728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle

18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle

Bigfoot is a well-known brand of durable tools that specialize in snow-removal products. The Bigfoot Snow Thrower is completely adjustable to the user. The easy-to-use screw collar adjusts to the height of a person, while the front handle pivots to adjust to the user's arm length and position. The shovel mechanism allows a person to lift snow and release it without bending. To release the snow, the user turns the rear handle with a small twist of the wrist the front hand grip stays stationary during this action.
Overall rating:
3.925 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product32 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product32 of 39reviews
Customer reviews for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
Review 1 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Appleton
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This version has issues

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a version of this shovel that I purchased about 3-5 years ago. The plastic bottom of it was getting pretty worn, so I bought a new one for this winter. The design combines the best of ergonomics & flexibility. The two little knobbies that hold the flex handle in place snapped in the sub-zero temperatures this morning, leaving me with a new, broken shovel with only 5 shoveling days in. The snow wasn't even heavy or packed. So now I will go back to using my old, worn shovel of the same model & try to figure out if I can switch parts on the two.
Pros: Functionality, ergonomic
Cons: Not Durable, knobs on secondary handle can break in cold
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great if you have back issues!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this shovel because my back goes out about once a year. I just used this shovel during 1/3/14 snowstorm on Long Island. Worked great. Easy to lift snow with both hands using adjustable handle. Definitely helps reduce strain on your back by not bending over as much. My only issue, as you will read in other reviews, was not so much the pink/red color but the durability of the plastic on the actual shovel blade. Doesn't seem like it will last very long. Not because it would break, but from wearing down. Should be made of stronger plastic or metal. Would have given 5 stars otherwise.
Pros: Functionality, reduce back strain
Cons: a little pricey for a shovel
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from New York's Beautiful Hudson Valley
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A Back and Heart Saver!

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is simply a miraculous snow shovel. Its ingenious design allows heavy lifting and tossing (where the real backaches come from) without straining your back because the blade is attached to a big swivel lever on the shaft and you don’t have to bend with a 15 pound load of wet snow while tossing it away from your path during a series of fast scoops and tosses, causing your heartbeat to increase.
It’s hard to tell people about this with words.
My plow guy also shovels my walks when the snow gets too deep for me and he’s barely willing to do the shoveling part because of a bad back. (My problem is with old age but he’s a young guy).
For two years I’ve been offering him the shovel instead of the old fashioned rigid blade and stick he’s been using. Finally after an early storm this week, he agreed and after three strokes he stopped, smiled and said, “Oh, yeah...that’s amazing. Where can I get one?” I gave him the Home Depot ad and he took it home.
This shovel has saved my back and is kind to my heart and allows me to shovel the light stuff at age 78 without huffing and puffing or any resulting back pain.
It’s simply wonderful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, superior ergonomics, adjustable shaft for tall paople, load lever guards against back injury
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Burlington, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Breaks too easily!

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received this as a gift from my mother. First big snow storm this year, I used it and halfway down the driveway, the handle broke off..not the helper handle, where the end of the shovel meets the red scooper part. I called EMCO because the sticker on the shovel says "guaranteed". They wanted a picture of the break, I sent it. They sent me a new shovel. Next storm I used it, picked up less heavier snow to avoid breakage. Was just "pushing" the heavy stuff and lifting a lighter load of snow. While pushing the heavy snow, it broke again, same spot. I emailed the rep, she wanted pics again, she sent me a new shovel again. Maybe third time will be the charm? Maybe not....we shall see...
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this is a piece of junk

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I USED IT TO PICK UP SOME WET SNOW AND IT BROKE LIKE A TOOTHPICK
Cons: Not Durable, cheap plastic and its not red its pink
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Omaha Nebraska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost as good as a snowblower

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used mine for 2 record breaking winters and everyone of my neighbors who has tried my shovel has bought one for themselves. I've bought one of each of my daughters and now their neighbors are buying them too. As soon as you use one - you'll buy one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle

Back Saver

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was a good investment. We bought two of them to replace one "regular" snow shovel. Had a chance to try them out this past weekend with 1/4" of ice and 3" of snow on top. They worked well.
Pros: Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Lincoln, NE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

needs quality control on the plastic part.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Had the same problem with the plastic part of the shovel. First one I bought lasted forever with no problems, but like the other person the bottom of the shovel was worn out. Wish I knew how to order this part and fix the shovel. Shovel is not cheap and does what it says it will till this part breaks. So sad. Not sure what premium lifetime handle means. Anyone know how to contact Company and get replacemet part? Really LOVED the shovel till the helper handle piece broke.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Jamestown, NY

worth every penny

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If shoveling snow hurts your back, then this is the shovel for you. You'll never want to use another shovel. I'm thinking about buy a few more in case they stop making them. Yes, it's THAT good.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle

Love the ergonomics!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is far and away the best shovel to use as far as ergonomics are concerned. The secondary handle rotates and moves so you can find your perfect balance, then the swivel allows you to dump the load of snow using your arms instead of your lower back. Love it! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the plastic edge gets eaten up by uneven concrete, but I even think that is a fair trade since the metal-edged shovels often stick on my uneven driveway.
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape, ergonomics
Cons: plastic edge
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Washington DC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great design.

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I hesitated before buying this because of the higher cost. It looks like a clever idea, but some clever ideas don't work out in the end. But this is WELL worth it. It combines the best features of a straight handle and a bent handle show shovel. Like a bend handle shovel you don't have to bend down nearly as far to pick up a load of snow. That is MUCH easier on your back. But the problem with bent handled shovels is that you can't really twist the shovel sideways to dump the snow to the side. But with this design it is easy to rotate the shovel to the side to dump snow.
Pros: Functionality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Indianapolis IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great shovel

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had the shovel for several years and it works great. 61 years old with a lower back problem and I can shovel 12" of snow without breathing hard or a pain. The handle makes the difference and it's fully adjustable by turning it so that it's the right length. I work in the ergonomic field for a large university and this is the best shovel I've seen. I had a curved handled one previously and it bent. This is much better than the curved handles. Try it you will like it.
Pros: Durable, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Worcester MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PLASTIC SWIVELS BREAK

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
BOUGHT THIS IN 2012 AND IT WORKED GREAT UNTIL THE PLATIC SWIVELS BROKE YESTERDAY. THE UNIQUE FEATURE OF THIS SHOVEL IS NOW USELESS.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Fishers, IN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This shovel worked well in recent heavy snow

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This snow shovel really is a back saver. During the recent heavy wet snow in our area, I was pleasantly surprised at how much easier it was to lift the shovel with the extra handle. The only reason for giving it only 4 stars is that it is rather cheaply made and I'm not sure how long it will last. But I would definitely buy another one because it was a big help.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from West Orange, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fundamentally better snow shovel due to its rotating hinge

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this shovel for many years. This shovel is the absolute best for shoveling a lot of heavy snow, slush, and the snowplow compressed pile at the end of the driveway with the least strain.
It is way better than bent handle or fixed two handle shovels. It is not a gimmick, or a minor difference. It fundamentally changes shoveling for the better.
The total amount of energy you expend is drastically less due to reduced lifting snow and reduced bending, twisting, and straightening of the body
The secret is the rotating hinge.
To throw a shovel full you barely lift the snow at all. You pull a little on the hinged handle and push a little on the fixed handle, just enough for the blade to be higher than snow you haven't shoveled yet. The long handles means you don't bend to do that.
You throw by a little sideways pull on the hinged handle along with a push and twist on the fixed handle. Nothing falls off the shovel as you do this, as does happen with other shovels.
In writing it sounds complicated, but is really very natural.
The bending is minimal. The lifting is minimal. The body twisting is minimal. The throwing effort is minimal. There is no wrist strain in either hand.
With my bad back, my orthopedist friend tells me not to shovel. With this shovel, I can and do anyway. I enjoy it, so far without consequences. However, YOU should follow your own doctor's advice.
SUGGESTION: Adjust the hinged handle so it is as close to the blade as is comfortable for you. That gives the maximum mechanical advantage.
COMPLAINT: Calling this product "POWER LIFT" is misleading, since when you use it you do so much less lifting at all.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Fleetwood PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easier on my back.

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have used two handle shovels before and loved them. The brand I had is no longer available and I found these so I ordered two of them when they had them on stock. they arrived in good shape and just in time for the big snow storm. Now about the shovels the adjustable second handle is nice it goes up and down the main handle so a light snow you can twist it up and not bend as far for heavy snow you can twist it down to get it closer to the load. it works well and the handles are nice I really like them. the biggest draw back to them is with out a metal cutting edge in one 8 inch deep light weight snow storm I have major wear on the one shovel I used . I think I will drill and rivet a cutting edge on the unused one and maybe the one i use too if its not to bad. Overall a good snow shovel, I wish the handle was a little longer because I am 6' 5" and still end up bending down some.
Pros: Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke after 1st use.

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First off, it is pink. I thought I was buying a red shovel. I don't care and neither do my sons, but just to let you know... It also had a small gouge in the plastic shovel part fresh out of the box.
I bought in Nov. 2012. It didn't snow here until just before Christmas. My son managed to just finish the driveway when the plastic shaft broke right above the screw that attaches it to the shovel. The snow was about 3" deep and temp. in the mid 30's. There was no ice on the drive. I don't know yet if I can return, haven't had time to go. But I did want to share our experience because this is not exactly bargain-priced.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, constructed of poor materials, no value
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the shovel. Great relief on your back. Easy lifting.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle

Bigfoot Snow Thrower is GREAT

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was great in the recent snow and ice storms in GA and had previously proven itself in the snow storms in the Midwest.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. Power Lift Snow Shovel with Premium Lifetime Handle
from Pennsville Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

My Best Snow Shovel Ever

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had purchased 2 of these shovels years ago and gave one to my Daughter. You can easily adjust the handle to your height. The best thing is you don't have to bend over to shovel the snow. I searched for this shovel online off and on for a long time. When I found it I bought 2 more. I gave one to my friend that has back problems and kept one to have an extra for myself. He loves it and his Brother-in-Law wants one.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality, handle is guaranteed for life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>