728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Waterproofing & Sealers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer

5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer

Eagle Gloss Coat Clear is a high gloss, durable acrylic film. Eagle Gloss Coat Clear should be used on all types of decorative concrete. Your concrete will look better than new and never yellow. Protect and beautify your concrete with Eagle Gloss Coat Clear.
Overall rating:
4.621 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product52 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(42)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product52 of 55reviews
Customer reviews for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
Review 1 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Houston Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product has been great so far

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The sealer was applied with a 9"- 3/8" nap roller on outside stamped concrete in one coat.. It covered very easily and took less material than the manufacturer indicated. I followed a previous raters suggestion and waited until the portion of the patio that received sun was shaded. I plan to apply another coat to that portion with the excess material resulting from the coverage issue.The patio looks better than it did when new about 4 years ago. I hope to report that the patio still retains its wet look in a subsequent rating a year from now.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: instructions could be better
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome! Pavers look like new.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent coverage. Two year old faded pavers look like they were just installed. Odor does last for a couple of days after drying.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: odor lasts a few days
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Sunland Park, NM, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product very satisfied would purchase again

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is so easy to work with 1 application did great second application was wow it looked and stayed lookin very wet this item is fantastic.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Rocky Mtn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased with results

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to apply and looks great! Used about half of the bucket to apply 2 coats on patio, 360 sqft of cement molded cobblestone pavers. Definitely need to wear respirator when applying and make sure windows are closed! Wouldn't apply inside without the proper ventilation or respirator!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from White Salmon, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than water based sealers

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Love the easy application, uniformity and the fact that it's oil base rather than water. Have used water based sealers in past and this product is 10 times better. Depending on your concretes condition, you may have to apply a second coat. Not a big fan of 'gloss' for outdoor applications and wish product also came in a satin or matte finish for that environment. Other than that, highly recommend this sealer even though it's a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. Bottom-line: Happy customer.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Beverly Hills, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well on pavers

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this product to seal pavers, and bring out the color. It went a bit further than I thought it would. I had 816 sq ft of pavers to seal, and it took about 3/4 of a 5 gal pail to cover it. I bought two pails. It is expensive, but many competitors cost more. It is a xylene product, so it must be treated as a product with a petroleum base - which I prefer. I applied it with a paint roller with a medium roller, and that seemed to work well. So far I am happy with the look and result. Time will tell how long it holds up.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, brings out color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Jasper, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better Buy

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to apply. Follow instructions when applying. Make sure the humidity is low the day you apply if outside. High humidity makes the sealer string. Makes the acid stain concrete look totally different when applied.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product-would recommend to others

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to seal pavers and concrete. Although is is rated as glossy the results very with the surface of the material. Had some painted concrete and it has a light glossy sheen but not very shiny. Had large area of pavers to seal and it did not get the glossy appearance either but had a good seal. After we applied it, we had several people stop and ask about the product. Our pavers had a light glossy texture on the driveway and it was noticeable since the other driveways in the neighborhood have faded over time. It is a good product and we will probably reseal in a couple of years with it. We were pleased with the results. Just do not expect a super glossy look with completed. It dries in a couple of hours to walk on, but wait a couple of days before driving on it. There is a loss of shine over time but it remains a good sealer.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Delta, BC Canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product but don't apply in sun

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used this product a few times before. Like most driveway sealers if you really want it to look nice you have to do it every year. Three valuable points I've learned are, power wash and clean well before applying, don't apply over a water base product unless that product has been completely removed or it will stay a creamy white (to a certain degree.
Third if applying on stamped concrete (not so much on exposed aggregate and I don't know why) but don't do this in sun or even if the sun comes out during the drying period. Bubbles will form. Best is to apply in the evening when no direct sunlight and let it dry over night.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer

Amazing product

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is great! It even covered up all my efflorescence and made my 8 year old pavers look new again….with an incredible shine!! I bought a professional heavy duty sprayer on amazon, and it worked great!! This was the first time I sprayed my lanai, I've rolled it in the past, which took hours!! This was quick and well worth the money!!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the very best product around my pool area. I have stamped concrete and it made it look amazing. It does not make the surface very slippery, which is a plus around the pool. I also put this product on my stained concrete and it bubbled a little bit. I dont know if i applied it to thick but I had several small bubbles. Other than that, this product is amazing!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: bubbled a little on stained concrete
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from music city USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good coverage

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good coverage.
the suggestion on the container is correct. i would say one 5 gallon bucket covers approximately 300 sq ft. i have a 1000 sq ft "beach" surrounding my inground pool and it takes 3 buckets.
i applied with a paint roller (long handle) generously.
i felt secure knowing that this oil based solvent was in a metal container.
product is "sticky" so i wore rubber gloves.
you will need a heavy screwdriver or hammer to pry open the top.
very pleased with results.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Port Huron Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used a pressure sprayer to apply 10 gallons of this on my large concrete driveway. The product is thick so I would roll it on next time. It covered great and several neighbours thought I had put in a new driveway, that's how good it looks. Dried as indicated but kept our vehicles off it for 1.5 days just to make sure. Everything just rinses off now. It does have a strong odour. Hope it lasts.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Homosassa, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding product!

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this on my lanai which is colored stamped concrete. The part not under roof was faded somewhat more than the section under cover. Gave the deck a good pressure washing using just water. I did the whole deck and the section under cover looked great and the outside section not so much. Second coat to the rescue. Now outside section looks much better and deck now as some more years added to it's life. The lanai now has a nice "sheen" and the water beads up just like on a freshly waxed car. Fumes are very strong as it starts to dry, but it was worth the stink. Running the ceiling fans on the covered part of the lanai helped drying time and cut down on the smell entering the house. Used inexpensive angled paint brushes to cut in and inexpensive "rough surface" rollers and it worked out perfectly. I was quoted a price of $1000 to pressure wash and reseal my lanai. By doing it myself it came out to a total cost of materials of approximately $180.00. I like that savings. Will order another 5 gallons in order to do my walkway and driveway which are just bare concrete.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer

Very thick and washed away.

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is very thick and my sprayer had a harder time with this acrylic product than with an oil based sealer. The product looked good on my paver driveway for the first week, but after a 3 weeks, 60%+ has washed away. This product is a good price but I will not buy again due to the poor quality.
Pros: Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: deteriorates quickly, very thick for a sprayer
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD - Customer ServiceJune 11, 2014
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer,

We reached out to the MFG and below are their response.

“We recommend Eagle Paver Sealer for concrete pavers. Eagle Paver Sealer leaves the dark wet look desired for concrete pavers. Pavers are very porous and your first application of Eagle Gloss Coat has soaked into the pavers. A second coat will leave a glossy film on the surface. We do not recommend spraying Gloss Coat because it is so thick.”
Review 16 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from troy,michigan

All as advertised

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to apply, quick drying, reasonably priced. This compares with a very expensive concrete coating by a professional.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer

Happy So Far

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I put this product on over the weekend, and the sidewalks look great. This product is a lot more viscous than products I have used in the past. I am hoping that it will last longer due to it being a thicker product. I was able to add two coats on an aggregate sidewalk/patio, and got a little better coverage than the product stated. We put it on extra thick like the manufacturer stated, yet we still had enough leftover for a 3rd coating. Of course, I order two of these and Home Depot sent one correct item, but the second 5 gallon can was Concrete Polisher. I didn't notice until the day I was going to do the work. So the product gets a 4, Home Depot's online ordering/shipping/whatever gets a 1.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Applied per the instruction, so far looks great.
Have not had any issue during or after application
Good value for the money
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy To Apply

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Sealed a stamped concrete driveway and terrace. Went on nicely with a 9" x 3/4" roller. I would recommend a 9" roller since it fits right in the sealer bucket; no tray needed. The "wet look" changes to a nice mat finish in a few days of exposure to sunlight as stated on the bucket. Takes about 48 hours to dry in low humidity. Lacquer thinner clean up so plan on tossing the roller and cleaning only the edging brush. Now it remains to be seen how it holds up over time.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Looks High End
Cons: expensive clean up
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product worked as specified. No runs, no drips, no errors!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easily applied, dried in advertised time, looked great when dry.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>