728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle

18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle

Bigfoot is a well-known brand of durable tools that specialize in snow-removal products. The Bigfoot Snow Thrower is completely adjustable to the user. The easy-to-use screw collar adjusts to the height of a person, while the front handle pivots to adjust to the user's arm length and position. The shovel mechanism allows a person to lift snow and release it without bending. To release the snow, the user turns the rear handle with a small twist of the wrist the front hand grip stays stationary during this action.
Overall rating:
3.804 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product37 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product37 of 49reviews
Customer reviews for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
Review 1 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Appleton
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This version has issues

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a version of this shovel that I purchased about 3-5 years ago. The plastic bottom of it was getting pretty worn, so I bought a new one for this winter. The design combines the best of ergonomics & flexibility. The two little knobbies that hold the flex handle in place snapped in the sub-zero temperatures this morning, leaving me with a new, broken shovel with only 5 shoveling days in. The snow wasn't even heavy or packed. So now I will go back to using my old, worn shovel of the same model & try to figure out if I can switch parts on the two.
Pros: Functionality, ergonomic
Cons: Not Durable, knobs on secondary handle can break in cold
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Rockaway, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best shovel for anyone (especially a small lady)

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am petite (less than five feet tall) and this shovel is the best thing I ever had. Last snowfall brought 7" of heavy snow. This baby got it no problems at all. I did not get any strain on my back or my wrists. The premium lifetime handle moves independently from the direction you throw the snow in a way that helps you maintain the balance between the weight of the snow in the shovel and your core and your back muscles. I definitively recommend it for anyone with back issues of height issues like me. Also is super light! and seems durable enough. We'll see how it looks by January. I will update my post then.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Burlington, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Breaks too easily!

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received this as a gift from my mother. First big snow storm this year, I used it and halfway down the driveway, the handle broke off..not the helper handle, where the end of the shovel meets the red scooper part. I called EMCO because the sticker on the shovel says "guaranteed". They wanted a picture of the break, I sent it. They sent me a new shovel. Next storm I used it, picked up less heavier snow to avoid breakage. Was just "pushing" the heavy stuff and lifting a lighter load of snow. While pushing the heavy snow, it broke again, same spot. I emailed the rep, she wanted pics again, she sent me a new shovel again. Maybe third time will be the charm? Maybe not....we shall see...
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Hartsville, PA

Easy on back

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My husband loves this shovel. He has one that he had to repair, and had been looking to purchase a new one. He wishes that where the handle is attached to the pole was made of a stronger substance as that is what cracked. This shovel makes it easier to lift and toss the snow when it is deep. It is so much easier on your back. Does NOT have a metal edge, if that is important to you.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: the second handle can crack where it swivels
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Colorado
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought online while it was on sale. Package took forever to even leave the warehouse. I had another product ordered from Lowe's 3 days later that arrived before this did (slightly smaller size as a shovel, but more weight).
The product itself is mediocre. I would NEVER pay full price for this. There is no metal strip to break up ice, the secondary handle is flimsy and I doubt it will make it through the winter. It does not gather snow very well while being pushed, the snow never made it past 3/4 up the shovel while clearing 2in of snow this morning.
1/10 would not buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this is a piece of junk

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I USED IT TO PICK UP SOME WET SNOW AND IT BROKE LIKE A TOOTHPICK
Cons: Not Durable, cheap plastic and its not red its pink
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great if you have back issues!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this shovel because my back goes out about once a year. I just used this shovel during 1/3/14 snowstorm on Long Island. Worked great. Easy to lift snow with both hands using adjustable handle. Definitely helps reduce strain on your back by not bending over as much. My only issue, as you will read in other reviews, was not so much the pink/red color but the durability of the plastic on the actual shovel blade. Doesn't seem like it will last very long. Not because it would break, but from wearing down. Should be made of stronger plastic or metal. Would have given 5 stars otherwise.
Pros: Functionality, reduce back strain
Cons: a little pricey for a shovel
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Niagara Falls, NewYork
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage!

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst shovel I have ever owned. The so called "lift handle" keeps popping off the main handle as you are shoveling, hitting you in the leg or foot. There is no metal strip so the edge of the shovel catches on the ground and jams the shovel handle into my wrist.
I seriously cannot believe that anyone was happy with it. Maybe I got a dud.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Cambridge, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Shovel Ever!!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had one of these and I take it with me. I am a Real Estate agent and this is a handy dandy shovel and easy to use for light fluffy snow or the heavy stuff. I left it at my mom's home and she now uses it with ease. I just couldn't take it back so I search online to find it again. Lucky for me Home Depot had them. I just ordered 3 more!! Free shipping direct to my house is a huge bonus!! Thank you Home Depot!!
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not very well made

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lifting handle does not stay in place when closed. has wear after 1 use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Saint Louis
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Snow Shovel

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although I have not yet used the shovel (Hope Not To Have To) is does not seem as well constructed as the advertisement led me to believe. I needed to replace my shove after the last Winter which I found to be sturdier and more balanced after 4 years of continued medium use. I will be able to provide a better review after this winter and hope the the quality is as good as the warranty implies.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle

Defective product

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This made in the USA product lacked any kind of quality control or inspection. There was a deep cut in the handle, but the bigger issue was the connection between the handle and the scoop. It was misaligned and the screw holding the parts together had split the plastic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Austell, Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No snow yet but it looks like it is going to be a great product to have on hand when the snow does come.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: useful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Bella Vista, AR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

interesting concept. and sturdy construction

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Haven't had any snow to remove yet, but this shovel appears to be capable of handling even the deepest snowfalls. Almost looking forward to giving it a real trial.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great in my basement!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Haven't had to use it and hope I don't have to. But it came fast and looks like it will last.
Pros: Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from New York's Beautiful Hudson Valley
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A Back and Heart Saver!

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is simply a miraculous snow shovel. Its ingenious design allows heavy lifting and tossing (where the real backaches come from) without straining your back because the blade is attached to a big swivel lever on the shaft and you don’t have to bend with a 15 pound load of wet snow while tossing it away from your path during a series of fast scoops and tosses, causing your heartbeat to increase.
It’s hard to tell people about this with words.
My plow guy also shovels my walks when the snow gets too deep for me and he’s barely willing to do the shoveling part because of a bad back. (My problem is with old age but he’s a young guy).
For two years I’ve been offering him the shovel instead of the old fashioned rigid blade and stick he’s been using. Finally after an early storm this week, he agreed and after three strokes he stopped, smiled and said, “Oh, yeah...that’s amazing. Where can I get one?” I gave him the Home Depot ad and he took it home.
This shovel has saved my back and is kind to my heart and allows me to shovel the light stuff at age 78 without huffing and puffing or any resulting back pain.
It’s simply wonderful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, superior ergonomics, adjustable shaft for tall paople, load lever guards against back injury
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Lincoln, NE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

needs quality control on the plastic part.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Had the same problem with the plastic part of the shovel. First one I bought lasted forever with no problems, but like the other person the bottom of the shovel was worn out. Wish I knew how to order this part and fix the shovel. Shovel is not cheap and does what it says it will till this part breaks. So sad. Not sure what premium lifetime handle means. Anyone know how to contact Company and get replacemet part? Really LOVED the shovel till the helper handle piece broke.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from West Orange, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fundamentally better snow shovel due to its rotating hinge

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this shovel for many years. This shovel is the absolute best for shoveling a lot of heavy snow, slush, and the snowplow compressed pile at the end of the driveway with the least strain.
It is way better than bent handle or fixed two handle shovels. It is not a gimmick, or a minor difference. It fundamentally changes shoveling for the better.
The total amount of energy you expend is drastically less due to reduced lifting snow and reduced bending, twisting, and straightening of the body
The secret is the rotating hinge.
To throw a shovel full you barely lift the snow at all. You pull a little on the hinged handle and push a little on the fixed handle, just enough for the blade to be higher than snow you haven't shoveled yet. The long handles means you don't bend to do that.
You throw by a little sideways pull on the hinged handle along with a push and twist on the fixed handle. Nothing falls off the shovel as you do this, as does happen with other shovels.
In writing it sounds complicated, but is really very natural.
The bending is minimal. The lifting is minimal. The body twisting is minimal. The throwing effort is minimal. There is no wrist strain in either hand.
With my bad back, my orthopedist friend tells me not to shovel. With this shovel, I can and do anyway. I enjoy it, so far without consequences. However, YOU should follow your own doctor's advice.
SUGGESTION: Adjust the hinged handle so it is as close to the blade as is comfortable for you. That gives the maximum mechanical advantage.
COMPLAINT: Calling this product "POWER LIFT" is misleading, since when you use it you do so much less lifting at all.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Worcester MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PLASTIC SWIVELS BREAK

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
BOUGHT THIS IN 2012 AND IT WORKED GREAT UNTIL THE PLATIC SWIVELS BROKE YESTERDAY. THE UNIQUE FEATURE OF THIS SHOVEL IS NOW USELESS.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Omaha Nebraska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost as good as a snowblower

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used mine for 2 record breaking winters and everyone of my neighbors who has tried my shovel has bought one for themselves. I've bought one of each of my daughters and now their neighbors are buying them too. As soon as you use one - you'll buy one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>