728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank

Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank

Superior Tank uses a sophisticated five-step process to provide the finest paint finish in the industry. After quality assurance testing, each tank is pre-treated with an iron phosphate cleaning process then run through a drier to ensure a tight bond between the paint and steel. The tank then passes through a powder coating process where a beautiful, yet tough, weather resistant coating is applied.
Overall rating:
4.154 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(8)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank
Review 1 for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank
from Corvallis, Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is what it is, a big ol' fuel tank

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing is BIG, be prepared to have a trailer if you pick it up in store. A few scuffs in the paint job, which is probably inevitable with an object of this size, have a can of black spray paint handy. It's big, it's awkward (strapped to a pallet), have help available. Once on site, a couple of guys can "walk" it into position on the pallet. Takes 1 1/4 inch threaded black iron pipe legs which are not included (because they can't know how high you want the installation and thus how long to make the legs). Readily available locally, but not at Home Depot (they wanted to charge for a full length of 1 1/4 pipe for (4) 18" pieces of pipe). If you buy the optional Home Depot legs (12") they may or may not be high enough
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank
from Waterville, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product would buy another

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Excellent tank for the Money very pleased, Love the drain being on the bottom,
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank
from Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy Delivery and Install

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this unit through my local store in reading pa. The experience was more than exceptional. Product was delivered to my home day promised. Installer was impressed with the quality of the tank. I was impressed it was all done in a single day... It was a true pleasure working with Home Depot of this project. Stephen
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, side lift handles
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank
from Newfane, New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product and service.

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordered the tank on 18 June, 2015. Told a 10 to 14 day delivery timeframe to the store. Arrived at store on 23 June (5 days)! Decals and labels on tank with serial number indicated that the tank was manufactured on 8 June, 2015, less than 2 weeks old! Did not receive phone call, text message or email notification that it was delivered and ready for pick-up, (All three means of notification were supposed to be done, store fault), found out tank was at store during shopping stop. Tank arrived in excellent condition. A few scratches and very slight paint damage. Some water condensation inside, (less than an ounce), but all openings were sealed at factory and intact. Liked the fact that handles are provided on both ends for easier installation control. Only real concern is that the only outlet is on the BOTTOM of the tank, and not slightly raised on the END so that sediments/water would not be introduced into the service line. Best price available from several sources checked (others being from $550.00 to well over $1000.00. Thank you Home Depot!
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By chrisJuly 13, 2015By chrisJuly 13, 2015
Thank you for your kind words. The small amount of water in the tanks confuses a lot of people. It is normal. It is actually condensation. The tanks heat up in the sunlight and then when they cool the moisture in the air condenses. The lack of end out let also confuses people. A code change was made a few years ago. The end outlet allowed a place for contaminant to settle. Unfortunately that contaminant would eventually wrote through the tank. The bottom outlet prevents build up but it also means you are going to know right away if you get a delivery of bad fuel. Bad fuel is not as common as it once was but still happens.
Response from By chrisJuly 13, 2015By chrisJuly 13, 2015
Thank you for your kind words. The small amount of water in the tanks confuses a lot of people. It is normal. It is actually condensation. The tanks heat up in the sunlight and then when they cool the moisture in the air condenses. The lack of end out let also confuses people. A code change was made a few years ago. The end outlet allowed a place for contaminant to settle. Unfortunately that contaminant would eventually wrote through the tank. The bottom outlet prevents build up but it also means you are going to know right away if you get a delivery of bad fuel. Bad fuel is not as common as it once was but still happens.
Review 5 for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank
from Edison, New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great oil tank

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
we just got the tanks in place and hooked up. I had no problem with the store getting them in on time and they were early by five days. Great quality and no dammage. we will be pressurizing the tanks to check for leaks befor the fuel delivery, but I do not beleave there will be a problem. Great tank great value!
Pros: Easy to Install
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

vertical 275 gal. oil tank

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I guess the price was OK, Home Depot was the only one that offered them on line, we had it delivered to the store and we picked it up because the cost of delivering it would have been $99.00, that is too much.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Too Heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank
from Boston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tank !!!!!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great tank. It had a little rusty water inside from condensation and that is expected but a great quality tank at a great price.
-Torrey Browne
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank

Not a vertical tank

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
This is not a true vertical tank.
Liquid dynamics makes a real vertical tank, again this is not.
My neat heat Arrived with rusty water inside and not just a little. I also Had to repaint the entire tank thanks to how it was shipped. But Besides that I've had this tank a few years now and it does its job. If company woulda said that tank would have to be cleaned out and maybe repainted I would have given 5 stars but they want to hide info so that's why only the 1 star. Also this tank is not made in the USA, don't worry its not made in china either, but rather canada. Very well made I might add. And you can't beat the price. Though make sure and get the leg kit, you will need that. Also the tank kit like the other reviewer said doesn't work. The kit is all female and the tank is also female. So the tank kit is incomplete.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank
from newville pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

speedy delivery great product

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was pleased with how well the management and associates at the Carlisle pa home depot helped me with the online purchase of this product
Cons: No Instructions, i didnt need instructions but some people may
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank
from Nevada
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

above ground oil tank

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had been given quotes of 5 to 7 thousand dollars for an above ground tank when I found this approved above ground tank . Good quality, easily installed and well rated.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank
from Nv
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No good

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Came with rusty water inside, no legs and tank kit that I bought extra that homedepot sells for it doesn't even work with out buying other pieces. Female tank with female accessory kit is stupid, called company and was told that because of different applications they send the female parts in the kit, and no legs because of different building codes. Homedepot sells pipe that will work for the legs, just be prepared to spend $15 for each leg and $8+ for each male nipple your going to need if you buy the accessory kit. I retuned my unusable kit back to homedepot.
Pros: price
Cons: Difficult to Install, accessory kit needs extra pieces to work, not packaged well, no legs come with it, not really a vertical tank
-2points
11out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid Buy

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Shipped promptly. Good quality for the money. Over $200 cheaper than local plumbing store. Holes are threaded and ready to go.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vertical 275 Gal. Oil Tank
from Middletown, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had rusty water inside of tank

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had wished that the oil tank had been painted better.
Pros: Good Instructions, No Leaks
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.