728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Seeds & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit

72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit

Guaranteed to grow bigger and better seedlings every time. The unique self-watering technology provides the exact amount of water needed to each plant and improves success for both new and experienced gardeners. This kit is easy to set up and requires little maintenance or watering.
Overall rating:
4.05 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product16 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product16 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
Review 1 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from Massachusetts
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very poor quality control

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought three 72-cell kits and followed directions carefully. In one kit, the growing pellets remained hard and did not expand more than 1/4 to 1/3 of the expected size, and after one week, the tops of many of the pellets were dry, yet water was sloshing in the bottom tray. In the other two trays, the pellets expanded to varying sizes -- some to about half of the cell, other overflowed the cube. I had to reapportion the amount of grow mix in quite a few of the cells. With $19.95 spent on each of the kits plus the money and time spent on seeds and planting, I feel as if I've wasted both time and money. I had expected better from a Burpee product!
Cons: does not perform as promised, variable quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from Chicago, Illinois
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another excellent Burpee product!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have always used Burpee seeds with other various seed starting products. But this 72 pod, self watering greenhouse is amazing. Not having to worry about the moisture levels and having seedlings pop up within 4-5 days was awesome! I highly recommend this product. The directions are simple to follow, and if you do as they say - there shouldn't be any issues.
(Note: some of the pods appear empty, and I want to state that is because I seeded herbs after beginning other vegetables. It is NOT a malfunction of the product.)
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product really works

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was concerned because I had put off planting seeds and did not know if they would take a long time to germinate. I prepared the kit on Saturday night and had results by Monday afternoon when I came home from work. I have used similar systems before, but I have never gotten results this quick with so little work before. I really does water itself. I can leave it for a couple of days inside and not have to worry about the water level.
Pros: Functionality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from montana
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not impressed

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
did not understand how this item could possible go together at first then how it was to be watered. It also took up a lot more space than the last one I bought. The cost was double the one I saw in another store so that was for me a huge reason why I will not buy one again.
Cons: priced to high, odd design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from Kansas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very handy

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just set it up and let it do it's thing, a week or two later I had plants that were ready for the garden!
Pros: Durable, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great to start growing seedlings indoors

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing really works! I planted 72 sunflower seeds inside the seedling cells with coconut soil in my small office home office room by the window. Soaked the watering mat, filled the tray up with water, put the cover on and just watched the seedlings literally grow before my very eyes, within several days. I am definitely going to use it again. Excellent product!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the self watering.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Love the self watering pad but the lid for the green house needs to be more shallow so that the lighting can be closer to the soil. The plants, especially the tomatoes, came up thin and weak. This is due to the light being too high above the plants.
I am hoping that I can use the tray next year. I will just figure out how to alter the lid.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit

Very easy

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I loved the ease in which I could sprout seeds and especially loved the absorbent mat which kept me from over-watering my seedlings. However, when it came time to transplant the seedlings, the narrowness and depth of the individual receptacles made it difficult to retrieve each seedling. Perhaps a shorter, broader design would be better.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: difficult to remove seedling when time to transpir
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from Elgin, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Seed Starter Kit

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. I am using it with a grow light and seedling heat mat to expedite seed germination. It's very easy to use - just water the little pods and the soil expands into each cell. The self watering mat is great - I'm not having to water my seedlings more than once a week. The lid doesn't have a tight seal or fit, but the moisture is staying in the greenhouse just fine because I can see the condensation buildup. 70/72 cells have sprouted beautiful seedlings. It's not super durable, but I think I should be able to clean it out and use it again.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from proctorville
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product. very easy to use

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
plants grew great. only gave 4 stars because it was hard to add water
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does it's purpose

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not all the dirt pods expanded but the majority of them did. Also the lid didn't fit properly. But in overall it did what I wanted it to and functioning.
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit

One Box Grew, the Other Box Did Not

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two boxes of the 72 Cell Burpee kit. I followed the directions on the first box and used warm water to grow the pellets. They worked wonderfully. The second box, I did the same exact thing, yet none of the pellets grew. I wondered if it was my mat setup, so I took one of the pellets from the box that worked and placed it in the box that didn't. That pellet grew like normal. Seems as though all 72 pellets in the second box were duds and would not rise. Even taking one and dunking it into a vat of warm water did nothing.
I'm going to Home Depot to exchange my one for another. Great kit when the pellets work, but need better quality control. Also, both copyright dates on both boxes were 2011, so there was no visible difference in the boxes. I might have to bring a water pail to test them in the parking lot before I take them home.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from Georgetown, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great plant starter kit

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This has been a great starter kit. Just hope you can by the peat moss refills so it can be used more than once.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from Binghamton, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this to start seedlings.. worked as stated..
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from Scott Depot, Scott, WV 25560, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product makes it easy to grow seeds.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is great, I seed several hundred plants for my garden and this has made it really easy. No quess work on watering.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from cincinnati oh
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use and grow seeds

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 3 of these to start a seed garden since it was so cold outside this winter. Normally I buy seedlings already to plant for tomatoes at least each year from Home Depot.
I set up the trays, watered them only 1x/week and in about a week, saw sprouts from the seeds I purchased. Had to move the cucumbers to the top shelf of the stand I have to accomidate legnth of growth on them before they went outside. I would say the only downside is that the trays are flexible and if you are not careful, you will spill water and maybe liquid fertilizer on your floor. maybe the company could stiffen the outer tray at least. some of the pellets did not expand as quickly as I thought, so watch them 24 hrs after you water them since it takes that long for some of them to expand. Others did not expand much at all, maybe 5 out of a tray of 72.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
Cons: flexible needs to be more ridgid
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from Pembroke, NH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Starting our garden is super easy with this kit! I love the mat that holds excess water and keeps your fragile seedlings from drying up.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from Loranger, LA 70446, USA

great product

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used all kinds of the treys and this one did the best.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit
from ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great!!!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the seeds hatched in 3 days, surprised me. It was normally going to take 7 to 14 days. I am usually good at killing plants so this is good, I mean good.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 72-Cell Self-Watering Greenhouse Kit

Easy to grow, difficult to transplant

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this starter kit this year, the instructions were simple and the kit did a great job at starting the plant growth. I use squash and sweet pepper seeds and they began to come up in approximately 8 days. That is where the good part stops.
The negative part of this starter kit is trying to find replacement/refill starter pellets. You may also want to avoid this kit if you're starting plants that have delicate root systems. I found that Squash dos not tolerate having their roots disturbed which is a big negative in using this starter kit. I found it very difficult to remove the seedlings from the plastic tray when it was time to transplant them.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: no refills, not easy to transplant
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.