!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Wahpeton, ND
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SWEET!

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordered online; great price; shipped (free!!!) to house; EASY set-up; super quality; and the thing works so well I never want to leave the shop! Which is a problem cuz a guy's gotta eat, go to work and other stuff. Thanks Home Depot!! and Dewalt!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Harlingen, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with my new Dewalt scrollsaw.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had won a perfect score, two first places, and two second place ribbons in a local woodworking contest over the last 5 years, without my Dewalt scrollsaw. Scrolling over 15 years and after 4 other scroll saws, I see now that I should have purchased this scroll saw 5 years ago. There is much less vibration and of course, it has a deeper throat. Maybe, I could have placed all perfect scores. Thanks for a very good product.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, looks good too
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid machine but could be better

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Super easy to set up and get going. I took many people's advice and purchased Flying Dutchman blades and have been very happy with the overall quality of the saw and the cutting performance. Places where improvements need to be made are in the guide. I am constantly fighting with it as it doesnt stay in one place, plus it is too far away from the blade to hold the material down sufficiently. I put the guide in a vice and bent it considerably and now it rest on either side of the blade and that has helped a bit but it still moves around. I used a rockwell saw in the past and the guide was much more rugged and came right down tight to the blade. Point number 2: The blower does a great job of keeping the cutting area free of sawdust... until you cut really slowly which you need to do for some things. At slow speeds the blower doesnt work well at all. The other thing you need to fight with is the blade attachment screws. As you tighten them the blade tends to rotate with the screw... you really need to pay attention to get the blade straight up and down. My other suggestion would be to get TWO lights for the saw... one one either side of the blade. Otherwise you get an annoying strobe effect as the blade goes up and down. Make sure you bolt the saw down to a solid workbench or table to reduce vibration. Overall though, I am happy with the saw.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy
Cons: poor guide design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Streetman
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this scroll saw

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am new to using a scroll saw. Have used a jig saw for many years and needed something for more intricate work. This was a Christmas purchase and have loved it since I started using it. I did much research on price and quality of product needed for a beginner, and found this was the best for me. I feel it will give me many years of service. I am impressed at how quiet and smooth running it is. Being new to scrolling, I didn't have anything to compare it to, but felt confident with the Dewalt name.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw

dewalt scroll saw

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Well I have had this now about a month and it's cut everything I have thrown at it so far with no issues. Now I ordered from home depot because I read a lot of reviews from amazon about people getting a type two engine or saw which ever the case and all had terrible problems and most had to return it. So I was hoping after seeing all the great reviews it would be a type one, but after all it was a type two. Now after using it I expected to see a lot of things the others talked about but nothing so far. As far as the table and blade alignment with the hole I only had to tighten the two under screws a small amount at a time on each to get it perfect center. As for everything else it works great. My only concern is at medium speed I start to hear a strange creak, but it still moves smooth and nothing faults so it might just need some grease or WD40 near the back of the forward control arm. So I can't really complain and I hope all the other reviews I read about this model where mostly operator error or just bad luck with that particular build. So in the end I would recommend this saw for either the beginner or the advanced woodworker either way you should be happy with it. Good luck and happy scrolling!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Western PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dewalt 20 inch scroll saw

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It took twenty years to wear out my old one so a new saw had to be the same. However Home Depot has the policy that you have to go on line to buy one was upsetting. Lowe' and Home Depot should consider that a purchase this size would be nice to pay for at the store location.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw

Great product

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fast turn around when ordered on line. Would tell a friend on the Home Depot the place to purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great product

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very good features the blade holders being tool less is very nice and very quick. The fact that the upper arm rises so the blade can be threaded through holes from the top is another big plus. Little to no vibration, quiet operation, large table, bottom blade holder very easy to get to and use without even looking at it, and the dust blower works very well. One suggestion due to the weight of this saw the delivery person had a hard time with it and dropped it on my porch (no damage done) if shipped in two packages with the table in the second box handling would be much easier for shipper and customer. The table is not attached and has to be put on by customer any way. All and all it is a joy to work with and I can’t imagine ever going back to the $99.00 saw I had been using. Well worth the price if you are going to use it regularly or if the price is of no concern and you can afford it for occasional use go for it. Can’t say enough about this saw other than you need to use it to realize the quality.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Montrose, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressive Scroller

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Heavy duty. Excellent quality. The tilt angle gauge could be better but was almost dead-on when I used my digital angle gauge to verify the manual setting. Easy blade changes.
Very impressed with how well the saw can scroll through some very tight curves. Smooth cuts too.
I especially like the blade tension/release feature.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from El Salvador,Central America
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fantastic scroll saw

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The scroll saw is a fantastic tools for to work at home because is not noisy. I like to work of the wood and other materials, is very strong. Congratulations.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Off to a good start.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to set up with no complications. All was aligned well. I can't say enough about the tool-free blade clamps. No more fussing about looking for the proper tool. Easy upper and lower threading based on the project you are working on.
The most clunky feature is the table tilt. It's not as smooth to adjust as I would think or hope but you can get it where you need.
As a beginner, I am no longer frustrated by the short-comings of the equipment. Scroll sawing is now as fun as I hoped it would be.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: tilting the table is not smooth
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good Saw BUT

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I got this saw a year ago and had no problem with it and easy to use. I loved using it but about a month ago the speed control went out of control and then it wouldn't turn on. I took it into a Dewalt repair man and he told me that it needed a new motor and a new circuit board. Thank goodness it was under warranty but don't know yet if I have to pay for labor. It would cost me $300 for the motor and $80 for the circuit board. Has anyone had this trouble?
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Dayton, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awsome Scroll Saw at a Great Price!!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Dewalt scroll saw was very easy to set up, only two bolts to assemble the table top. The variable speed control and the tensioner works great. A little adjustment on the blade and it was ready to go. Love it!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Maine
Gender:Male

Solid Machine

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased online, hassle free. Comes assembled, with exception of blade and table, that too was hassle free. The saw is very quiet, and no vibration. The on-off switch and speed adjustment are within easy reach. It is what you would expect for the price. Very pleased!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Columbia, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good quality

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality material, but I had difficulty lining up the blade in the hole of the table. The blade was off to the right side when I installed the table and put in a blade. Calls were made to 3 De Walt service places. Adjusting the blade using the two places where it is attached to the arm helped some. But then was advised to loosen the table and "force" it down where needed to line up the blade. That was difficult but worked. But then the first adjustment put the blade too far to the left and had to be "unadjusted."
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This saw came packaged well, all the parts were there and it was quick and easy to set up and get started. Cuts very well, nice touch with the little blow tube to keep cut area free of sawdust. Ease of operation is great, only broke one blade while getting used to the saw. Cuts tight, little to no noise and or vibes. All in all, love it!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>