728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED

8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED

The Eco-Smart A19 8.6-Watt (40W) LED Light Bulb can replace a standard 40-watt bulb. The LED bulb puts out 429 lumens with 8.6 watts of power and can last up to 46 years for extended use. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features an A-line shape and medium base. Energy Savings of $176.
Overall rating:
4.192 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product24 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(9)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product24 of 25reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from So-Cal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great bulbs!!!

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I shopped for the perfect bulb, for months. I initially thought this bulb might be too yellow/orange for my tastes, but gave it a try. They are the perfect color, and brightness for my 4" recessed cans.....and the price is the lowest I found for a quality LED bulb. I will add to this review in 46 years, when I see if the claimed life of the bulbs is correct. I don't know if I would wait that long to get them though......I will be about 110 years old then, and I may forget to add to the review!!
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Great Dimming
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Inland Empire, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LED Bulbs

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The illumination provided by these l.e.d. bulbs is quite good. We've used them to replace many CFL's throughout the house with great success. The sole and only drawback is cost. At about an Alexander Hamilton for each they are not cheap but with the reduction of energy consumption and absence of heat output they should offset the cost in about 41 months. If we can really get the life expectancy of 38 years then I plan to have these buried with me when I pass on.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Hudson, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Soft lighting

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the bedroom very comfortable on the eyes.And knowing there should be no replacemt for 25 years is a plus.I will have to hit 88 years old before I have to change them.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED

fine bulbs for most applications

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The bulbs are bright at the top, but the base/ behind doesn't get as much light output.
Installed in a vanity fixture pointing out and they seem brighter than the 40w rating.
And they are quite white, which is fine as long as they are with other white lights. "warm white" bulbs make them look very white.
Overall, good value if they last as long as advertised.
Pros: Compact, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Southern Illinois

We have been using these ever a year and are very happy.

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had been trying all kinds of "energy efficient" bulbs. They all had major drawbacks. The color of these bulbs is very nice. The light is very bright. They come on strong enough and do not flicker. We have them in the fixtures over the sink, the kitchen table, the hall/staircase lights. The ones we put in about 17 months ago are still going strong. The price is much lower than when we purchased the first bulb.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Boulder

Great so far

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The bulbs seem well made and sturdy. The light is good, though I am not a light snob so who knows. If these bulbs last as long as they are supposed to, these will be the best purchase I ever made. I love the drastically reduced power usage. I haven't tried them with a dimmer. I would recommend these bulbs to anyone... they just make sense.
Pros: Eco-Friendly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Minnesota
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not Use In Chamberlain Garage Door Openers

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a great bulb but it has a quirk. When placed in a Chamberlain (red and purple reset button) models AND the bulb is on, ...., the remote transmission distance is dropped from the normal 50-200 feet to 3-8 feet!!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High failure rate

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have gone thru two... first one failed the first night it was put into use. Returned back to HD and received a replacement for this "manufacturing defect". This one failed with less than 3 months of use (use defined as 5-6 hours daily).
Will continue to try LED bulbs, just not this brand.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We are happy with these bulbs and happier to be saving energy!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are using these bulbs in three dimmable lamps. They are somewhat "directional" when compared to incandesent bulbs but this is not a major problem for us when weighed against the extra energy savings. They do not dim past a certain point and at lowest levels they can flicker a bit. We would still recommend trying them out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED

Good bulb good price

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These bulbs were my first try with LEDs and I am like their color tone & price best of all. They are a little directional and they sometimes flicker slightly in the fixture I have that dims. Love them in my bathroom. Would buy again for other household lights.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm happy with these led bulbs

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are great in the small table lamps I have in the house. They will last for many years and are resonably priced. LEDs are the future and I like to save money on my electricity bill.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Under the Rainbow
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I was looking for.

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A wonderful find. Directly replaced old 40 watt bulbs, and gives as good, or better light. I have been cautious on buying this new type of bulb, but these are worth an investment. Bright, even, white light. no flickering.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product seems to be as bright as a regular light bulb

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The price is great for a LED bulb and seem to be just as bright as a regular bulb. Only with time hopefully I can realize cost saving.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Knocks out FM and 2 meter radio reception

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These particular bulbs radiate much more radio interference than CFL bulbs. Couldn't listen to my favorite FM station in the same room with my light fixture on when these were installed. My friend couldn't use his 2 meter amateur radio with these in his house. (That explains another review about not using them in a radio remote garage door opener.) If the none of the above is a concern, then these are great bulbs, nice color temperature at 3000k, instant on and being dimmable is a big plus over CFL's. I would give them 5 out of 5 stars if not for the radio interference.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent bathroom fixture substitute!!!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although the lumens on this "bulb" are rated less than the old lightbulb it is replacing, I can't tell the difference in lumenosity mysefl. I think this is because of the very intense white color of the LEDs. This is an excellent replacement - especially since the bulbs in my light rack add up to 240 WATTS!!! With four of these, it doesn't even add up to the same energy waste as ONE of the old light bulbs!! Save yourself some shipping and buy as many as you need. I would have ordered four if I had known how well these worked!
Pros: Compact, Stylish, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

decent LED bulb

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good color temperature, decent price for an 8 Watts bulb, not very efficient in terms of light output, light distribution can create problems with some fixtures
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was happy with the promptness of the delivery but one was broken when I received them.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product came very fast but one was broken. I have not been able to go by Home Depot to change it out. I have not had them in for a month so I don't know how much cheaper my electricty bill will be yet. I have only had them in for a couple of weeks but gives off good light.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Easy Installation
Cons: received one broke
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Last Bulb You'll Ever Have to Buy...

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These 8.6 watt bulbs produce a much brighter light than what one expects of a 40 watt equivalent. I would not recommend them for a lamp (there is a dark area around the base of the bulb thus directing the light upward) but for every other fixture they are great! I'm replacing all my 19w CFL floods in my can lights with these and they produce just as much light if not more...
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, great for can lights, instant illumination
Cons: not universally bright near the base
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED
from San Jose, CA, USA

Good bulbs for the price. Somewhat haphazardly packed.

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good performance---not exactly 360 degree light source, more like 180.
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8.6-Watt (40W) A19 Bright White LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)-DISCONTINUED

works great, reduces energy

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
replacing the lightbulbs in our house cut our bill by around 30%, great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>