728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit

French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit

The French door and double door reinforcement kit prevents door kick-ins by adding extra security. FBI statistics show that the majority of home break-ins are caused by burglars kicking in the door. French doors look great, but offer the least resistance to door kick-in attempts by burglars. Made of cold rolled steel, this patent pending easy to install kit provides real protection by reinforcing both active and passive doors, the passive door top slide bolt, and all door hinges. All installation hardware is included. It does not require additional locking devices. It is powder coated white to match most homeowner’s trim or can be painted to match any decor. The StrikeMaster II French and Double Door Reinforcement Kit will fit most French and double doors. Also repairs and strengthens already broken doors and frames.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product16 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product16 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit
Review 1 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation would be very easy if you have a little bit of clearance between the doors, but in my case I had to recess the reinforcements and that took a bit of time. They look and I think it would be very tough to open the locked door from the outside by kicking the doors. I don't i feel like trying. Before having these reinforcements installed a small kid could have kicked the doors open.
An investment of a little money and some effort to install is well worth installing the reinforcement kit.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit
from South Carolina, USA

Solid product plus outstanding support from manufacturer

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the French double door reinforcement kit after my back double doors were kicked in by burglars. After reading reviews online and watching the demonstration videos on the manufacturer's website (Safe Homes International) it appeared that this would be the product I needed to prevent future would-be burglars.
Upon arrival, the pieces appeared solid with detailed instructions and tips for installation. Actually, half-way through the installation, I found useful step-by-step installation videos on the manufacturer's website.
I ran into some difficulty with installing the pieces due to the odd shape of my moulding - I sent an e-mail to the manufacturer to ask for their advice. Within 10 minutes of my e-mail, I received a call from the company's president (and inventor of the product) with useful tips that could apply to my specific scenario. He told me that if I had any other questions or problems, not to hesitate to give him a call back.
This is a manufacturer that truly cares about the quality of their product and the quality of their customer service.
The reinforcement kit is now installed on my french double doors, and it feels pretty solid (I'm not so bold as to give it a test kick yet), but I'm pretty sure it would hold up.
I cannot recommend this product highly enough - the product itself is outstanding, but the customer service from the manufacturer is just not something you see anymore in most modern businesses.
Five stars for the product - Ten stars for the customer service from the manufacturer!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product makes you feel secure

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The product is very durable does what it says it does! Very simple, does not seem worth the price but it makes the door very secure so it was worth the money to gain back that piece of mind after a recent burglary.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Necessary for an exterior french door

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
a carpenter friend of mine says this was one the most innovative and effective sets he has come upon. I found it online. This exponentially bolsters your protection from the classic smash and grab type burglary. Good luck breaking through this, with a security bar also wedged under the interior door knob. Comes with a sticker for first responders so they'll know what to do--enter elsewhere. Get it, sleep better.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well made product that will fit most, but not all doors. Customer service is outstanding.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product consists of three parts:
a) StrikeMasterII. This consists of two nesting plates that attach to the edge of the passive door.
b) French Double Door Lock. This is a flat piece of steel with a flap. It attaches above both doors, with the flap snug against the passive door. You open the passive door, when needed, by removing one screw, swinging the plate away from the door frame, and lifting the plate slightly so the door clears the flap - a clever design.
c) Door Edge Pro. This consists of two small steel strips which attach to the front and back of the active door along it's edge, covering the door's dead bolt or latch bolt. The two steel pieces are bolted to each other internally.
The product is well made. It will probably work on French doors that are mounted in conventional door frames, where the frames can be pulled back a bit by installing long screws in the hinges - long enough to find the stud behind the frame.
The product will not work for me because my doors are attached directly to exposed 2X6's which are part of the architectural structure of the house and cannot be pulled back. My active and passive doors fit tightly as is. To use this system, I would have to remove an extensive portion of the interlocking, metal weather stripping, remove the exterior security strip that covers the slot between the two doors, and extensively rabbet out the edge of the passive door. I would also have to cut new holes in the StrikemasterII plates because the distance between latch and deadbolt on my doors is 8", and on the metal plates it is 5 3/4".
To use the French Double Door Lock I would have to remove about a foot of interlocking weather stripping at the top of the door, and modify the exterior trim there, or cut down the width of the plate by 3/16" and drill new screw holes in the plate.
The only part I can is the Door Edge Pro. I plan to return this kit and order Door Edge Pros for all my exterior doors. I will replace existing strikes with heavy duty ones, replace short screws with long ones all around, and find some other way to immobilize the passive door, perhaps with a brace.
Customer service was about the best I have ever experienced. I sent an email to the company that makes this product and received a personal call from the owner within an hour. He discussed possible solutions with me for 20 minutes. He called me in the evening, his time, well after closing hour. I was impressed!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design, outstanding customer service.
Cons: does not fit all doors.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit
from Asheville, NC, USA

Quality product, reasonable fit.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The door plate is not zero interference on my french doors, but it could be the tolerances on my particular brand. I had to trim the leading edge of the door around the strike plate area to allow it to clear the new plate cleanly. Not a huge task, and the overall strength of my door is improved.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit
from Ocean Springs, MS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good security enhancement for a vulnerable area.

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Easy to install, well finished product, and should offer the level of security I need. I think it is overpriced but Home Depot is lower in price than I've seen it elsewhere. However, having that extra peace of mind is priceless. Ordered from and shipped to a local Home Depot and received the product within a few days. Great service. Thanks.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: overpriced
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit
from Tomball, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product purchased is exactly as described.

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy instructions and easy to install. I am happy with the product but it would be nice not to have to purchase it on-line. It would be great to be able to purchase this in the store.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit
from De Bary, FL, USA

Rock Solid French Doors - Now!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great product. Converts the weak design of French Doors into a rock solid fortress entry. Nobody will be kicking in the double front doors now! Great customer support from manufacturer for any questions. Maybe a little pricey for what it is but it will definitely secure your doors from uninvited guest!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An easy way to reinforce a home's weakest spot!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The kit arrived well packaged and complete. Installation took ~40 minutes and was fairly straight-forward. It was necessary to make some slight adjustments to get the correct fit, but that may have been because of some quirks with my door (not all french doors are exactly alike). The adjustments didn't involve any cutting, just a slight repositioning to aleviate some interference with my door latch.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit

Easy to Install

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple and easy security upgrade to french doors. Increases security in about 30 minutes with a screwdriver and a drill.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit

Great product

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My french doors had very little clearance between them so I had to chisel 1/8" off the passive door to mount the metal plate. Other than that, installation went very quickly and my door is now much more secure. I'm impressed by the fit/finish of the product and would not hesitate to buy it again.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit
from Villa Rica, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product. Fills a market void.

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
There were no instructions in the box. No template for the lock guard, either. I made my own and printed instructions off the internet.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit

so close!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While the lock holes are standard, this simply doesn't fit all doors. I really wish it fit mine, but it doesn't. There aren't any other products though, it appears you can either get this, or nothing :( I imagine this is a perfect item when it fits
Quality, A++
Value, A++
Fit on my door: F :(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product.

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great product in keeping ur French double doors secured. Only thing was there wasn't enough screws to replace all the screws on the hinges but, still made us feel safe after the install.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for French Door and Double Door Reinforcement Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Excellent!

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product! Excellent quality! Excellent service!Excellent delivery time! Product is easy to install. Very straightforward install. I would recommend this product to my best friend, mother, etc. Very impressed with service from this company.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.