728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Exterior Stain or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative

1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative

Non-toxic wood treatment and preservative. Ages the wood to a silvery patina color and creates a high end aged look. Only one application is needed because it never comes off. It has even been proven to prevent the white rot fungi. VOC free.
Overall rating:
4.522 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product21 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product21 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
Review 1 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
from Channahon, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used to treat our raised garden beds

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We built four 4' X 6' Douglas Fir raised beds for our garden. We chose not to buy pressure treated wood because of the chemicals used to treat. Eco wood treatment is natural and will not harm our veggies.
We applied the mixture using a lawn/weed sprayer. It applied evenly and quickly. As a result, we made sure to purchase 2 gal boxes. We went through an entire gal on the first coat and used the second gal box to apply a second coat, esp on the inside of the bed, which is in constant contact with the soil. It dried very quickly. We really loved the color!
The only caution I would advise would be to lay a tarp down under the wood you are treating. We sprayed these boxes on our blacktop driveway and it did leave an orange/rust colored stain.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
Cons: Difficult to Clean, stains blacktop driveway
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
from North Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks to be working so far

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used my Wagner sprayer to apply this and it was cake, it mixed easily and went on fast. I applied to 6 raised garden beds I had put together a couple weeks before applying this. The wood was 2x3 stud pine, and cedar fence boards. I do not see any warping or water damage after rain. Seems to be doing what it says.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
from Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great for a raised bed wood garden!

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In building a raised bed garden on wheels, I wanted a product that would not add dangerous chemicals to the wood, soil or my organic vegetables. Eco wood treatment was recommended in my research. I am very happy with the product. We used it on the interior and exterior. In a second step, we added some tint for an extra coat on the outside so it would match my deck in the backyard. Very happy with the results. Easy to use - comes in powder that you add to water.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for the Job

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for something to treat my wood in a non-toxic way for a Chicken Coop. This product is perfect. Easy to use with a pump sprayer and looks great. I would order more than you think you need as you do need to soak the wood and I tended to over use a bit just to make sure it was good. And I do wish however that Home Depot would carry this product in their stores. In the picture you can see the difference in wood between the Coop and the bench I made with leftover scraps of 2x4s that I have not treated yet.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative

EASY weathered wood look in an instant!

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My good friend, a high-end faux finish painter/artist, told me about this product. He works on estates in Santa Barbara, Montecito, Utah, and Newport, amongst others. He said this product was easy to apply, was eco-friendly, protected the wood, and never needed to be re-applied. I figured it was worth a try on our newly built kiln-dried douglas fir arbors. I was trying to achieve a weathered wood look and protect the wood without having to re-stain every summer. You mix this product with water and it becomes a rusty-colored clear solution. Applied with a brush, foam brush or sprayer, this product goes on easily and with no mess. We didn't need a drop cloth as the product doesn't affect concrete or stucco. Immediately, we noticed the brand new wood patina before our eyes to look like it had been there for years, weathering and aging. Amazing and gorgeous! It matches the Restoration Hardware look that we love. It has since rained a few times and the wood continues to age and change ever so slightly. Love it. I've since used it on our raised redwood planters, which turns the wood a very dark silvery grey. Used on our old Costco playhouse which was once stained honey, it now looks like an old log cabin. I plan to use it on furniture and indoor projects next. LOVE THIS PRODUCT.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative

Seems too good to be true but time will tell

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am always trying to finding eco products. This fit the bill for me. I applied it to my deck. I cannot report how it will hold up since it has only been two weeks but the application was a breeze. Since it comes in powdered form and is mixed with water, it would seem to have a small carbon footprint. What is not to like?
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works good

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to protect my raised beds and I did not want to use anything toxic. It was east to mix and apply. Of course it was very runny since it is water based. It will stain jeans :)
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Stuff!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wanted to use a "green" product to water seal my raised garden beds. This stuff is real easy to use. Just mix with water and paint it on. It soaks into the dry wood immediately.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
from Portland, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Buyer Beware

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took a fair amount of research, but here is what I found:
1) The main 'secret' ingredient is IRON OXIDE. It is non-toxic and occurs in nature.
2) Iron Oxide has no studies referenced by the company (or that I could find) proving it's effectiveness as a wood preservative. Compare this to 'boric acid', for example.
3) Iron Oxide will change the color of most wood with tannins to a grey patina. If this is your goal, then this product will probably work for you.
4) There appears to be a lot of spam and misinformation about this product, most likely from paid spammers of EWT.
Pros: Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: not proven to be a wood preservative
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative

Eco wood treatment

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the product for keeping the old wood look when I have to replace old fence posts with new. This is the only thing like it on the market, and the price is great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful !

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product mixes easily and goes on smoothly. Water beads within four hours of application. Apply only to bare wood products and ensure complete coverage, We applied with both sponge and bristle brush. Only one application is necessary. Love this product. We are using on all of our bee hives and bird feeders/boxes.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
from Arvada, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Food Grade Wood Treatment

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not what I wanted, needed to protect wood from water in a herb planter but this product will turn the nice natural new look of the wood by making it age early (turns wood gray)
Have moved on to looking for other product.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly, food grade
Cons: looks bad after a few days, high priced, poorly discribed on box
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
from Kure Beach, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and easy to use

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very happy I bought this. It comes in powder form (hence the low shipping cost), that you mix with water.
Brushes on easily and soaks right into the wood.
The best part is that it is environmentally friendly. I live 2 blocks from the beach, so I need to be careful about what i use outdoors.
One small package (makes 1 gallon) covered my garden table (4'x15'x5'), top and bottom.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, environmentally friendly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
from Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Eco Wood sealant is perfect for my organic garden

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Eco worked well, no odor and easy to use. The sealant was perfect for my vegatable garden raised bed that I built this spring. I just wish it could have been purchased in the store instead of waiting for it to come in the mail, I had to wait an additional 2 weeks to get my garden planted.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative

great product

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
used on raised garden beds since it is eco friendly, will turn the wood to a grey color. seems to be working as advertised
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Protection
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
from New Fairfield, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We've used this product multiple times

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this on our raised garden bed wood as it was non-toxic. A real plus for us was that the wood appears to be aged within just a few days of exposure to the sun and rain. We then used it on some of our replacement fence pickets and they blended right in. Home Depot should carry this item in store and not just on-line.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Easy to Apply, wood looks aged within days of exposure, you can work with it while wet
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy application, pleasing finish - good product

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Eco Wood Treatment solution was easy to apply and clean-up. The Wood treated slowly aquired a handsome colored stain appearance over a 3-4 week period. The extent to which this product truely "preserves" the wood will need to be evaluated in a year or two.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative

So far so good!

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product! Super easy to apply, one gallon goes a long way, so a good value. The only reason I do not give it a perfect score is I do not know in the long run how well it works, but so far so good.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

feels good to use a non-toxic product

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to apply, I used a 4"brush on 5 1/2" deck boards. Took 1 hr to cover 20X10' deck. Used only 1 1/2 gallons of ECO wood treatment and applied liberally. Turns the wood grey immediately.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly, looks rustic
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Exterior/Interior Wood Stain and Preservative
from somewhere in CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Awesome Product

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Instant effects, used on cedar and now looks like an exotic species, and used on redwood very different effect from dark reds to browns, grain areas black, hartwood areas gray, and now starting to silver.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks High End
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>