728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle

18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle

Bigfoot is a well-known brand of durable tools that specializes in snow-removal products. The Bigfoot Snow Thrower is completely adjustable to the user. The easy-to-use screw collar adjusts to the height of a person, while the front handle pivots to adjust to the user's arm length and position. The shovel mechanism allows a person to lift snow and release it without bending. To release the snow, the user turns the rear handle with a small twist of the wrist. The front hand grip stays stationary during this action.
Overall rating:
3.712 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product46 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(34)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(13)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product46 of 64reviews
Customer reviews for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
Review 1 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Appleton
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This version has issues

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a version of this shovel that I purchased about 3-5 years ago. The plastic bottom of it was getting pretty worn, so I bought a new one for this winter. The design combines the best of ergonomics & flexibility. The two little knobbies that hold the flex handle in place snapped in the sub-zero temperatures this morning, leaving me with a new, broken shovel with only 5 shoveling days in. The snow wasn't even heavy or packed. So now I will go back to using my old, worn shovel of the same model & try to figure out if I can switch parts on the two.
Pros: Functionality, ergonomic
Cons: Not Durable, knobs on secondary handle can break in cold
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Burlington, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Breaks too easily!

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received this as a gift from my mother. First big snow storm this year, I used it and halfway down the driveway, the handle broke off..not the helper handle, where the end of the shovel meets the red scooper part. I called EMCO because the sticker on the shovel says "guaranteed". They wanted a picture of the break, I sent it. They sent me a new shovel. Next storm I used it, picked up less heavier snow to avoid breakage. Was just "pushing" the heavy stuff and lifting a lighter load of snow. While pushing the heavy snow, it broke again, same spot. I emailed the rep, she wanted pics again, she sent me a new shovel again. Maybe third time will be the charm? Maybe not....we shall see...
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Erie, Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This shovel is not of the quality I expected

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had finally, after searching for 2 years, found what I thought was the same quality shovel I had purchased about 10 years ago. I was terribly disturbed to find the scoop (I think that is what it's called) was already curling up, after only 3 uses !!!!!!!! The wonderful, durable handle appears to be of the same quality as my 10 yr. old treasure.
For the 30 some dollar price of this disaster, I decline to rate this product in a manner so as to encourage anyone to purchase it.
I was delighted with the speedy deliver of this item, and the excellent qualities displayed by the attendant who checked me out at Home Depot. I am a frequent customer of Home Depot and I suggest Home Depot seriously consider discontinue the selling of this product.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: Not Durable, price is too high for a product that should sease
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from New York's Beautiful Hudson Valley
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A Back and Heart Saver!

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is simply a miraculous snow shovel. Its ingenious design allows heavy lifting and tossing (where the real backaches come from) without straining your back because the blade is attached to a big swivel lever on the shaft and you don’t have to bend with a 15 pound load of wet snow while tossing it away from your path during a series of fast scoops and tosses, causing your heartbeat to increase.
It’s hard to tell people about this with words.
My plow guy also shovels my walks when the snow gets too deep for me and he’s barely willing to do the shoveling part because of a bad back. (My problem is with old age but he’s a young guy).
For two years I’ve been offering him the shovel instead of the old fashioned rigid blade and stick he’s been using. Finally after an early storm this week, he agreed and after three strokes he stopped, smiled and said, “Oh, yeah...that’s amazing. Where can I get one?” I gave him the Home Depot ad and he took it home.
This shovel has saved my back and is kind to my heart and allows me to shovel the light stuff at age 78 without huffing and puffing or any resulting back pain.
It’s simply wonderful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, superior ergonomics, adjustable shaft for tall paople, load lever guards against back injury
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great if you have back issues!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this shovel because my back goes out about once a year. I just used this shovel during 1/3/14 snowstorm on Long Island. Worked great. Easy to lift snow with both hands using adjustable handle. Definitely helps reduce strain on your back by not bending over as much. My only issue, as you will read in other reviews, was not so much the pink/red color but the durability of the plastic on the actual shovel blade. Doesn't seem like it will last very long. Not because it would break, but from wearing down. Should be made of stronger plastic or metal. Would have given 5 stars otherwise.
Pros: Functionality, reduce back strain
Cons: a little pricey for a shovel
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

My Dad Loves This Shovel

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this item for my father as a gift. I loves it.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Westchester county, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the back

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My roofer gave me this shovel a dozen years ago and it has made the many, many storms since no problem. I gave this one as a gift. I gave others to my relatives in Vermont a couple years ago and they have been very appreciative. I am 70 and female with no back problems, thanks to the design. Since I have the same one my roofer gave me, it is very durable.
Pros: Durable, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this is a piece of junk

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I USED IT TO PICK UP SOME WET SNOW AND IT BROKE LIKE A TOOTHPICK
Cons: Not Durable, cheap plastic and its not red its pink
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Hackensack Nj
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I have returned it

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The actual shovel was ok. The extra handle was soft plastic & did not provide any stability when using the shovel. The extra handle needs to be firm in order to allow for easy use. I returned this product.
bd
Cons: Not Durable, extra handle too flexible to provide stability
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Carmel, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I bought it in last Oct, and it partly broken at second use, and fully broken in the 3rd use

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I do not know why this one get good review. I was fooled by the good reviews, and got this wrong one.
This is my first shavel, and it is only good for one snow.
There are 3 bigger snows in my home this year. First time using is great. Second time the front handle was broken, but it is ok. Third big snow is quite big, and the shavel was broken between pole and head. Now it is totally not useful.
I have to hassle to spend time with warranty, or I just pay another $30 to get another one and trash this.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Boston, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best shovel ever!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I Love this shovel it cleans down to the pavement.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Doylestown, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get one of these while you can!

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is by far the most effective snow shovel to own. I bought an early version about ten years ago and it was amazing because it relieved the stress on my back. It has a unique swing lift handle that allows you to gain leverage to lift and thrust shovel loads of snow easily. About five years ago I found an improved version for sale at a grocery store check-out and I snatched one up. It performed even better than the older one because of improved hand grips. With all the snow we had the winter of 2013/14 I started shopping for a backup shovel just in case but I could not find any in stores or online. Now, this January I found they are available again and I immediately ordered one for in-store pick up. I will probably get a couple more as gifts for my adult son and daughter to have at their homes.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Good Shape, makes shoveling easier., reduces stress on back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Rockaway, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best shovel for anyone (especially a small lady)

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am petite (less than five feet tall) and this shovel is the best thing I ever had. Last snowfall brought 7" of heavy snow. This baby got it no problems at all. I did not get any strain on my back or my wrists. The premium lifetime handle moves independently from the direction you throw the snow in a way that helps you maintain the balance between the weight of the snow in the shovel and your core and your back muscles. I definitively recommend it for anyone with back issues of height issues like me. Also is super light! and seems durable enough. We'll see how it looks by January. I will update my post then.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle

Extremely poor quality

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the exact same experience as another reviewer. Shovel scoop broke away from handle and it was NOT being used roughly or even dense snow. It is extremely fragile. Got another one sent through warranty. Broke the very next shoveling in the exact same spot connecting the scoop to the handle. Customer service seems like theyre on top of things but really, what good is that if the product doesn't work.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Greatest Shovel Ever!

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Still have the same model from 13 years ago, but wanted a backup. Great shovel. Well worth the price & great quality product.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Arlington, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lift snow shovel

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Shovel worked well for my wife and I to clean our drive way in the most recent snow in TX
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle

Big 18 inch power lift snow shovel w/ handle

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was horrible ! There was no metal
Strip across the bottm of the shovel . The shaft of the shovel was lite , but flimsy , when I attempted to use it in heavy snow the shaft twisted as did the shovel
. I used it less than 4 minutes and took it back to the store ! Don't buy this
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Northern New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great for the back. Understand the limitations

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I'm looking at all the reviewers who complain that this shovel broke after the first use. You need to understand that this is intended for folks like me who have back pain and can't use a traditional shovel. First of all, realize that this shovel is molded plastic - not terribly flimsy - but plastic nonetheless. If you load it up with three inches of snow and ice, then, yes - it will break. Please, folks, let's be a little smart about this. Also, this shovel does not have a metal edge - so it will not break up ice too easily.
If you remind yourself that you're not going to overload this, then this will last for years. I bought this years ago, and was happy to find it again two years ago here. I bought a few that I eventually gave to friends and family members, leaving me with only one. I'm happy to buy this again to have spares. Because if mine does break, I want the exact same one. I will never go back to a traditional shovel. We waste so much money on stuff that is meaningless. Invest in something that will save your health. If it breaks, there is a "lifetime" guarantee (that I haven't tested yet), but even if I can't get a free replacement, I'm happy to spend a few bucks for my own well being.
If you give this to a strong healthy young kid, they will most likely overload it and it will break.
Hope this helps a few of you on the fence about this. I'm in for two today.
Cheers.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Coram, New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Shovel

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to assemble....light weigh , but has the durability of a good snow shovel
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from West Orange, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fundamentally better snow shovel due to its rotating hinge

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this shovel for many years. This shovel is the absolute best for shoveling a lot of heavy snow, slush, and the snowplow compressed pile at the end of the driveway with the least strain.
It is way better than bent handle or fixed two handle shovels. It is not a gimmick, or a minor difference. It fundamentally changes shoveling for the better.
The total amount of energy you expend is drastically less due to reduced lifting snow and reduced bending, twisting, and straightening of the body
The secret is the rotating hinge.
To throw a shovel full you barely lift the snow at all. You pull a little on the hinged handle and push a little on the fixed handle, just enough for the blade to be higher than snow you haven't shoveled yet. The long handles means you don't bend to do that.
You throw by a little sideways pull on the hinged handle along with a push and twist on the fixed handle. Nothing falls off the shovel as you do this, as does happen with other shovels.
In writing it sounds complicated, but is really very natural.
The bending is minimal. The lifting is minimal. The body twisting is minimal. The throwing effort is minimal. There is no wrist strain in either hand.
With my bad back, my orthopedist friend tells me not to shovel. With this shovel, I can and do anyway. I enjoy it, so far without consequences. However, YOU should follow your own doctor's advice.
SUGGESTION: Adjust the hinged handle so it is as close to the blade as is comfortable for you. That gives the maximum mechanical advantage.
COMPLAINT: Calling this product "POWER LIFT" is misleading, since when you use it you do so much less lifting at all.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>