728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Waterproofing & Sealers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer

5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer

Eagle Gloss Coat Clear is a high gloss, durable acrylic film. Eagle Gloss Coat Clear should be used on all types of decorative concrete. Your concrete will look better than new and never yellow. Protect and beautify your concrete with Eagle Gloss Coat Clear.
Overall rating:
4.676 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product68 of 71reviews
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(56)
4
(15)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product68 of 71reviews
Customer reviews for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
Review 1 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
Gender:Male

Makes the driveway look clean

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought two of these 5-Gal concrete sealer, i have over 2000 sqft of exposed driveway. i applied one coat only and the whole driveway looks amazing. here are the pros and cons:
Pros:
coming up to 3 months and it still looks good
when the sun hits the concrete it gives it that extra clean shine
did not find it slippery to walk on
rain stays on top
Cons:
the solvent is strong, so you will have to wear a mask and glasses.
newly laid exposed concrete soaks up more
i will get another next year to seal it further
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Houston Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product has been great so far

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The sealer was applied with a 9"- 3/8" nap roller on outside stamped concrete in one coat.. It covered very easily and took less material than the manufacturer indicated. I followed a previous raters suggestion and waited until the portion of the patio that received sun was shaded. I plan to apply another coat to that portion with the excess material resulting from the coverage issue.The patio looks better than it did when new about 4 years ago. I hope to report that the patio still retains its wet look in a subsequent rating a year from now.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: instructions could be better
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Jasper, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better Buy

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to apply. Follow instructions when applying. Make sure the humidity is low the day you apply if outside. High humidity makes the sealer string. Makes the acid stain concrete look totally different when applied.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Blue Springs, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Renews stamped concrete and edging easily.

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use with a roller. Apply generously but don't get it excessively thick in areas or it will bubble while drying. As always, two or more coats is better than one thick one. Some of my stamped concrete had begun to sun fade because the clear coat had worn out. I used a water-based "TiqueWash" to restore and even-out the stamped concrete stain. After letting the TiqueWash dry overnight I followed up with two to three coats of the gloss clear coat. My stamped concrete looks as good, or maybe even better, than new. The TiqueWash comes in quite a few different colors. I used "Seasoned Earth" to enhance the dark areas and blend everything together. I'm not selling TiqueWash I'm just a happy customer.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Rainbow City, AL
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic product

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Far, far better than the waterbase sealer we've used previously. This stuff is the real deal!
We didn't really notice the smell problem others have mentioned, but we were using it outside, sealing the concrete slab around our pool and all our new retaining walls and stepping stone pathways. The product went on easily with a paint roller on a pole. We used the large-size roller trays. Following directions, we applied it and then every 5 feet or so we went back and rolled in the opposite direction to even it out. Went on beautifully and dried quite quickly. Brought out the colors in the stepping stones and in the concrete. We applied a second coat 2 days later to all the stepping stones to protect them from the dogwood berries which make terrible red stains on untreated surfaces. This seemed to solve the problem. When it rained, we were thrilled to see the rain beading up on the surface. When it needs refreshing (hopefully not for several years) we will definitely be re-applying this same product. Wouldn't use anything else now. We're sold on Eagle Gloss Coat.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, really enhances the colors
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Sunland Park, NM, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product very satisfied would purchase again

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is so easy to work with 1 application did great second application was wow it looked and stayed lookin very wet this item is fantastic.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome! Pavers look like new.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent coverage. Two year old faded pavers look like they were just installed. Odor does last for a couple of days after drying.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: odor lasts a few days
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Rocky Mtn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased with results

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to apply and looks great! Used about half of the bucket to apply 2 coats on patio, 360 sqft of cement molded cobblestone pavers. Definitely need to wear respirator when applying and make sure windows are closed! Wouldn't apply inside without the proper ventilation or respirator!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from White Salmon, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than water based sealers

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Love the easy application, uniformity and the fact that it's oil base rather than water. Have used water based sealers in past and this product is 10 times better. Depending on your concretes condition, you may have to apply a second coat. Not a big fan of 'gloss' for outdoor applications and wish product also came in a satin or matte finish for that environment. Other than that, highly recommend this sealer even though it's a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. Bottom-line: Happy customer.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
29out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Beverly Hills, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well on pavers

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this product to seal pavers, and bring out the color. It went a bit further than I thought it would. I had 816 sq ft of pavers to seal, and it took about 3/4 of a 5 gal pail to cover it. I bought two pails. It is expensive, but many competitors cost more. It is a xylene product, so it must be treated as a product with a petroleum base - which I prefer. I applied it with a paint roller with a medium roller, and that seemed to work well. So far I am happy with the look and result. Time will tell how long it holds up.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, brings out color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product-would recommend to others

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to seal pavers and concrete. Although is is rated as glossy the results very with the surface of the material. Had some painted concrete and it has a light glossy sheen but not very shiny. Had large area of pavers to seal and it did not get the glossy appearance either but had a good seal. After we applied it, we had several people stop and ask about the product. Our pavers had a light glossy texture on the driveway and it was noticeable since the other driveways in the neighborhood have faded over time. It is a good product and we will probably reseal in a couple of years with it. We were pleased with the results. Just do not expect a super glossy look with completed. It dries in a couple of hours to walk on, but wait a couple of days before driving on it. There is a loss of shine over time but it remains a good sealer.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Delta, BC Canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product but don't apply in sun

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used this product a few times before. Like most driveway sealers if you really want it to look nice you have to do it every year. Three valuable points I've learned are, power wash and clean well before applying, don't apply over a water base product unless that product has been completely removed or it will stay a creamy white (to a certain degree.
Third if applying on stamped concrete (not so much on exposed aggregate and I don't know why) but don't do this in sun or even if the sun comes out during the drying period. Bubbles will form. Best is to apply in the evening when no direct sunlight and let it dry over night.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Hour north of Houston, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Can't rave enough! Buy with confidence!

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ok. I am a little retentive when it comes to house projects for the average DIY-er. In this case, I decided to re-color/stain/seal my 2,400 SF stamped concrete driveway. Before I started, I spent some $200 on "samples" of all kinds of concrete wet-look sealers only available on the commercial (as opposed to retail) markets. In the end, this Eagle product was only 1 of 2 products that both penetrated to restore the original color but also dried with an excellent "wet look" sheen. It was also significantly less expensive than all the others. So, I opted for the Eagle brand and I am glad I did. My driveway was 7 years into fading in the extremely hot, 12 hour-a-day direct Texas sun. It was completetely faded. It now looks better than new after just 1 coat. I can only imagine how good it will look after a second coat (I've opted to wait 3 days). My neighbors are in awe .... wanted the name of my contractor. Application: PREP IS EVERYTHING!! First, make sure you powerwash and powerwash well. Be aware that if you don't powerwash evenly your "strokes" from the powerwasher's nosel will show when you apply the sealer. Also, be sure it is extremely dry before applying the Eagle sealer. Second, ONLY APPLY IN COOL TEMPS! Do NOT apply in the heat of the day or it will blister and you don't want that. Third, don't spray but rather roll with a 3/8" nap roller and don't be afraid to lay it on thick. My concrete was very, very porous and it drank it up like water. So, it covered at about 170 SF per gallon but be aware: no concrete is alike chemically so your coverage may be completely different depending on the porosity of your concrete. Note: Dry to walk on within 2 hours. Ready for re-coat after the same - even in the Houston-area humidity of 80%-plus when the sun goes down. Other comments: Not available in the store, but ships free to your house. Allow a 10-day lead time from order to delivery (and there is not any way to expedite - Home Depot won't do it and they would not allow me to pay for expedited shipping so use this lead time for prep, etc.) However, you will also need a separate 5-gallon bucket - it comes in a metal 5 gallon container without a handle! . Plan on using a new roller every 200 feet or so - it applies much more effectively using a fresh roller. Also, do not step in wet/undried sealer because this stuff is VERY strong chemically and it WILL melt any sole on whatever shoe you are wearing (I made the mistake once and now have a size-12 imprint on my concrete!). Finally, if you are sensitive to paint smells, wear a mask because make no doubt about it - this odor is very strong. I'm an old hippe - after about an hour I felt like I did a few times back in the late 60's and early 70's! So, trust an old hippie. Buy it. Follow the directions. You will be pleased. I will post a follow up in 6 months regarding how well it holds the wet look, whether it fades/yellows, peals, etc., etc. Pics don't do the end result justice. Kudos to Home Depot for having the product available - it's the best on the market, both retail or commercial.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Kansas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I applied this produce to my acid-stained concrete basement floor. The sealer went on easy and looks good. I did 2 coats. The only negative thing I can say about this is the fumes are extremely strong. I had read that they were, but still underestimated how potent they are. Despite all windows open and an industrial sized fan blowing air downstairs, our house still smells. If you're considering using this product for your basement, just be aware of this. If I could do it again, I'd probably go with a sealer that isn't solvent based.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: fumes are extremely potent.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Royal Oak, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Much better than the other concrete sealers I've used in the past few years. With the others, I've felt like I was just pushing the sealer around with a roller until some of it finally stuck. That poor application performance translated into poor long-term performance. This product was different. It seemed to glide on and grab the concrete very easily. It sealed smoothly and uniformily. I only applied it a month ago, but early signs seem to show much better sealing than the other sealer had given.
Coverage was almost exactly as labeled on the can.
Pros: coats easily and smoothly, extremely effective at sealing (water beads well)
Cons: smells for quite a while, don't even bother to try to clean your application tools
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Protection
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great sealer at a great price.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Decent price. Easy to apply, with good coverage. Second coat finished it off with good shine. Appears to be very durable. Heavy rain beaded up, yet was not slippery. Would definitely would recommend it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer

Amazing product

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is great! It even covered up all my efflorescence and made my 8 year old pavers look new again….with an incredible shine!! I bought a professional heavy duty sprayer on amazon, and it worked great!! This was the first time I sprayed my lanai, I've rolled it in the past, which took hours!! This was quick and well worth the money!!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer

A great sealer!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a few weeks of research, I decided to buy the Eagle gloss coat to re-seal my pavers. I used both a sprayer and roller and was able to do my 40'x38' lanai in about 3 hours with the 5 gallon size of eagle gloss coat. The product goes on easily and 1 coat is more than enough. As you apply it you can immediately see the difference. It darkens the color of the Pavers and provides a classy damp look. After a few days of drying and setting, water beads up and rolls right off the pavers. It looks like I applied rainx to my pavers. There was a chemical smell the first few days but that eventually went away. This is not even close to the normal sealers they sell in stores, it's much better quality. Overall a great product and will be using more on my front walkway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from DENVER, COLORAD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SEAL & PROTECT YOUR CONCRETE INVESTMENT

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very satisfied with this product, priced a little higher than others, but well worth it. The 5 gal. went further than I expected. I was able to cover a front porch & a two car driveway. The Acrylic concrete sealer set down easy and evenly. You will notice the immediate uptake of the sealer with the concrete. It has the strong smell which is typicall acrylic sealers, so I recommend a certified mask, mask-off & cover up any vents that lead into your house, and if you like your neighbors, give them a courtesy heads up of your project. I laid this sealer down and 24 hours later we hand rainfall in Colorado, as I drove up to my house I could see how the water beaded up and stood at the concrete surface, very cool to see. I highly recommend this product to protect your concrete investment.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-Gal. Gloss Coat Clear Wet Look Solvent-Based Acrylic Concrete Sealer
from Maryville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid purchase, does the job

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was delivered much quicker than the website order indicated. It came before I was ready for it. I applied it with a medium knap 12" roller by dipping the roller into the can. It went on well and covered the stamped concrete excellently. In addition to providing a shiny "always wet" appearance it brought out the colors in the stamping which had faded in the two years since it was completed. Time will tell how this product will hold up. I hope it will hold up well.
It definitely had a strong chemical smell but that cleared out within 3 days. This was applied on a patio and also on a front porch. The square footage mentioned in the coverage section of the discussion allows for 2 coats as I applied this liberally and still have about half a can left.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>