728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw

20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw

The Dewalt DW788 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw has a double parallel-link arm design dramatically reduces vibration and noise for extremely accurate cuts. The on-off switch, electronic variable speed, flexible dust blower and blade-tensioning lever are all located on the front upper arm. The arm design pivots from the back of the saw to the front, shortening the arm movement for smoother, quieter operation, and lifts so blade can be easily threaded through the material for inside cuts. The exclusive tool-free blade clamps allow blade changes in seconds. The DW788 includes saw, hex wrench and blades.
Overall rating:
4.489 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product41 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(13)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product41 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
Review 1 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Torrance, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

99% Dust free

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been waiting for sale on DeWALT scroll saw.
It was a good chance to buy it.
But I didn't know there were lots of dust.
I don't like to wear a mask while scrollsawing.
So, I made this. Now, I'm really satisfied with it.
Next time, I'm going to post some pictures again that it is 99.9% dust freee.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works fabulous! Great Scroll Saw!

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This scroll saw is amazing! This would be good for a hobbyist or professional.
We started out with a cheap model elsewhere to see if we would continue scrolling and decided an upgrade is in order. Wish we would have gotten this sooner! The quick blade changing has made pieces that took 40 minutes only take about 10- maybe less.
We turned it on and put a nickle on it's side. Great scroll saw!!!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Harlingen, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with my new Dewalt scrollsaw.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had won a perfect score, two first places, and two second place ribbons in a local woodworking contest over the last 5 years, without my Dewalt scrollsaw. Scrolling over 15 years and after 4 other scroll saws, I see now that I should have purchased this scroll saw 5 years ago. There is much less vibration and of course, it has a deeper throat. Maybe, I could have placed all perfect scores. Thanks for a very good product.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, looks good too
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid machine but could be better

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Super easy to set up and get going. I took many people's advice and purchased Flying Dutchman blades and have been very happy with the overall quality of the saw and the cutting performance. Places where improvements need to be made are in the guide. I am constantly fighting with it as it doesnt stay in one place, plus it is too far away from the blade to hold the material down sufficiently. I put the guide in a vice and bent it considerably and now it rest on either side of the blade and that has helped a bit but it still moves around. I used a rockwell saw in the past and the guide was much more rugged and came right down tight to the blade. Point number 2: The blower does a great job of keeping the cutting area free of sawdust... until you cut really slowly which you need to do for some things. At slow speeds the blower doesnt work well at all. The other thing you need to fight with is the blade attachment screws. As you tighten them the blade tends to rotate with the screw... you really need to pay attention to get the blade straight up and down. My other suggestion would be to get TWO lights for the saw... one one either side of the blade. Otherwise you get an annoying strobe effect as the blade goes up and down. Make sure you bolt the saw down to a solid workbench or table to reduce vibration. Overall though, I am happy with the saw.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy
Cons: poor guide design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Wahpeton, ND
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SWEET!

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered online; great price; shipped (free!!!) to house; EASY set-up; super quality; and the thing works so well I never want to leave the shop! Which is a problem cuz a guy's gotta eat, go to work and other stuff. Thanks Home Depot!! and Dewalt!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Orangedale, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

saw lacking in accessories

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The saw required minimal assembly, and I was able to start work immediately. It would have improved the ease of working with the saw if it had a worklight.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw

best yet

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Its absolutely what I expected
Abundant quality, easy to use and adjust
I would purchase again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Dayton, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awsome Scroll Saw at a Great Price!!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Dewalt scroll saw was very easy to set up, only two bolts to assemble the table top. The variable speed control and the tensioner works great. A little adjustment on the blade and it was ready to go. Love it!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Off to a good start.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to set up with no complications. All was aligned well. I can't say enough about the tool-free blade clamps. No more fussing about looking for the proper tool. Easy upper and lower threading based on the project you are working on.
The most clunky feature is the table tilt. It's not as smooth to adjust as I would think or hope but you can get it where you need.
As a beginner, I am no longer frustrated by the short-comings of the equipment. Scroll sawing is now as fun as I hoped it would be.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: tilting the table is not smooth
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great product

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good features the blade holders being tool less is very nice and very quick. The fact that the upper arm rises so the blade can be threaded through holes from the top is another big plus. Little to no vibration, quiet operation, large table, bottom blade holder very easy to get to and use without even looking at it, and the dust blower works very well. One suggestion due to the weight of this saw the delivery person had a hard time with it and dropped it on my porch (no damage done) if shipped in two packages with the table in the second box handling would be much easier for shipper and customer. The table is not attached and has to be put on by customer any way. All and all it is a joy to work with and I can’t imagine ever going back to the $99.00 saw I had been using. Well worth the price if you are going to use it regularly or if the price is of no concern and you can afford it for occasional use go for it. Can’t say enough about this saw other than you need to use it to realize the quality.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good Saw BUT

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I got this saw a year ago and had no problem with it and easy to use. I loved using it but about a month ago the speed control went out of control and then it wouldn't turn on. I took it into a Dewalt repair man and he told me that it needed a new motor and a new circuit board. Thank goodness it was under warranty but don't know yet if I have to pay for labor. It would cost me $300 for the motor and $80 for the circuit board. Has anyone had this trouble?
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Montrose, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressive Scroller

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Heavy duty. Excellent quality. The tilt angle gauge could be better but was almost dead-on when I used my digital angle gauge to verify the manual setting. Easy blade changes.
Very impressed with how well the saw can scroll through some very tight curves. Smooth cuts too.
I especially like the blade tension/release feature.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This saw came packaged well, all the parts were there and it was quick and easy to set up and get started. Cuts very well, nice touch with the little blow tube to keep cut area free of sawdust. Ease of operation is great, only broke one blade while getting used to the saw. Cuts tight, little to no noise and or vibes. All in all, love it!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had an inexpensive scrollsaw before and the vibration was so great I could not even use it. After reading many reviews I decided to purchase the Dewalt. I am extremely pleased with it. I gave it 4 stars and not 5 because I think tilting the table could be a smother operation. Other than that nice machine.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Columbia, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good quality

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality material, but I had difficulty lining up the blade in the hole of the table. The blade was off to the right side when I installed the table and put in a blade. Calls were made to 3 De Walt service places. Adjusting the blade using the two places where it is attached to the arm helped some. But then was advised to loosen the table and "force" it down where needed to line up the blade. That was difficult but worked. But then the first adjustment put the blade too far to the left and had to be "unadjusted."
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Maine
Gender:Male

Solid Machine

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased online, hassle free. Comes assembled, with exception of blade and table, that too was hassle free. The saw is very quiet, and no vibration. The on-off switch and speed adjustment are within easy reach. It is what you would expect for the price. Very pleased!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Dewalt quality

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have many different Dewalt products and find they are top of the line. My only complaint would be that you have to buy the light separate.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw

Great product, quick shipping

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice saw for beginners to intermediate users. I got it within 3 days of ordering. Assembly is very simple and quick. In fact the saw already comes pre-assembled, all you have to do is fasten the table onto it. Blade changes are quick once you get used to it (I recommend Flying Dutchman scroll reverse blades). FYI if you get the saw and you turn it on and you hear a rattling sound, it's because of the finger guard. Just loosen it and take it off with the provided allen wrench then the rattling will be gone.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
from Batesville, AR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great features and excellent value for the farm

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's nice having the stand at the right height. Easy to use and powerful enough for any of my needs on the farm.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. Variable-Speed Scroll Saw
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great saw!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a quiet, sturdy, and overall fantastic scroll saw. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is there is a few things I would change. It needs a light on the blower arm, a vacuum port, and the arm lift should stay up by itself. Other than those issues you can't go wrong with this one.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Quiet
Cons: as mentioned
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>