728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED

70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED

Designed to remove excess moisture from your home quietly and efficiently. A necessity for those suffering from dust mite, allergies or simply for those who wants to keep their indoor humidity at a comfortable level. Air that is too damp can cause itchy skin and nasal passages, condensation on windows, water damage to materials, mold growth and rotting of wood materials in your home. SPT dehumidifiers remove moisture from the musty air so you can enjoy year-round comfort in your home or office. Humidity level for this unit can be set as low as 35% with Normal or Turbo fan speed. Features a retractable lifting handle, washable air filter and casters for easy mobility.
Overall rating:
4.385 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product34 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product34 of 37reviews
Customer reviews for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from Scranton, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This dehumidifier does what was described.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It displays the actual humidity in terms of % humidity; it is reasonably quiet when the fan runs at normal speed but louder at turbo speed. Drainage is reversible by letting condensation dripping into large 70 pint container or by connecting a plastic tube (provided) to a hose fitting for self-draining. Catch bucket is easy to unload from front, carry by handle, and dump into drain. Low operating temperature is achieved by automatically de-icing like a frost free refrigerator, but that mode has not actuated in my low 70F basement. Humidifier's compressor generates heat and warms basement to high 70s during hot spells outside; to low 70s during moderate temperatures. My basement is 30' x 30' with insulated walls and floor. Reduced heat by raising humidity setting from 50% to 55%, which still seems adequate.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from Southbridge, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Dehumidier that runs only when it's needed!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This dehumidifier does a great job of drying out the air and the best part is that it runs only when it's needed! I've owned another dehumidier where the fan ran constantly. This dehumidifier shuts itself off when it reaches the desired humidity and when it turns itself back on, the unit is very quiet. Overall rating is 5 stars! Excellent product!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from Pelham, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good purchase.

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have an unfinished basement (approx 500 sqft) in a 1930's house in NY. After taking care of the water leakage issues with a sump pump and patching the holes in the walls I needed a dehumidifier o keep the moisture level down. For the past 3 weeks this purchase has been doing just that, I now have a dry and mold free basement that I am using for storage. I love the RH guage that lets me know what the level is in the basement at all times ( not sure how accurate, but I set mine to 50% and it holds steady at about 51-52%). It takes about 1 hour to go from 75 to 52% when turned on. I would have liked the continuous drainage hose to be much longer. The fan on the unit runs almost continuously but I can hear when the compressor switches on and off. This so far has been a good purchase and would recommend for anyone who wants a plug in dehumidifier without breaking the bank.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from Smyrna, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Good

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a VERY loud device. It also performs quite well. The box will arrive and you will think they packed it with bricks - VERY, VERY HEAVY. I do not want to stereotype, but most women will not be able to lift this down the stairs. The box arrives and it is easily 55-60 lbs. The unit itself is 40+.
QUALITY: 9/10
NOISE: 1/10 - very loud in general, turbo mode is ridiculous
PERFORMANCE: 10/10
WEIGHT: 2/10, large unit, but very heavy and not for kids to move
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Powerful, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy, goes into p1 mode - frost often
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a great job

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit works very well. Typically it gets ran in a large bathroom after a couple of hot showers, and takes less Han a half hour to get the room back under 50% humidity. It also exhausts warm air which is great in the cooler months when a/c isn't running and dehumidifying the air. Unable to comment on the energy usage yet.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great but not for long

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this item in April of 2011. It worked great for almost exactly the warranty period of 1 year. Just this past week (June 2012) it died on me .If you insist on buying one of these, make sure to buy the extended warranty.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED

Quiet, effective in reducing humidity

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good: set up instructions good. Easy to set up. Quiet.
Downside: Instructions were incomplete on operating machine. I finally guessed correctly that the blinking humidity number was the desired humidity and the solid number the room humidity.
The output fitting for continuous draining is undersize for a standard garden house. The hose kept falling off. This was remedied by supporting the hose.
The machine appears to read 10% lower humidity than the actual humidity in the room. Normal error is considered to be 5%
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from Duluth, MN, USA

Good product

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have only had this product for several weeks, it has done a nice job removing the damp/musty feeling of our basement and lower level. Easy to use, noise level is acceptable, the drain hose works well, easy to maintain.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from Lafayette, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Choice!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this unit strictly based on previous customer reviews. I am normally a Die Hard LG fan, however after reading the reviews, I opted for this item. While the cosmetic design is not as nice as the others, functionality SHOULD come first anyway... - I do NOT regret my choice. VERY quiet, efficient & absurdly easy to install. I got a new favorite product line!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Fit, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great all the way around

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This works great, much quieter than the one it replaced and filter is so easy to clean. We have it hooked directly into a drain and never have to even look at it, it takes care of itself. Electric bill went down $40 per month since I got this dehumidifier.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from landisville nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so far so good

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
does the job so far no problems only a few weeks old.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Powerful
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good design, especially the plastic case, that did a quick job of removing and maintaining the humidity in an otherwise damp basement. The drain was a little bit tricky to figure out, but once I got it figured out it did a very adequate job of draining the tank.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: drain tube was a little bit tricky to install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED

Excellent unit...

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did quite a bit of research before purchasing this unit b/c most of the humidifiers I've researched have bad reviews, with people complaining about noise level, efficiency, continuous drainage issues, and poor durability. So far this one has worked well for me in my crawl space, keeping the space at a constant 60% humidity, which is the level I set, and it doesn't need to run very often. It has a quiet fan while running, extracts water very efficiently, turns off when it reaches the humidity level you set, and the continuous drain feature works well (also the bucket, if you prefer). The durability issue I can't comment about yet...time will tell.
Regarding the continuous drainage feature, the easiest thing to do (I read from other reviews and can confirm) is to go to Home Depot and buy clear tubing that is as long as you need to reach your drain. I first tried a garden hose, and while the coupling appeared to work OK, the hose was too long and didn't drain well. The clear tubing (a 6 inch sample is provided with the unit, so you can see what to buy) is the best to use with this unit so that you can connect it directly to the unit without the copuling and so that you can see the water and make sure it is draining properly; otherwise, water could back up into the drip tank within the unit and eventually leak out or fill up the bucket.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Working great after about two weeks continuous use

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far so good. Using it in a large very damp basement that has had water problems in the past and it's sucking a steady stream of water out of the air. I had no problems with hook up or set up as some of the other reviews stated. Also no problem with the hose attachment as others did--though it is a wee bit short. For those of you reading reviews, believe me, this dehumidifier is "super quiet" compared with other comparable units. Dehumidifiers are by nature, loud. You have to remember that they have no box insulation to deaden the sound of the fan motor or compressor like a refrigerator does. This is as quiet as you are going to get in a unit this inexpensive. Also, don't expect the humidity gauge to be totally accurate, remember it's taking it's reading humidity inside a box that is producing heat and blowing air. If you are concerned with reaching an accurate humidity reading, buy a separate meter and place it at least 10 feet away from the dehumidifier. We have gone through a lot of dehumidifiers in the last 20 years and so far, this one is by far the best. Just keeping my fingers crossed on longivity. Others also complained about weight of the unit----come on now, 70 pint units have a pretty hefty compressor, I was actually surprised how light it was for the capacity. So far, I can honestly recommend this unit. It does exactly what it was designed to do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED

So far, so good.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this dehumidifier after our old one up and died during the warmest and most humid week of the summer.
I highly recommend attaching a continuous drain hose; we just used a 3' long clear plastic tubing (it's the same circumference as the piece the appliance comes with), and just ran the one tubing piece to the basement drain.
The only complaints I have is that the dehumidifier puts out warm air (as opposed to our past appliances) and that the catch container does not have a flat bottom (so you can't sit it down -- and when it's full, it's *heavy*).
Runs very quiet. Works quite well (had to be emptied 2 - 3 times a day when we first got it, prior to hooking up continuous drainage).
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from North Smithfield, RI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

The basement no longer smells moldy

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The machine works great. No more moldy damp smell. A little loader than some others, but it is in the basement so the noise is not heard.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love this dehumidifier!!

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dehumidifier is 20 pints larger capacity than our previous one. We are having a very humid summer, and this unit is just amazing. We use it in the basement, and I empty it morning and night. I have not used this brand in the past, but would definately recommend to everyone:)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from Teaneck, NJ, USA
Gender:Male

Dehumidifier that does it's job

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The unit does it's job as I expected. The only thing that must be done, is to connect the drain pipe directly to a sink or so otherwise, you have to take the water collecting tank and empty it every morning or sometimes even twice a day.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED

great product

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
have had no problems with this machine working properly like i have with other ones in past. way the drain hose attaches is much better than on other models.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 70-pint Dehumidifier with Energy Star-DISCONTINUED
from Alabama
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short Life

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first unit died in the first month which was quickly replaced. The second unit has died at less than 24months. The unit was setup to drain through a hose. However it repeatedly would fill-up the bucket at random periods from a week to months.
These things should last like a frig and be good for 10yrs.
Additionally, the vent is on the top which does not work well in a crawl space.
Cons: short life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>