728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Recessed light converter kit

Recessed light converter kit

Turn your recessed light into a beautiful new fixture in a snap using the Recesso Lighting Converter Kit.  Holds any new light including shades, pendants, track lighting, or chandeliers.
Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for Recessed light converter kit
Review 1 for Recessed light converter kit
MediaMan208
from Meridian, ID, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simplest most cost effective way to convert your can lights to drop lighting.

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product worked just as expected. The only difficulty was in locating the area were there was no 'tabs' from the can lights to drill the holes for the expansion nuts. I will be painting the white plates to match the celling color. I am very happy with the finished result and with the product as a whole.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Recessed light converter kit
Melanie

Good product, with one common flaw

PostedJune 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed two of these over my bath vanity to replace recessed lights with pendant lights. The kits work well, are relatively simple to install, and look nice. HOWEVER, what should've been a simple task (turning the screws to secure the cover to my light fixture) became frustrating because of cheap screws (from China, I presume?) that stripped under normal torque pressure. I couldn't get the top to fit securely because of these low-quality screws. The threads were not consistently spaced along the length of the screw, so I had to turn a little harder, and the metal pretty much "dissolved". I cannot believe the cheap hardware that is put into things nowadays, and it makes a project very frustrating when such a simple component such as a screw fails. Um, I'd gladly pay a few cents more for a screw that WORKS!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Recessed light converter kit
dino
from Beaumont, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good product very easy to install

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
nice way to convert recess lighting if my wife wants to go back it's an easy conversion
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Recessed light converter kit
Melanie

Worked great!

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used two of these kits to convert recessed lights in my bathroom into pendant lights. (Recessed lights are HORRIBLE lighting over a vanity, especially with a high ceiling.) These kits installed relatively easily and work great together with the new pendant lights. It's a great solution if you don't want to call in an electrician to switch your fixtures out. Probably the only down-side is the cover plate that goes up against the ceiling...I actually don't even notice it, but some people might not like the look. I think this is a great little product and will probably convert more lights around the house eventually.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Recessed light converter kit
DDex
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Served its purpose well

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Not as easy to put together as its made out to be. You have to get the screw in just right to not hit any box in the ceiling and still avoid the can that it goes around. Screw needed to attach your fixture is very size specific. The screw that you may use to hang your fixture may not fit. You may have to use washers to get the job done. Once all put together works great and looks nice if your ceiling is white.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Recessed light converter kit
maroonj
from Jacksonville, fl
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nifty kit works very well, and looks fine. I would buy again.

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This kit performs as advertised, and allows a fairly easy switch from can lights to hanging lamps. I replaced the screws provided for installation with new ones from Ace. Installation is pretty straight forward and reasonably quick. I would highly recommend this kit if you want a new look in lighting. We used 2 for hanging to lights over a kitchen bar.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: screws provided were poor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Recessed light converter kit
zipper
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the product is easy to use and looks great after itv is instralled
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Recessed light converter kit
jmac044
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Needed a small allen wrench to loosen set screw which was not included. Average homeowner may not have (another trip to HD).

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
If you want the plate to be white, no problem. However, I wanted it to match the bronze fixture I purchased at HD. I matched it with some patience and a mixture of bronze (really gray), black, copper and gold. Electrical hookup was a breeze. It was more difficult to find free space for the drywall inserts and the ones provided did not work (they spun in the hole). I used my own screw in type.
Pros: electrical hook up easy, makes converting from a can light easy
Cons: not all required tools included, if you want a specific color good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Recessed light converter kit
rockstar
from Hudson Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product for making the conversion to pendant lighting

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation. You need very few tools. Quick and painless
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Well Made, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Recessed light converter kit
TBO23
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Couldn't ask for more

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was a life-saver in converting a can light into a chandelier. It worked as advertised and was really simple to install. Overall a great product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Recessed light converter kit
daberna1
from Rockford, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy install, clear instructions, just what i was looking for.Very pleased with finished look.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.