728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Solar Power or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED

250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED

The Grape Solar 250 Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel with Black Frame uses high efficiency solar cells (aprrox. 18%) made from quality silicon material for high module conversion efficiency and long term output stability and reliability. Virtually maintenance free. High transmittance, low iron tempered glass for durability and enhanced impact resistance.
Overall rating:
4.594 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product26 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product26 of 28reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer reviews for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
from odenton,Md
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product !!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these panels (3 x 250W) to charge my solar generators that I built personally. These surpass my expectation. I am planning to buy more, to go off-grid this summer. Products arrived at my door in an excellent packed condition. coordinating with customer service was outstanding !!. Thank you
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Itis really one of the best solar panel

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this pannels produc enough power to light up four rooms + tv and steros at my home , also my electric gate motor.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+41points
45out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
from Spokane, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Product

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased two 250-watt solar panels through The Home Depot. The panels are now in place, and are producing optimum solar power that is used for a variety of electrical functions on our "mini-farm". In my opinion, I don't think I could have found a better product of this type. We are extremely pleased with its functionality and overall performance.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
from Pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Grape solar 250 watts

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just installed for solar generator , works great so far , I wish it would have extra protective bars in the back for stronger protection against hail ,wind like others company do. Price was good ! shipping free . It produce more watts up to 260-270 . Good value .
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
33out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Power High Quality

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This panel provides plenty of power for my camper and is constructed in America with excellent quality. On the first day of use it was parked under a tree in partial shade and still managed to crank out 31 amp hours of power. However, do be aware that this is a high voltage panel so you MUST use a more expensive MPPT controller. Most cheap MPPT controllers only go up to 200W so you either end up spending to much or being unable to use the full capacity of the array. With the right controller though, it really does provide amazing power for a bargain. Instructions also would have been nice since I had to put it in the sun and use a volt meter to determine the polarity of the plugs. I'm very happy with the solar array and haven't had to plug my RV in since it was installed. I won't even have to use a trickle charger this winter since the panel does it for me.
Pros: very powerful, works well even in shade, sturdy frame, High Quality, made in the usa
Cons: requires mppt controller, No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
18out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to install, nice product!

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These panels were nicely packaged, easy to install and look like they are going to perform admirably.
Pros: Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
19out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED

A Pleasant Surprise

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
An excellent panel. What they don't tell you before you buy is: 1) the panels are mounted via pre-drilled holes in the aluminum frame; 2) the holes are oval in shape and quite large to accomodate sloppy measurements; 3) the electrical connections are made via mc4 connectors; 4) the mc4 connectors are at the ends of two wires that are roughly 2 feet long emanating from a jbox that is approximately 9 inches from the shorter edge (centered); 5) there appear to be diodes inside the jbox separating the various portions of the panel, but I'm not an expert so I couldn't swear to that one.
+89points
93out of 97found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
from piqua
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These bad boys do the job..

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 2 of these panels on one array in parallel with a 190 watt panel. This array is in parellel with a smaller 200 watt array...so far they have peaked at 7.34 KWH for one day of production...not bad..not bad at all
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
19out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED

Excellent panels that perform admirably

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have nothing but praise for these panels. I have four hooked together in an hybrid parallel/series config. Average output is 920 watts! Excellent! The only reason I did not rate the value higher is that I could have purchased panels cheaper elsewhere, but elected to go with home depot because of easy returns if there was a problem. I have been very pleased and would like to buy more.
+64points
66out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
from Dalton Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great product.

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought 2 for my camper and i was impressed at the power they put out,keeps my batteries charged. They are high output panels,which require a MPPT charge controler.these are big panels but not hard to mount. I put them on a 2" pole and made them pivot to various angles. Plan on putting one on our horse trailer. I would recomend these to anyone.
+57points
58out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Choice

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After years of watching the industry and planning to buy two panels of this dimension and rating, I was just about to order from another source when the Home Depot began listing panels. It only required a few days to realize this was the best choice in both product and vendor. The units were delivered free in excellent packaging and when opened revealed a high quality item - significantly better than the ones I am already using. Couldn't be happier.
+28points
37out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
from Nashville , TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Excellently packaged to avoid damage , Well built panel .

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I know I paid a little more than average per watt , but I believe it is worth it.
I ordered from Home Depot because I hoped if the unit came damaged I could return it there.
I received a call from the trucking company to set a time to accept the panel and decided since they were a few miles away I would pick it up. They loaded it into the back of my pickup with a forklift and when I went home I checked and found no damage. The shipping container was excellently designed with a pallet then , solar cell , then a half pallet on top. I will buy more of these with full confidence that they come undamaged.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
from West Point, UT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart Purchase and Great Value

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research and study before purchasing this solar panel for my 5th wheel RV. I bought it to keep the batteries charged because I usually camp where I don't have electricity to connect to and it's often cold so I have to run the furnace at night. Especially since they included free delivery this really seemed to be the best deal out there. First off the package was delivered by freight because of it's size and I was impressed by how well it was packaged and protected. I don't have any others to compare it to, but it appears to be built very well with clean finishing and sturdy frame. I've only had the chance to make one trip with it so far, but I am very impressed with how fast my batteries were recharged when the sun came up in the morning even though my panel is permanently mounted on my roof so I can't tilt or aim it towards the sun. It almost seems like it reaches out and gathers the sun's power in. My only complaint is that Home Depot did not carry some accessories needed to connect it up and their selection is very limited for things like charge controllers, but that complaint is about Home Depot, not the solar panel. I'll be taking it out again soon for a more in depth test and will let you know if my opinion changes.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, well built, high wattage, light for it's size
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
from south east ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High quality-great value product

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was delivered well packaged and on time. This is my second panel from Grape/Home Depot. It meets all the advertised specs and is an excellent looking panel. Was delivered by semi truck and like before I had to meet the truck at a location near my home because there is no room for the truck on my road. Wish my budget would let me purchase several at one time vs one at a time, Oh well, one by one I'll get more of these panels.
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Installation
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED

Grape 250watt solar panel

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Delivery took a little longer than I was expecting due mostly to my out of the way location. Panel was very securely packaged.
I am operating a small solar electric system and the panel has been operating as advertised. Customer service was easily reached by phone and technical personnel were very helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64

Free up grade from Grape

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This 250W panel was upgraded to a 260 from Grape. great power and meets advertised ratings. easy hook up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED

good value

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this is a great solar panel for diy's, looking to get started in solar electricty. great for grid-tie, or battery bank solar systems.
+17points
24out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
from Chipley, FL 32428, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful, Durable solar panel

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This single solar panel was used in a a 24 volt solar powered water pump configuration, with (2) batteries and 20A charge controller. The panel performed excellent. Maintains full charge on batteries almost continuously. Durable!! Once fell 4 feet face down (high winds, raised panel, faulty mount design) and only very minor scratches, still works like new.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA, USA

250 watt monocrystalline panel

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall it's worth the money. it's really big so i expected more power for the size. I also didn't like the connectors. I give it a four for now and the more years it's last the happier I'll be...king
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: Too Heavy, more universal connector
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 250-Watt Monocrystalline Solar Panel with Black Frame-DISCONTINUED

Great Panels

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can't really go wrong with kyocera Solar Panels. These are great and I'm using them for off-grid solar power.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 >>