728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Waterproofing & Sealers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer

5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer

Eagle Gloss Coat Clear is a high gloss, durable acrylic film. Eagle Gloss Coat Clear should be used on all types of decorative concrete. Your concrete will look better than new and never yellow. Protect and beautify your concrete with Eagle Gloss Coat Clear.
Overall rating:
4.707 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product99 of 103reviews
Rating Breakdown 106 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(82)
4
(20)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product99 of 103reviews
Customer reviews for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
Review 1 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product!!

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I spent a lot of time searching for a good concrete sealer and used a few kinds and none of them worked like this one. I used this on a Flagstone patio and the look is amazing; it was extremely easy to apply too. It took me about two hours to paint a 1,000 sq ft area and the results were amazing I only did one coat and it looked really good and the surface did not get slippery or sticky just perfect. I used a pressure washer and muriatic acid to clean the surface 24 hours before I applied the sealer.
I only did one coat, I will wait and see how it does in the next few days and maybe apply a second one.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Carson City, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I didn't give it 5 stars because it is difficult to apply. The roller failed to fill in the sand joints ( I put it on pavers and had a 1/2 in. nap). I bought a sprayer and I think the product is too thick to spray. I ended up saturating the joints and a little on top the brick. My wife went behind me with a roller. It looks great. Not so much a gloss but more of a satin. That is what I read would happen and that is what I wanted. The smell got into our house and 24 hours later is still detectable - KEEP your windows closed.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: difficult to apply
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
Gender:Male

Makes the driveway look clean

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought two of these 5-Gal concrete sealer, i have over 2000 sqft of exposed driveway. i applied one coat only and the whole driveway looks amazing. here are the pros and cons:
Pros:
coming up to 3 months and it still looks good
when the sun hits the concrete it gives it that extra clean shine
did not find it slippery to walk on
rain stays on top
Cons:
the solvent is strong, so you will have to wear a mask and glasses.
newly laid exposed concrete soaks up more
i will get another next year to seal it further
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Houston Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product has been great so far

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The sealer was applied with a 9"- 3/8" nap roller on outside stamped concrete in one coat.. It covered very easily and took less material than the manufacturer indicated. I followed a previous raters suggestion and waited until the portion of the patio that received sun was shaded. I plan to apply another coat to that portion with the excess material resulting from the coverage issue.The patio looks better than it did when new about 4 years ago. I hope to report that the patio still retains its wet look in a subsequent rating a year from now.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: instructions could be better
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Blue Springs, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Renews stamped concrete and edging easily.

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use with a roller. Apply generously but don't get it excessively thick in areas or it will bubble while drying. As always, two or more coats is better than one thick one. Some of my stamped concrete had begun to sun fade because the clear coat had worn out. I used a water-based "TiqueWash" to restore and even-out the stamped concrete stain. After letting the TiqueWash dry overnight I followed up with two to three coats of the gloss clear coat. My stamped concrete looks as good, or maybe even better, than new. The TiqueWash comes in quite a few different colors. I used "Seasoned Earth" to enhance the dark areas and blend everything together. I'm not selling TiqueWash I'm just a happy customer.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Jasper, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better Buy

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to apply. Follow instructions when applying. Make sure the humidity is low the day you apply if outside. High humidity makes the sealer string. Makes the acid stain concrete look totally different when applied.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Rainbow City, AL
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic product

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Far, far better than the waterbase sealer we've used previously. This stuff is the real deal!
We didn't really notice the smell problem others have mentioned, but we were using it outside, sealing the concrete slab around our pool and all our new retaining walls and stepping stone pathways. The product went on easily with a paint roller on a pole. We used the large-size roller trays. Following directions, we applied it and then every 5 feet or so we went back and rolled in the opposite direction to even it out. Went on beautifully and dried quite quickly. Brought out the colors in the stepping stones and in the concrete. We applied a second coat 2 days later to all the stepping stones to protect them from the dogwood berries which make terrible red stains on untreated surfaces. This seemed to solve the problem. When it rained, we were thrilled to see the rain beading up on the surface. When it needs refreshing (hopefully not for several years) we will definitely be re-applying this same product. Wouldn't use anything else now. We're sold on Eagle Gloss Coat.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, really enhances the colors
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Tampa Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stamped Patio Quality Product Looks Great

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just put down the second coat yesterday and this morning it looks great. My previous sealer was xylene based so I prepared by using some diluted krudcutter and a stiff brush followed with a pressure wash. I didn't want to remove the lid so I emailed the company about stirring it up. I was told the clear is not required to stir, but I did gently roll the can back and forth a few minutes prior to use. I poured some into an over sized metal paint pan with a metal paint roller grate. I used a polyester 9" 3/4 nap first coat and 1/2" on the second. The day I put down 1st coat temp was 60s over cast and about 75% humidity. The remnants of old sealer melted in with the new, it dried very nice. Second coat went down yesterday, similarly 60s and overcast 65% humidity. This morning I am very impressed with how it flowed and cured up. The night dew didn’t affect it. Nice shine brought out the color which I thought was lost to the Florida sun. I would not use indoors as vapors are very strong during the process.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Pensacola, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It didn't give us the shine we want.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have to admit it was easy to spread but as soon as you started spreading the fumes are so strong and the container is not as really good for pouring. I guess it really depend on the stone you used, some will absorbed it more than the others. Maybe if we do the third coating then we will get the shine that we want.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Fort Lauderdale
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Concrete sealer for sealing concrete ceilings in a Loft

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used 15 gallons to seal approximately 1000sq feet of ceilings and 500sq feet of cinder block walls. The product goes on very easily with minimal runs and drips. The application varies depending on the size of the tip you put in your sprayer. I put four coats on the walls and three on the ceilings. It looked great after two coats on each but the more I put on the better it looked. The fumes of the product can be overwhelming so make sure you ventilate the area and also make sure you buy some xylene to clean your equipment after each use. The product leaves a very high gloss shine. I used rolls of thick cardboard paper to protect my hardwood floors and regular brown paper and painters tape to protect my sheet rock. I also suggest wearing a mask, long sleeves and hat/head covering while spraying. This product covered and dried much better than the Minwax Fast drying Polyurethane. See the before and after pictures. It is crucial to seal your concrete ceilings and walls because they will continually product silica dust that will get in your lungs, all over your furniture and will also damage your HVAC unit. I highly recommend this product and chose it based on the other reviews and pictures. Very happy with the end results.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: fumes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Sunland Park, NM, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product very satisfied would purchase again

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product is so easy to work with 1 application did great second application was wow it looked and stayed lookin very wet this item is fantastic.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Rocky Mtn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased with results

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to apply and looks great! Used about half of the bucket to apply 2 coats on patio, 360 sqft of cement molded cobblestone pavers. Definitely need to wear respirator when applying and make sure windows are closed! Wouldn't apply inside without the proper ventilation or respirator!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Ca

The best stuff for the money you can't go wrong

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The best sealer out there for the money you can't get better stuff
Pros: Easy to Apply, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from White Salmon, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than water based sealers

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Love the easy application, uniformity and the fact that it's oil base rather than water. Have used water based sealers in past and this product is 10 times better. Depending on your concretes condition, you may have to apply a second coat. Not a big fan of 'gloss' for outdoor applications and wish product also came in a satin or matte finish for that environment. Other than that, highly recommend this sealer even though it's a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. Bottom-line: Happy customer.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
32out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Beverly Hills, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well on pavers

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this product to seal pavers, and bring out the color. It went a bit further than I thought it would. I had 816 sq ft of pavers to seal, and it took about 3/4 of a 5 gal pail to cover it. I bought two pails. It is expensive, but many competitors cost more. It is a xylene product, so it must be treated as a product with a petroleum base - which I prefer. I applied it with a paint roller with a medium roller, and that seemed to work well. So far I am happy with the look and result. Time will tell how long it holds up.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, brings out color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to apply, and goes not quite twice as far as manufacturer estimates. Dries very quickly. Extremely strong odor that lasts for days. Neighbors commented on the odor. Mask should be used when applying. Strongly recommend not using on a basement floor or even in a garage floor. Some frosting on surface of pavers appeared several days later after a rain. The narrow temperature range specified by the manufacturer limits application to spring and fall seasons in many parts of the country. Would use again.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Woodinville WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product - DO NOT USE THE CHEAP PRODUCT SOLD IN STORE!!

PostedMay 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great product. I have a large stained back patio area - over 1200SQF. I did 2 coats and it used up pretty much all of the 5 gal drum. It is cheaper than Seal Krete product, which is also very good.
The sealing product sold in Homedepot store is TOTAL GARBAGE. It leaves a terrible white film on the concrete. Even when etched properly, that stuff is cheap for a reason, it is terrible. This stuff costs more but it is worth it, it looks great. I do recommend etching prior or you will end up with problems.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product-would recommend to others

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this to seal pavers and concrete. Although is is rated as glossy the results very with the surface of the material. Had some painted concrete and it has a light glossy sheen but not very shiny. Had large area of pavers to seal and it did not get the glossy appearance either but had a good seal. After we applied it, we had several people stop and ask about the product. Our pavers had a light glossy texture on the driveway and it was noticeable since the other driveways in the neighborhood have faded over time. It is a good product and we will probably reseal in a couple of years with it. We were pleased with the results. Just do not expect a super glossy look with completed. It dries in a couple of hours to walk on, but wait a couple of days before driving on it. There is a loss of shine over time but it remains a good sealer.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome! Pavers look like new.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent coverage. Two year old faded pavers look like they were just installed. Odor does last for a couple of days after drying.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: odor lasts a few days
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer

Excellent Product

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Everything you could expect from this type product and more. Price is right. Goes on with roller or (quality) sprayer best. Dries quickly. Make sure you have a quality vapor mask, strong chemical vapor until dried.
Pros: Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>