728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer

42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer

VIGORO Weed and Feeds perform double duty: they kill tough weeds to the root and promote lush green growth. Make pesky weeds a thing of the past with VIGORO Weed and Feeds. Kills over 200 weed types as listed. Controls dandelion, white clover, plantain, chickweed, spurge and many other listed weeds. Contains timed release nitrogen for extended feeding.
Overall rating:
2.667 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
41%of customersrecommend this product13 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
2.7 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(2)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(17)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
41%of customersrecommend this product13 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
Review 1 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Vigoro the best!

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have been using Vigoro fertilizer and weed killer for years. It really works and makes my yard the envy of the neighborhood. I have zoysia and bermuda grass in different parts of my yard. It works as well as Scotts but is cheaper because it has no heavy advertising expense. Plus it actually tells you how much nitrogen and potash it has but Scott's refuses to do so. Buy it and you will be pleased.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality, kills broadleaf weeds, quick grass green-up
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Atlanta, GA

Waste of money

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a waste of money ! I purchased Vigoro's weed and feed 4 weeks ago and spred on my yard. It haven't killed any weeds. A few weeds have withered up a little but all of them are still alive. I'm very disappointed.
Pros: none
Cons: poor quality
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Hanover Park, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good partially

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It greened up my lawn, but as far as killing off the dandelions and wild violets in the yard, no good. Some of the dandelions shrilled up but on the whole yard. I did both my parents yard and mine and I'm a little disappointed with the results.
Pros: Easy to Apply
Cons: didn't do the job it claims
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Myrtle Beach, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't Believe It!

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased and applied this product ten days ago. I followed the instructions to the letter and have waited this long to give Vigoro the benefit of the doubt. However at this point, I have to say its a waste of money if you're expecting any weeds to die. They've actually thrived, are alive, and well. So do i risk killing my lawn by applying a different weed and feed?!? Screwed up my whole program.....
Cons: did not kill weeds
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't Work

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does not work. I applied it 5 days ago and I have dandelions popping up all over. I guess you get what you paid for. No wonder it is cheap. Should have not switched from Scotts.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Mount Laurel NJ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works as advertised, when other big names did not.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After many (24) years as a loyal customer of the other big name product I was frustrated with having consistently disappointing results. I tried Vigoro fertilizer and weed killer and it worked so well killing the weeds the other brand did not kill and now my lawn is beautiful for the first time in many years!
I am now a Vigoro customer!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Ohio
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
About 20% cheaper than the similar Scott's brand product and works just as good if not better. I have applied this twice now, 6 weeks apart and was weed free throughout the entire 6 week period. This was tough to do as my neighbors do not care for their lawn except to mow the weeds every other week. I have already purchased another round for the next application.
Pros: Great Quality, great value for money spent, works better than equivalent name brand product
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Bensalem, PA 19020
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was using Scott's with lackluster and inconsistent results; switched to Vigoro (to save a buck) and have been using ever since (3 years or so)...lawn noticeably improved with far less effort and 20% less expense!
Pros: Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer

Don't miss a spot....

PostedMay 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stuff works as advertised. The weeds in my lawn were quite thick and will require another application as per the instructions. But most were killed the first time around. My grass is now growing as if it were a weed! I missed a strip and you can see a noticeable difference in the grass color compared to the treated area. It's a little spendy but definitely worth it in my opinion.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Pennsylvania, USA

Pricey but worth it.

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my third year using Vigoro and my lawn has far fewer weeds than it used to and looks greener and healthier every year. As other reviewers have said, make sure to apply it evenly or you will get dark green patches in your lawn.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent Product

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product for several years. I usually put it down in mid-late March. The grass is usually quite stressed from the winter. I notice that the lawn does green up within about 3-5 days. That is the best part of the product.
I would say it is only partially effective against weeds. Within a month or so of application the dandelions are in full bloom. I gather the chemicals work to an extent, but, only for a short period of time. All in all, not a bad product. Not sure if Scott would work any better?
Pros: Vibrant Color, fair price
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Northern, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, so good

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put this product down on Sunday. Now it is Tuesday evening, after a rain. My lawn is infested with wild violet, a weed that is notoriously hard to kill. As of now, a pretty fair number of the wild violet leaves are looking shriveled and knocked over, which I take to be a good sign. I would not expect 100% kill or anything even close to it, but I think we are off to a good start. Getting rid of really tough weeds is a two or three year project, unfortunately. This produict contains three broad-spectrum herbicides, so I am hopeful that it will be my ticket to long-term control.
You need to follow the instructions to the letter, including soaking the lawn before application. That's typical for dry herbicides.
Pros: Multi Use
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing!!!!

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I followed the instructions exactly and the outcome was amazing. Too good to believe. I used a Drop Spreader (Scotts) and I wish I had not made gaps in my lines because my lawn looks like it has stripes, i.e. dark strong growing grass where my fertilizer dropped and about a two inch gap of non-fertilized lawn. Thats my fault and nothing another feeding won't fix. Excellent product!!! Lawn is in Pittsburgh, PA.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Sugar Hill, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This actually works well

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First I try Scotts brand thinking it should work because of the brand name, i got frustrated and try this one and it makes my lawn almost weed free (it was so bad before). I have bermuda grass by the way. My lawn can even compete with my neighbor lawn that use TruGreen company. Make sure you apply it early spring to get the best result in the spring or summer. I have tried Vigoro pre emergent as well and happy with it.
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer

This weed and feed fertilizer is the best I have ever used.

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spread this fertilizer in the spring mainly to see if it would rid a never-before-fertilized lawn of weeds. Not only did it kill the weeds but it turned the grass a deep rich green and the spots where the weeds had been grew over quickly with new grass.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer

good price and enough to cover our lot

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good price and enough to cover our lot
the weeds are already beginning to shrivel
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Grand prairie
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not impressed

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used this product and noticed a great deal of new weeds thriving after a week of application.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from York, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than Scotts

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff works. I have used Scotts for years. Changed this year because it was less expensive. My grass has never been so full and green. Took care of the weeds also. I recommend applying after a good rain. I will not be going back to Scott's. My wife even commented on how much greener the lawn looks.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer
from Fort Collins, CO, USA

Far superior to Scott's weed & feed

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had used Scott's fertilizer (weed & feed) for the past 5 years, but decided to give Vigoro a try since it is significantly cheaper. I am extremely happy with this decision, my lawn looks noticeably better than it ever did using Scott's. I strongly suggest anyone using Scotts to switch to Vigoro, it is cheaper but works better.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42 lb. 15,000 sq. ft. Weed and Feed Lawn Fertilizer

Vigoro Brand

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
To the person who could not find the brand's info: Vigoro is Home Depot's house brand.
The product worked OK - the fertilizer greened up my lawn but the weed killer only turned a few of them yellow.
My experience with weed & feed is that they never work that well on killing weeds - the liquid kind does a much better job. However, I continue to use this because if I am going to be pushing my spreader around anyways, might as well try to kill a few of them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>