728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer

24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer

This BLACK & DECKER 24 in. 40-Volt Cordless Lithium-Ion Hedge Trimmer features a powerful 40-Volt lithium-Ion rechargeable battery that delivers up to 60 minutes of run-time to help you complete the toughest jobs. The trimmer cuts material as wide as 3/4 in. thick, helping you to get rid of those stubborn branches. The full wrap-around front handle provides a comfortable gripping area in almost all cutting orientations.
Overall rating:
4.791 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product81 of 85reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(82)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product81 of 85reviews
Customer reviews for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for women

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a 40 something woman who loves to work outdoors. I purchased this hedge trimmer a week ago. I charged the battery out of the box and it took a little over an hour. I used the hedge trimmer to cut back briars, wild raspberry bushes and other overgrowth on the sides of a trail. The trimmer was not heavy and I was able to work on the trail for a solid hour without any loss of power or having to recharge the battery (I still had a bit of a charge on it when I finished). If it can handle what I cut this past weekend, its going to be a breeze to use on my boxwood and barberry bushes. I was very impressed with this machine (and my husband was too). I also like the blade cover that comes with it so I can store it without worry. I highly recommend this hedge trimmer.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from Goodyear, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best money I've spent in a long time!!!

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best trimmer I have ever used! Being female I needed a lightweight trimmer that I could use for an extended period of time and a battery life to match. I got it all in this unit!
I am a picky gardner and won't let anyone else touch my
bouganvillas and I can trim them all on a single charge. My husband would follow me around and hold the cord on previous trimmers because he got tired of buying and repairing extension cords. So, we are both happy with this
trimmer. The battery life is beyond all expectations and I really like the blade sheath for storage and as a safety feature. Black and Decker really "got it right" on this one!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from Lafayette, LA

Great trimmer, poor battery

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The battery didn't last a year. If it did I would have given it 5 stars because the trimmer is excellent. But at $90 for a battery that doesn't hold a charge after 1 year, sorry....
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: poor battery
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceeded Expectations

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this trimmer to replace my 18" electric plug-in. I hesitated worrying that it would not be powerful enough and the charge wouldn't hold up. To my surprise, it is a beast! It cuts everything in its path. It has a battery life indicator showing four bars for full charge. After I cut my hedges which are a total of 25' long, 8' high and 3' deep, the battery charge was still showing four bars. Amazing! To think I almost bought a second battery.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from Saginaw, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My husband loves his Black and Decker hedge trimmers.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Father's Day and he loves it. He gave it 5 stars. It is light weight, has good reach and best of all, no cord! It cut 50 feet of hedge quickly and powerfully.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, cordless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from grand prairie, tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

powerful trimmer

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Trimmer cuts bigger limbs than my corded trimmer. Plenty of power. 2ah battery also fits my EGO leaf blower and string trimmer. No more extension cords or oil and gas to deal with. Love it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, cordless and gasless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for leaf trimming

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As long as you are trimming GREEN and not the woody stems, this is a great product! Could not use this for some Professional uses, such as Oleander branches or established Bouganvillea branches, for example but, I enjoy using it for summer trimming of hedges and plants (such as Hibiscus or, honeysuckle).
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from Northville, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Best Purchase ever!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a large yard with a lot of shrubs. In the past I had to trim by sections, but with the new trimmer I did not have to worry about cutting the cord, it held the charge, and cut easily, and I was able to trim in 2 sessions. I am a 135 pound woman, and was really happy that it was so much easier this time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cordless Hedge Trimmer

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The trimmer worked so well my husband even likes using it. It cuts like butter.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from Millbrook, NY 12545, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, excellent price

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about a battery operated hedge trimmer but this product made me a believer. All of my other lawn and garden equipment is gas powered with a pull start making it difficult for my wife to use. This trimmer is the first battery operated piece of lawn or garden equipment I have purchased and now my wife can help me with the outside work because it's light-weight and easy to use. It has plenty of power and the battery life was surprisingly long enough to do all of our trimming on a single charge.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from Georgia
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best yard tool I own

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Why did I not buy this tool sooner? Battery holding power is outstanding. I was able to trim three yards on one charge and still had half power left. Trimmed bushes about five feet high, four feet wide and the equivalent of two hundred feet long.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer

Exceeded expectations

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This replaces an electric corded trimmer and has plenty of power for most pruning and trimming needs. It is light and well balanced and has less vibration than the trimmer it replaces. After using this, I used the old corded trimmer, which now felt very heavy and unwieldy. The battery lasted more than an hour and a half using it in an economical manner. A backup battery would be needed if used in a commercial application or if needed to trim a large estate.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from Cumming, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very light weight and no cord to cut accidently!

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a lot of mature bushes to trim in my yard. This trimmer makes it very easy since it is not only light weight but also cordless. The free extra battery promotion also sweetened the deal.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer

Convienience, Power, and Light-Weight

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The power is more than sufficient to trim hedges and bushes. The battery charges quickly, and it is so nice not to have to breathe carbon emissions or have to constantly be alert to the location of power cords. This trimmer is also lightweight which reduces fatigue. The final product is a nicely trimmed hedge. This unit comes with an excellent warranty as well.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from North Royalton, OH, USA

Does not disappoint!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was purchased as a gift for my father-in-law ... he's a terrific guy but "fussy" about equipment quality. HE LOVES THIS TRIMMER! Fast, powerful, holds a charge for a long time. Highly recommend it - it's worth the extra money to get this kind of quality.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product with a negative feature

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I found that the product works well but the rechargeable battery runs out well before the advertised 60 min run time. It gives no warning, just dies. A spare battery is a must!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: battery life too low
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from Kokomo, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best gift i bought myself in years

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
should have boght this years ago. i trimmer everything in minutes. The cord is the biggest problem when you have one.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer

meets all expectations

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
have only used twice,but am very pleased.
easy to use, battery lasted 2 hours, and recharged in 1-2 hrs.
would highly recommend.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great power, awesome battery life.

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was thinking of buying a gas powered hedge trimmer, but thought my wife would NEVER be able to use it. This lithium battery is great - very short re-charge time, long battery life (3 - 4 hours constant use), and great power. Unless you are a commercial landscaper, this would be a #1 recommendation.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. 40-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Hedge Trimmer
from Kent, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Better than expected.

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Despite reviews of the talking about the 24 volt model requiring 8 hours to recharge, 2 hours seems to be plenty of time for a full recharge of this 36 volt model. And it has plenty of cutting power, to boot! Overall, it's a better device than I expected.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>